reviews for: listing #28910 - Anna Maria Island, Florida Cottage rental

Songbird
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Holmes Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $525 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,650 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: August 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

2 week stay.

Places to visit: of course the beach, the pier and we liked downtown Bradenton.

Memories: very nice white sand beach, beautiful warm water, lots of fish and cute Pelicans catching fish, a very quiet street (62nd) is a great location for the house, a tranquil garden and everything in the cottage makes you feel comfortable.

Liked the WIFI and my mom loved the cable TV watching TCM channel every night.

Free long distance calls

Free trolley on the island

We enjoyed meeting people from other countries at the beach and at the cottage.

Improvements: we were happy with everything. This was our first stay in a cottage. We usually stay in a hotel. This vacation exceeded our expectations.

Joel, thank you for everything and for checking in with me for time to time. We would like to come back to Anna Maria Island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House Feels Like Home

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Hi Joel,

We had a great time and thank you once again for renting out your place. Your house feels like home and my feeling is that other rental places mostly feel like just... a house that is built to be rented out. Anna Maria Island is such a beautiful place and the beaches and ocean are just stunning.

All the best,
A

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Here are some minor details I wanted to address.

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Hi Joel. I wanted to let you know that the stay, just like last year, was great. We are considering booking for next year. Here are some minor details that I wanted to address:
• Dryer doesn't dry in efficient manner -- it takes 2X the time to dry and you are paying for the expense of inefficient dryer. Joel Speaking: I would have addressed this issue during their 2 week stay but had no knowledge of it. I have contacted the repair person.
• Beach towels are wonderful, however the kitchen drying towels are terrible. I brought my own because last year was the same. You should consider upgrading the towel selection for the kitchen. Something thicker more absorbent. I am leaving you one of mine that says ho ho ho. It is an old Christmas themed one but does the trick. Joel Speaking: Will correct/improve.
• The knives in the kitchen are horrible. My husband sharpened knives with sharpener in there but still would be better to have new set. They are all ancient and worn. Cheap but effective would be fine. There are no steak knives. Joel Speaking: I did not know they were that bad and will correct.
• The next door neighbor apparently washes her clothes with bleach...somehow that impacted entire load of our laundry which were ruined by being impacted with bleach. Joel Speaking: Never heard this from a guest before. Added a sign to machine suggesting prudence.
• Back door could be looked at to close easier/smoother...seemed like we had to slam door to get it closed and it would have been nicer to just have had the ability to close the door. Joel Speaking: Al is making adjustments as needed.
• I don't know what the little pod like bugs are on the entire back side of the house is but you should have that looked at. Joel Speaking: Those are common Oleander Moths in their cocoon this time of the year. Al will knock them off with a broom.
• These items aren't total deal breakers but areas that you should look at for future renters.... Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW what a great place to stay

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

Hi Joel
You are a star****Thank you for our wonderful stay at your home.We had a great time there.The cottage was very clean and you have everything there for our needs.It is close to the beach where we went every day.Great idea you have a trolley there to carry all the chairs,towels and beach umbrella to the beach. We were very relaxed there as we spent some time in Orlando before we arrived,so thanks again.
We will return again but next time will stay much longer.
See you soon
John & Catherine from UK

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, John and Catherine.

I am diligent about fixing things that break. The washer and dryer were repaired during their stay and bathroom faucet rebuilt just before they arrived. And I am fussy about the cleaning as I dislike staying in a poorly cleaned place when I travel. Not perfect but tidy, clean and organized.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Island Cottage

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

The unit is a perfect vacation cottage for couples or small families. The beds are very comfortable, and the unit is well equipped and cozy. The owner, Joel, is helpful and follows up to ensure that no problems have been encountered. His instructions on how to run the units mechanicals were perfect. The place was clean, bright and cheerful. It is very close to the beach (less than 10 minute walk), shopping and the some great restaurants (Tortilla Bay, Mr. Bones, Sandbar, etc.). We did not get a chance to use the bikes, but there are quite a few to choose from. And, plenty of beach equipment stored in the shed in the back. We have stayed in other locations on the Bay side of the island and I was happy to find that Joel's location did not come with cockroaches! We look forward to renting this unit from Joel again. Sandy & Ron

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sandy and Ron,

Your kind words are appreciated! Clean, bright and cheerful are good words to describe Songbird Side A.

