reviews for: listing #28793 - Captiva Island, Florida Condo rental

Bay-side deal @Best Marina Villa in South Seas Resort!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Seas Island Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $242 - $560 /nt
    $1,700 - $3,800 /wk
    $6,550 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

The condo was amazing and so clean and beautiful I have no complaints we will be back soon!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Our trip was one of the best trips ever💜 the condo was beautiful and was perfectly located it was spotless the boys fished everyday and we BBQ ed by the pool. The dolphins and manatees were so amazing. We rented a golf cart and went to amazing restaurants and shopped in the cool and quaint stores the beaches were amazing and the water so clear and warm. We have traveled a lot Costa Rica Hawaii but we will be coming back to captiva the people so kind and loving💜 it was perfect🙏🌞

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: We love introducing first time visitors to our Captiva and our Marina Villa #905. Those of us who live here are constantly reminded of how lucky we are when we hear the glowing praise of our guests.

Guests notice all the little things we do and our dedicated cleaners love that their hard work is recognized. It's true our beaches are outstanding and the turqoise waters are pristine. What is even more special is to be able to take in our amazing views when just looking out the window or when eating on the lanai or simply resting on our front porch.

Many of our guests visit "Ding Darling" National Wildlife Refuge and simply lounge on the beach. Mary's family discovered how good our fishing is.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location, relaxing view

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Great location, relaxing view and plenty of sun and beach time. The four of us all agree that this has been the most relaxing time of all!! Already planning our return next year! Plenty of Dolphin and manatee sightings, birds and wildlife to enjoy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible vacation

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

We were at South Seas last year, through the resort and have to admit that this year was an incredible vacation at Marina Villa 905. The villa and it's amenities were perfect. The views were extraordinary and the hospitality superb! Mike, his family and everyone at Our Captiva made our vacation the most memorable! It was by far the most relaxing vacation with two young kids. Thank you and we will be definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The views out the windows could be on a postcard

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

We enjoyed the time we spent here. It was exciting to see the dolphins and manatee every morning and watching the huge ships pull in and out of the Marina. If you are looking for an excellent place to eat, try "Lazy Flamingo" their steak sandwiches are so good we went back twice. Thanks to Mike for the recommendation. So sad to go back to 30 degree weather! Thanks for the memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than resort Villa! We'll be back often.

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

We booked with a small amount of hesitation as it seemed too good to be true. We had previously always stayed at the resort or large agency condos, but at half the resort prices we had to try it. And there were so many super positive reviews, all 5 star how could we resist? More than 100 favorable reviews. There was only one which wasn't 5 star and the owner explanation was totally believable and turned out to be totally true!

Pleasantly, it was much much nicer than staying in the resort cookie cutter condos. And much cleaner, better kept, top shelf HIDef TV's, wifi, satellite tv; this Villa even had free Netflix.

The customer service was better than we had ever experienced.Truly top shelf on response and resolution. Some small issues were dealt with immediately and cordially.

Even though certain resort amenities were not offered, for example, we couldn't use the big, busy main pool. But the Marina Villa pool was right there, not loud and crowded and just a few feet from this Villa. This alternative amenities Villa turned out to be a huge benefit not a detraction. We had more family time, did more things together and no distractions from too many noisy kids at the main pool.

We absolutely loved it!

The view was the best we ever experienced at the resort. We watched nature at its finest, dolphins. manatees, birdlife and sunrises all from the Villa's lanai. We saw the big boats coming and going; really cool at night.

The condo was uniquely and whimsically decorated to add color: "fun", "tropical" and "cozy." It had more amenities than any other condo we've ever stayed in for over 10 years.

Top shelf computer right in the villa, & just about free everything; no nonsense nickel and diming for little things,
just pay the flat rate and from phones to internet, nothing in or around the unit cost another penny. Some mixed flatware and china, but everything was more than great.

No cleaning fees, no booking fees, no nuisance fees, this beat all these other agency condos as no silly charges. One agency actually charged daily towel fees.

When the rate is lower, the Villa and service better and the most cordial staff experience, what's not to love.

We even had a fat tire/pull cart for beach sand and carried anything we needed to bring to the beach in this cart.

