reviews for: listing #288095vb - Carlsbad, California rental

5 Star Luxury Ocean View Condo Walk to Village Walk to Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 299 - $ 500 / night
    $ 2,100 - $ 3,500 / week
    $ 6,999 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Fantastic condo

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This place was great! The amount of space we had with 10 people was right on. We had three families from different states and we all had a bedroom and enough space to be together yet not on top of one another. The location you can't beat, it was less than 3 min walk to the beach and walking to downtown Carlsbad was easy with tons to do. Having all the beach stuff provided made the trip easy and convenient not having to worry about all that extra stuff. The condo was super clean and very nice with a lot of great amenities, I believe anybody would love this place!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

NY to SD Wonderful

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

I rented this condo for friends coming to SD to attend my daughter's wedding. It was perfect for the size of our group (10 adults). The bedrooms and bathrooms are so spacious as well as the kitchen and family room. Everyone raved about the couch with the loungers built in. This place had everything we needed with room to spare. Easy walk to beach, restaurants, shops. We lacked nothing. My NY friends were so impressed they are planning on coming back and renting this same condo for their next vacation. They loved it that much! So happy I rented this from Michael. He was very accommodating. We had a fantastic time way beyond my expectations. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful condo. It was a perfect combination of luxury and relaxation. It is just as beautiful as the pictures depict. We cooked for a large group for most of our meals and found the kitchen well-stocked with everything we needed. The grounds were well-kept and the area felt safe. The walk to the beach was much quicker and easier than I anticipated. There is a nice crosswalk with flashing lights for crossing the main road with very little wait. We were pleased to find that the newer neighboring condo building did not obstruct the view of the ocean from the rooftop deck. The hallways and living areas were more spacious than I anticipated. We loved that the train station was 2 short blocks away. We took the Coaster into Old Town San Diego one day. The ride was fun for the kids and beautiful and relaxing for adults. We purchased the regional day pass and took the trolley deeper into San Diego and found it a pleasant experience. Michael was great to work with! Carlsbad is charming and convenient. We made several trips to Costco and Albertsons and both were a quick trip. A few in our group took a day trip to Mission Beach and found the Carlsbad beach to be much cleaner. Overall it was a wonderful stay in a quaint area; however, we hope it doesn't become too popular :).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation spot

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

Great location, very close to the beach and restaurants. Parking was easy with the garage underneath. Quiet other than the amtrak train which is to be expected due to its location. The refrigerator stopped getting cold and they got us a new full size refrigerator by the next morning and made arrangements for our food to stay cold. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice condo

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

The photos are accurate, the condo is as nice as the photos indicate. We found the apartment to be clean and with all amenities you can expect. Its is very large with 4 excellent bedrooms. The beds were comfortable and very nice to sleep in. It is a quite place and well insulated. The quality of the building is very high. Since I was the only one with jet lag and an early riser i could have the Tv on downstairs without waking the rest of the house. No noise from neighbours, you can hear the train, since it is close to the tracks. The condo is close to the beach and you can walk to everything in the village. Make sure to visit the farmers market on State street on Wednesdays. Fantastic food! We will be back. The only thing I missed was a larger outdoor area, but there is a deck on top and a small back yard were you can sit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

This condo was everything we hoped it would be and is exactly how it appears in the pictures. The appliances are top of the line and there was lots of space. The beds were very comfortable very similar to beds at the Westin. There were lots of small touches that really make you appreciate the effort that the owners put in to ensuring you have a great stay. Each unit has its own private double garage with beach toys for the kids! Overall it was outstanding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most excellent, I must say..

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

I was a bit hesitant to give a review because I wanted to keep this place a secret. I instantly felt at home, as did all our guests. It is an ideal location, walking distance to the beach, restaurants and the village. The home is amazing. Wonderful design, furnished beautifully. It was truly excellent!

Thank you, Michael, for allowing us such a wonderful get away full of great memories. I'm looking forward to coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carlsbad Comfort

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 30, 2013

What a wonderful place. We felt very safe here. 2-3 blocks from the ocean. 1 block from the shops. 3 blocks from the train. (which we didn't hear much after midnight). The kitchen was a dream for my wife who LOVES to cook. A Big Bonus was the farmers market 1 1/2 blocks from the condo. We arrived wednesday about 4 PM. After reviewing the guest rules there was mention of market on wednesday & saturday. there were Steaks to Scallops to to farm fresh veggies and fruit. Sinful desserts. Everything my wife needed for our 4 day stay. The rooftop was wonderful. A tip...turn the cushions! This time of year there is dew..We went up there after a long day of golf and home cooked meal and every thing was dewey. Bring some paper towels to wipe of the arms of the chairs!. There were only 2 of us but if we were to go back we would bring back friends to fill up those other bedrooms. VERY nice place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach getaway!

