reviews for: listing #28899 - Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Condo rental

Best Deal!! Really!! Beachfront Condo Close to Town
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Casita Blanca
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $275 /nt
    $895 - $1,675 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

We had a delightful week at this condo. The location on the beach was gorgeous! We were very happy with the condition of the unit; it was clean, had plenty of space for our family of four, and the ocean breezes kept us cool. The Casita Blanca complex was well maintained and felt secure, but only the unit's back windows had bars - so we felt we had to close the others at night. We loved having the beach and pool steps away. The walk to town was easy, and well worth it to try out the many restaurants and shops Puerto Morelos has to offer. We were there during Holy Week, and the town and beaches were hopping. We can't wait to visit this little gem of a spot again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return!!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

Dr. Steve's accomodations were perfect in every way. First floor - no steps and just a few feet away from the pool!! We have always done the all-inclusive resorts, but considering the beautiful beach and people of Puerto Morelos and Dr. Steve's condo, we are forever converted.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful area and very friendly people

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

We had a lovely stay in PM. This condo is looking a bit run down and needs new furniture and linens. The ants were very bad, fountain not in working order and we never had hot water the entire stay. It was a fun vacation but the owners need to have someone manage the place so the renters can talk to someone when these problems arise. We walked to town and it took us at least 15 minutes walking fast! You can easily grab a cab for a few pesos.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very sorry to hear of this guest's experience at our condo. Yes, Mexico does have ants but with proper cleaning and food storage they have nothing to eat and are not prevalent.

They actually did have hot water in both bathrooms but not in the kitchen. (The kitchen has a separate hot water heater.) In their notification to me just after their stay they wrote, "The entire week was very windy and that could explain the pilot light not staying lit."

But overall, admittedly we did not do our best job for this guest and we had written them immediately after their stay apologizing for the circumstances and notifying them of the new procedures we implemented in response to their experience.

We have had only 5 star reviews since.

Dr. Steve Schmitz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casita Granada

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

I did not know what to expect in a small town like Puerto Morelos. However, this was the perfect blend of real small town Mexico with sophisticated food and night life. And wow, Casita Granada being right on the clean beach with palapa shades and more than enough chaises and sun, our 2 bedroom plus ground floor condo with private patio (great for massages), spotless facility with all modern kitchen, made for one of my best vacations yet. I can't wait to book my next trip there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

I can't imagine anything more perfect ! Stayed 3
weeks this year, came home and booked it again for
4 weeks next winter.

Location, location, location.

Best location , best accomodations, best complex,
over the top comlpex manager Roberto, lovely walk
to town every night for supper. Wouldn't change a
thing.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011:

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Our family of 6 loved our stay at this beautiful condo! The kids are ages 7-12, so it was important to have enough room, be close to the beach, have a pool right there, and have all the kitchen supplies we needed. This lovely condo delivered this and more!
Also important to this mom, was the fact that the condo and the town seemed very safe - no problems, no noise, etc. The town offered many things too: shopping, restaurants, coffee, ice cream, etc.
2 of us were able to snorkle, which we arranged right in the town square, and loved it! Thank you for a wonderful Mexican vacation! The Millards

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Loved my stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Casitas Blanca. The condo has all the amenities that you really need. The town of Puerto Moreles is calm and relaxing, unlike the cities of Cancun and Playa del Carmen. It is an easy walk into town where there are restaurants, a grocery store and shops. The condo looks out over the ocean and has a pool at the complex. The condo was clean and very well maintained. There were sea kayaks as well. The reef is not far when you take out the kayaks and I was able to snorkel along the reef. The beach is great to run on as well as for walks. Great place for rest and relaxation. I would strongly recommend this place and look forward to returning there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Serene & Relaxing

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

Iam a recent widow in my 70's who travelled alone to Puerto Morelos. The condo was perfect for me because of the location and view. I was very conerned about being alone but I felt very safe. I walked almost daily to the quaint town for shopping and sightseeing. While having lunch at Pelicans, I meet 2 different groups of ladies who took me under their wing. We had dinner at Cantina Habanero a couple of times. Eddie, the owner, was a pure delight. I cannot wait to go back in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

Better than we ever expected. The condo was clean, well-equipped beautifully located. Roberto and Selene make sure everything is perfect for everyone. We would highly recommend staying here!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

