reviews for: listing #28860 - Mauna Lani, Hawaii Townhome rental

Island Dreams Villa--have it all: location, quiet, comfort
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Fairways Mauna Lani
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $325 /nt
    $1,650 - $3,850 /wk
    $6,000 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Julie and Tyler have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are also reachable by phone as is their house manager Lorraine who lives about 30 minutes away. We have stayed in many condos, apartments, hotel rooms bed and breakfasts etc in Europe(1/2 our family lives there) in the U.S., Canada and in Mexico. We have been to Hawaii countless times including the Big Island at least eight and we can tell you that all the comments from others are very true. My wife's 60th birthday was memorable because of the appointments, the size of this villa, the location,the proximity and access to two of the finest hotels on the Kohala Coast. Just a tip of running the gamut,from the beautiful views at the Mauna Lani Canoe House and eating the Kona Cold Lobster to Huggos On the Rocks for heavy apps, good Kona beer,a young crowd, and rocking entertainment and dancing. WOW your well thought out visitor's guide made our two weeks go by so fast. Thanks and we can't wait to get back. Sept-Oct 2007. Rob and Mimi

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great stay on Big Island

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

Our stay at the Island Dreams Villa was great. The accommodations were exactly as described with lots of fun things provided for both adults and kids (although ours is too little to use these yet). Everything was very neatly organized and instructions were absolutely clear. The location is great: the area is quiet with a 5-minute drive to the private beach club that we used all the time. Also Hapuna Beach is only a 10 minute drive away for those who want a bigger beach with some strong wave action. I would definitely recommend staying there and probably will try to come back someday. Thank you Julie.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving 2011

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

The villa had everything we needed. Loved the short distance to all the places. The secluded beach area was perfect Julie, just like you said. We all had a great time. Thank you Julie for opening your beautiful place to us.
The dean and Herrmann family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury on a Budget

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

We loved our stay at Island Dreams. It felt like home after only the 6 days we were there. We travelled on to Maui afterwards and the whole time I dreamed of being back at this place with the the quiet and beauty of the fairways and the surrounding area. Our family of 4 (two preteens) settled in so comfortably. Everything was available, including a ton of board games which our kids played everytime we had a spare moment. Be warned the grounds are extremely quiet. We did often have the pool to ourselves, which while nice meant that the kids were a little lonely. I laughed in hindsite that I had worried about the safety of the kids roaming the grounds by themselves, not an issue here! I did long walks every morning and enjoyed the beautiful scenery of the coast by the Fairmont Orchid and Mauna Lani hotel grounds. This unit is what made our visit so satisfying. It feels like a luxury home, all the little details are accomodated for, the furnishings are deluxe and make you feel like you are in a home, not a vacation rental. The owners obviously care about this unit and that you enjoy your stay. We did have a few little "critters" on the kitchen floor in the mornings, even though we kept everything very clean. I understand that is part of Hawaii and to be expected... We have even begun looking at purchasing a unit such as this, as I can not believe the value you get for your rental dollar here! We paid over $200 per night for our following stay in Maui for a 1 bedroom closet!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We don't think Critters are okay! With some new and improved efforts and even more eco friendly pest control we haven't seen any critters in a long while. Thankfully!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Island Mauna Lani resort

