reviews for: listing #28784 - Taos, New Mexico House rental

Walk to Plaza-Romantic Adobe,hot tub,fireplace,A.C
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Taos historic distri
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $107 - $225 /nt
    $740 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Untitled

Review submitted: November 4, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Fantastic place and equally fantastic service. I would happily recomment Casa Montoya to friends and family - in fact we are hoping to get back again in 2008. Very central to Taos and the ski valley, Casa Montoya has everything we needed for our ski trip - the hot tub was the icing on the cake! Thanks again for your attention to detail and your warm welcome.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We loved Casa Montoya! There was such a sweet charm to that little place. It felt just like home for us. A very nice retreat for our road trip (so far the best place we have stayed yet). We even like how the Mexican restaurant down the street delivered to us (the girls paid thru the "drive through window"). Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This wonderful family's youngest daughter chose to write a school report about New Mexico so they all drove to our state so she could have an up-close experience. How blessed I am that they stayed at my casa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Warm and Charming!

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We had such a warm, relaxing time at this wonderful casita! So many charming touches from the wooden floors to the romantic kiva fireplace, cheerful artwork, bright dinnerware, diverse book and dvd collections (so fun to see Gary Larson's work again). The California King sized bed was a real California King and we just sunk in and wrapped ourselves in the soft comfort, the beddings were so nice my wife was trying to find some like it. Casa Montoya was clean, well-kept and made our trip to Taos extra special. Thanks to Ellen for wanting to make sure we had everything we needed and had a great time. We sure did!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Rental

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

This is a cozy, warm retreat in Taos. It's within a comfortable walking distance to the plaza and all of the galleries, shops and restaurants in and near the Historic District. It's quiet and offers a fireplace, hot tub, Wi-Fi connection, washer/dryer and fully equipped kitchen. There is no land line in the unit so bring your smart phone. Do not come to Taos expecting everything to be as it is in the big city. Taos is a small rural town with many historic attractions as well as an active artist community. We found this rental to be a very comfortable "home base" for any number of excursions or just a warm spot to hang out and unwind. The owner is attentive and seriously interested in the comfort and satisfaction of tenants. We will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The pictures tell the story

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely, well maintained property. It's proximity to old town was an easy walk, though I was a little disappointed in the surrounding properties. A minor problem with the WiFi was quickly addressed by Ellen. I would recommend this property for couples looking to enjoy the beautiful area of Taos. While there, be sure to take the Enchanted Circle Drive. Absolutlely beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

We just had the most enjoyable stay at Casa Montoya. The house is so comfortable and well appointed. No detail was forgotten. The proximity to Taos Plaza was great. We walked everywhere and thoroughly enjoyed the Fiestas on the Plaza and nearby restaurants and shopping. We will definitely recommend Casa Montoya to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First mini vacation with Sammy, our dog.

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Hi Ellen:

Received your e-mail. Always nice to get such positive feedback! Thank you so much.

Our first outing with Sam resulted in a delightful trip for all three of us. A very large part
of that was because of our stay at Casa Montoya! We were very pleased with the
accommodations and all the thoughtful amenities. Sam took to feeling at home right away,
and our Taos friends finally got to meet, and enjoy, Sam whom they had heard so very
much about. And, Sam, wow! -- I watched how his world expanded as we took our daily
walks in Kit Carson Park, around the Plaza, etc.

And you know what was especially nice w/Casa Montoya vs. a room at Taos Inn or the
(old) Fechin? Since the 90's, when visiting Taos, our dear friend has always opened her
home and hosted us to the hospitality that is such a part of Taos. This trip, however, was
the first time we were able to reciprocate, to invite her over to "our home" for the evening.
Casa Montoya made for an extremely pleasant get together.

Thanks again Ellen for you own, very pleasant, hospitality as well. We must now decide
soon for (hopefully) our early autumn return to Taos! 