Yes, we loved it and we're already booking our return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just to clarify, we appreciate such enthusiastic reviews. And need to add that we do not offer certain resort amenities, but our rates are so low compared to resort rates that our guests choose to save a bunch and add excursions of their own. They take moonlight sails, go on guided fishing trips, para sail, and do much more. And often, they still save money. But, one has to be willing to realize that they can have tons of fun by taking the plunge with 100 satisfactory reviews backig up our claims.

Once guests rent from us, they never go back to paying the high resort prices.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

HAPPY PLACE

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

one of the most peaceful place ever heaven on earth the villa was the best/The owner a great guy works with you Kristin was hands on for anything we needed to know /I lost a brother 24yrs old and dad 5 yrs later this was my mom 87 Birthday gift and we felt the love of the 32 with us in this heaven on earth place/

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Over the years since 2005, we have had so many nostalgic reports from guests from all over the globe; many of them repeat guests. The magic of the area's natural surroundings, dolphins running the length of the bulk head and view-able from the lanai thrill many of our guests all day long. Manatees in the big boat marina are always a thrill And Birders find their life lists grow astronomically. And speaking of astronomy, the starry sky is beyond compare. Walk the beach and enjoy the sunsets, the shells and nature at its best. Or, be adventurous and explore from the sea, or go boating, fishing or para sailing... so much to do on the dollars you get from the huge savings we offer to those renting directly from an owner who is committed to her guests and a local team of support staff who respond to every issue immediately. Come fall in love with our Villa on the marina and overlooking Pine Island Sound, as so many of our hundreds of satisfied guests have done.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A must stay!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

This was our second year at South Seas Resort. The first year we booked through the resort and while we had a great time, we decided to book through private owners. Mike, his family and everyone at My Captiva were extremely accommodating, helpful and down to earth. We did not miss the resort facilities at all. In fact, we were happy to have the same experience as last year at a more efficient price! We had access to the pool and the beach. That is all we needed. Plus, the views from the lanai were spectacular. We would see dolphins, Osprey and a whole bunch of wild life. The Marina Villa was the perfect location for our family with two young kids. When the kids napped, my husband and I would head down to the pool, have a glass of wine or beer, read our books. We could not do this anywhere else. The pool was steps from the villa so we could go and check in on the kids every so often. Plus, the kids had a blast in the pool! The beach was only 5 minutes away and Mike provided us with a very handy beach buggy to transport all of the essentials to the beach. The Marina Villa is equipped with everything you need. I promise you that you will not be disappointed. I was skeptical at first to book with VRBO but I am so glad I did. What a wonderful, memorable experience. We will be back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We appreciate and take excellent care of all our guests at Our Captiva. Like this young family discovered, so much more is available at our marina villa which simply can not be overlooked. Indeed the best of locations, views, luxurious accommodations and best prices are yours when you book this villa with us. Find out for yourself the many features that can be had, often at about half resort prices and sometimes even less. And you will also save a bundle with our many freebies from en suite computers, free phones, free movies on Netflix, free broadband internet & high speed WiFi and more.


Guests like this very satisfied family are willing to look beyond the obvious surface appeal of a resort to find so much more to do when renting the gems like our marina villa. Our special water view two bedroom is the nicest marina villa within the South Seas resort's finest location. But this choice avoids the more crowded path routine tourists take. We say take the best, but leave the rest!

Right smack in the middle of South Seas resort's most desirable location, choose our most desired condo and you'll choose the road less traveled, but most enjoyed. You too will find more to do than the crowded resort amenities, our choices are simply more fun, more family focused. We guarantee dophin sightings from our lanai, there is usually outstanding fishing just adjacent to our villa. And we offer so many freebies and you get to skip the crowds and noise, while you get much more. You will save much money with us compared to resort rental alternatives and other less attractive third party rentals.

Come join the smart travel shopper and see why over a hundred reviewers gave us such rave reviews and learn why we earned their trust, their loyalty, so many five star reviews and the years of mutually beneficial repeat business.

Hospitality and satisfaction are what we are all about!
Loyalty, repeat reservations and great references from loyal guests have been deservedly earned and they are appreciated nonetheless. Thank you, thank you, thank you! See you later this year or again next year!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for letting us share 905!