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

Our stay at this Villa was exceptional and this unit is very well equipped. Everything the owner promised us was there and exactly as we'd expected. The ambience is superb. The grounds and Village is well maintained. You need to be aware the whole island has it's problems with critters and this Village is no exception. The owners do everything they can to curtail this problem, but don't be alarmed if you should see a few, it's normal in HI. You will not be disappointed with this choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation at Julie's Island Dreams Villa. The accommodations were clean and very nice, we found being on the first floor with the door opening to a (safe) grassy area to be great for our two year old. We stayed with another family who had a one year old and it was a great location for babies- easy beach access a drive away, pool right into the complex. Would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Your vacation villa was perfect for our family vacation, which included two grandparents, two parents, and a happy little two-year old girl. We all found the house comfortable and extremely well equipped. The cooks among us really appreciate the kitchen which had absolutely everything we needed. Having all the equipment for a toddler made our stay easier and our travel less burdened down with gear. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Recently returned from a extremely pleasurable stay at Island Dreams Villa with our two young adult children. Julie has provided every convenience in a clean and beautifully organized corner condo. We enjoyed our week on the Big Island and roomy, lovely accomodation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Mahalo for making your fabulous villa available to others -- we loved it from the minute we walked in the door. Well-appointed, spacious, thoughtfully decorated yet family friendly for parents who showed up with a wide-eyed two-year old (thanks for all the items that made this a truly "kid-friendly" home). It was a perfect location for enjoying the wonderful Kohala coast. Loved the access to the private beach (great snorkeling), the easy drive to the white sands of Hapuna beach, and proximity to shops, restaurants, and wonderful resort amenities. Our combo anniversary/Hawaii 5-0 birthday trip was a great success, and this was one of the most positive experiences we've had renting a vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

Julie, We had a perfect vacation Your home is everything we hoped for. Extra clean,great location to walk everywhere. Very quiet . All was organized for our comfort. We BBq'd on the lani. Enjoyed evenings with tropical breezes. THANK YOU . We will be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

The Villa worked out very well for our family of four, which includes two little ones of 2.5 yrs and 8 months. Since we were "home" a lot during nap times it was wonderful to be able to enjoy the lanai and also to have the lovely and perfectly warm pool close by the condo. My older son loved having the lawn to run around on and all of those beach toys to play with.

One recommendation: I went all the way to Kona to do grocery shopping for the week. Later I stopped by the new gourmet grocery store (Foodland, I think?) in Mauna Lani which is slightly more expensive for non food items, but for food it was pretty comparable to the crummy Kona store and the quality was soooo much better.They also have great prepared foods like sandwiches and salads. If I had to do it again, and I hope I do, I would just shop close by in Mauna Lani.

Very nice house, very clean and so big!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

A spacious, well organised and comfortable home. The condo faces the communal garden of Fairway Villas.The pool is a very short walk and the sea a ten minute walk.
We spent a very relaxing three week vacation here. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 7, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We are still dreaming Island Dreams! Julie and Tyler's villa is beautiful and so well organized that it was easy to set up and feel at home (except it's bigger and fancier than my home). I think that late September is a treat to stay there because it was so peaceful and most times we had the pool to ourselves and the weather was just perfect. I thank the Williams for sharing this with us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular Island Dreams Villa

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 15, 2008

The Villa at Mauna Lani was beautiful - even nicer in person than the pictures could show. It was very clean, tastefully decorated, and fully stocked with everything you might need. The property really is "quiet and peaceful with lush landscaping." We enjoyed the private lanai with built-in grill. Cooking at the condo saved us about $250/day so we could stay longer. It was fun to walk along the shore trail and watch the sunset. The Big Island has so much to offer. We kayaked, snorkeled, hiked, shopped, and lounged. The nearby Beach Club has a beautiful beach and excellent snorkeling. We spent one day on the other side of the island to see the volcano and the active lava flow. You have to see the lava at night -- it was spectacular. We made great memories, but would love to return to make some more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We loved staying at this condo. It was even more beautiful in person than the pictures showed. It was like a 5 star hotel with more room! We have three grown children and there was plenty of room to hang out together in the living room. We loved grilling and eating on the lanai. Everything we needed was there. The island was so much fun. We went to the volcano and watched lava at night. We hiked and snorkeled and kayaked. The best snorkeling and beach was at the nearby Beach Club. Everything about this place was excellent.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our 4th of July stay