It is Florida and a diligence is needed about pests as I learned; so the place gets treated every 2 months.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Week

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Joel,
This has been an awesome week. We enjoyed the house, nice beachy feel, beds were very comfy and furnishings are beautiful. This was the perfect way to celebrate our granddaughters fifteenth year. All of the suggested places to eat were great. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect vacation home

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Excellent value. Home was extremely clean and well-maintained - Side A. Before renting,I had an issue with possible noise from Side B, but we heard nothing at all through the walls, that being with a 9 mos old child on that side. Very happy. Greg loved sitting under the banyon tree in the back yard. Joel is very precise and available with information and help if needed. We were near everything.. could walk to beach or to resteraunts. Lots of activities going on, yet street is very, very quiet. Excellent value for the money!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: And thanks to Sherry the place will be clean for your arrival too. We try hard to keep things in order and maintained to give you a good start at a relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Side A Gets A Lot of Natural Sunlight

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Review from Drs Arnott UK
We stayed at Joel's side A for about 6 weeks from October onwards.  It was our first trip to Anna Maria island and Joel's place was very comfortable.  It was very clean, had everything we needed including a teapot ( very important to us Brits and rare in Florida).  There was a good supply of condiments and cooking equipment so that you are totally self sufficient.  The unit also has bikes so it is possible to live here without a car something we decided to do.  Cycling is great on the island as there are loads of cycling opportunities and you can put your bike on a trolley bus any time you want.

You won't get bored on the island but when you do the TV has many many cable channels.  Fancy eating with friends there in a big back yard with big outdoor tables.  Great fun, we know as we ate a fantastic barbecued turkey with Joel last Christmas.  We were not disturbed by any neighbours and his house is away from shops and main roads so you won't get woken by traffic.
Side A gets a lot of natural sunlight and you end up just keeping the back door open all day.  Anna Mari Island is a great base for exploring nearby places and make sure you visit the fishing museum in Cortez if you get the chance - great boat models.

Joel speaking: The Arnotts stayed on side A in October 2012 and came back to the island in December 2013. I had no room and found them another place to stay. We had Christmas dinner 2013 in the backyard along with guests from Side A and the Arnotts and I did smoke a Turkey on the weber. Very enjoyable time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Third Visit To Joel's Place

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Always feels like we're coming home. We were able to add a couple of days this time, hoping next year to be able to stay 2 weeks. Whole family came this year - so we rented both sides. Daylight hours are short this time of the year. We ate many a dinner out back or just hung out - wish there was more lighting out back. Even solar powered lights would be nice. We love this place though. As long as we can vacation, we will keep coming back. Thanks Joel for keeping and renting out such a great place!!




Joel here: the lighting will be improved this year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice To Know That You Are Just A Phone Call Away

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Well Joel, another holiday finished but will not be forgotten. The island is just somewhere special and your house is just like home. We enjoyed the changes ie: TV, Bed and others. The bikes again were a joy to us; you see much more of the island. It is also nice to know that you are just a phone call away if anything is needed. Thanks again and see you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

We arrived 11/9 and are staying until 11/16. This was a long planned family vacation and we rented both sides of the duplex. We really enjoyed all the amenities of the house. The big back yard, the squeaky bikes with great personality and most of all the quick trip to the beach! The weather has been great, 60-80's all week long. We are not looking forward to the 20-30's of upstate NY. We all sat out back and had dinner from the grill, a few drinks and a great time tonight. Only one more night left on the island, then starts the long drive home. It will be sad to go, but it was great to be here!



Joel here: Part of the family was back for the 3rd time and they are wonderful guests! They did reserve both sides for next year and are saying what I say by renting for 2 weeks as 1 week is too short.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Equipped Like Home

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Songbird is a fantastic vacation rental that is extremely clean and equipped like home, with everything one needs for a great vacation. Unlike most rentals, the kitchen has whatever is needed to prepare meals and desserts. The rooms are spacious and the furniture is spotless and comfortable. There are lots of good books and interesting reading material on hand, a CD player, CDs, as well as a nice flat screen TV, a DVD player, and numerous DVDs. The yard is private, and has lounge chairs, a grill, and dining table. There are plenty of bikes for both units, in addition to beach umbrellas, beach chairs, and a wagon to cart your belongings to the beach.  Songbird is the best value on AMI, and Joel, the owner, goes the "extra mile" to make sure your needs are met, and you have everything you need for an enjoyable vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All Is Well

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

All is well, Loving the bed... Oh my ... it's so comfortable we have to force ourselves to get up! Makes me realize I need a new bed at home! Using the bikes and loving them. No complaints from us!