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We had a wonderful week! loved the location! The views, wildlife, sunsets, Ding, etc. No complaints- condo is very nice. Thanks for letting us share 905!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful seaside getaway

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Thank you again for our wonderful seaside getaway! Very much appreciate your continued upgrade of the condo amenities. Keep em coming. Can't beat the location and peaceful setting. Soothes the soul. Have a great remainder of the winter season. Hope to be back in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

Another Wonderful stay! We love the new Doc Ford's. Now back to the cold weather- although 11 degrees this morning- finally above 0.
Craig and Jane B.
Iowa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most fantastic vacation ever!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

Stayed with my husband and two little ones. We didn't use the additional amenities, as we found we didn't need to. The Marina Villa pool was so nice, but even better was the quick walk to the beach, little playground for the kids and the SHELLS! My husband is an avid bird watcher and he checked oodles of birds off his list. We went for loads of lovely long walks and bike rides. I cannot wait to return to this Villa. The owners were so accommodating and even left us a bottle of wine! The kids got up early every morning to watch the dolphins from the screened in porch that faces the water. BEST VACATION EVER!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the greatest review. "from your lips to the ears of so many prospective guests." :) with our rates generally half off resort rates, our guests discover so many fun things to do with their huge savings! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding Aniverssary

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

On a one day notice, we decided to return to Captiva for chritsmas, the secong year in a row. This condo surpassed our expectations, the dolphins, majestic views and the accommodations were first note. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your home on our 38th anniversary.

Ronnie and Valita from SC

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We had a great week at Marina Villa condo! Everything we could want was nearby: a heated pool right out the front door, dolphins cruising for fish right off the back lanai, a long quiet beach within minutes of walking, a harbor with a manatee, a pier for fishing, with pole rentals, a convenience store with things we forgot in town. The pool was specially important, since we had a cold snap close to freezing while we were there. The condo was clean and well decorated. We hope to visit you during the winter again.

Sharon from WI

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

wonderful!!!

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax! It was everything that we thought it would be. Great sunsets, watched the boats go in and out, great restaurants...we'll be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Leslie, we look forward to your return in the future.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful weeks

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 weeks, weather great, fishing unbelievable and a fantastic villa; what more could you ask for!!
Thank you so much! We had such a good time in your home.

Robert and family from Scotland, UK

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Weekend getaway with family and friends

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

We had a great stay. We have stayed in Captiva and Sanibel for years but this was our first stay at South Seas.The unit is beautifully decorated, with everything we needed to accommodate our stay. The view, dolphins only yards away and easy access to beach were perfect. Will return again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks so much for your outstanding review. We look forwards to your return.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for enjoying the beach and relaxing

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Great condo-nicely decorated and the view from the enclosed porch was spectacular. Ate breakfast there every morning and cocktails there each evening. Despite a rain storm each day, we did get to see five rainbows! It was quiet here this week, perfect for enjoying the beach and relaxing. Lots of good restaurants- the Mucky Duck was so good we went there twice!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

True Paradise

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We have a wonderful week, a true little paradise with great views!....The beach feast was accompanied by dolphins and manatees in the marina, what more do you want!!!!
Over all great, condo, made us feel at home!!! Thanks so much.

Ariane, Fleur, Xander, Robin and Robbert from Luxembourg ans Holland.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tranquility

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

Location, location, location!! Beautiful surroundings with endless views of pure tranquility. We had an excellent time enjoying our own "private beach". We have been to South Seas multiple times, but first time we stayed at the Marina. Condo was well decorated and clean. Everyone was extremely accommodating and easy to work with who were associated with our rental. After a week of absolute decompressing, getting back to reality is a whole lot more enjoyable!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful reference. We are delighted that our guests enjoy our Marina Villa #905 as much as we do. True, the beach and pool are wonderful. But, the spectacular view and environmental attributes are beyond measure. I discovered transcendental meditation with the beautiful natural surroundings.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We had a great time here..... Always is a pleasure to be here...
Relax, fun, etc...

Thanks for the accommodations, until next year!

Lima, Rafael, Adrian & Arianna from FL

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Visit Captiva

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Overall everything was excellent. Was somewhat disappointed that we were prohibited from making purchases at Scoops and denied access to restaurants on plantation. Room was well equipped and very clean. Nice view of Gulf.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, 5 start review and your visit with us. The resort does have bizarre rules re their separate resort amenities. And we did communicate to the guests that only the resort directly can offer resort amenities. As well, in all our emails and in our contract we also explain that, to obtain resort amenities, one needs to contact the resort directly. We highlight this fact in our emails in yellow hi-lighter and have 2 paragraphs in the body of the inquiry responses; our contract had an acknowledgement by the guests that they were so informed. When there are any
difficulties with this, we are here to help, but are only able to do so when we are
made aware of such issues.