We stayed at Casita Blanca from 2/17-2/24/2010. The condo was great. The beds were very comfortable,the kitchen well stocked and the property manager Roberto was super. He was there for anything we needed. Only a few minute walk to town square where there were several very good small places to eat. The laid back atmosphere was perfect. For a day trip to Cancun or Playa, just grab a cab to the highway for 20 pesos to the bus stop and for only 20 pesos you can take the big luxury bus to either town. Another perfect vacation in Mexico.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We had a great stay in Steve Schmitz’s condo at Casita Blanca in Puerto Moreles. The condo itself was as nice as advertised, with a sea view, and beautiful breezes. The Casita Blanca complex couldn’t be better, with friendly people, a beautiful beach, a nice swimming pool, all very ably overseen by Roberto and Selene. Just down the beach is a little bar run by two very friendly Californians. And the town of Puerto Moreles is a lovely laid-back place, with funky restaurants that are fun to discover and good food to eat, shops, and a quiet feeling quite different from the metropolises North and South of Puerto Moreles: Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Altogether a great experience.CB

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

Casita Granada is not for everybody. If you enjoy having a bunch of 20-something year olds waking you at odd hours by yelling and throwing things off the balconey, you will not enjoy this villa. If you like listening to traffic noise and watching cars, motorcycles, and buses zipping down the boulevard, this one is not for you. Or if you like being pounded by big breakers on the beach and struggling to avoid being swept away by an undertow, forget about this place. Also don't come here if you need the stimulation of hundreds of people on the beach and the convenience of being able to buy your cheap jewelry, serapes, corn rows, hats, kites, and what have you from an army of peddlers who patrol the sand.

On the other hand, if you value beauty, quiet, tranquility, near-empty beaches, fabulous views, the joy of a 15 minute stroll down to a quiet little village loaded with fine resturants where you might be one of only a few like-minded patrons, this is probably where you need to be. And if, like me, you prefer to throw the catch of the day onto your own barbecue grill while preparing your own pico de gallo that you make from fresh provisions from the local mercado, in a fabulously appointed and well-equipped kitchen, and whipping up your own pina coladas with your own frsh fruit while watching the soft ocean swells out the living room windows, here is the place. Need to snorkle out to a breathtaking reef right from your front door? This is it. Want to watch the local kids play in the town plaza while listening to a mariachi band practicing in the bandshell while you eat the locally made ice cream? You got it.

Don't come here if you need an "all-inclusive" or enjoy paying outrageous resturant prices. Don't come here if you like crowds. And don't come here if you are not looking to relax in the finest condo, surrounded by the most wonderful setting imaginable.

Otherwise, Enjoy! You won't regret it!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We had a great experience in Puerto Morelos. We loved the mild pace of the fishing village and then coming back to a really great condo. The onsite property manager was personable, helpful and ontop of guest needs. Everything was kept clean and inviting. A true home away from home. The owner, Steve Schmitz, was great to deal with and always prompt with his communications. Thanks to everyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed at the Schmitz condo, in Puerto Morelos, in January of 2008 and again in January of 2009. Both visits exceeded our expectations. Puerto Morelos is a great little village, with many restaurants, and not so many tourists as its neighboring cities of Cancun and Playa del Carmen. The condo is perfectly situated in a small complex that is beachfront and just a short walk to the town square (either on the beach or the sidewalk in front of the complex). The condo is very nice; it has everything to make a perfect relaxing vacation. We will definitely stay there again - and hopefully soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

My husband and I were in Puerto Morelos !/31/09/2/5/09 for the 4th time! We love it there. Our accomadations at the Schmidtz "casa' were great and looking forwrd to going back next yr. The private patio made it extra special. Be sure and take some "OFF" as the mosq.were peskier than usual!Roberto is a gem and will help w/ anything. Adios

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My excellent adventure...

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 6, 2008

My stay at Casita Granada was fabulous, almost like visiting with good friends. Everyhting I could have possibly needed was there, in the condo. It was very clean, spacious and well decorated. The beds and bedding were superb. My favorite corner was the private outdoor tiled courtyard where I had a home treatment by Fernando, masseuse extraordinaire of the town.

Puerto Morelos is a quaint and lovely little town. Everything is walking distance on the beach, which I did every morning at 7am for coffee in the town square. The restaurents were all great and well priced. You must try the homemade icecream from the little shop by the beach in the square.