Joel speaking: That is music to my ears!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Island is Amazing

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Hi Joel, The mattress is wonderful. We have booked to go to key west on Thursday. We are going by boat and staying for two nights, we will be back Saturday. Hopefully this year we will make it!

Hi Joel, Sorry meant to phone before we left. We are at the airport now flight leaves in an hour. We have had a wonderful time again in your house the island is amazing. Will email you when we are back home.

Joel speaking: They were back for the 3rd time from Scotland and stayed for 4 weeks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely getaway on AMI

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

I have stayed at this lovely unit mutliple times and have recommended this property to my friends back home as well. The owner is most accommodating and at your service. The place is always clean, bright and cheerful and you have everything you need. Very close to beach, shopping and the best restaurants. Everything just "works" and it is very comfortable. A good find for sure.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review describes it to a T. You will have a pleasant comfortable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slept Like Babies In The Bed

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Joel,

We slept like babies in the bed. If it would not be for the extensive Air freight cost we would take it with us :).

Thank you that we could stay in your house on Anna Maria Island. We did have a very nice and relaxing vacation.

In another email you asked if we observed some things with the house.

While cleaning at the end I saw that some of the rollers under the king size bed were broken.

We did not use the vacuum cleaner since it did not really pick up anything from the floor. We used the broom instead.

Other than that everything was just fine. We enjoyed the TV and even rented some DVD's from Redbox to watch. And of course we liked to use the bikes. Just an idea: maybe you can buy some bike covers to protect the bikes better from the rain. Here in Germany it is a low cost item (maybe 3€ per each). It may reduce maintenance cost for the bikes in the long run.

We had a good trip back home but hated to leave.

Best regards,

U and A


Owner speaking: They were back for the 4th time for 4 weeks and are terrific guests. The vacuum is getting checked out and the rollers will be replaced. I will look into bikes covers to see what might work.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Otherwise Wonderful

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We have had a wonderful time. All good. Everything was here making the place turnkey. I did not like that there was only one real coffee mug so we bought one and will leave it at the place for future guests. I would also change the toilet seat. Looks about time. Otherwise wonderful.

Owner speaking: I do impress upon the guests to tell me the not so good and the good. And I appreciated the above comments! There were two red mugs four weeks ago so who knows where the one went. There are two small wear marks on the seat where the lid rests and when I was there in July I debated replacing it. Will be there in December.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had such a great vacation. The house was so neat, clean and well decorated. We, actually, enjoyed our short walks to the beach while the kids rode bikes. Mr. Songstad provides you with so much at this house that you really only need to bring food and clothes. He, also, was so friendly and you can tell he really wants you to have a wonderful stay. We hated to leave but definately look forward to returning next year!! You will not be disappointed with your stay!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words! We're glad you all had a good time and are thinking of returning next year. Remember, the fall is a great time to visit and the rates are great!! :o)

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved The Bikes - Hated Washing Dishes

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

1 to 5 with 5 being the highest rating.

Ease of booking - 5
Key pickup/access to the property – 5
Quality of bedding/mattresses – 5
Cleanliness of bathroom – 5
Service - 5
Directions to the property - 5
Overall condition - 5
Kitchen/utensils quality - 4
Quality of facilities/amenities - 5


Liked best: One of the things we like best about our stay at Songbird was the free access to a number of bicycles. The bikes are perfect for getting around the island, getting to and from the beach, and hitting any of the piers and restaurants Anna Maria has to offer. It is very convenient not to have to worry about renting a bike if you want to ditch the car and get some exercise.

Liked least: The lack of a dishwasher on side A is probably what we liked least. Although two people don’t make many dishes, a dishwasher is a convenience that would certainly be helpful for any vacationing couple or family.