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

What a fantastic place! There were nine of us in our party and we stayed for a week. Michael was fantastic to work with and Johnny on the spot for anything we needed. Condo was very spacious and private parking garage was a big hit! Loved the gourmet kitchen and the outdoor seating for those cool mornings and evenings! Beach equipment was a big packing saver since we didn't have bring all of our gear. Definitely planning on a return trip! Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

YAYA 2013

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

The condo we rented was beautiful & fully equipped as stated in the listing. The only suggestion we would make is to change out the pale yellow carpeting. It is so inappropriate in a RENTAL & the suggestion to remove our shoes while walking on it was discouraging. The beds are really comfortable & the master suite was really nice! The location is ideal for walking as well.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Actually the Carpet is a light tan not a pale yellow. With a vacation rental you can imagine the upkeep , maintenance and cleaning to make sure all of the guests enjoy their stay and all of the expectations are met. With a large condo and larger groups, the carpets can get messy in a hurry. Maybe it's only me, but whenever I'm invited into someone's home I always remove my shoes. It is a Million plus dollar home , so I'm not sure how removing shows can be such a big inconvenience to write about especially with kids. We just like to keep in nice for everyone and I'm sorry that it might be an inconvenience for some.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mrs. B and party

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

Stayed at this condo for a Carlsbad wedding with my family and friend and found it to be exceptional. All the comforts of home, plus those of a beach community. All of my party decided if we are able to return to the area, we would definitely contact this owner for a revisit. The unit was clean, high end, accessible to all local shops and restaurants and COMFORTABLE . None of us could have asked for anything that was not already supplied from kitchen utensils to beach chairs and towels, not to mention washer and dryer. So glad I decided on this property vs hotel facilities. Excellent Choice..... Highly Recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic condo!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This was the first time I used VRBo and rented this condo and I totally recommend it. Very spacious and comfortable. High end appliances. Very close to the beach. Has everything you need even beach toys for kids, pack and play, high chairs etc...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Great Escape

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

This place was amazing and we just booked our trip back for next summer!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo, Great Week

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The intention was to have a nice beach vacation with my parents to celebrate their 80th birthdays. What we got was an AMAZING beach vacation that far exceeded any of our expectations. This condo was absolutely beautiful and much larger that the pictures can convey. Everything is upgraded/high end from the flooring to the appliances/fixtures. Lots of extras including beach towels, chairs, boogie boards and even a wagon to transport everything to the beach (wonderful idea!). The only thing we really needed to provide for ourselves was our food. The location is great, just a block and a half to the beach, a block to the village, we could pretty much walk everywhere we needed. Plenty of dining options within walking distance too. Great coffee shop half a block away. Check in/check out was easy, Michael is very friendly and gave us a quick overview and was out of our way, however, he was easy to reach with any questions and extremely helpful. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Carlsbad, I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Condo

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

This was one of the best vacation stays ever. Location is perfect for shopping, dining and beach going, and close enough for short jaunts to Lego Land, golf, the Flower Fields, and lengthier (20-30 minutes) drives to Sea World, Del Mar racetrack, and the greater San Diego city attractions, ie. zoo, museums, and harbor attractions. Michael, the owner, is wonderfully helpful and responsive to any questions or needs, but the condo is amply furnished with anything you could possibly need. Check in and check out were a breeze.The condo is beautifully furnished, equipped and maintained, with all the comforts of home and then some. Our family had a relaxing stay during our recent visit (son's wedding nearby at The Crossings) and we are so glad we chose this condo as our 'home away from home'.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

We stayed in this property for a wedding in April...and wow! The pictures don't do it justice. The condo is larger than it looks in the photos and the master bedroom and bath is incredible. Loved the soft beds, the walk in shower, and the jacuzzi tub! It was wonderfully decorated and the extras like the boogie boards and the grill made for good times. The condo centrally located next to restaurants, Albertsons, and the beach is just short walk across the street. Michael was very helpful with any questions that we had and check out was a breeze. We would highly recommend this unit and are looking forward to staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carlsbad Condo

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We spent a week at the condo with our family, which included 6 adults and 2 small children. We were surprised at how quiet (great location regarding traffic noise) and clean the facility was. The condo was supplied with a great washer/dryer and all the beach towels we needed. There was even a sleeping bag that we used once to transport the children to the beach on a cool day. There were plenty of beach toys for the children big and little (three boogie boards)! All of the appliances were new and in good working condition, with the exception of a minor repair needed on the rack in the dishwasher. Michael was readily available to answer questions and was most helpful throughout our stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a great value and a super location. There are plenty of good restaurants and lots of fun shopping within walking distance. The parking garage was very secure with enough parking space for two vehicles and also very clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place, Bad Owner and Management

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

I would love to able to speak to you directly but due to the guidelines I cannot. I know the manager/owner will obviously respond to this review with how they want you see it and make us out to be bad people. But you have been warned because I don't care what they say, I know the truth. Alone with the other 8 people in our party do as well.