To say how much I loved this place.....i've already booked for my 50th birthday bash!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We stayed 2 wks in Feb 08 at Casita Blanca, it was a perfect as it looks. Puerto Morelos is charming, friendly and safe. The beaches are fabulous, the sand is cool and the water is clean and warm. Roberto (caretaker extraordinaire) makes a great holiday better. He is always willing to answer any questions and is happy to help if he can. We have stayed at All Inclusives but this private condo enables you to enjoy Mexico at its best. We had such a great time we are already booked for Feb 09. Adios

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

How do I begin to describe the wonderful accommodations that we enjoyed in the Schmitz condo? Everything was perfect, very comfortable, lovely kitchen and fantastic location! The pool was to die for and the beach was beautiful. We brought our entire family and to find a place that meets the needs of grandkids, a college kid and 2 old folks is almost impossible but this condo did the trick. Roberto the manager was just the icing on the cake, he was so helpful. We can't wait to return so when the snow begins to fall in Colorado next winter guess where we will go? Have fun we certainly did! The Koenigs

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We spent a wonderful week there (April 08).
Weather was great -- continual onshore breeze
kept us cool; never needed AC. Wonderful condo
and facilities -- we enjoyed watching sunrise from
the verandah and palapas, and watching the moon
rise over the water in the evening. Roberto was
terrific, and the other folks we met extremely
helpful and friendly. Walked to town on the beach
for breakfast, dinner some nights; cooked in the
condo others -- really relaxing. Was also a great
base for exploration of the coast and inland ruins.
We had a great time and would definitely come
back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 30, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

My family and I (5 in all) stayed in the Schmitz condo in Casita Blanca, PM. We had a fabulous stay !! We were absolutely SHOCKED at how comfortable the beds and pillows were ! Better than most 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The shed was stocked with sand toys and inflatables for our daughter to use (which was great b/c we forgot ours). The courtyard was a perfect place to relax or cookout (BBQ included!) The condo was very clean, "homey" and nicely decorated. The air conditioning kept us nice and cool at night. Having the beach so close - right out front- was a huge plus, but the pool was also a welcome change from the sea water and waves. Lots of great dining choices (try the orange building on the town square !) and peaceful atmosphere - both at the condo and in town. We really found the place well equipped for our stay and could not think of anything else we would have wanted. . .. except more time !! :)

You will love it !

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We stayed at the Schmitz condo (Casita Blanca) in Puerto Morelos in July of 2007. The condo was perfect. Clean, spacious, and only a few steps from the beach. The condo was nicely furnished and had everything you would want on a Mexican vacation (especially the excellent air conditioning in every room!). Roberto, the complex manager, was extremely helpful as well. If you go to the Yucatan I would strongly suggest staying at Casita Blanca in the Schmitz condo - I know we will the next time we're in that area. Puerto Morelos is also an excellent destination with great snorkeling, lots of good restaraunts, and close proximity to Cancun, Play del Carmen, cenotes, and Mayan ruins. You won't regret your trip!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The Schmitz' condo is fabulous. Really just perfect. The furnishings are lovely, comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped. The mattresses are more comfortable than any I have slept on in Mexico and as nice as mine at home. Plenty of space for our family of five. The owner Steve was so easy to correspond with. This condo is also a great deal. Having the additional side patio was wonderful. Being on the first floor was also a real plus. Outside of the condo you will find wonderful snorkeling and the quiet, small, nice Mexican town of Puerto Morelos. Puerto Morelos is perfectly situated for day trips to Coba, Tulum, Playa del Carmen, Cancun. We will return. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have questions about this great rental property. Anne Valle and family 8/07

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

5/16/07
Paradise!!! This was our second visit to Puerto
Morelos and the first at the Schmitz' condo. Perfect
location, lovely spacious condo, quiet beach and
did I mention, perfect location!!! It is fabulous to
have "Tuna's" right there for a drink and some live
music or a coffee after an evenings stroll along the
beach.
PM is still a small town with wonderful people, great
food and lots of charm. Roberto and Selena are too
good to be true - they could not be more helpful
and friendly and made us feel so welcome. I would
stay at this condo again in a heartbeat - in fact I
hope to do so next year.
Sue

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful condo
along with another couple the first week of
February, 2007. Two other couples we are friends
with stayed nearby, making the patio a great spot
for get-togethers. The location is perfect with the
nice town of Puerto Morelos a short walk away and
the beach literally steps away. It was relaxing to
watch the "Beach Zamboni" drive up and down in
the morning. Everyone wanted this job after
retirement... Tuna provided food, drink and
entertainment right next door and this is where we
tried ceviche for the first time. It was fun to watch
the Super Bowl while eating hog fish (delicious!) at
Los Pelicanos. Hola Asia turned into a favorite
restaurant. Greg and Bruna (our roomies) would
order Pad Thai to go and heat it up with eggs for
breakfast. We can't get over how beautiful and
uncrowded the beaches are and how friendly
everyone is! We have traveled to many places and
this has been our favorite vacation to date. Our
"Conversational Spanish" classes this spring will
help in our Spanish-speaking efforts when we
return in 2008.

