reviews for: listing #28738 - Oceanside, California House rental

Luxury French Villa with Private Beach
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  St Malo
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $695 - $795 /nt
    $3,550 - $4,550 /wk

sort by:

Thanksgiving Week

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Our entire family stayed for the week over Thanksgiving (10 adults, 2 babies). We loved our stay! This is a fantastic community. A very short walk or bike ride (the owners provide plenty of bikes) to the beach. It is gate guarded with many speed bumps so we felt very safe walking and riding. The house itself is very unique. The kitchen is modern and fully stocked. Although there is only one gathering room, between the open kitchen, the living room and the huge enclosed courtyard, there was plenty of room for all or us. It is a beautiful house and community and I would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very glad you had a wonderful stay! Thank you so much for the review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

St. Malo Vacation Home- Gorgeous!!!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had a wonderful experience in this gorgeous home! The weather was beautiful and the location couldn't have been more perfect. It is close to Legoland and the flower fields, as well as many new restaurants near the Outlet Mall. The house is very well stocked. I am a chef and the kitchen was well maintained. The neighborhood is a very quiet gated community. The home had bicycles for our use and we were a short walk to the private beach. We were instantly relaxed upon our arrival. The home was clean and cozy, and the staff was extremely attentive! We will definitely plan another vacation in this spot.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

LOCAL APPROVED LUXURY VACATION HOME

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

St. Malo was the perfect place to celebrate with my family my recent graduation from law school. It has been a long journey. It was nice to kick up my feet after four years, take a deep breath and relax. We could not have found a more perfect home to unwind. As we entered the gates of the private community we instantly felt like we were on vacation even though we live locally in San Diego. The spacious home was just the right size to enjoy family and friends without feeling like we were on top of each other.

The community having its own private beach was icing on the cake. We were able to bring our kayaks, surf boards and paddle board down to the beach with ease. The break off the coast was beyond ideal. The nieces and nephews enjoyed playing a “friendly” beach volleyball game against the adult on the community provided court. We came away feeling like we were indeed at private Mediterranean beach atmosphere.

My wife LOVES to cook, she was so impressed with how fully equipped the kitchen was with everything for preparing large meals for the group and baking up a storm of goodies for us to enjoy. We were truly spoiled by the large and open floor plan. We never felt crowed. After a busy day in the surf it was very nice to go back to the house and have a movie experience right in the large living room. The surround sound system was like being in a theater. In fact my wife insists I do the same thing at our own home.

The staff was beyond helpful and accommodating prior to arrival and during stay. They were able to refer us to a remarkable cater in town to host a small post-graduation celebration within homes private courtyard which was a huge hit with family and friends. They also helped us locate a company that rents cribs for my brother’s family.

We look forward to staying here for future family retreats and a few weekends during the year. We would definitely recommend this home for friends coming into town for both business and pleasure.

Owners response: Congratulations on your recent degree. You have paid us a huge compliment by staying at our vacation home being that you do live in San Diego. It is always nice to have locals choose our home to celebrate with their friends and family. We look forward to being a part of your future in-town vacation getaways. We do offer multiple booking discounts as well.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Family Retreat

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This family vacation home could not have been better. My grown children live across the states and we had quite the memorable vacation together. When we arrived, the home was waiting for us, clean, bright, and comfortable. The owner, Perry and his helper Tricia were not kidding when they said that there was plenty of room for our family. There were 10 of us, and the time together was wonderful. Everyone had good nights of sleep in these adorable decorated bedrooms. One of our favorite things in this home was the courtyard, where most of our meals were enjoyed by all. It brought back many memories of when the kids were young and I miss this perfect vacation spot already, and it has only been a few days since we returned home. I am already looking to book again for next summer. Thanks to the owners for making us so comfortable and the memories will last a lifetime.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words about our vacation rental. We are so glad to hear that our home exceeded your expectations and you had such a wonderful family reunion. We look forward to renting to your family again next summer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very disappointing stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We rented this property for a week in June 2012. Our experience was very disappointing due to multiple issues, and I would strongly recommend AGAINST staying here again.

The initial issue was the broken dishwasher. We called the owner multiple times over our first three days trying to get the issue resolved as the dishwasher did not work. Instead of getting a helpful response from Perry, we were ignored. He refused to speak with us and eventually set his employee, Tricia. She would not call a repair person initially, but made a very odd offer to come do our dishes...really? It was very odd. After she came and went multiple times, and created significant disruptions to our vacation, 5 days after we brought up the issue, they had the dishwasher replaced. This took many hours of calling and waiting. The irony was that the owner outsourced all the appliance ownership and repair to another company, so he was not even willing to take care of the issue directly.

Next issue was the refrigerator. The quality of this appliance was poor as well. The water filter did not work, and the ice machine was broken too, and the temperature varied dramatically so some food spoiled while other froze. We brought this up as well, and received a comparably poor response.

