reviews for: listing #28716 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Golden Fantasy Mansion
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,000 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,800 /wk
    $8,200 - $11,000 /mth

sort by:

Girls vacation reunion

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

What a great location and home. My rather large group of girlfriends and I rented this house for the better part of a week. The house was nicer and more spacious than we imagined. After seeing how well stocked the kitchen was, we decided to take turns cooking and enjoyed most of our meals at the house. I have rented many many homes over the years and have never been as pleased as I was with the amenities in the kitchen. Most homes have adequate pots, pans, utensils, etc....but thIs home has a wonderfully stocked kitchen that will please any cook. The bedrooms are all very large and the beds we all agreed were very cozy. I particularly liked the jumbo bathtub downstairs as well as the deluxe oversized shower. The decorations in the home are very interesting...seems like the owners collect movie memorabilia. The attached in law suite was great even though we spent most of our time in the main house. We all commented how great it would be to rent this place with our spouses and children this summer as we could all stay together yet have privacy due to the size and layout. This was my second visit to Carlsbad but I got to know my way around pretty well as I was able to easily walk from the rental to various areas downtown. Very conveniently located next to freeway. Parking was great and can easily fit numerous cars. Only negative comment I have about my experience is that they need a new can opener. We hope to be back soon,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: What a wonderful, respectful group of ladies! Glad you had a great week and hope the can opener wasn't too much of a problem. Thanks for letting me know so I can replace it immediately! You all did a wonderful job leaving the Golden Fantasy Mansion almost too easy to clean up after your stay. Please feel welcome to come stay with us anytime.
Sincerely,
Karin & Dan Golden

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Reunion Venue

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Golden Fantasy Mansion last summer. We have a reunion every other year and this was one of the best properties we've found. We had 20 family members sleep there and everyone felt they had their own space. The large kitchen/living room area provided enough room for our family "program" (28 people) and there were plenty of other gathering areas for small groups.

I live nearby and visited the home prior to the reunion. The decor was interesting, but there were some pieces that my family wouldn't have been comfortable with, so Karin volunteered to remove them for our reunion. I very much appreciated her flexibility! The pieces that remained provided enjoyment for young and old alike...so many interesting objects and paintings.

The kitchen was well stocked and there was plenty of cupboard space to store staples. There was room to park all of the cars in the driveway, which is unusual for Carlsbad.

I've recommended Golden Fantasy Mansion to several of my friends who are having family gatherings.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the very nice review. Yes, we absolutely aim to please and you were such a pleasure to accommodate :)
So glad you had a great time at the mansion and we sincerely hope you will come back and stay with us again!
Karin and Dan Golden

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience in Carlsbad

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Karin and Dan:

Our 2012 family reunion at the Golden Fantasy Mansion was extremely enjoyable. We found the house spacious for our 20+ family members and it accommodated all our needs. The large family rooms upstairs and down were perfect for group gatherings. Access to the property was especially easy, perhaps because the road to the north was closed. The freeway was close by and convenient to use, and the noise was not really bothersome, especially indoors. The house was well stocked with all the amenities needed and showed great care in providing such. All of our teenage girls (and some older) enjoyed being together in the granny flat. The large driveway made parking easy and convenient. Access to the beach was good and nearby. The owners, Dan and Karin, were especially helpful and gracious. We would definitely recommend this house for a great family vacation. Many thanks to you Dan and Karin for making our stay so enjoyable.