The condo is nice, a bit out dated for the furniture for the cost. I was told to leave a bad review if I wanted but they just didn't care because all of you who have rented it already won't care out as far as September 2013. Felt like I was "spyed" on by the comments of the management alone after we left.

I'll be honest, my 2 year old grandbaby spilled a hand saniter drops on the floor in the closet and apparently from what I was told left a hand print on the screen door which was mesh screening which pulled the screen cord loose, easily fixed and cleaned up by soap and water if I had noticed it. Be prepared to clean the entire place top to bottom if you want your deposit back. They kept my entire deposit for the screen and spot the size of half dollar on the closet carpet of which I did use the resolve and did get extremely light but did apparently was still able to lightlly see where it was. The other reasons they gave that should have been no apparent problem for a cleaning service . I have photos of how it was left, not worried about this place but sure want you to beware. Unprofessional and was very nasty and insulting to myself and family, ruined my entire trip. Don't really care what they say in reply because I know the truth. My house alone is bigger than this condo and it takes less time than what they said. One big thing is don't leave until you bring your maid in after you because they will come in before you are checked out. Besides a few minor things like the spot and screen door, oh yeah also I forgot that I folded all the blankets but forgot to put them on one of th upstairs bedroom after I putting all linens int he laundry and actually washing ALL the towels and forgot to take out the small garbage in upstair bathroom. Like I said, it wasn't the money to me at all, it was the way they handle the situation and the insulting and offending manner of it. JUST BEWARE.

They told me they have hundreds of renters a year, ask yourself why you only see positive reviews and so few of them then. ??? Have a great vacation, just look somewhere else because Carlsbad was GREAT!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Hi, I actually designed and built the condos, but don't own them. When a guest loses a deposit , there is no financial gain for me. I manage 3 of these beautiful condos in the same building and over 3 years Ive only had 3 guests completely lose their deposit. I actually never even met this guest as most check themselves in and call me if they have a question. I did meet some of their party on departure morning but they said the (renter had left much earlier). I have guests break dishes, wine glasses, a few lamps broken on accident and various other things. I never sweat the small stuff and never charge for this. Just tell me, is all I ask so I can replace it. ( Condition of The Condo) after departure the damages were, a 3 foot slash all the way down the seam on the kitchen slide door. The same screen that hand childrens glue hand prints on them and a big hand smear of glue or paste or something running down the glass that hand to be scraped with a razor blade. I saw the kids throw the trash over the fence into dumpster area, had they opened the gate and actually used the dumpster it would have helped. All of the sofas Not 1 but all food ground into them, like dinner food that had days to harden and we had to wet scrub out all of the sofas. The same was the case for the carpets in the great room. The kitchen was a mess. Someone spilled Pink something in 1 on the carpet in the guest room and set the stain permanently probably trying to clean it with cold water. The other guest room had brown, mud or something smeared in a 2 foot by 2 foot area in front of the dresser. All but one of the bedrooms had the comforters wadded up on the floors with the pillows too. and 20 to 30 dark carpet stains through out from shoes and food. I called the owners over, she wasn't mad, but really sad, that someone could treat another's property in this manner. I've always have a lot of faith in people and society in general but in this business you just get an occasional bad egg as you can imagine. I never ask much of the guests, please treat the condo with respect as I do with others property. Check out is simple, sheets and towels in Hampers, wash beach towels the night before, start dish washer. Trust me with 7 units I've seen it all. 99% of the guests are great ! and very respectful. It's easy to see from the rest of the reviews , it's a fabricated to make me look bad. This guest harassed ,threatened me with 15 text messages and 2 long e mails. I did not respond OMG !!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Good house, great location!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

The condo -

This condo is equipped with close to everything you could need. Aside from a few minor items like bikes and a crock-pot, the condo supplies it all. Even things like baby gates and pack 'n plays were provided which was great. Arrival and check-out was very easy and user-friendly. A few things keep this condo from being great. Such as: multiple scuffs, nicks, unfinished tiling on the tub, and small unpainted drywall repair areas as well as couches that are not very comfortable. The couches are just not up to par with the rest of the condo, simple as that. All in all, the condo itself is good, a little TLC from being great.