P.S. The snorkeling is fantastic!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We were all very pleased with this clean ocean front condo. It was beautiful to wake up to an ocean sunrise and make most of our meals in the condo. The walk to Puerto Morelos along the beach was a pleasure everyday to purchase groceries and souveniers and also to have our daily Marguaritas and Pina Colodas 2X1 at Cafe Finca. Roberto, our manager was especially helpful in getting us a van to tour Chichen Itzen. The condo was fine for 8 people if the kids don't mind sleeping on the futons. We loved the beach, pool, and the snorkeling along the reef. We would definetely go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We loved staying at the condo in November. Although the weather was marginal, lots of rain and wind. The kitchen remodel looks great. The view is wonderful and location to the pool is excellent. Roberto was very accomaodating loaning us cd's adn giving us local information. We too loved the quiet atmosphere o f Puerto Morelos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

I booked this condo for my best friend and his family for a week-long vacation at Puerto Morelos.

Since they had never been to Mexico and came all the way from Perth, Australia, I really wanted to impress them with a nice condo near the beach (since I Mexican and very proud of my country). Now, I know that they have traveled all over the world and stayed at really nice places, so they are hard to impress. However, I was so pleasently surprised when they were blown away by this condo and Puerto Morelos. I highly recommend this condo, especially since the owners are more than a pleasure to work with and are incredibly responsive. if you are looking for a very relaxing and confortable vacation that will give you a better sense of the real Mexico, this is your place. And if you feel too guilty about leaving work behind, the condo offers wireles internet connection and a fantastic outdoor private patio from which you can both work and enjoy a margarita or two.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We were thrilled with the Steve and Ilene's condo!! It is warmly and tastefully decorated. We've rented other condos that were painted a stark white with just a few random items scattered around for color. They were not comfortable places to hang out. Eileen's careful selection of paints and decor made their condo feel very welcoming, and her beautiful collection of bedding, mattresses and towels made it very comfortable. Of course, it also doesn't hurt that there are stellar ocean views from the condo and the special patios that surround it.

The town is sweet--you actually get a very local feel, not like the artificial, tourist-hype atmosphere in Cancun. And lo and behold, you see the locals out enjoying their own beaches, playing soccer, and so on. Things are very low key and relaxing.

We especially loved walking along the beach into town, where there was a delightful, international collection of restaurants to choose from. And if we didn't feel like a stroll, we just ate at Tuna's next door--great fish tacos, empanadas, guacamole and ceviche. Because the kitchen is well-equipped and beautful, we also made several meals at home. (But note, the best produce is across the highway in La Colonia.)

The sea breezes were delightful, the skies soft blue and the sun warm and delicious. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 26, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We loved this beautiful oceanfront condo in its quiet, peaceful complex! Although we used our car for day trips, it was so wonderful to be able to walk down the beach to the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morales! What a treasure...this small, authentic Mexican village so convenient to the Cancun airport!

Diving adventures were fun with Enrique at the Ceiba del Mar...again just a walk down the beach. And "Hola Asia" was definitely the best restaurant in town!

I am a very picky travel agent and am so pleased to be able to say that this trip earned an enthusiastic thumbs up! Feel free to contact me if you would like more details or assistance with your travel arrangements.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Back to reality :-(. Our family of 7 enjoyed this condo and location very much. The condo is spotless and more beautiful than the pictures convey. Very workable for 5 adults and two children. The onsite manager is wonderful and very helpful. Everything you want is in town which is within walking distance. Jose (a boat driver from the pier in town) came to the beach in front of the condo one morning and took us out snorkling and then bought lobster tails and cooked them for us that evening(much better and more reasonable than any restaurant). Staying here gave everyone a real sense of Mexico. We spent one afternoon at a resort and while the pools were nice, it was like being in Miami Beach and that wasn't what we were looking for. Never made it to the ruins, had too much fun just hanging out! We actually never made it to Cancun. We did go to dinner and strolled down 5th st. in Playa de Carmen and were glad to come home to peace, quiet and fewer tourists. If you are looking for a relaxing, beach vacation, this is the place to go!
Muchos gracias to the owners!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 10, 2007   Date of arrival: January 10, 2007

Well, we are back this AM in rainy and gray Capitola..quite a contrast from yesterday morning in Puerto Morelos. We had the most wonderful time...everyone loved the place and all about it, and are all talking about coming back next year...same time, same condo. We thank you and loved it. SO appreciated getting to know Roberto and Selene..very helpful and simpatico...they keep all so beautifully manicured and are so helpful and available...very appreciated..you are lucky to have them! Just loved beach, town, walking to town, Triny's, place on corner for sandwiches, internet cafe, super market, pool, wonderful place for little kids, beautiful water, we are all mad swimmers, sun, sky..all...you are lucky to have those places permanently in your lives and the time to enjoy them...let us know re 2007! Gracias..Molly and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review