reviews for: listing #2877 - Mendocino, California House rental

Blue Heron 1 mi N. of Village Wht Water View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

The Blue Heron was a wonderful place for a long-dreamed of family gathering. We hoped it would be as great as it was described and we were certainly not disappointed. It was beautiful and had everything we needed and the location between Mendocino and Fort Bragg allowed us to enjoy all the activities we had planned. The Blue Heron was a perfect place for the gathering of our families and the making of wonderful memories in this lovely home by the sea.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Birthday

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

This house is in a beautiful setting. We had a fantastic stay. The house is fully equipped, decorated nicely and the view is awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and Relaxing!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Our family of 6 adults spent a wonderful week at this inviting home with white water views. It is one of the most serene settings I have found in a vrbo listing. The floor plan is excellent - 3 distinct sleeping areas offering complete privacy. I highly recommend this property if you desire a peaceful place to enjoy nature. The kitchen is top notch. My only caveats are that some soft fluffy towels would be wonderful as well as updating some of the cookware. We spent too much time scouring the skillets! All in all, this home is a winner and we plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Blue Heron

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Tomorrow Fall begins! As I reflect on the activities enjoyed during the Summer, my focus is on our stay at the Blue Heron. We first enjoyed the Blue Heron in 2007 and over the years we have returned during the summer for a special time with family. The home is beautiful; it is exactly as represented. It accommodates young and old with all the amenities. While at the Blue Heron we also enjoy the Skunk Train, Mendocino Botanical Gardens, the shops and quaintness of Mendocino, Caspar Beach, Point Cabrillo Light Station, McKerricher State Park, the aquatic center in Fort Bragg and Glass Beach (which unfortunately has greatly changed over the years). We cherish our visits to the Blue Heron and thank the owners for always being so helpful and...for sharing this beautiful home. We look forward to our visit in 2014!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rara

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

The Blue Heron provided a wonderful environment for our annual family reunion. The property was very clean, well appointed and comfortable for our three adult children and their families. The kitchen is up scale with great views and open to the large well lit great room with it's wall of windows facing the coast. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. The kids (and adults) enjoyed the arcade games and we all had a great time! The only negative is a safety issue with the hard wood stairs. Our grandchildren (0-6 yrs.) slipped and fell numerous times. A runner would add to the safety. Otherwise, the property was excellent!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful 3 night mini vacation in Mendocino

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My family and I just returned from 3 nights at the Blue Heron vacation home in Mendocino. It was a wonderful mini vacation - clear/blue weather, beautiful coast, and a large, welcoming and clean home at the Blue Heron. The floor plan is perfect for a family with kids (the have a large entertainment/play room downstairs) and enjoying the ocean views and sunsets from the main living area upstairs. The owners have made an extra effort to ensure the home is well equipped (from A to Z) and set up with the latest technology (e.g., wi-fi, Pandora, Netflix streaming). We highly recommend a stay at the Blue Heron.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Clean, very well appointed, quiet home located in a perfect spot (away from highway traffic and noise) to see all that Mendocino has to offer.
Plenty of space for a couple of families to enjoy the North Coast. Would definitely come back again- the owners were very accommodating (I had to change dates- no problem). The kitchen is a chef's dream- everything you could possibly require to cook gourmet meals.
One of the best VRBO places I have stayed- Thanks !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anonymous

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Rented the Blue Heron for a family celebration of husband's 60th. There were 6 of us - parents and two couples of adult children. House was perfect for this. The downstairs would have been perfect for a couple of smaller children as well. The home is clean, well-organized, and offers separate as well as gathering space. The drive to town is short and the hikes around the house are lovely. We saw whales from the bluff. House has an ocean view that is visible from the couch in front of the window - great to curl up and read early in the morning. All three couples were able to coexist - read, play games, do puzzles, nap - anytime without bothering the others. Saundra was helpful and we would love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Summer week ala "Blue Heron"

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

Thanks so much for a wonderful summer week. The house has so many benefits…. super location, terrific views and the house amenities are very well organized, labeled and accessible. The house was extremely clean and had all of the necessities to make a week long vacation SUPER.
The layout of the house is great for group AND separate / intimate times. The kitchen has an open plan that leads to conversation. The downstairs is great for kids and easily opens to a porch enclosure. Wow … We are definitely coming back !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Time at the Blue Heron

Review submitted: October 28, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron for 4 nights in October. The home is as described. Very spacious open areas, Large rooms. Gorgeous white and blue water ocean views. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub, jacuzzi, fireplaces, and sound system. The weather was generally good, but there is plenty to do if it's not. Lots of videos, books, board games, and even an arcade game. That made up for the lack of premium cable channels. The entire house was very clean and well maintained.