The location -

Location is excellent. Really the only spot better would be right on the water. The beach is very close, the Village (lots of shops/restaurants/pubs) is also extremely close. Everything you could need is within a short walk away. The location really is the highlight of this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bikes) I'm sorry but the Condos will never have bikes. It's a huge liability issue and will never happen. There is a Bike Rental place 2 blocks form here though.

Croc Pot ) When something cant be found, it's really easy to call me and ask. I have a ton of extra things around for the Condos and I'm always only a phone call away. the Croc Pot has been replaced. I think it went to the same place all of the beach chairs, boogie boards, pans, umbrellas, and other stuff that gets taken. It's simple, cant find something, call me and you will have it, usually within 30 minutes. You can wait though and not call, then complain when you get home

Tub Tile ) the tile in all of the showers and Tubs are complete. There is 2 large pieces of travertine taken out of the outside of the tub enclosure for access ( electrical, water ) because of kids who pulled the tub shower spray thing to hard. You can see the 2 missing tiles in the photos of the Condos. It's no big deal and looks fine. I have no plans to replace them just to cut them out and replace them again.

Couches ) i'm getting new couches by Mid May. The other ones are average, but I agree not up to the par of the Condo. They will be gone and replaced By the 1st or second week of May.

Scuffs ) there are probably less then 20 scuffs on walls in 2600 sq feet, you cant really tell unless your looking for them. It's mostly up the stairs when guests drag and bang their bags off of the walls. The Condo It's a custom Million Dollar Home and not a hotel.

Condo) 279.00 per night 9 months of the year is a great deal, especially with the location and the luxury of the Condo. I know the Hotels within a couple of blocks from here have some nice 2 bedroom condos for 350.00, about 1/4 of the size and stinky too they sleep 4.

The Condos are extremely clean, well taken care of and in an awesome location. We set up for large or small families. Other then the couches which will get replaced in a few weeks, the other items are insignificant and typical on any high end home. We do the best we can but are not perfect. If you expect perfection there is The Hotel Ritz Carlton in Laguna Beach for Only 1000.00 a night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Home steps from the Village and beach

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Wow, wow, wow! Our multi-generational group of four adults, a toddler and a baby greatly enjoyed our stay at this property. What a find! The townhouse is gorgeous, well-appointed and enormous. Beds were comfortable. Kitchen is a dream. It was spotless and very well maintained. Michael, the property manager, was very responsive and helpful, but also gave us our space. I never actually met him in person. We requested portable fans (our kids like white noise at night) and arrived to find brand new fans in our unit waiting for us. Wow!

Regarding the bedrooms: There are four and they are large. Two have very large walk-in closets. The unit comes with a pack-n-play crib and two cots. You could easily set kids up in the closets if you wanted to maximize the space for additional guests.

Regarding the location: Couldn't be better! The unit is located in a very well-built complex with four or five other nearly identical units. It has a beautiful craftsman/lodge exterior. The complex is a short block from Carlsbad Blvd at an intersection with a nice crosswalk to the beach side of the street. The walk to the beach was probably five minutes of slowish walking. The beach is lovely and has a nice boardwalk style trail for walking and jogging. A 7-11 is steps away from the complex for last minute items. Carlsbad village is a short block away as well and we enjoyed exploring the shops and restaurants.

This vacation rental was much more comfortable, luxurious and all around superior to resort hotels. That makes it a tremendous value by comparison.

We hope to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The Carlsbad Village Experince

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

This was our first time in California and Carlsbad Village is a phenominal place to stay! The Condo was everything that we expected and more! Plenty of things to do with shops and resturaunts within walking distance. It was just a "feel good" experience from the property manager to the friendliness of all those that we interacted with....5 stars for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great place for families

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the condo and had a great time. The home is beautiful and well maintained. The location is convenient to local shops and the beach and little items like a wagon and beach toys and chairs really make you feel at home. The manager is great as well .He really goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. He really is the best ! The only drawbacks to the home are the couches in the great room are in need of replacing as lots of good times have worn the springs down quite a bit, and I do believe the cleaning required for check out is a bit excessive. I stay in quite a bit of vacation rentals and while taking out the trash and loading any dishes is customary, stripping all of the beds , and washing towels is a bit much since you are paying a pretty hefty cleaning fee. Its especailly inconvenient when you have an early morning flight as we did and have to do all of these time consuming things the morning of your departure. Overall, though it is still a great home and I would highly recommend it for families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: we do appreciate everyones reviews and try to make changes accordingly.
Beginning last week we are using a Hotel linen company for all of the sheets and towells so this saves us like 5 loads of laundry everytime a guest departs. Laundry is the biggest obstacle as all guests want to depart late and arrive early and we certainly always try to do out best. Check out procedures are easy. Start the dishes, empty the trash and wash the beach towells the night before departure or start a load that morning before checkout. The couches are only 3 years old and in good condition. It's probably not the highest end furniture becasue of the rental but it's in good shape abd will be upgraded before summer. THe thing about the Condo is that i's in a great location, right in the village,just over a block from the beach, extremely clean and it's very nice too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