Once again, you are lovely guests and we appreciated your stay. If you come again n please let us know b ahead of time and we will endeavor to get information on resort amenities.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular View

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

The view was spectacular, dolphins, manatees, eagles, boats; we had a great time. The atmosphere was perfect. Thanks for having us!

John, Jami, Jackson, Brent, Chesley, Haley from FL

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My husband and I came to get some R+R. what an incredible place you have!! You have thought of everything, we just loved it and didn't want the week to end. Who needs SS amenities!!! We had everything we needed. We rented bikes; well worth it, caught fish, saw amazing wild life - didn't want the week to end. Best week we have had. We didn't have a honeymoon in 20 years, this was it!!! We are coming back. Thank you.

Carolyn and Brad from Florida

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

We had a great time here! Lovely view, great shelling!
Thanks.

Bryce and Jessica from Ft. Lauderdale

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular View

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

The crazy canucks that we are; we drove over 2300 Km to get to Captiva Island and all I can tell you is that it was worth it. The view from this condo was spectacular. We saw plenty of dolphins, osprey, ducks and snook under the docks. There was constantly something to see. We can even forget the speeding ticket dad got on Sanibel heading to a fishing trip. The Island of Captiva was simply gorgeous. We will definitely be back next year.

Dan and family from Canada

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best stay we've had!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Every year we come to Captiva, we hope our holiday here will surpass the previous one, every year it happens, and our stay in Marina Villa here has played no small part in that, our third time in South Seas and this villa has given us the best stay we've had- the best views of wildlife in and around the Marina, the birds (Osprey, Pelican, Heron, Egret, kingfish....) close encounters with the dolphins feeding along the wall. These are just a few. The villa has everything we need and more. We hope to be back in 2014.

Ochand, Lyn and Alex from England

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome View

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We had a great time here at South Seas Resort! The view of this room is amazing- it was awesome to wake up and see dolphins and manatees out our back window! We also really loved that the pool was heated, it really came in handy on cold days! We collected many conch shells on Sunset Beach, ate ice cream, swam in the pool and much more! Everything here was absolutely amazing. A total Island Paradise. We are so sad to leave!
P.S
We recommend watching the sunset at Sunset Beach-take lots of pictures!!!!

Rebecca, Mark, Grace, Emmy & Nora from IL

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

This unit needs some TLC - mold & mildew - dirt caked in to baseboards - yuck!

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

First the positives then the negatives
My family of 5 just returned from renting this Marina Villa at the South Seas Resort in Captiva.
The Condo is located as an end unit with gorgeous views; so close to the water, peaceful & convenient to a pool and laundry room.
A detail that is VERY important to know if you have young children is that because this is a rental that is BY OWNER the resort will not sell you a resort pass. This can be a major hiccup if you are not fully prepared. The resort amenities are for guests that rent through the resort rental program not through a private owner. The front desk was friendly and helpful in answering all of our questions however and the grounds are clean and beautiful. Just be prepared to not be able to buy anything on the resort since everything is purchased with a "room key only" which you will not have because you do not have access to the amenities. This rule stands from January to August and the information is readily available by calling the manager at the front desk.
The concern I have with this unit is that is needs to be properly cleaned. I took about 20 pictures of the inside of the unit to have visual proof of the following.
1) The master bathroom has black mold/mildew in the shower. It is along the base of the shower door, along the edges of the grout, - it is thick and needs some bleach to get rid of it - I also think that re-grouting the shower would help - the mold is so deep in the grout in some areas it would probably be difficult to get rid of completely.
2) Behind the toilet in the corner of the master bathroom (mold/mildew & rust)
3) Underneath the bathroom rug (mold/mildew)
4) along the baseboard of the master bath (caked in dirt & dust)

The Living Room
1) Couches have holes in the upholstery - the mattress for this pull out has no cushion left to it.

The Kitchen
1) there is a metal rack inside the sink - it is caked with mold and soap scum - really gross
2) Mold behind the sink along the edge of the wall where the faucet is.
3) Toaster oven works but is rusty and old.