With best wishes!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great home near Taos Plaza

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We had a great time at Casa Montoya. Easy walking distance to the Plaza. The hot tub and fireplace made it perfect. We will definitely stay hear on our next trip to Taos.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Colorado Traveler

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! Centrally located and very clean and affordable. I will recommend to all of my friends and family.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanksgiving 2012

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

Thank you! This house has been one of the most comfortable places we have stayed during our travels. We were constantly amazed at all the little amenities tucked away here and there that made our stay so easy and enjoyable. These amenities revealed a load of thoughtfulness and care in the management of Casa Montoya.
Best wishes to you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lucky Find

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

It was a stroke of luck, finding your lovely home on VRBO the day before we needed it, respite during a road trip. Relaxing in front of the fire, a dip in the hot tub, a load of laundry, a home cooked meal, home-away-from-home. Thanks for this bit of sanity and touch of magic!



Debbie & Steve, (and Buddy – pawprint)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

All the amenities in a quiet house near the plaza

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Ellen,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful casa with me, Sean, and Reagan. Our hike through the Gorge was beautiful, and we definitely enjoyed the hot tub (and the sounds of the nearby high school football game). The journey was definitely a much-needed recharge. Now it’s back to the gym after everything we ate!!

Joel

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Charming Casa Montoya

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

My daughter and I arrived in Taos about 6:00 in the evening. Casa Montoya was bigger than we expected, and so charming, with thick-glass French doors in the living room, art on the walls, creaky wood floors, and the bright-painted Mexican tiles in the bathroom.. That night, nestled under blankets on the surprisingly comfortable sofa-bed in the living room, I listened to rain beating on the roof and the windows and I was utterly content. I knew we would feel completely at home in our casa in Taos.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Lovely Taos Getaway

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We enjoyed Casa Montoya very much. Warm and lovely and centrally located so we wandered a lot. The house was very comfortable and had everything on hand to ensure it was like a home away from home. Love it, definitely repeaters!

Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and Delightful !

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Thank you Ellen and Winton for a wonderful and charming stay! I started cooking from the time I walked in, as it felt like home. Lovely and charming, everthing that I needed and friendly environment was at hand. Exactly the experience I was hoping for!
Inviting and ever charming, hope to visit again!!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Dear Ellen & Winton,

Dailey and I enjoyed our week here at Casa Montoya! The weather weas perfect and we felt so “at home” in this wonderful home. Taos is superb! Food was amazing, shops and galleries inspiring. We hiked near Red River while on the “Enchanged Circle” drive which was a highlight for us.

While here we were also able to spend quality time with dear friends We attended St. James Episcopal Church with them and had dinner with them and 5 other Taosanos. Which leads me to the best part of Taos for us – the people!!

Blessings to both of you and blessings to all who come to stay in this special place.

Vicki & Daily, Mansfield, TX

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful way to start a romantic first-time trip to New Mexico!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Thank you for providing this very special oasis for us. Anything we could have needed was right at our fingertips – and so exquisitely appointed. This was our first time to Taos and we loved it! It was so easy to walk from the casita to downtown - just minutes from the center Plaza.
Breakfast at Michael’s Kitchen is an absolute MUST!
Soaking in the hot tub after the Williams Lake hike was sheer bliss. The highlight was probably being able to hang out with the members of SOMOS at the cookbook party. It really gave us a sense of the spirit-filled and generous community to be found here. Blessings to our hosts, to the people of Taos and to all who stay here.Thank you for providing this very special oasis for us. Anything we could have needed was right at our fingertips – and so exquisitely appointed. This was our first time to Taos and we loved it! Breakfast at Michael’s Kitchen is an absolute MUST!
Soaking in the hot tub after the Williams Lake hike was sheer bliss. The highlight was probably being able to hang out with the members of SOMOS at the cookbook party. It really gave us a sense of the spirit-filled and generous community to be found here. Blessings to our hosts, to the people of Taos and to all who stay here.
Russell and Joan, Overland Park, KS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Memory-Maker