The condo was beautiful and roomy. Plenty of room to stretch out and move around. Loved the area as well and enjoyed being so close the beach and shopping. You could walk to plenty of nearby shopping or drive 3 miles and shop at the premium outlet center. Would definately stay here again. Management was great as well. Thanks for a great vacation spent with family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

We stayed 9 days and hated to leave! The condo is beautiful and you do get a wonderful ocean breeze. Our son loved that he could walk to the beach with his skim board every morning. We also enjoyed walking to and from breakfast and dinner even though we had a car and could've driven there! (Try the Armenian Cafe....yummm) Don't miss the fabulous sunsets on the beach! You can almost hear the sun sizzle as it dips into the ocean! There's lots of space in the condo to hang out together as well as to get away to read in another room or on the patio. I enjoyed having my coffee on the patio on the mornings we didn't walk to Starbucks! We wanted to meet the manager and found him to be very congenial and available to answer any questions we had. There were other guests in the adjoining condos but we could not hear them and only saw them on occasion. Loved it! We are already planning our trip for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

7/21/2012

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

this was our 3rd year and we loved every minute of it as usual

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect for Families

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Stayed here in January for 2 weeks,Michael was very responsive to all questions. Condo was immaculate,accurate photos. We had 5 adults and a baby. Condo had a port a crib, beach toys, we cooked in Costco nearby and used the grill too. Loved the beach and walk to Carlsbad, the town was perfect for families. Easy access to the zoo, animal park etc.
Would go back, yes

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Stunning!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This condo was absolutely gorgeous! Multi-million dollar appearance with so many upgrades. I absolutely loved it there! The manager is very helpful and friendly, and lives next door when you need him (yet does not ever come around and bother you, either).
We had friends come out different days and they could not stop praising the place! It is such a short walk to the beach, it's perfect! You get a little reprieve from all the sand and get to live in luxury!
Very close to the Village area, tons of food, coffee shops, night entertainment, etc.
We parked our cars and didn't move them all week.
Also took the train to San Diego one day (the train stop is also within walking distance).
We've rented other beach houses and had issues with musty smelling places and no parking - you won't have that here! Worth every penny and thensome!
I almost hate to rave about it because I don't want this secret to get out!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Happy from Montana

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

This was a lovely and well kept Vacation Rental. We stayed for a week with our family of 8. Great location, close to the beach and lots of restaurants and shops. It was great to have a whole wagon full of beach toys and chairs etc. to use. The only negative was the construction noise going on right next door. It was a minor distraction. We would certainly consider this property again. Thank you Michael for a great place to vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Bliss

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

I can't say enough about this wonderful gem we found in Carlsbad. Its equipped with everything you could possibly think of. It was home away from home and close to everything fun - beach, restaurants, and shopping. Michael who runs this beach house is friendly and attentive. One of the kids accidentally ran into the the screen door...needless to say Michael had no issues coming over to fix it. The house is plenty big which was nice when we had family game night. There was construction outside during the week, but when the windows and doors were closed you could barely hear any of it. This was one of the best rentals we have ever stayed. Looking forward to next year already!

The Jacobson's
Manhattan, KS

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The good and the bad!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

Overall this is a beautiful condo but a few downfalls in this rental. Here are the list of pro verse the cons of our stay here. I rely on truthful posts to book our vacations so found it necessary to post our thoughts...

Pro's;
Great location many great shops located in walking distance
Beach within walking distance
Wagon for beach toys provided and beach towels
Beautiful condo and overall clean
Top of the line stove/ oven for cooking meals at home
attached 2 car garage
Owner was easy to contact