The Kid's Bathroom
1)Mold along the edge of the tub and again in the grout
2) Mold & rust on floor behind the toilet where the toilet bowl brush is
3) dirt and dust along all the baseboards

Smell of mold & mildew in the master bedroom was overwhelming upon arrival; left the windows open and fans on to try and air the unit out as much as possible.

If these are corrected the unit is lovely if not - don't rent here

Owners response: When I read this review, I was greatly surprised to see what was written. Many of the complaints were about things the guest was advised were not included in the Marina Villa package. As to which amenities were to be included and were not included at Marina Villa #905, it was clearly outlined in all emails between us (including one in which the guests specifically asked about the amenities and was informed in our reply that we did not provide all the resort amenities amenities and whom to contact for them). This guest signed an agreement which highlighted that she had been informed in writing of the specific amenities being excluded. This guest failed to take the responsibilities she had agreed with in writing. We make an important point to remind tenants orally and verbally that when you book the Marina Villa, it does not include every amenity of South Seas Resort and does include other amenities which the resort does not offer. Our excellent pricing is a reflection of that.

As for complaints about the cleanliness of the unit, our units are regularly cleaned and inspected; I personally stopped by to inspect the unit on the day this guest arrived, yet the first we heard of such dissatisfaction was in her complaint. However, it was untrue, the unit was impeccably cleaned, we are very thorough; the condition upon her departure was deplorable. On check-in day, I witnessed the cleaners using toothbrushes to scrub the grout in the showers and carefully wipe down baseboards. Our cleaners spend a great deal of time on the unit to insure utmost quality. During this guest's stay, our staff bent over backwards to make the stay more enjoyable, including leaving dinner guests to assist in obtaining a parking pass which had been sent in advance to be presented at the welcome gate. She didn't print prior to a late night arrival. We took care of that immediately so there'd be no delay or inconvenience checking-in. We also worked around a late check-out, even though a later departure had not been requested. We wanted to make the stay more comfortable, even if it meant we would have to work harder to ready the place for the next guest despite the late departure. When it was clear the guest was upset over the amenities we don't offer, we tried to arrange a time to discuss and resolve the problem. We responded in writing when phone calls went unreturned and we sent the relevant emails and contract to help explain the issue. The guest didn't return any calls or emails.

Helpful votes: 9 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Beautiful location. Enjoy the dolphins, pelicans, anhingas snd cormorants, etc. The Ding Darling was outstanding, had the pleasure of an excellent birder with us that made it even better. We dined at different restaurants, all excellent. We had a great week, looking forward to a return visit.

Lisa and Bob from VA
Elsa and Dave from PA

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Location

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

A return visit to a beautiful location!
Visited Cabbage Key and Cayo Costa by rented boat, biked through Captiva and Sanibel, dined at different resturants. Had a beautiful vacation!!
Thank you

Nancy from MA

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Villa

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

The Villa was great. It has all the extras as well as the most beautiful setting. The Resort refused to sell us a pass to used with their services which was initially upsetting, but we found this to be a blessing in the end. We found ways to accommodate our vacation without their amenities. They said that they were close to capacity and there would not be room in their restaurants and other dervices if they sold passes.
We really enjoy ourselves in this villa!!!

Mike & debbie from IN

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded my expectations!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Wonderful, amazing, exceeded my expectations! Watching the dolphins, the ospreys feeding their chicks and sharing the pool with a great blue heron- it was spectacular. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Captiva. The condo is lovely, everything I need and more! one more thing...thanks to Yolanda, Nacho and Mike for saving the superbowl!
Lynne F.
Walpole, Mass.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We've had a wonderful time- Loved watching the boats, dolphins, and birds. Enjoyed our walks along the beach. The condo was perfect for us and just as advertised.

Craig and Jane B.
Long Grove, Iowa

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Well Equipped

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

We have had a great 3 weeks staying in your Marina Villa 905. Your kitchen is fantastic and very well equipped. Great condo for cooking great meals. Thanks!

Donald and Samantha M.
Portugal

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pina Coladas in the evening

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

We had an amazing time- Shells galore, fishing, long walks on the beach. Pina Coladas in the evening and best of all, the natural wonders: Glorious sunsets, awesome stars, birds of all kind, great fauna and flora, Ding Darling (NWR), fantastic landscaping. Thank you Randy, Leslie, Nacho, Kirstin and all OurCaptiva Staff!