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

Casa Montoya is a memory-maker. Taos is permanently stained on me as it serves as the “home” to Brian and my engagement. On August 15 after returning from an epic hot air balloon ride through the Gorge. Brian proposed in the Taos Plaza. This visit has sealed the entrance into a new era of life, as Casa Montoya wrapped us in at night and sweetly woke us in the morning. We don’t want to leave, but more of this journey awaits. Recommendation: Taos Mesa Brewing. It’s a teensy bit out of town near the airport. Just opened in August ’12 and worth a visit if you’re a fan of beer and uniqueness. Thank you for serving us as our home away from home.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely attention to details

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We arrived to find a beautifully appointed cottage in a private setting. It is a delicious home and very clean. We were delighted to find thoughtful touches such as coffee, filters and basic condiments. The home is immaculately clean and so is the private hot tub. There is NO sign of the afore mentioned barking dog, although there was a little typical neighborhood dog barking one expects to hear in a community in early evening it has since abated and all is quiet. Thank you to our hostesses. We are very happy with our choice

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Went to Casa Montoya for a 40th bday weekend for my husband. Such a quaint, quiet and relaxing location - but still within close walking distance of coffee shops, restaurants, shopping, and galleries. The place is the perfect size, with the perfect ammenities, and the perfect hot tub! After days spent exploring Taos and/or hiking in the mountains or the gorge it was the perfect place to unwind. A home away from home. We will definitely be returning and recommend it to anyone. It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and fabulously located. And any sort of email exchange with the property owners was not only professional but very pleasurable. Almost as if we were invited to stay at a friend or famlies house. Why would you stay elsewhere when you could stay at Casa Montoya!?! Four big thumbs us from us - and quite a few tail wags as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for skiing and taking in the sights

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Our vacation at your Casa Montoya was wonderful. The casa was perfect for the three of us and we appreciated the high quality of the extras like the towels and linens. Everything we needed was there, clean and comfortable. Your property made us feel a part of New Mexico with the traditional interior and architecture. Although we spent all of our days at the Taos Ski Valley (TSV) ski resort the outside patio catches the afternoon sun perfectly in the early evening. The property was far enough off of the main strip to be very quiet at night with minimal light pollution and traffic.

We walked to the plaza on a couple of evenings and enjoyed several of the restaurants. We can recommend The Love Apple( #1), Guadalajara Grill, and Dragonfly Cafe without hesitation. Grahams’s and Doc Martin’s were also good depending on what you ordered. We also had dinner at the Bavarian lodge at TSV which was excellent. One afternoon after skiing we drove to Ojo Caliente and soaked in the mineral pools for a few hours. For a real treat we visited the Earth Ships ‘commune’ after stopping at the Gorge Bridge. The local people were really nice. Our hope is to return again perhaps to ski some of the famous powder snow. We have stayed at private residences for several past vacations and can’t understand why people stay at hotels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quick trip to Taos

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

When we decided to come to Taos at the last minute, little did we know we would be so blessed to find ourselves in Casa Montoya - we are grateful! Had a wonderful, albeit short, visit. Hiked the Traders Trail to the Rio Grande in the morning - a great warm-up for the Devisadero Loop Trail in the Carson Nat'l Forest - beautiful perfect hike!! The hot tub was much appreciated after a total of 9 miles today! Thank you, from the bottom of our heart - for the comfortable respite.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Montoya - Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

I have stayed here twice and just love it. It is such a comfortable home - so clean, cozy and nicely appointed. I also love the new couch (great place to nap - and fold out for a serious snooze). Also, the owners are super-friendly and easy to communicate with. I always feel like a special guest. Everything is sooooo nice and great to have that pleasant short walk to everything in old town. Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Must Love Dogs.......barking, barking