Thanks for the great stay, again!


Joel speaking: The bikes are a fun way to see the island and they are island bikes with a salt air patina. One of these days a dishwasher is coming . . . For now a new wagon is in place to haul stuff to the beach.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

What a great week! The cottage was very cozy and clean with all the comforts of home.Being a 5 minute walk from a beautiful beach was certainly a plus. We made well use of the bikes,they were extremely handy.
Two coconuts fell of the tree and we had a tough but a fun time cracking them open,once we did they were delicious.With a full kitchen we were able to cook lots of great meals,we also Barbequed a lot!
Joel,thank you so much for the great service you provided us.The directions and instructions you gave were easy to follow and your fun suggestions were very useful.
A perfect place to stay on a very beautiful Island, definitely will return and tell friends and family about a perfect Vacation.
Thank you,Joel!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vacations should be laid back and restful, so I am glad it was!

Thanks for visiting.

Joel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Have No Complaints

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

I really have no complaints. I found what is expected to be found in a cozy beach house. I loved everything about your place! I would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you for your great customer service. I look forward to going back next year :)

Thanks a lot!
Y and E

The owner speaking: Their comment about no complaints is because I ask all guests for the good and not so good things about the place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful 10 days!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

We spend 10 wonderful days with friends from Germany in "Tropical Song B", the other side of Songbird. The unit was very clean and had everything you would need for a tropical trip. All we needed to bring was our swim suits and food, that`s it. The Beaches are so beautiful and only a 10 minute walk away. It was easy booking the unit with Joel, and he made us feel right at home. The unit has a beautiful back yard with a Grill, Bikes and everything you need for the Beach. Thank you so much Joel for making us feel right at home. The only bad thing, 10 days went by way to fast. But we will be back very soon. This was our third trip to Anna Maria and the best one yet. Thanks Joel from all of us, Melanie, Jim, Petra & Dieter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I truly appreciate your positive review. The cleaning person will be happy with your comments too.

I do remember when we talked last January as I was on my bike just off the island in Bradenton having taken back a rental car and you got me on my cell phone. And then the mail with the change of address got mixed up and we talked some more. Glad it all worked out.

Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Cute Cottage

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

1 to 5 with 5 being the highest rating.

Ease of booking 5
Key pickup/access to the property 5
Quality of bedding/mattresses 5
Cleanliness of bathroom 5
Service 5
Directions to the property 5
Overall condition 4
Kitchen/utensils quality 5
Quality of facilities/amenities 4

Liked best: close to the beach, quiet area. Very cute cottage. Joel was very responsive to our needs.

Liked least: no pool, need new chairs for backyard or need good power washing, dehumidifier needs to run a lot and be emptied. Consider moving the dehumidifier to another location in the house. It was difficult to access behind the chair.

Joel speaking: Sorry no pool coming. But the chairs are getting pressure washed this week. And the dehumidifier will be moved. Thanks for visiting Songbird E and B and for being such great guests! Glad you enjoyed Anna Maria Island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Island Paradise

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Yes, Anna Maria is truly that, a paradise of crystal clear water and blue sky painted with a touch of vanilla. Our rental was super clean and had everything you would need for a summer vacation at the beach! Big back yard with tropical plants and flowers and even a friendly box turtle to keep you company! Sitting in the back yard we watched seagulls swirl down from the sky land at our feet and snatch tiny morsels of berries before disappearing back into the sky! The beaches were amazing with beautiful turquoise water and very gentle waves. I scrambled out of bed every morning to hit the beach early for sea shelling and collected some of the loveliest shells imaginable! Explored the island via boat with the help of Kathie's Eco Tour. Kathie let us ride alongside the Dolphins and dropped anchor at a tidal pool to swim and explore the marine life hands on! G, B and I went to the beach late one night and to our amazement watched a giant sea turtle exit the water crawl gently up on the beach to deposit her precious eggs into the white sand, we will probably never see this again in our lifetime! B and Mom went Parasailing as G and I watched and laughed as they sailed up into the wild blue skies. We tried to hit every ice cream parlor at Anna Maria Island and the sea food was excellent. The best meal we ate was at MR Bones and I must say it was the best barbeque I have ever eaten in my entire life!!! B enjoyed her first time at the Tiki Hut and was given a free CD by the band that was playing that night. Mom and I had a wonderful reunion with Uncle Wally! “Thanks for the Cello" smooth as silk with a heavenly taste.. Sad to leave the Island, but all good things must come to an end, but we shall return... Thanks for the “memories" Joel and God Bless!