Chad and Carolyn C., Greenwich, CT

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Home

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

Amazing home!!! We will be back! Plenty of room and amenities for everyone! We'll miss the manatees!

Addie from MD

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Karla Jensen

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Our family of 5 had a short, but wonerful stay. It was everything as advertised and more, frequent dolphin and manatee sightings were seen as guaranteed. Our 3 kids loved to fish right outside the condo door and were able to catch various kinds of fish. Having a pool right outside the condo was also a plus. The condo was clean and had everything we needed. I was very impressed with the extras, such as reading books, pool toys, beach towels and a beach bag to use...very nice touches!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We definitely plan to return

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Fantastic Condo! As a family of 5, the space, amenities, and location were perfect. We definitely plan to return to Captiva and look forward to staying here again. Thank you!

Jensen Family of Minneapolis, MN

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

You have a wonderful condo and we enjoyed every minute of our vacation. It is so beautiful here. Our favorite part was seeing all the dolphins (lots!!!) manatees, herons, egrets and pelicans. And thank you for the bottle of wine, what a thoughtful touch!

Mike and Pat from SC

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time here at Captiva. The condo is very beautiful. The boys had a lot of fun with swimming and fishing. It was perfect. Thanks

Peter and family from Netherlands

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This is our 6th year at Captiva!
Second year at Marina Villa, we love it and we will be back!
Thanks for sharing your condo with us!
Perfect!!!

Family from Missouri

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Little Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

One of our best vacations ever! Condo was beautiful, weather was outstanding and the wildlife was beyond words. We hope to come back for many years. Thanks for allowing us to vacation in a little piece of heaven.

Weeks Family from York,PA

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Stay

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We loved our stay at Captiva!! We loved all the dolphins, manatees and birds we got to see from our view.

James and Family from Florida

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

We are here for our son's wedding on beautiful Captiva Island. We loved the beach with all the shells-amazing!!
The birds, dolphins, manatees and other Island creatures were a daily entertainment. The view from the porch was great. My husband loved all the boats. The condo was great. We loved the decor in each room. Thanks for a wonderful stay on Captiva Island. We loved the food, too! The Bubble room was great.

Cindy and Family from Missouri

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Scenery

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our week here. The scenery from the porch was wonderful, the kids loved the dolphins and manatees in their backyard. We enjoyed a boating and fishing outing as well as bike rides to town and the village and lots of time in the surf. We also used the pool a lot!
We are all sad to leave......

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful lovely time

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

We had a peaceful lovely time. The weather was a bit cool but sunny and beautiful. We saw the manatees and dolphins and collected some great shells. Checked out the mucky duck and the bubble room! We took a beautiful cruise on the catermeran and saw a pod of jumping dolphins, We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing, Nice and just beautiful

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

It was lovely to spend this few nights here. Relaxing, nice and just beautiful. We were swimming in the gulf and in the pool, wonderful. Thank you for this nice 5 days.

Charlott, 11 years old of Berlin Germany

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing days on the Beach

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

We spent four relaxing days on the beach. Enjoyed the sunsets and the awesome wildlife. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Holiday in Captiva

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Thank you once again for another beautiful holiday in Captiva. Everything was perfect as it was on our last visit in 2009. We hope to come back to paradise soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The wildlife viewing was spectacular

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The wildlife viewing was spectacular and the accommodations comfortable and well organized. Thanks. Computer access was great and your responses to questions and meeting any unplanned need -really appreciated.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Favorite place so far.

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This is our fifth year at South Seas and your condo is our favorite so far! We loved the porch...drinking our morning coffee watching the dolphins & manatees and ending the evening drinking wine looking at the pink/purple sky and beautiful boats! Very enjoyable and relaxing. We will be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids loved it!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Thank you for this wonderful place. We had a great week, the kids loved it and we relaxed. I will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Laid back atmosphere

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This was our first time to Captiva and we really enjoyed the "laid-back" atmosphere. The beach is amazing and the condo was very comfortable!

Thanks for the wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A little slice of paradise

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

This was our first trip to Captiva and i'm sure it will not be the last!

We are from the Las Vegas area and have really enjoyed the change of Scenery

A little slice of paradise.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a pleasure and memories for life

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This was our first time at South Seas after living in Naples for nearly 25 years. What a pleasure and memories for life.