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

A neighbor's dog barked all day and all night. The owner of this house is aware of this, calling animal control and even talking to the mayor to no avail. She advised me to call the police/animal control which I did, 3x, not what I wanted to do on vacation and it didn't help anyway. The owner was very apologetic. Before I agreed to take the place I asked if it was quiet and told 'just the normal living noises,( I don't consider constant barking 'normal') Ear plugs didn't help. On saturday night the neighbors were yelling and hitting each other and more dogs barking.
Didn't use the hot tub b/c it wasn't clean (cloudy)
Other than those 2 problems, the cottage was every bit as charming as people have said. They thought of everything to make it comfortable. I would love to stay there again IF it was in a different location.
Lovely inside.. problems outside. I left early and felt like I had wasted my money

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: First I would like to say: please read our other guest reviews. This is the first negative guest review we have ever had and we've been renting our lovely Casa for almost 10 years now. Our guests love our Casa and the fact that we are family owned (not an anonymous property rental agency) and that we take good care of our guests. Many come back and make it there vacation home in Taos.
This incident was a rare occurrence and could have happened anywhere in Taos.
Unfortunately, the neighbor's dog did bark while our guest was there. However, it has since been removed as there were many complaints from all over the neighborhood. I did speak with the neighbor at the time and asked them to take better care of their dog. I did visit with the guests as well and tried to find an immediate solution.
Unfortunately, also when close to the historic Plaza, the neighborhoods are more closely knit and there are thus neighborhood noises, though dogs barking is NOT a constant occurrence and it certainly is NOT in our neighborhood.
Guests have given us great reviews. I'm sorry that this guest had the unfortunate experience that she had.
Also - we clean our hot tub after every single guest and we clean it thoroughly.
Thank you. Winton Wood, property manager (and daughter to the owner).

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The perfect getaway...

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

All we can say is... if you want to experience Taos at its' best and experience total relaxation, then Casa Montoya is the place.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing high standards

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Our second visit to Casa Montoya - unfortunately 3 years apart. Walking in the door was like coming home, so warm and welcoming. The very high standards we found on our first visit have been maintained and we were very happy we had decided to return.

The hot tub after a tough day on the slopes is highly recommended, the kiva fire is geat for quiet evenings in but the casa is within walking distance of town if you do get the energy to go out!!

Hopefully it wont be another 3 years before we get back again:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Montoya

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

This home was perfect! A home away from home with absolutely everything anyone could need. We spent our honeymoon there. It was romantic and cozy! We definately will be telling everyone we know about it and will return many more times! Can't say enough nice things about it. Only bad thing to say is that we did not have near enough time there! The hot tub is awesome as is the fireplace. Truly wonderful memories! Thankful that someone would share such an amazing place with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

We stayed at Casa Montoya a year ago and had such a happy visit that we went back for a long weekend birthday celebration. The house is a delight - beautifully furnished, well-maintained and full of unexpected and generous touches. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. The location is ideal, very quiet but within easy walking distance of Taos restaurants, galleries and museums. It is a lovely and relaxing place to stay, and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

Casa Montoya is a fabulous place to stay. The accommodations were incredible. Our family felt at home as we were very comfortable with the size and quietness of the neighborhood. We loved the location as being so close to the many shops and eating establishments. If you are looking for a Home away from Home, I would highly recommend Casa Montoya. Our family will definitely be coming back to our “Now” new favorite place to stay. Thank you Casa Montoya for making us feel so comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Warm and Cozy Winter Retreat

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 17, 2009

Casa Montoya was very conveniently located within the town of Taos and all that it has to offer. The inside of the home is attractively decorated and very comfortable to stay in. There was something for everyone! We especially enjoyed the hot tub after long days of skiing. The drive to the Taos Ski Valley doesn't take too long, and you won't mind the time in the car with the scenic view of the mountains on the way there. Casa Montoya is a perfect soultion for a family that doesn't want to be cooped up in a hotel room and wants the comforts of home! This house has everything and then some! The best part...we saved a ton of money staying at Casa Montoya compared to a tiny hotel room in the Taos Ski Valley. Anytime we come to Taos we will be staying at Casa Montoya!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little bit of heaven in Taos

