reviews for: listing #28731 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Oceanfront House - Kona Bay Estates
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kona Bay Estates
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $550 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,850 /wk
    $11,340 - $13,860 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Great location, the house description was accurate and the photos do not do justice. Would definitely stay here again. Loved the Keiki beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

Great location,beautiful views! Close to restaraunts, markets, and shopping. Gated and very quiet neighborhood. Loved "baby beach". The house is in need of some TLC. The kitchen could use a toaster,blender, and general kitchen gadgets. Also, new deck furniture and beach chairs are needed. We purchased our own beach chairs and umbrellas from Costco. The cost of the rental property was excellent as we stayed there for three weeks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaii with Friends

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Great location- suggested by friends. Beautiful environment, safe- Weather even the one rainy day was beautiful

A couple of issues, towels smelled and needed to be washed before they could be used, the first floor really needed air conditioning as the afternoons were really hot with sun beating on the home

Markets were close and the fruits and seafood available were exceptional

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Our group of 8 including adult children, and grandparents stayed at this home for a week in December 2013. The home is in a great location, walking distance to Kona amenities and restaurants if you are not a senior. The Kona Brewing company was one our favorite spots and was only about a 10 minute walk away. The water front location offered us pretty spectacular views of some of the biggest waves Kona has seen in years. The photos are accurate of the place. It is clean, not extravagant, but is definitely comfortable. It does get hot in the afternoon with the sun shining on the patio and living area and only the upstairs bedroom has air conditioning. It cools off very nicely once the sun goes down. The owners were very accommodating providing us with an extra cot. I would recommend to others and would definitely come again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleasantly Surprised!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

The description of the house was accurate. In fact we were pleasantly surprised. The house is in a residential private gated estate right on the ocean, not in a resort type setting which we liked. The house is very roomy. The open plan kitchen is a good size and well equipped. The lounge/dining area is large, with a small TV. There was also free wifi. When we were in the house we spent our time out on the large lanai (terrace/balcony) eating meals, and spotting whales, or watching the sun set. There is a great BBQ on the lanai, and a laundry room with a large washer and dryer. The bedrooms were large, with plenty of storage space, and the bathrooms were all a good size and functional. I stayed in the master bedroom which had a great double shower, and double sink combo. It also had its own balcony which was lovely. The master suite also has it’s own TV. The property was clean, and well maintained. The property is 20-25 min walk into the town of Kona where all the bars, restaurants & shops are, but I wouldn’t let that put you off – it’s easy to drive and park in Kona. It’s only a 5 min drive into town. Alternatively for a night out taxis are cheap and reliable (less than $10 USD for a people carrier into town).
You can walk 5min in either direction along the ocean front right from the house to get to little beaches with great rock pools – we saw a sea turtle!
I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We should have stayed longer!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We had a spectacular time. Only issue was that we should have stayed longer! The house was great, it had everything you could possibly want for cooking and for beach activities. It was very airy with a wonderful breeze and no need for air conditioning. The view was fantastic and the sound of the ocean at night was very relaxing and helps put you to sleep. The location is also very convenient, close to shops, restaurants, and the airport. The community is also very well maintained with lots of other beautiful homes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Watch the ocean from the balcony, great location

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

The description of the house was accurate. In fact we were pleasantly surprised. The house is in a residential private gated estate right on the ocean, not in a resort type setting which we liked. The house is very roomy. The open plan kitchen is a good size and well equipped. The lounge/dining area is large, with a small TV. There was also free wifi. When we were in the house we spent our time out on the large lanai (terrace/balcony) eating meals, and spotting whales, or watching the sun set. While the decoration in the house isn’t modern or luxurious when compared to some of the other property rentals I considered, it is large, comfortable, clean, and very well equipped. It’s also a good price for what you get. It’s still a lovely place to hang out, and a great base to explore the wonderful island. The owners have been vert considerate of what you may need. There is a great BBQ on the lanai, and a laundry room with a large washer and dryer. The bedrooms were large, with plenty of storage space, and the bathrooms were all a good size and functional. I stayed in the master bedroom which had a great double shower, and double sink combo. It also had its own balcony which was lovely. The master suite also has it’s own TV. The property was clean, and well maintained. The rental agents (Clark Realty) were very pleasant to deal with, and responded quickly to all my email questions. There’s enough parking at the front of the property to park 3 cars easily. The property is 20-25 min walk into the town of Kona where all the bars, restaurants & shops are, but I wouldn’t let that put you off – it’s easy to drive and park in Kona. It’s only a 5 min drive into town. Alternatively for a night out taxis are cheap and reliable (less than $10 USD for a people carrier into town).
What I would say is that the property is right on the ocean – you’re less than 60 ft from the sea. Which is wonderful, but with kids this might be a concern. You can walk 5min in either direction along the ocean front right from the house to get to little beaches with great rock pools – we saw a sea turtle!
I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.
Eating out in town;I would recommend eating early (reservations for 6pm) especially in restaurants that serve the catch of the day, as if you leave dining until an 8pm reservation you won’t be left with a lot of menu choice. Also a lot of nice restaurants close at 9pm. The food is great though and worth eating out early for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

All of us enjoyed this trip very much. The house was very spacious and comfortable. The view from the house was spectacular! I would definitely recommend my friends to this place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review