Lots to do outside the house also. Beautiful botanical gardens and some excellent state parks, restaurants and shopping a short drive away in Mendocino and Ft. Bragg.

Before we decided to rent this house, we had several email exchanges and phone discussions with the owner, who was extremely helpful, even suggesting nearby supermarkets.

We would definitely stay at the Blue Heron again, maybe next time with our adult children. We previously rented houses in southern Mendocino County, but overall this house was the best. The only annoyance (and it was a small one) was that we had to pick up and return the keys to a vacation rental agency in Fort Bragg, about 6-7 miles from the house, although it was a pleasant drive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We no longer require guests to pick up keys in Fort Bragg.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Our stay at the Blue Heron was very restful. The property is spacious and comfortable. We found the views beautiful and the house very clean. The neighborhood is quiet,lovely and very safe.

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Most spacious, delightful and best equipped house we have ever rented. Perfect for three couples with complete privacy for each. Lovely views, good location. Great kitchen - if you love to cook, this is the place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 28, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron in August 2007. The home is very spacious and comfortable. It had everything we could have asked for and more. The neighborhood was very peaceful and the views were fantastic. The location was also great since we were able to enjoy both Fort Bragg and Mendocino being so close. We would definatly rent this home again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 26, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

My wife and I traveled from Long Island , NY, in March, 2007, to kayak, hike, and whale watch. We spent 10 days at the Blue Heron and literally "everything" was wonderful; very responsive, informed owners, beautiful home with everything up-to-date (better than described in promotion), fabulous ocean-views from every room, idylic/peaceful neighborhood, wonderful parks to visit, and relaxed and friendly towns such as Mendocino, Fort Bragg, and Little River. We have stayed at many VRBO offerings but this was "the best." We found the Pacific Northwest to be very exciting; seeing whales,abalone fishermen, exquisite fauna and wildlife as we paddled the rivers. We will never forget the wonderful memories offered as a gift by the Blue Heron owners and home. Words cannot really describe the Blue Heron home, the views, the parks like Russian Gulch, and kayking Big River. A moment in time to cherish for my wife and I. Bill and Kathy Fibkins

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 22, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

I, as well as 5 of my friends spent a week at the Blue Heron in November 06. We had the best time! The home is so comfortable, and nice....we didn't want for anything! Mendocino is a wonderful community---friendly and accomadating. The shops are awesome, and the wine tours were great! We especially had fun at Dicks Place, a fun, down to earth bar. I would recommend the Blue Heron for anyone. The only suggestion that I would have would be that you advertise that it will sleep up to 10 people. If these 10 people were adults, it would be pretty crowded. Perfect for 6 -8 adults!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 25, 2006   Date of arrival: October 25, 2006

We enjoyed our stay. The openess and cleanliness of the whole place let us relax immediately. Dealing with Saundra was also very good. Hope to go back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2006   Date of arrival: May 21, 2006

Everything was wonderul - Your home was gorgeous as was the location. We all appreciated your attention to detail with your Mendo Movies and reference materials, etc. The baby gate was a little tricky at first but we managed after reviewing the instructions - made life worry free - Thank you so much. We loved your home and look forward to referring it to others and returning in the future - Happy Renting!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2005   Date of arrival: April 24, 2005

The place is simply beautiful! We loved our stay here! And we loved the hot tub! Thank you for providing all the amenities we needed as well as a comfortable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2005   Date of arrival: April 3, 2005

The house is wonderul, with it's spectacular view and amenities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2005   Date of arrival: February 27, 2005

Beautiful home! Enough room and beds for all of us, and a lovely view. Great kitchen, very well equipped. We appreciated the high quality of the furniture, towels, sheets, and kitchen equipment. Also, the instruction sheets for the DVD and TV were very clear. Great equipment.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2005   Date of arrival: January 17, 2005

The property is beautiful. We enjoyed our stay and appreciate this lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 28, 2004   Date of arrival: November 28, 2004

Outstanding!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review