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

I am writing to provide a very positive review of Casa Montoya in Taos, New Mexico. This is a lovely small house that is located close to town and an easy walk from shopping, excellent restaurants and other activities. The house itself is well equipped and comfortable. The owners attend to the smallest details to make the house comfortable for visitors. The kitchen is well equipped; the furniture is new and comfortable and, although we didn't use it, the fireplace is a nice touch. The bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed. We loved the atmosphere of the house that invited relaxation and romantic moments. The hot tub was also very nice. We hope to return to enjoy the town and mountains around Taos and "a little bit of heaven"... Casa Montoya. I might also add that we left two jackets in the closet and the owners were so kind as to mail them back to us....just a sample of the excellent care and consideration provided by the owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

Casa Montoya has everything you need with many thoughtful touches added. Off street parking, lots of tall trees, extremely quiet, private, new furnishings, lovely bed linens, great fluffy towels (no thin hotel towels here), new and nice dishes, flatware. Bed is huge and comfortable. All appliances work, many condiments provided, just buy a few groceries. Loved the moose lamp, kitchen is cheerful and cozy. Great place to relax and stay in for solitude and reading, or venture out on day trips, shopping, etc. Can walk to the Plaza or just a couple minutes to drive there. Grocery store within five minutes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

We stayed for a week,it was great. Very clean comfortable house. When the web site says the bed is comfortable they mean it ! The house has everything you would need plus more. We also enjoyed the massage it was very good. Same with the hot tub. Can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Home Away from Home

Review submitted: February 21, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Casa Montoya was a wonderful, relaxing retreat for our family of 4 (including 2 teenage boys). We entertained other family members staying in the area over the holidays and found the kitchen well equipped to do so. The king bed was heavenly and the fireplace got quite a workout! The furnishings are very nice, and everything very tasteful. This is part of a bigger house - the Casita Montoya is attached on the back side. It was occupied during our stay, but we never heard a peep. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: December 8, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

I wanted to thank you again and let you know that we enjoyed everything so much. Your house contained everything we needed and we will recommend it to anyone planning a vacation. It is located in the perfect spot weather you want to go into town or go skiing. I also started reading your book and I really enjoyed it and found it very inspirational. We will definitely come back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Comfort at its best!

Review submitted: October 10, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

This location is great. Can walk to many places of interest. The neighborhood is quiet and you will feel right at home at the Casa Montoya. Do not hesitate to rent it, you will not be disappointed. In this particular instance, the furnishings and amenities are much more beautiful than the pictures you see on the Net. If you're lucky enough to meet Ellen, the owner, you will truly enjoy her exuberance. While in Taos, eat wonderful food at Michael's Kitchen and Doc Martin's. Be sure to visit the Pueblo, the Hacienda Martinez and the wonderful Museums. The artwork in Taos is exquisite and there will be something to purchase for every taste.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Hi Ellen
THANK you for sharing your wonderful home with us - what an amazing place! So clean, comfortable and convenient. Everything we could possibly think of to make the perfect holiday seemed to be in the house! The hot tub was a godsend after the day on the slopes - the ideal way to end any day, staring at the New Mexico stars and unwinding in luxury.

We hope to be back again soon!
Thanks again
Louise and Grainne

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 3, 2006   Date of arrival: May 3, 2006

(from an e-mail sent 5/3/06)
Ellen,

Dee and I forgot to write anything in your little red book but we had a wonderful time and staying in Casa Montoya was extremly very pleasurable. Staying at Casa Montoya versus "suite" hotel is a no brainer.. Casa Montoya is far more relaxing..

We did recommend you to a couple that we met at the Apple Tree at dinner on Saturday..They had never heard of the idea of staying in a house but liked it and we gave them the web site and Casa Montoya name.. Hope they stay as they were nice people.

Best of luck and we will be back..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2006   Date of arrival: April 20, 2006

We've enjoyed all the comfots you thoughtfully put together for all who stay at Casa Montoya. Thank you for cheerful colores, a well-equipped kitchen (juices, apple slicer & teas), soft cozy furniture, joke books and more.