Owners response: What a wonderful family you have! You were all very neat and you left the mansion in terrific condition when you checked out. We also stay in vacation rentals and are usually not too happy with the absolute bare minimum that the owners provide for us and that is why we try so hard to make sure that you have every single thing you might need while you are staying with us :)
We really appreciate renters like you and cannot thank you enough for your very nice testimonial. We hope you come and stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Karin and Dan Golden

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

stephenson's 50th anniversary celebration

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

all our family loves California. Especially the beach and weather compared to the hot mid Texas heat in the summer time. We found Golden Fantasy Mansion to be a perfect place to remember our special family ocassion.
We had all our six grand kids and one grand kid in law and one great grand kid and all our children and mates. So we got to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary in a very special way altogether.
The accomodations were perfect and roomy. the decore was very different but it added to the adventure.
it is always an issue when you do something you have not done before. we had rented homes, condos and used our time share in the California area in the past and this was definitely the best buy and arrangement for the money.
we found it well stocked with everything we would expect from a time share facility.
The manager/owner was very good and gracious and helpful. We would highly recommended it to anyone especially a large group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a lovely family! So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Golden Fantasy Mansion! We certainly hope you come back and stay with us again :)
Karin & Dan Golden

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

House of Interesting Repute: I will not Rent Again

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

I rented this house for our family to use while in town for my mother's funeral. The location is good but that is about it. During our stay we found evidence that the owners rent this house to be used for adult parties. Apparently the owners have no problem with this. The granny flat had a very bad odor; too much air freshener to mask something else, it seemed. The decor in this house is very odd until you undertand that the residence is used for various uses.

I have rented MANY vacation rentals and always received all of my cleaning deposit. The owners of this house fabricated reasons to keep more than half of my cleaning deposit. I would not recommend this home for any family or normal vacation group.

Owners response: After giving this family a special "condolence" discount, they are the very first people to ever have a complaint about our vacation rental. They were told before they rented it that our rental season had not actually begun yet and that we had not had our annual deep cleaning, which we were scheduled for. There are no bad odors and we've never ever had anyone say anything like this.

What people do when they are renting from us is their own business. We rent the mansion out for receptions, bachelor parties, corporate events, and private house parties. We do not monitor what our guests do behind closed doors. If someone threw a wild party, that is their business.

As you can see from all of our other testimonials, this woman is the only complainer. Maybe because they came to the mansion saddened by the recent deaths in their family, they did not see the house as being the happy and fun place that it is. The decor is the reason we call it the Fantasy Mansion. Most everyone LOVES the ambiance! All of the families that we've ever rented to have had fantastic vacations and have left wonderful feedback. We have families who return year after year.

As far as the security deposit, on page 2 of our rental agreement, it states very clearly how the house must be left in order to receive a full security deposit refund. It was not left nicely like all of our other renters leave it. The deposit also coveres the cost of replacing broken and ruined items, which there were.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving 2011

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Golden Fantasy Mansion in Carlsbad, CA. We had 21 in our family reunion group and the house accommodated us wonderfully. The kids and teenagers love having their own space in the granny flat and the old folks and the babies had plenty of space in the main house. My husband was especially happy with the location just a half a block away from the I-5 North or South on ramp. It was so convenient when we were ready to go somewhere. Karin was great to work with and was very helpful in making our stay enjoyable."


Thanks Again for everything.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mark and Paula

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

Dear Dan and Karin,
HAPPY HOLIDAYS from the Mark and Paula * * * * family!

We are a family that knows how to have FUN TOGETHER!!! We have been reunioning at Carlsbad beach for the past 25 years! LAST YEAR WAS THE BEST! Paula’s father and mother have rented condos on the Carlsbad beachfront since 1980 and began taking the whole family soon thereafter. As the families have grown up and begun having children/grandchildren of our own, the number of family members at the reunion has ALSO GROWN! Finding places for everyone to stay has been a challenge.

LAST YEAR WAS OUR BEST! Mark and I rented your Golden Fantasy Mansion for our children and grandchildren to stay in and WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! In fact, your amazing property exceeded our expectations! The rooms were beautiful and roomy. The floor plan was PERFECT for putting little ones to bed and then having plenty of space for the adults to play games together and visit to “catch up” with each other! The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, plates, cooking utinsels, etc. The yard was fun too! We had a little tea party on wrought iron furniture in the front. One day we had Great-grandma and great-grandpa come for a celebration of their 60th WEDDING ANNIVERSARY! Your home is now part of our FAMILY HISTORY!!!The location was fantastic…minutes from the beach! Could go on and on and on……

VERY IMPORTANTLY, both of you were wonderful to work with and we feel that we have new “friends” in you!