Our youngest daughter wad her destination beach wedding here and I have never seen a happier bride and groom.

our parents stayed here with us and did not want to leave. I am sitting here on the lanai looking out at the fabulous setting...this is incredible!!! this is the "real" Florida living. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stayed at South Seas more than 200 times!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We have stayed at South Seas more than 200 times spanning 28 years of marriage...possibly a record.

This Marina Villa was wonderful...the best we have stayed in. This is truly "God's little acre" an one cannot count get any closer to nature than this..a true paradise.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous setting

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this gorgeous setting. So relaxing. We loved the water, the birds, the shelling, the boats, the beach and the general feeling of being away from it all. Thank so much, we' love to come back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like coming home...

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

Our second stay at the villa was like coming home. We reacquainted with a couple we met last year and had a wonderful time catching up. Everything about Captiva seems to say "welcome". Thanks for making our vacation memorable.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Picture Perfect Week!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

Picture Perfect Week! We loved the sun, the water, the birds and the boats. Your Villa is the perfect spot. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nothing but relaxation

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Now we know why our son and his wife so often stay at Captiva in this cozy condo. We enjoyed our stay very much, saw the attractions of Sanibel and Captiva and the birds, the dolphins and manatee. The other days we do nothing but relax. Thanks to the staff, see you again some day.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Resort on the Best Island

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

What a beautiful vacation we had here. You have the best unit in the best resort on the best island in Florida. We loved sitting on the porch watching the boat and dolphin parade!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, Relaxing Saty

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Thank you for our wonderful, relaxing stay on Captiva. Doesn't take too much time before the pace slows and watching dolphins, manatees, and boats in the harbor is the schedule of the day. Our winter worries were blown away by the spectacular setting.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our second stay in this condo

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We saw so much wildlife! the sea slug was our favorite! -Claire

We look forward to our next visit to Captiva! This is our second stay in this condo... a great spot for enjoying all the sights and activities here at South Seas
-Suzanne

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd stay here!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

Incredible weather for 3 whole weeks. My third stay here was again terrific. The entertainment is never ending.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great vacation on Captiva

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We enjoyed another great vacation on Captiva this year. The weather was beautiful all week and perfect to go to the pool and beach and walk around! We had so much fun and loved our stay in the condo, the view of all the boats and dolphins swimming out front especially! We can't wait to come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the whole experience

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

I must say that South Seas is one of the most beautiful places that we have visited! Being able to watch the boats come and go is a real treat. We learned so much about the local birds this week. Having them in our back yard was special. The Villa condo is very comfortable and we found everything we needed- nicely decorated too. Thank you "Our Captiva" for all your help with our stay here.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week in Captiva

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Thanks to our Captiva LLC. We enjoyed a wonderful week in Captiva-paradise-we enjoyed the Villa and felt very much at home. A magnificent view greeted us each morning- we enjoyed the birds, boats, and beautiful scenery. We have had a week of "warm memories"

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Marina Villa

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We went for a destination wedding at the South Seas Resort. This location worked out fine. If you want to use the Resort, you need to either pay extra or stay there. The unit was comfortable, but not large. It was clean, but the fan did not work in the master bath. We basically hung at the resort for the 2 1/2 days we were there. It seemed like Captiva and Sanibel could have traffic issues, so best to plan on staying in one location rather than hopping in the car to explore.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: The unit is 1,000 sq. ft. and we do make it comfortable with lanai and water views that are unbeatable. The master bath fan was reported broken, but actually was working. We use an energy sensitive timer which we learned needed better operating instructions. Sanibel, not Captiva, can have traffic issues, but almost never for Captiva; please do explore, there will be no traffic to deter you on Captiva, this has never been a complaint. In high season, as anywhere, traffic can be busy on Sanibel. There is parking inside our Marina Villa/South Seas resort; both near our marina villa/condo and just outside the resort. One can get around without frustration or angst.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Late May Stay on the Bay!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Marina Villa 905 - What an excellent place!! Great views, great fishing - great relaxation from the day-to-day grind! Thanks for everything - looking forward to coming back soon!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

10/31/09 - 11/6/09

Great time! The villa was perfect and the weather was terrific.
We love Captiva!
We will be back!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We have much fun with the dolphins behind the house!
It's a very nice place here, really a "little paradise".