The location has been perfect. We loved walking to town. Other things we enjoyed were: listening to music at the Adobe Bar, dinner at Doc Martin's, breakfast at Michael's Kitchen, shopping at Cid's Foods, and afternoon in Arroyo Seco and a guided tour of the Taos Pueblo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2006   Date of arrival: March 29, 2006

Your home is as enchanted as the circle. My family has been blessed by meeting you and Winton. We really enjoyed Casa Montoya because we felt at home, relaxed and inspired to change a few things in our lives. I personally have made a wish here and someday I will let you know if it comes true. Good luck with your dog and new grandchild. Thank you for allowing Nick to stay too. He liked the wireless. Let us know when you come to MN or WI.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 19, 2006   Date of arrival: March 19, 2006

I think you are my kindred spirit, Ellen! Your cozy and welcoming home was such a retreat from my stressful job! You have exquisite taste. Everything in it spoke of your zest for life and your love of people. I have had the great pleasure of traveling worldwide but I have never had every detail provided like you did for us at Casa Montoya!
Hopefully, we will meet you on our next trip to your heart-warming home.
Thank you for above and beyond hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 4, 2006   Date of arrival: March 4, 2006

Just when all the dogs on Montoya St. got used to us walking by, just when the magpie couple had made real progress on their nest in the tree across the street, just when we'd figured out how to find our favorite TV channels, just when we were really getting used to your super comfy bed - it's time to leave your cozy casita. We took the liberty of buying you a tub mat for safer showers, but otherwise your place was well-equiped and beautifully decorated. We had a great lunch at Sheva Cafe, a great day on the Enchanted Circle tour, and too much fun in shops and galleries. All the people we met were friendly and informative, and of course the scenery is magnificent.
Thank you for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 26, 2006   Date of arrival: February 26, 2006

Not only was Casa Montoya lovely, but it far exceeded our expectations! The decor was cozy, warm and inviting and we really don't want to leave. We had two amazing days of skiing in Taos and enjoyed shopping. We capped off our final evening listening to Ruben Romero playing the Spanish guitar at the Adobe Bar - what a wonderful evening! This was an amazing birthday weekend and we are fortunate to have spent it here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2006   Date of arrival: February 24, 2006

I wanted a "retreat" to come to. I thought Taos sounded like the right kind of thing. Lucky for me, I found your "Casita"! I spent days outside sightseeing and nights relaxing at home. And I slept a lot! Thank you for having me. It's been a pleasure and I hope to come again.
P.S. Wonderful bed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 10, 2006   Date of arrival: February 10, 2006

Not only is there a Yahtzee game, you’ve even supplied red cedar wood (the best smelling wood in the world!) From the moment we arrived I’ve been raving to my husband about how much I love your charming home. I’ve got LOTS of decorating ideas and even convinced him we should stay in and order pizza (which we can’t do where we live) and watch one of your videos. YIPPEE – it’s my birthday celebration, after all! Ellen, we’ve stayed in vrbo homes in Hawaii, New York, Florida and Rome and yours is by far the nicest!! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 5, 2006   Date of arrival: February 5, 2006

Ellen, thank you so much for sharing your home with us. It is lovely. We hope to make it back here again during another season, as Taos has so many wonderful activities to offer. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2006   Date of arrival: January 22, 2006

This is our second time to stay in Casa Montoya and, once again, we have had a wonderful vacation. We hope to visit again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2006   Date of arrival: January 13, 2006

Just drove up from the city to get away for a relaxing weekend. RELAX – we did! Your warm, comfortable home exceeded our expectations! Lovely! We’ll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 25, 2005   Date of arrival: December 25, 2005

Our stay in Taos was enchanting and your sweet home played an important role. The skiing was great and our discovering “Sun & Showers” Chinese restaurant made dining out a divine experience, not to be forgotten. Taos NM makes living in Tulsa bearable. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 26, 2005   Date of arrival: November 26, 2005