We are all planning on another GREAT YEAR NEXT YEAR!!!

THANKS AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!!!

SEE YOU THEN,

Mark and Paula

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this rental. We booked only 2 days before arriving since the rental we had reserved in the AZ mountains for our family of 25 was evacuated due to forest fires. We had plenty of room since we had several babies that didn't require their own beds. The house is beautiful and the kitchen/family room area was conducive to a large group. We didn't love all the mannequins and some of the "European art" on the walls, but we just pretended they weren't there and so did the kids. Dan & Karen were very accomodating and so great to work with. The only down side to this property
is the difficulty in pulling out into the traffic. There were blind spots in both directions. Also, there were a lot of stairs to get to the kitchen and the main area. It wasn't hard for anyone except Grandma and it was a lot of stairs. We went to the beach, Legoland, and one day headed down to San Diego. It was a very fun-filled week. THANKS!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad we were able to accomodate you on such short notice! Sorry you did not appreciate the mannequins and the art. Not everybody has the same taste but that is what makes it the Fantasy Mansion! It is unusual and whimsical, to say the least :)
Karin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

27th Anniversary

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

The Golden Fantasy Mansion was just the right place for our 27th anniversary. With 12 kids it offered enough room and plenty to interact with around the property and visits to the beach. After our children left, we enjoyed the elegance and serenity of a quiet peaceful vacation."
Jake & Terri

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Alkema Family Reunion

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Dear Dan & Karin,

Thank you for being gracious hosts. You accommodated our every need and made our stay at your mansion very memorable. The Golden Fantasy Mansion was the perfect vacation rental for our family reunion to create the long lasting memories that we had hoped for. We had family come to the reunion from Oregon, Northern and Southern California, Arizona, Utah, and Illinois. It was very important for us to have a place to gather with large rooms where we could spend some quality time together as a family. Like many families, ours loves to eat together and we had some wonderful meals in the upstairs family room with the roomy kitchen and the beautiful view of the lagoon and ocean. The master and the lovers’ bedrooms were both ideal for our mature couples and the turret bedroom with the two queens was perfect for one of our young couples with two younger children that they needed to keep close by. The granny flat enabled us to give the older children and teenagers their own space to hang out and sleep which saved some our sanity.

The Carlsbad location was just what our family wanted. The close proximity to the beach, the fantastic weather, and access to all the fun things the San Diego area has to offer ensured that our family had an endless supply of things to do. Between visiting the Wild Animal Park, the Zoo, Sea World, and going to the beach a number of times, nobody complained about being bored. In fact, many have commented on just how much fun they had. We had one raining afternoon and the rest of the time was sunny, warm and just simply beautiful. As it turned out the New Year was not a bad time for a reunion in San Diego. All our other reunions have been elsewhere and in the summer. Thanks again! We had a great time!

Don and Janet

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Years 2010

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Dear Dan & Karin,
Thank you for being gracious hosts. You accommodated our every need and made our stay at your mansion very memorable. The Golden Fantasy Mansion was the perfect vacation rental for our family reunion to create the long lasting memories that we had hoped for. We had family come to the reunion from Oregon, Northern and Southern California, Arizona, Utah, and Illinois. It was very important for us to have a place to gather with large rooms where we could spend some quality time together as a family. Like many families, ours loves to eat together and we had some wonderful meals in the upstairs family room with the roomy kitchen and the beautiful view of the lagoon and ocean. The master and the lovers’ bedrooms were both ideal for our mature couples and the turret bedroom with the two queens was perfect for one of our young couples with two younger children that they needed to keep close by. The granny flat enabled us to give the older children and teenagers their own space to hang out and sleep which saved some our sanity.
The Carlsbad location was just what our family wanted. The close proximity to the beach, the fantastic weather, and access to all the fun things the San Diego area has to offer ensured that our family had an endless supply of things to do. Between visiting the Wild Animal Park, the Zoo, Sea World, and going to the beach a number of times, nobody complained about being bored. In fact, many have commented on just how much fun they had. We had one raining afternoon and the rest of the time was sunny, warm and just simply beautiful. As it turned out the New Year was not a bad time for a reunion in San Diego. All our other reunions have been elsewhere and in the summer. Thanks again! We had a great time!
Don and Janet