· By AdventureTeam2 from Lyons Ga. on 6/23/2013


Service: 5 of 5


What I liked best about this accommodation

Everything!!!

What I liked least about this accommodation

nothing

Additional details about me

My age: none

I Recommend This For

"I probably would recommend this accommodation to my best friend!"

Young singles: No Opinion

Friends getaway: Yes

Large Groups: Yes

People with disabilities: No Opinion

Older travelers: No Opinion

Rugged travelers: No Opinion

Luxury-minded travelers: No Opinion

Families with young children: Yes

Families with teenagers: No Opinion

Tourists: No Opinion

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everybody is having tons of fun.

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Hi Joel,
Sorry for not writing sooner. I don`t know how to tell you this but we are in love with this place. Everybody is having tons of fun, going to the beach every morning around 8 am and touring the Islands in the afternoon. We love the house, it's so beautiful and welcoming. There is nothing we would change. The only thing we hate is that we have to leave this Saturday. I will give you a call after we get back home. I want to thank you again for letting us stay here and letting us have the best vacation that we had so far.
Talk to you soon
M & J

Joel speaking: I ask all the guests to tell me things that are wrong so that I can change them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hated To Leave

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

1 to 5 with 5 being the highest rating.

5 Ease of booking
5 Key pickup/access to the property
5 Quality of bedding/mattresses
5 Cleanliness of bathroom
5 Service
5 Directions to the property
5 Overall condition
5 Kitchen/utensils quality
5 Quality of facilities/amenities




Liked best:

The Songbird is located on a beautiful, unspoiled island reminiscent of bygone days in Florida. It is perfect for nature lovers and anyone wanting a peaceful vacation away from traffic, fast food, and throngs on the beach. It is a short walk to the shimmering green sea, which reminds me of some beaches I’ve been to in the Caribbean. Joel-the-landlord was helpful in every way, providing information on nearby activities and the best restaurants and beaches on the island, as well as being available to answer questions by phone and email. As a real estate agent in his home state, he knows how to take care of all the details.

For a change of pace, upscale shopping is found a few miles down the road at St. Armand’s Circle. Sarasota, with its cultural and recreational options, is just a bit further.

To see dolphins, manatees, and explore sandbars with a fourth generation fisherwoman, sign up for one of Captain Kathe’s eco-tours.

The house itself is lovely, clean, completely outfitted, and more spacious than one would think from the photos. It is set in a lovely and quiet neighborhood, with well maintained landscaping. Joel provides beach towels, umbrellas, chairs, coolers, a barbecue, washer/dryer, air mattresses, and other fun water toys. I highly recommend this place; we will be going back! However, I also hope that not too many people discover the beauty and charm of Anna Maria Island, because it is perfect as it is!

Liked least:

Having to leave.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have a really nice place there.

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Thanks for ordering such a great week of weather. We know you did this especially for us. We loved your place and found everything we needed for a wonderful week. Two small items. Perhaps a few more facecloths, sheets and a replacement for the weber. Otherwise we could not have asked for anything better. I lived in Florida twice but was not aware of such a great area. Would love to spend some more time there in the future.
S and P


Joel speaking: More sheets are now in place and wash cloths coming. There are two Webers but as with all metal near the coast they could need replacement. I will be on the island the beginning of July for a deep cleaning of the place and will take a look.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The ideal place; beyond what we could have hoped.

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Joel, we're loving it here. P is ready to move to the island! I am too. This is the ideal place; beyond what we could have hoped. The island is so much better than other places we've both seen in Florida by far. P can't figure out why it isn't more developed. A couple we met at the beach said it's a "well-kept secret."

We got the pump out and promptly replaced the key in the lockbox. Also put the recycle and trash out.

Yesterday the water was the temperature of bath water; it was paradise on the beach. Perfect green clear waters as far as the eye could see. P took pictures of a spectacular sunset last night.