The people of Taos are as warm and inviting as your lovely home. All supplies were present to prepare our Thanksgiving meal. The bed was amazing. The last day I discovered the path to Kit Carson Park for a refreshing jog. We hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 21, 2005   Date of arrival: November 21, 2005

A lovely place to stay, as everyone has noted. I especially appreciated the aesthetics and the generosity of the furnishings. It’s a lovely, quiet time to visit Taos.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2005   Date of arrival: November 7, 2005

Ellen, this is a wonderful place and the care and concern you have for your guests shows through its every aspect. Our “retreat” from Santa Fe couldn’t have been more restful – doing so much of nothing, yet seeming so full and complete. We’ll have to come again and in the meantime, recommend it to others. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2005   Date of arrival: November 4, 2005

Casa Montoya has been a wonderful house to use for our anniversary. We loved how Ellen caters to her guests. The house is beautiful and we enjoyed the hot tub on the brisk, cool evenings. Taos and its surroundings are gorgeous and fun places to see. John and I hope to return sometime and enjoy some of the activities we weren’t able to on this trip. Thank you, Ellen, for all your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2005   Date of arrival: October 22, 2005

What a reunion we have had here at Casa Montoya. To be with my sister, dear friend and daughter in these lovely mountains and in such a peaceful house could not have been any more perfect. We are planning to send my parents here for their next anniversary. I have been fortunate to have traveled a lot in my 31 years and have stayed in many great places – Casa Montoya is in my top 5. We just loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 14, 2005   Date of arrival: October 14, 2005

Ellen – Casa Montoya was an enchanted retreat. The colors of yellow, tangerine, crimson made the home warm and friendly. Each day I would find one more art piece, book, plate or accessory to make the home more inviting. The bed and living room couch were extremely comfortable. Your decorating syle is enviable. The casa was in the best location for everything. The street was quiet and neighbors friendly. Thank you for sharing the house with us. My vacation was perfect.AnnetteI am grateful for the opportunity to spend my birthday here in Taos and in this very lovely home. The northern mountains are immense! It’s great to spend a week in a private home with a hot tub and a fireplace on top of very comforting furnishings.Sara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 4, 2005   Date of arrival: October 4, 2005

A great location, right in town, all the comforts of home and more. Ellen thought of everything when furnishing Casa Montoya! A beautiful drive to the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, just about an hour after sunset. Enjoyed the morning at the Taos Pueblo. Doc Martin’s for lunch as well as Apple Tree Inn and Antonio’s for Mexican food. This space exceeded our expectations! Joy to all who follow us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 29, 2005   Date of arrival: September 29, 2005

Fine house, comfortable, all conveniences, close to town: excellent stay. I recommended it to all my friends in town as a place for their visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2005   Date of arrival: September 21, 2005

Your home is magical and enchanting. The décor is warm, inviting and inspiring. Our most memorable experience was spending time with you at dinner at Doc Martin’s. The conversations we had were enlightening and timely. Good luck with your book. Can’t wait to read it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2005   Date of arrival: September 17, 2005

What a nice, unique place: a touch of the old and a touch of the new. Very tastefully done. Everything is in place. We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Montoya. I enjoyed what I read of Summer’s book – smart girl! Hope to make a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2005   Date of arrival: September 4, 2005

A very comfortable, homey retreat. Quiet, stress-free, peaceful. Very clean and had everything anyone could need. Ellen, you are a very gracious host. I enjoyed the drive along the Enchanted Circle. Got lost in the serenity of the enchanted forest, the vast openness and peacefulness of Eagle Nest Lake and valley. The hot tub was refreshing. I slept so soundly and peacefully in the comfy bed. This solo retreat was a nice way to get back in touch with the creator of this beauty.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2005   Date of arrival: August 29, 2005

Ellen, What a great place to spend our anniversary. The house was wonderful and the hot tub was a welcome relief after hiking up Kachina. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2005   Date of arrival: August 21, 2005