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do what we can to accomodate everybody so communication beforehand is important! Thanks for all the emails to help us set the mansion up to your liking. Yes, the house is so perfectly located, peaceful, and private at the same time as being right there close to everything!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a unique stay!

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

What a unique location, our family had a wonderful time. The house is full of interesting antiques, and everyday there was a new "hey come look at this!"

Everything was nice and clean, the house is amazingly sound proof providing a good night sleep and stepping out with a cup of coffee onto the upstairs porch in the morning was delightful, especially with the view of the ocean a few blocks over and the visiting hummingbirds.

The evening were also a joy, sitting around the kitchen and dining room with a glass of wine and music in the background, how relaxing.

The owners were so wonderful! They even were able to help use when we were locked out late one night.

We would definitely recommend this to friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Definately a great place to stay for a girls weekend or romatic getaway! The beautiful antiques and all the fun stuff in the house really makes it an unusual place to stay. The home has a warm feeling, not like a sterile hotel at all!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Hi Dan and Karin,

We had a great time at the Golden Fantasy Mansion.

The home itself was very unique and offered hours of entertainment just to tour the property, viewing the beautiful antique furnishing and hollywood movie memorabilia . . . It exceeded our expectations and was a pleasant surprise in comparison to what one would normally expect from a vacation home rental. We all had plenty of space, privacy and the attached Granny Flat was perfect for our multiple family set up.

The location was perfect, centrally located and just minutes from all the great vacation venues which Southern California has to offer.

Things we did, just to name a few:
Disneyland
Lego Land
Wild Animal Park
Sea World
Deep Sea Fishing (Carlsbad and San Diego)
Many trips to the beach for fun & sun
FIne Dining
Shopping

Needless to say, it was a memorable, fun filled, wonderful time for all. Thanks again for being so accommodating and attentively catering to all our needs.

Sincerely,

Dominic

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas 2009

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

Karin, I just wanted to let you know what a great time our family had at the mansion! It was the perfect setting for our Christmas reunion... The decorating you had done was beautiful, and we especially loved all the Victorian Santas. Both the kids and adults loved looking at all of your treasures... (Of course my 14-year-old nephew would have liked to take the pirate skeleton home, but we reminded him about the new checked baggage limitations...) ;-) The layout of the home worked out perfectly for us. There was more than enough room for everyone to sleep, with plenty of privacy for the adults in the group. Thanks again for your helpful suggestions and being so accommodating! It was great to have such a large dining table for Christmas dinner, and the airbed you set up for us in the downstairs bay window alcove was perfect (my niece said it was very comfy, and the comforter set was beautiful). And it was a real bonus to be able to park so many cars off the street (your driveway is huge!). Being just seconds off of the 5 freeway was ideal for those of us who live locally and were coming and going. It was really a wonderful place for a large family reunion, and we'll all have many happy memories of our stay... Thanks again for everything! Barbara
P.S. The picture was taken on Christmas night... After dinner and exchanging gifts, we always have a champagne toast, then we open old-fashioned (British) Christmas crackers, which contain a paper hat, a small toy and a silly joke. (After the champagne, we think we look so good with the paper hats on that we have to take a picture in them...) ;-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review