You're right, why go to any other beach? They're predicting rain this week at some point, so we'll go to Armand's circle for some window shopping.

Thanks so much for everything. Just wanted to give you an update!

B


Joel speaking: The guest sent me the above email and it spoke to my feelings about the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful amenities, no chocolates on the pillow.

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Tropical Song- The perfect place on AMI for doing nothing or something. Wonderful amenities, but no chocolate candy on the pillows! What's up with that? Tropical Song is very homey and comfortable, we stayed 3 weeks this time. We usually stay on Songbird side so it took a while to get used to this side, but after we did it worked out perfectly. Beach and bikes were great, grill and chaise lounges come in handy. The new mattresses are fantastic and comfortable. I was happy to see the wrenches and oil available to adjust the bike seats. We bought some 3 in 1 oil anyway. I bought a new frying pan and spatula. We left a 1/2 bag of charcoal. Washer and dryer are great, so you really don't have to bring as many clothes. I usually forget that part. All you need is a couple pairs of shorts and t-shirts. It seems like nobody dresses up there. Don't forget the flip-flops! AMI is very relaxing, peaceful and quiet. What more can I say. Enjoy yourselves!

Joel speaking: Thanks for coming back so many times and appreciate your kindness!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hidden Gem of the Island

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We recently stayed in this rental unit on Anna Maria Island, everything was very clean and very convenient. It was nice because you had everything available just like if you were home. The unit was comfortable and quite nice. If you need extra beach chairs I would buy them off of the island before you get there. I would definitely stay here again because it was so comfortable and a great value. It is the hidden gem of the island.

Joel speaking: More beach chairs have been supplied. They come and go. Thank you C.H.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We found the place clean + cleaning crew friendly.

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Hey Joel
Thanks for the bikes. One wagon is getting a little old & rusty!
I know you mentioned about "helping yourself" to suntan lotion under the bathroom sink. However, I left mine sealed in a styrofoam cooler - clearly marked with my name - on the top shelf in the laundry room. I was somewhat disappointed to find neither cooler of lotion there when I arrived. Not a big deal, but...
Thanks again, Joel.

Best, Lin

Joel speaking: Thank you for coming back for the 3rd time or is 4th time. Lost track. Yes, that wagon is leaving this summer. The styrofoam cooler left in the January laundry room cleaning is my guess. Sorry about that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place to stay in Anna Maria

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

September 22, 2011

This was our first visit to Anna Maria and my wife and I could not have been more pleased with our stay at Tropical Song. As other reviewers have mentioned, it has so many amenities and is fully equipped that it feels more like a home than a rental, which made staying here so more comfortable and enjoyable. There are books, CDs, games, and beach stuff for you to use, ceiling fans throughout the home, a fully stocked kitchen, and an outdoor grill and lounge chairs. Free wifi and free long distance calls were a big plus. We also particularly liked the free bikes that are there to use - the streets in Anna Maria are quiet and level so it was easy and so much fun for us to bike all around the island. I have to also mention that Joel, the owner, is an absolute pleasure to deal with and truly wants to make sure you're enjoying your stay - two examples of this - our flight was almost cancelled due to bad weather in new york and Joel specially called us the day afterward to make sure we got down okay and were alright; on another day while we were in Anna Maria it rained for a few hours and Joel gave us a great list of indoor things to do just in case it didn't clear up (fortunately it did!). Tropical Song is a great value - and exceeded our expectations in all respects. I'm convinced you won't find as nice a place to stay for this price on Anna Maria. The next time we're back to Anna Maria we'll definitely be staying at Tropical Song. Thanks Joel!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

August 21, 2010

First I would like to thank Joel for the personal service! Tropical Song was clean, cozy, and convenient. I slept like I was at home in that comfortable bed. The provided bikes were the most fun we had. We rode bikes all over the island and saw things that we had not seen while driving and this was our 2nd year there. I have some of the most amazing photographs ever! The sunsets were awesome every night as expected. We ate at a different restaurant every night and all of them were great! Vacation=no cooking! I had a manatee swim right in front of me and it scared me breathless! My first thought was 'shark' but the size made me think 'whale'. Memories! The wagon and umbrella were worth their weight in gold. I enjoyed the few blocks walk to the beach. Actually found a couple of routes. I am probably the only person who could say I lost 5 lbs on vacation especially after eating all that great seafood every night! Again, thank you, Joel, for sharing your home with us. We are looking forward to staying there again next year!

