reviews for: listing #28883 - North Topsail Beach, North Carolina House rental

7708 8th Ave N. Topsail Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $850 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Very nice house, great location, owners very nice

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

North Topsail is a very nice, family oriented beach. The beach was uncrowded even the week before July 4th. It is a great beach for families with young kids and people who like to relax, stroll the beach, and enjoy the waves. Highly recommended for relaxation, seafood, and fishing (surf, pier, offshore or the Sound)

The house was very nice with a new grill that worked perfectly, high speed wireless internet, cable tv and a nice screened in porch. It is a 2 minute walk across the street to the beach. Only 1 bathroom indoors, but in warm weather, the outdoor shower is great for removing sand and also for normal showering. It is totally enclosed and private. Owner and caretakers were very nice and accommodating in a late booking situation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Wow, what a wonderful vacation my family just had at Topsail Island! This home was so perfect for us. We are 40ish with two boys, 10 and 14. Also joining us was my 68 yr old Dad and our English Bulldog. We had all the amenities we needed for a fabulous week. The kitchen is well equipped with the simple items you need, the deck is very spacious and I loved sitting on the screen porch with Abby in the evenings enjoying the sunset over the sound. We had plenty of room to spread out and find our own spots when needed (which is important with a teenager around) and also enjoyed our time together in the kitchen/great room area. The laid back, non-commercial feel of the island is just what we were looking for and exactly what we found. If you need the fast pace, commercialism of Myrtle Beach, this is not the place for you. However, I found it awesome being able to walk just a few steps down to the beach and then walk back to the house to make a sandwich for lunch. Keep in mind that the 2nd bath downstairs is outside, and not the equivalent of a full bath in the house but very useful for washing off when returning from the beach. Several good restaurants are: The Beach Shop Grill in Topsail Beach and Camino Real Mexican in Surf City (mainland side of swing bridge). For fresh seafood I recommend the Crab Pot near the swing bridge in Surf City. God willing we will be returning to Topsail and hope we can stay at this home when we do. Remember to visit the Seaturtle Hospital when you're there. They do great work and need your support!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Dear Cindy,


I am so glad that you had a great time while you were at the beach. I appreciate the nice review and would like to offer you a discount of some sort for next year if you want to come back. We love our little house and have been renting it out during the summers to keep it in the family since my father-in-law built it. I will keep your info on file and maybe we will see you again next year. Thanks so much, Kathy thatcher

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Poor description

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

First I was upset about the ad when it said there was a gas grill to use. This THING they call a grill is a death trap. I have seen better in scrap yards. The wheels are rusted off and they took the door from the grill and put it under it to try and keep it from falling over.Its leaning forward and rusted. I spent 2 hours trying to find a charcoal grill so we could cook out. Also the screens on the front porch need replacing. The outside needs some TLC big time. Interior of the house was nice. Clean and plenty of room. If you decide to go with this house, Get a discount on the price for the aggravation of no grill and torn screens. Also we cleaned the interior very well and I still have not recieved my cleaning deposite back yet. They are very slow about getting back to you on things. I will say that the people that watch and try to take care of the property are very nice people. We did have one problem with the bath plumbing and they were there within 15 minutes to fix it.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Most Exciting Vacation Ever!!!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

This was the most exciting vacation ever!! We highly recommend this vacation site. Just a walk away from the beach....really we walked to the beach every day!! After a long day of enjoying the sites and attractions of NC, it was a wonderful place to come back to and rest for the next day!! We would definitely love to come back next year!! Thank you Kathy!! The Gibson Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review