But wait, there is more as the gas range in the kitchen also had a broken burner. We mentioned this as well and they totally ignored it.

This was the worst treatment I have ever received from an owner that lists their house on Homeaway. We were hoping to have a good holiday with the family, but we spent hours dealing with the owner, Perry and his employee Tricia.

I would advise staying away from this house if you are looking for a good family vacation home.

Owners response: We are surprised by the renter’s remarks after they had communicated to us via email shortly after their stay that they “mostly had a great time staying at your rental last week, except for the problem with the refrigerator and dishwasher.”

The first business day after the renters checked in both the property manager addressed the renters concerns. The property manager purchased bags of ice and gallons of water for the renters prior to the handyman’s arrival. The refrigerator was fixed that same afternoon and we were not contacted about any further issues about temperature being a problem with in the unit, otherwise the matter would have been addressed immediately.

The dishwasher was deemed to be unfixable; the earliest a new dishwasher could be installed was on Tuesday. The property manager recognized the inconvenience this caused the renters and did offer to wash their dishes in their sink while she was on site as a courtesy. She was just being courteous and kind.

The one burner on the homes stove top range was addressed but the renters were not present when tech came out with the property manager. We were informed by the tech unit needed to be sent back to the manufacture for repair. We did not want to inconvenience the renters any further by taking the stove top out. The renters were able to use the other three functional burners during their stay.

We went above and beyond to accommodate the renters once we were notified during our normal business hours on Monday of issues pertaining to the appliances and tried to rectify the situation and address all the renters concerns. Due to the nature of the situation with the refrigerator, dishwasher and stove top, the property manager did visit the home to evaluate the problems a few times over three days to meet with techs and the handyman so the renters would not have to interrupt their schedule and plans.

We have renters that rent from us year after year. Unfortunately sometimes minor issues occur. As soon as we were made aware of them we addressed them as quickly as possible and make arrangements for alternative solutions while working to quickly resolve the matter. We care about our property and providing great experiences for our renters.

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

very so-so

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We rented this house over New Year's and the experience was very so-so. I have to admit that we rented while being in one of the coldest winters California has experienced in years. Nevertheless.

The good points: the layout is very interesting and the gated community in which it is located is very nice. It is not on the beach, but near the beach and one has a 5 min walk to get to the sand.

The house itself is large enough to accommodate a large group (we were 7) and we never felt crowded, even with three kids. There are really 4 bedrooms and three bathrooms. The latter are clean and average in size. Rooms are also average in size, while the kitchen is of good size.

The entertainment system in the living room is not new, but is functional, even if complicated to make work. There was a choice of VCR movies that kept the kids happy.

What left us feeling so-so is that the house is dark and cold, especially in the living areas. The heating system was difficult to get right and we wound up feeling either too warm or too cold. The kitchen lacked many essentials (no breakfast bowls...) and only had 4 disparate wine glasses. Nothing to dry a lettuce. We like to cook and were disappointed.

There was an issue with the drain in front as in case of rain, water accumulate into a very large puddle that we needed to walk around.

Last good point: very close to Legoland (real 15 min drive) and relatively close to the San Diego Zoo (45 min) and Disneyland (1h).

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Yes, this week was one of the coldest and wet winters we have ever had. Our house is situated by a three sided courtyard with full floor to ceiling french windows wrapping completely around the house.
Dark and Cold? We have 4-year old dual split furnaces that have the easiest controls known to operate. You can control the heat by the individual degree. The kitchen is fully stock for any reasonable vacation. We hear from most of our renters that they use very little offered in the kitchen. Yes, our house is at the beach, not directly Oceanfront, The house in front of us is.
We fully explain this in our website and every tenant knows this before renting. Our prices also reflect non-direct Oceanfront. Our house was fully remodeled four year ago at a cost of more than $350,000 and we didn't add any square footage! This is a very nice high end comfortable property and if you read the above review, you can see these renters had a lot of nice things to say about our property. We're sorry the weather was so bad when they stayed with us, but thats Mother Nature!

Helpful votes: 2 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We loved the house and would rent again when we come out to San Diego again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

My husband and I loved having the opportunity to stay in your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We are sooooo looking forward to returning to this little paradise.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2009

We had a great Thanksgiving Holiday in the house. We were so happy the house worked out again this year for our family reunion of sorts. Thank you for referring a local caterer in the area to create such a great meal that all enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

As you know, WE LOVE renting your house every year for the last five years. So much so that we have recommended your home to many of our friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We just wanted to let you know that we loved our vacation and the stay at the St. Malo house. We rented the St. Malo house from 7/17-7/24 2010 and had a wonderful time. I just wanted to thank you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

St. Malo is very special to us, partially because we love the beach community having been raised in a similar one in Long Island, NY but also because the experience at St. Malo is so unique and special.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review