Joel speaking: Beth did come back the next year and then moved to FL near the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent AMI Accomadations

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

August 14, 2010

This property is extremely clean and in great shape. The furniture and atmosphere is very comfortable, and more like home than a rental. The house is very nicely eqipped with almost anything you need. There is an outdoor grill that is in good condition and works well. The kitchen has a wide variety of utensils, there is also a CD player and some classical music, and a varied selection of reading material. Of the greatest importance when considereing a vacation rental, Joel is easy to talk to, readily accessible, and takes a real interest in making sure you are happy with the property and having a great vacation. This ia a great property, close to the beach on a quiet street. A++++++

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Song Bird/Tropical Song

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

May 22, 2011

We stayed at "Song Bird" which is the other apartment to this 2 apartment house. It was absolutely lovely there. A very comfortable, spacious & clean place to stay. It is within walking distance to one of the most beautiful beaches on Anna Maria Island, where we enjoyed swimming in the warm, crystal clear Gulf Waters as well as walks on the white powdery sand. The house is located just off the main road so there is privacy as well as peace & quiet, along with the convenience of still being close to the many shops & points of interest of the island. Joel (the owner) was more then willing to help us with any questions or concerns we had. It was very convenient to be able to use the phone (free long distance) for checking in on things at home and we also enjoyed the wide selection of channels to choose from on the TV. The house also as a huge back yard to enjoy. With several tables & a variety of comfortable chairs for relaxing in the sun or reading a book in the shade of the big tree... it really was paradise & we are looking forward to staying there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunshine on an Island

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

January 30, 2012

We just spent 4 weeks in this cottage on a wonderful island. The weather could not have been better and we were cozy in this two bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom. Washer and dryer were provided which saved a Iot of quarters. Beach chairs, towels, and umbrella made it easy to enjoy the perfect beach about 3 short blocks away. It was clean, convenient to P.O., restaurants, bank, and stores. The wireless service provided made it easy to use our IPad. Books, puzzles, CDs, DVDs, and games were available, The cable TV with good service from Brighthouse had many channels. The kitchen was well equipped. The owner is very committed to making your stay a good one and is easy to contact with any concern.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

June 5, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at Songbird/Tropical Song with our two children for a spring break get-away. The accommodations far exceeded our expectations, the property is well-maintained and very clean. Having looked at other rentals and actually staying on AMI another time, we are so looking forward to coming back and staying here. The rental price is a remarkable deal - we spent far more (almost double) recently on another rental and we were very disappointed. The only reason we didn't stay at Songbird/Tropical Song again was that it was completely booked during the time we could travel! Joel was very easy to work with and staying at Songbird/Tropical Song was a vacation that my family will never forget. Thank you so much for sharing your piece of paradise with us!! Can't wait to come back!

Joel speaking: I happened to be talking to Cathy and she told me about her lousy experience at another place and I asked her for a review of my place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anna Maria Island........Nice and relaxing!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

August 17, 2012

I spent almost 3 weeks with my children enjoying the beaches of Anna Maria Island. We were just 2 blocks from the beach and enjoyed the easy access. The accomadations were perfect! 2 bedrooms,nice den,full kitchen,wi-fi,bbq grill,bicycles and a washer/dryer. I didn't want to leave. We will be back next year.....maybe for a full month! Is it July yet???

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and Serene

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

December 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The house is comfortable and has everything you need. There are lots of little extras that are great--beach chairs, noodles, cooler, beach toys, etc. It was pretty hot when we were there, so we really appreciated the air conditioning! We also really liked the location. We visited most of the beaches on the island, but my favorite was probably the one just a short walk away. The whole island is calm and serene. I am looking forward to bringing my kids on the next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Island Paradise

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

December 15, 2012

We stayed at Tropical Song for a month in September and we loved it. It is just home from home, everything is there for your use.The wifi is free which is great and we just loved the bikes.We saw more of the island on the bikes. The beach is just a short walk and what a beach! We are going back next year,well done Joel.