Con's;
The Check out "manual" was a comical book being your charged a high cleaning fee...an over the top detailed book. Your asked to strep all beds in the condo place in white garbage bags. Take out all your trash in the condo. Wash all dishes. Start a load of towels before checking out. Extra details included remembering how the toss pillows were placed, in order to place in the "right spot" run the vacuum before leaving the house and even where to locate a mop. I was more worried about having time to clean then to enjoy my last night of vacation! DO NOT USE WHITE WASH CLOTHES to remove your make-up at night. Bring your own. I was charged a big part of my deposit in order to replace a wash cloth because I was told he could not get make-up out!?
The door in the master bedroom did not lock.
The "spa bathroom" jetted tub was a joke. All it did was make noise, no water pressure at all. On top of that there is only enough hot water for one person to take a hot 5 minute shower upstairs but somehow the water in the kitchen sink was boiling hot and could cause severe burns!? So good luck filling up that tub for your bath.
Basic soap? Only includes laundry soap and hand soap so make sure to pack your own shampoo etc.
Ice machine did not work.
Couches downstairs are as useful as the floor, all you feel are the springs. Owner needs to invest in more money for furniture you'll likely use the most at this condo.
Fireplace downstairs was broken.
Microwave was filthy and smelled like burnt bacon.
New construction in the lot behind this condo so be prepared to wake-up extra early on your vacation.

Bottom line if the check out procedure was not so horrendous and the "spa bathroom" worked I could have gave this condo better ratings... The things I most look forward to on vacation relaxing bath and NO EXTRA CLEANING! Hope this is helpful for future guest. Enjoy your stay in Carlsbad!

Owners response: The Condo is one of the nicest if not the nicest condo in the Village. This particular guest was just angry and posted a bad review because I deducted 25.00 dollars only of there deposit but they were refunded 375.00 of the original 400.00. It was duducted becasue they used shower towels and wash cloths to remove makeup and I was not able to get them clean and had to throw them away.

The Condo is a Million dollar custom home and not a hotel and infact I get mostly return guests, which is why it's booked into September. The towells and linens are in new condition as is everything else and if you had white towels and wash cloths at your own home you would not use them to remove makeup.

The check out procedure are easy and not much is expected. Just strip the sheets and put them in the hampers in the wash room and put the towels in the washer to start a load of wash, throw the trash out on the way out the door in the dumpster.

We do not ask for the Guest to Vacuum or mop the floors , just clean up any spilled food or drinks is all.

The fireplace works fine and actually puts off good heat too.The remote control is broken, but there is a manual switch to turn it on and off.

The door on the second level to the private mast deck did not lock and just needed a small adjsutment and is fixed and works fine, as does the whirlpool tub as well in the master suite.

The condo has been a rental for 3 years now and we've never had a hot water complaint. There is a 60 gallon fast recovering hot water heater and many guests take both baths and showers. The condo is like a regular home which it is, so there is not unlimited hot water as is normal for every home.

The ice machine makes ice but it does not dispence ice and is very easy to put some in a large bowl and keep it in the freezer as all guests do.

I've had many reviews since the constuction a few doors down started and it has not been a problem for anyone. Im also very easy to contac and always answer my phone so in the event that there is a problem or concern all a guest has to do is call me.

Im sorry this guest had to write a bad review based on the deduction for a few towels and wash cloths that they ruined. The condo is very nice, great location and is keep in like new condition and extremely clean as you can read in the other reviews. The condo is a Home Away From Home and as with your own home, the basic expectations are that the guests will treat it respectfully but some don't.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Amazing Home and Gracious Host

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We stayed at the home over New Years and had an amazing time. We were planning a last minute trip to Carlsbad and were frantically looking for a place last minute. Michael, the owner was extremely responsive and got back to us immediately upon my initial email. The house is beautiful, very well built and stocked with everything you can imagine. The kitchen is gourmet and we cooked the majority of our meals at the house. There is great sand toys and a wagon for the kids. My kids are still talking about the beach and the house nearly a month after we visited. Will definitely be back. We have stayed at several HomeAway/VRBO properties and this was by far and away the best one. Thanks Michael for a great experience!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious, great kitchen and excellent access to Legoland and ocean

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We stayed here with our two young children. There was lots of space for child play and adult relaxing. Quick access to legoland and very well supplied for trips to the beach. The walk to the beach is a quick 2 blocks. Would also be a great location for a group of adults given all the sleeping space. The kitchen is huge and well equipped. Lots of seating space in the living room too.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

OUTSTANDING - MUCH MORE THAN EXPECTED

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Our group consisted of 3 kids, 3 adults, and a Grandmother treating the adults who don't get to take vacations very often so this was so much more than expected by them. The amenities were high end and decor was superb. Especially all the tile and that fabulous kitchen. As a senior I REALLY appreciated the bedroom suite/bath on the main floor. The adults loved the spa bath. There was even a laundry. The web site answered every question you might have which was thoroughly appreciated considering some sites leave you wondering. Although most people don't mention it, the wagon w/sides in the garage was terrific for taking chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, etc. to the beach - so easy for one person!!
Everyone thought this was one of the BEST vacation homes we've stayed in. And the landlord is very accommodating and available.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Carlsbad Escape With The Friends

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

I would highly recommend this rental as we had an excellent time during our stay in Carlsbad. My wife and I rented the home with another two couples for a weekend of friends getting together and this was an ideal house for what we were looking to do. The house was centrally located in the village of Carlsbad and everything we needed from some easy shopping, access to grocery stores, and many restaurants within a minute or two walk from the house. Parking was easy, though we did stay in off beach time, so that was nice as we had many friends come over the house from close by towns.