We had a GREAT time in Taos and enjoyed your cozy home for a very relaxing weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2005   Date of arrival: August 4, 2005

Ellen - your home is cozy, comfortable and convenient. We loved being close enough to town that we could walk everywhere. The house was just charming - loved the decorating, great artwork and the king-sized bed was the best ever!! What a great night's sleep! Our boys loved the house, too, and we appreciate you allowing them to stay. Enjoyed meeting your son, Peter. What a nice guy!! We wish you only nice people in this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2005   Date of arrival: July 26, 2005

We’ve loved our time in your perfect casa – and all the kindness and joy you’ve shared with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2005   Date of arrival: July 6, 2005

We just got here and it is beautiful. We look forward to relaxing in the hot tub. We hope to go rafting and hot air ballooning. I wish we could stay more days. We went to the Plaza and checked it out. I love your Zen board.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 24, 2005   Date of arrival: June 24, 2005

We so enjoyed your lovely home – it is so comfortable and inviting. You have seen to every detail and the décor is truly wonderful. Our trip to Taos has been so relaxing, it is difficult to think of returning to the “real world”. I feel certain we will return. Thanks for your gracious hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2005   Date of arrival: June 18, 2005

Ellen, we’ve been so pleased to find such comfort and solace in this magical, enchanting abode of yours. We’ve never felt so “at home” in a place we’ve stayed while traveling. Your daughter was a gem getting us settled here. The coolness was so welcoming when we tumbled in the front door after our excursions downtown. Your taste in décor is remarkable & inspiring. Kevin and I have dreams of turning our California house into a New Mexico style dwelling after this visit to Taos. It’s my first time in Taos and I’m in awe of the serenity and beauty everywhere I turn.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Todd and I had such an amazing, romantic trip here (we even stayed 2 nights extra.) This was a very special trip for us, because it’s our homeymoon. We relaxed in the hot tub and by a fire every night. We cooked great meals. We truly had a wonderful honeymoon – and I loved doing my morning yoga here, too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 23, 2005   Date of arrival: March 23, 2005

Ellen, we enjoyed our time at Casa Montoya immensely. It is very cozy and welcoming and you have thought of every detail, right down to the cheese grater! The skiing in Taos was fantastic. We will carry great memories away with us of our visit. Here is our blessing for you: May the Lord bless you and keep you, may the Lord make His face shine upon you and give you peace.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2005   Date of arrival: March 17, 2005

Our time at Casa Montoya has been extremely enjoyable! After long days of fantastic skiing, it was great to come “home” to the very cozy Casa Montoya – and a soak in the hot tub sure relieved those sore muscles! This is by far the most well-furnished/decorated place we’ve ever had the joy of staying in. The effort put into making this place feel like “home” is greatly appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2005   Date of arrival: February 21, 2005

We are honored to be the third guests of this very comfy home. It was very inviting the minute we walked through the front door. Your attention to detail gives your home a very soothing atmosphere. It’s always nice to leave home – and feel at home. We made a very special wish in your bed (as requested in your manual). We’ll let you know if it comes true. Peace.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2005   Date of arrival: February 18, 2005

What a JOY to be here and share in the warmth and charm of Casa Montoya. We loved the skiing and great snow. The restaurants were great – had a romantic birthday dinner at Joseph’s Table. We hope to meet you someday – call us if you’re back east to visit your daughter. Here is my prayer for you (a version of Tibetan loving kindness meditation): May you be safe from internal and external harm;May you have a calm, clear mind and a peaceful, loving heart;May you be physically strong, healthy and vibrant;May you experience love and joy, wonder and wisdom – in this life, Just as it is.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 31, 2004   Date of arrival: December 31, 2004

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Everything was perfect – right down to the fresh flowers! The DSL connection was especially useful to get snow reports for skiing and keep up with incessant e-mails. And thanks for the Christmas tree – it brought the holiday feeling to the casa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review