Review submitted: July 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

We had a wonderful and relaxing time on the island of Hawaii. Our family of 5 worked perfectly in this unit. The unit was beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. It was clean and well maintained and the communications with the owners were more than expected. There was even a bouquet of flowers in the villa celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The beaches were awesome as were the restaurants nearby. The pool was perfect as it was not right outside our unit but a very short walk away. There were never more than 5 people at the pool at one time. We loved the BBQ outside on the lanai and used it quite a lot. The information provided by the owners inside the unit was extremely helpful. We would love to go back in the near future. The hotel nearby celebrated the 4th of July with a turtle independence day and the release of 5 nurtured turtles into the wild. I would certainly recommend this villa to all my friends as long as they are not committing to the same week I am going back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 27, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our family loved their Island Villa vacation. We loved the view of exotic flowers and birds right from the patio. We could walk to the Fairmont Orchid, the Mauna Lani, and the grocery store. We enjoyed tennis, golf, snorkeling with turtles, and surfing. Cooking in or eating out, all was delicious and easy. Great location, beautiful villa, wonderful island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We loved your villa and had a great time during our stay in April. You provided all the needed extras to keep us and our 4 year old son happy at the beach--shovels,pails, snorkels, etc. The space was great and well kept and everything was super convenient. We loved the veranda at the Fairmont and enjoyed using the grill to cook some great fish.
Maholo

Lorraine Barrabee

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 9, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Julie and her family thought of everything to make our stay so comfortable. The villa is beautifully decorated and so accomodating for a large family. We had 6 kids plus 4 adults and all had plenty of room. We enjoyed the lagoons at both the Fairmont and Mauni Lani. The kids got such a kick out of the sea turtles and pufferfish swimming beside them. Wish we had more time to explore the island and go to summit of Mauna Kea. We did visit Kona Earth which was a small coffe operation which had us picking the beans right off the bush - very educational. We would definite recomment this villa and area to tour the Big Island. It especially meets the needs for families - lots of toys, snorkel and boogie board gear, baby stuff. Thanks for making it a great stay. The Liges from the Outer Banks of North Carolina

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 16, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We have stayed in a variety of rental homes for our
vacations, and this one is definitely one of the best.
The quiet locations was wonderful- a feature that is
extremely important to me. A rental home is so
much more relaxing than a hotel room. Although
we ate dinner out almost every night, having a meal
on your own is also a great option. The home itself
was incredibly clean and well organized. The
binder was a dream resource. Even though I have
been to the Big Island twice before, I found the
suggestions very helpful, especially for snorkelling.
The Big Island has so much to offer. We too spent a
day on the Hilo side. After all of our hiking &
snorkelling, we thoroughly enjoyed getting one of
those cabanas at the Fairmont Orchid for our last
day. Well worth the money for such a plush setup.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

The condo was fantastic. The owners, Julie and Tyler, have truly thought of everything to make for a comfortable, luxurious stay. We love to cook, so we were so happy to see that the kitchen was well stocked with every appliance and gadget that we would need. In addition, Julie and Tyler keep baby items such as a crib and strollers and a high chair, which meant we didn't have to lug those things from home. We enjoyed the wireless internet, the bikes, the gas grill, the DVD's, the iPod player, the convection oven, the washer and dryer, the beach towels, the beach toys. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. We would recommend this place wholeheartedly to anyone. Also, the condo is spacious enough so that we all had plenty of space and never got on each other's nerves. One last note: the grounds of the complex were so quiet and peaceful. The pool was always relaxing. The exercise room was always available. No crowds to fight here. In contrast, on the day we went to the Hilton Waikoloa Village for our little girl to swim with the dolphins, we couldn't believe how hectic and noisy and crowded it was. We were so happy to get back to our peaceful paradise. So many of those resorts are like zoos (We referred to the Hilton as the "Hell-ton"). This place was excellent. We look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

My family so enjoyed staying at the condo. It was great to have access to a private beach, a beautiful pool, and work-out facilities. It's a wonderful place for a true vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

This condo has everything you need: Sippie cups, sandals beach gear kitchen items and even spare shoes!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 12, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

We had a wonderful time. The place was great. It was clean with lots of room. I liked that you could cook in or go out. It is close to a lot of things to do. I would highly recommend and would stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review