The best part was the wonderful commercial kitchen that was open to the living room with multiple dining tables and a breakfast bar. We were able to have a great BBQ, with provided grill!, and bake a bunch of sides in the two ovens for a party of 14 of us and everyone was around each other the entire time. We turned on the fireplace when it cooled down and utilized the TV in the living room to put on something for conversation.

The house was even larger than we had thought from the pictures with high ceilings on both floors, 3 king beds with large closets, and then the 1 queen bed along with the 3 1/2 bathrooms. This allowed everyone staying at the house privacy at night and while getting ready. There were also cots for our use had we needed them.

The most amazing part was the roof deck and we had about 8 of us up there to watch the sunset and have appetizers before we had the big dinner all together. It was great and the sunset was stunning. You could also see the ocean from the master bedroom deck but if your there just walk up the spiral staircase to get a higher and more stunning view from the roof.

Again I highly recommend this house and would look to stay here again on a return trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carlsbad Escape

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

I would highly recommend this rental as we had an excellent time during our stay in Carlsbad. My wife and I rented the home with another two couples for a weekend of friends getting together and this was an ideal house for what we were looking to do. The house was centrally located in the village of Carlsbad and everything we needed from some easy shopping, access to grocery stores, and many restaurants within a minute or two walk from the house. Parking was easy, though we did stay in off beach time, so that was nice as we had many friends come over the house from close by towns.

The best part was the wonderful commercial kitchen that was open to the living room with multiple dining tables and a breakfast bar. We were able to have a great BBQ, with provided grill!, and bake a bunch of sides in the two ovens for a party of 14 of us and everyone was around each other the entire time. We turned on the fireplace when it cooled down and utilized the TV in the living room to put on something for conversation.

The house was even larger than we had thought from the pictures with high ceilings on both floors, 3 king beds with large closets, and then the 1 queen bed along with the 3 1/2 bathrooms. This allowed everyone staying at the house privacy at night and while getting ready. There were also cots for our use had we needed them.

The most amazing part was the roof deck and we had about 8 of us up there to watch the sunset and have appetizers before we had the big dinner all together. It was great and the sunset was stunning. You could also see the ocean from the master bedroom deck but if your there just walk up the spiral staircase to get a higher and more stunning view from the roof.

Again I highly recommend this house and would look to stay here again on a return trip.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

family week

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Beautiful property- New and well-maintained. The management is "on-site" and very responsive to any requests or questions. The condo is large and well appointed and equipped. Perfect for a family get-together. Shops, the beach, restaurants etc are all within walking distance. Very good value and highly recommended. One drawback- limited backyard / patio for outdoor living. Great views or ocean / sunset from roof-top balcony

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a great stay....

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

The pictures really don't do the place justice. The accommodations we're fantastic. We were 3 guys on a golf trip. Everyone had their own bedroom and bathroom. The appliances were top notch and the overall fixtures and decor very nice.

For us the closeness of Carlsbad Village was amazing. We were walking distance from several restaurants and watering holes...it was nice to have to worry about driving after a few pints.

The proximity to the ocean, the interstate, San Diego and LA where we had golf games meant we were never to far from home. We would definitely go back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a family

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

My family stayed in this house in early May. We had 6 adults, a one yr old, a two yr old, and a 6 yr old. We all slept very comfortably. The house was beautiful, much more than I had expected. The bathrooms and kitchen were very nicely decorated....everything was, really. It's nice that there are two master-type bedrooms, one up and one down. The outside area isn't large, but if we wanted to be outside we just walked to the beach or the shopping center. It was a very quick trip to LegoLand.