Perhaps see you again...

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 1910

30.1.2010 - 17.2.2010

Our second time in Marina Villa and it's like coming home! We'll be coming back, it's great here.
Cornelia, thank you for all.
See you again...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We could not have asked for a more perfect week! The weather was beautiful and so was Marina Villa 905! Our family loves to hunt for seashells and Captiva Island has never disappointed us. This was our third Spring Break at South Seas and our first in Marina Villa. No doubt in our mind we will be back. The condo was fabulous! Thank you for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This was our third stay in Marina Villa and this condo was the most lovely, with the most relaxing and nature-filled view. Our kids adored the non-stop dolphin viewing and we enjoyed the relaxing view from bed.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This was our third stay in Marina Villa and this condo was the most lovely, with the most relaxing and nature-filled view. Our kids adored the non-stop dolphin viewing and we enjoyed the relaxing view from bed.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Captiva and can't wait to return to Marina Villa 905. The view, the weather, the people, and of course, the dolphins made for a memorable week. Thank you for the wine and all you did to make our stay so pleasant.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

We had an amazing stay at Marina Villa 905. We have been to South Seas several times and every time fills our hearts with so many wonderful memories.
Captiva Island is a little piece of paradise here on earth and your condo adds to all that it has to offer...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We had a great time in Captiva. It was wonderful waking up to the incredible view and watching the dolphins play as we enjoyed breakfast.

We will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Thanks for a great vacation! We enjoyed our stay on Captiva. Good fishing, great restaurant and a lovely condo for relaxing! Thanks as well for our hospitatlity gift. Very much appreciated and very good!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

I would walk up to look out at the water and on some mornings see the dolphins swimming in the water. Truly a wonderful spot of peace. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay! Your place is amazing!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Captiva and can't wait to return to Marina Villa 905. The view, the weather, the people, and of course, the dolphins made for a memorable week. Thank you for the wine and all you did to make our stay so pleasant.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

We had an amazing stay at Marina Villa 905. We have been to South Seas several times and every time fills our hearts with so many wonderful memories.Captiva Island is a little piece of paradise here on earth and your condo adds to all that it has to offer...

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We could not have asked for a more perfect week! The weather was beautiful and so was Marina Villa 905! Our family loves to hunt for seashells and Captiva Island has never disappointed us. This was our third Spring Break at South Seas and our first in Marina Villa. No doubt in our mind we will be back. The condo was fabulous! Thank you for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This was our third stay in Marina Villa and this condo was the most lovely, with the most relaxing and nature-filled view. Our kids adored the non-stop dolphin viewing and we enjoyed the relaxing view from bed.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We had a great time in Captiva. It was wonderful waking up to the incredible view and watching the dolphins play as we enjoyed breakfast. We will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

I would walk up to look out at the water and on some mornings see the dolphins swimming in the water. Truly a wonderful spot of peace. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay! Your place is amazing!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Thanks for a great vacation! We enjoyed our stay on Captiva. Good fishing, great restaurant and a lovely condo for relaxing! Thanks as well for our hospitality gift. Very much appreciated and very good!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

30.1.2010 - 17.2.2010Our second time in Marina Villa and it's like coming home! We'll be coming back, it's great here.Cornelia, thank you for all.See you again...

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We have much fun with the dolphins behind the house!It's a very nice place here, really a "little paradise". Perhaps see you again...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

10/31/09 - 11/6/09 Great time! The villa was perfect and the weather was terrific. We love Captiva! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Great view, very well appointed unit, responsive management, excellent fishing.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Our second stay was even better than the first. We'll be coming back for years to come.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

We stayed the first weekend in August and had a total blast. We loved seeing manatee and dolphins from our balcony. The condo was perfect. We will definitely be coming back for a repeat visit. Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

Thanks for the amazing views and relaxing setting!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

Great viw, lovely place to stay!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

We love it here. The fishing was great and the accommodations superb!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 30, 2008

The condo was excellent. We really enjoyed the fishing.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

Thanks so much! It was wonderful and we had a fantastic time. The weather was perfect! We particularly enjoyed the dolphins, which we have named Frankie, Freddie and Susan. Everything was just great!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

We had a great time. Beautiful weather, friendly people!

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

We had a great time. This is a very "choice" spot! We have enjoyed being here.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review