While the house is not on the beach, it is an easy walk. There is a grocery store close by to stock up on too. Overall very impressive. BTW - the service by the owner was great as well. Very efficient and willing to help.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

April Stay

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

This condo was truly luxurious and comfortable. It is a very easy walk to the beach and restaurants. It accommodated our party of nine with ease.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful, spotless condo within walking to beach and village

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This was our second visit to Carlsbad and we needed a bigger place to accommodate our family as we welcomed our Marine home from Afghanistan. We cooked many meals, watched the sunset from the roof top deck, walked to the beach, to the bar, and the restaurants. Everyone could imbibe as we didn't have to drive! It worked out perfectly; it was spotless, elegantly appointed, well equipped kitchen (unbelievable range), gas grill, comfortable beds, plenty of bath and beach towels, 2 car garage and surface parking. Oh, and the wagon and coolers came in handy for our time at the beach. Great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carlsbad beauty

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

We had four couples so finding a place that would accommodate that many was our goal. We couldn't have picked a better place. It is spacious enough that we did not get in each other's way. The facility is absolutely top notch and the location is fabulous. We walked the beach and quaint Carlsbad as well as exploring San Diego and a day in Los Angeles - perfect. I would definitely recommend this facility - we plan on going back if we can get in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Vacation Spot

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

This property was exactly as the listing description. We we so close to all the shops, restaurants and the beach. We took advantage of the beach chairs, boogie boards & beach towles that all came with renting this property. The property was very well kept. It was like walking into a brand new condo. The kitchen was stocked with everything you will need if you plan on dinning in. The gas grill worked great! It was also nice to have a garage to park our rental car in. We went in to San Diego to Sea world it was about a 25 minute drive. The location of the condo is close to several atractions. I would stay here again and recomend it to other families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Getaway Week in Carlsbad, Ca.

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Let me start by saying that my family of 5 had an excellent time on vacation in the Carlsbad area. The condo was unbelievable; it had everything you could ask for. The kitchen is FULLY equipped and you can cook anything you want in there. The decor is very tasteful and it is an absolutely beautiful place. The pictures as usual show everything just as is. Interaction with the owner was seamless; he was very attentive and welcoming via email/telephone. Everything was taken care of and exactly as he said it would be when I made initial contact with him. It was not awkward, or anything, we called when we got into town he confirmed everything and we were in. He called to check up on us and see if there was anything we needed but everything was there so we didn’t need anything. Once again, this place is the true meaning of home away from home, you just need to bring clothes and buy food if you want to cook. Definitely an outstanding value, great location, amazing customer service from a professional guy that takes care of his "tenants".

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas week

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We chose this rental because our primary destination was LEGOLAND for the grandsons (ages 6 & 9). One son and family are stationed in Hawaii and the rest of us live in Texas. Michael welcomed us to the condo and explained restaurant & shopping in the area. The condo is even better than the pictures. This was the perfect place for the 8 of us. Great location for walking into the lovely village of Carlsbad and to the beach. Had some record breaking rains for a couple of days--but there was plenty of space for us to play games, watch videos and bake cookies in the fantastic kitchen--I want that kitchen! The boys loved the garage (like a bat cave) and we enjoyed staying out of the rain getting in & out of the cars. This is the most comfortable & well equipped rental I have stayed in --great attention to detail in the decorative touches and all the comforts of home with a luxury spa feel (especially the master bath). Well equiped kitchen, plenty of supplies, great washer & dryer. Costco & Albertsons were near and the large gas grill on the covered patio was great for steaks! We plan to meet here again (maybe I should not write such a good review---and keep this place a secret). We enjoyed The History of Music Museum, Ocean House & Harbor Fish restaurants. Spent 2 great days at LEGOLAND & Sealife --great fun for all ages. Bought a Christmas tree & made our own ornaments. Found a church nearby for Christmas Eve service. Wonderful family Christmas memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Christmas week in Carlsbad, CA

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We chose this VRBO rental because our primary destination was LEGOLAND for the grandsons (ages 6 & 9). One son and family are stationed in Hawaii and the rest of us live in Texas. Michael welcomed us to the condo and explained restaurant & shopping in the area. The condo is even better than the pictures. This was the perfect place for the 8 of us. Great location for walking into the lovely village of Carlsbad and to the beach. Had some record breaking rains for a couple of days--but there was plenty of space for us to play games, watch videos and bake cookies in the fantastic kitchen--I want that kitchen! The boys loved the garage (like a bat cave) and we enjoyed staying out of the rain getting in & out of the cars. This is the most comfortable & well equipped rental I have stayed in (plenty of supplies, great washer & dryer). Costco & Albertsons were near and the large gas grill on the covered patrio was great for steaks! We plan to meet here again (maybe I should not write such a good review---and keep this place a secret). We enjoyed The History of Music Museum, Ocean House & Harbor Fish restaurants. Spent 2 great days at LEGOLAND & Sealife --great fun for all ages. Bought a Christmas tree & made our own ornaments. Found a church nearby for Christmas Eve service. Wonderful family Christmas memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review