Joel speaking: Helen and Dave are coming this fall 2013.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review of stay a Songbird cottage

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Songbird property for three years now and have already
sent in a deposit for next year. We were most excited about the location
to the beach, stores restaurants and the short drive to Bradenton. The unit
has always been clean, furnished with fresh linens and towels, more than enough
dishes, pots pans and silverware. The owner has always been up front with
any problems that have existed which were a small number and has relayed to us
in detail what measures he has taken to correct things. This past year the
WIFI was failing and as soon as we called Joel, Brighthouse the internet carrier
responded the next day and installed a new modem and router. The cost of the
unit has been reasonable and it lacks no amenities. I would not hesitate to
recommend a stay her to anyone. I also like the idea that no smoking or pets
are allowed. Did I mention the fresh tomatoes in front we ate in February?
I might add free transportation is available on the island via bus and
cottage also has ten bikes available to tenants.

Duke & Jan Reynolds

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Duke and Jan for your kind words.

I live in Minnesota and even though I have never met almost all the guests there is a friendship that develops with some. Maybe because I always enjoy hearing the lilt in their voice when I reach them with my welcoming call and live a little vicariously through their happiness at being on the island.

Duke and Jan have been great guests and I could not ask for better! And glad they are coming back for a 4th year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Songbird

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Hi Joel

Just to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at Songbird. It is very well equipped and very clean and we appreciated the full cable TV package. It was good to have a proper kettle to boil water as so few places seem to provide this and we have to boil water in a saucepan.

We appreciated not having to rush off on our last day as our flight didn't leave until 18.40. We left the unit tidy and clean and stripped the bed to help your cleaning lady. Hope everything was OK for her.

We were very sad to leave the island and have now settled back into routine here but it is so cold and wet!

Hopefully will be in touch again to visit Songbird

Ann & Terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect week at Songbird

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our stay at Songbird was delightful. The owner had thought of everything we might need beforehand and it made our stay all the better. There were plenty of towels and sheets. It was also splendid having laundry on site. We went home with our suitcases full of clean clothes!

The two bedrooms supplied ample space for my wife, myself, and our three daughters. The digital TV was also nice for those downtimes between beach visits. The bikes provided a great way to get around the island without a car. Also, the lime and mango tree in the back yard were bearing fruit during our stay and provided a nice, fresh treat.

The house is a short walk from a nice, quiet beach. This made all the difference. We will certainly be returning soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We try hard to keep the place in good shape.

The grandparents rented the other side of this duplex at the same time. So it was 8 beds and 7 people. I limit it to 4 people per side.

The mango tree is ripe in mid July most years and they are good mangos.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This wonderful cottage has all the comforts of home and a few extra! Joel is absolutely wonderful to work with! We stayed through tropical storm Debby, and still had a terrific time. The cottage was well stocked with books and movies to carry us through the rainy days. The bikes were so much fun, we enjoyed exploring the island with them. There was always something to do, we loved the free trolley, I think we only actually drove once all week. Captain Kathe's Pup Pup tour was amazing, she was very fun and laid back. We have two children ages 10 and 17 and there was something for everyone. They are still talking about the trip and we can not wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: They were great guests and I hope they come back. The weather was something the 1st part of their stay but they had the best attitude ever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This is not a luxury condominium. What it is is a great place to spend your vacation. It is clean and has everything you need, including bicycles. It is a very quiet and convenient central location on the island. It is a short, easy walk to the beach. Joel is very good about checking with you to make sure everything is ok. We were completly satisfied with our selection of Songbird A and would love to go back again. We would recommend it to anyone. Anna Maria Island is a wonderful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I have started posting every review that I get regardless of what it says.

This couple with a son had their doubts when talking to me about booking and I suggested they call the guest staying in the unit. They did and decided to visit.

After a week they told me on the phone they were starting to call it home.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice of Paradise Found at Songbird

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

Arrived at Songbird A on a Monday morning. Although the entire street was being dug up for new water/sewer lines, we found the place clean, pleasant and inviting. Once inside we could not hear or smell the work being done. The decor is light and airy, which echos the Anna Maria Island atmosphere. Almost everything we needed was available. Beach chairs, umbrella, coolers, and a handy garden wagon to haul it all to the beach. Easy access to everything on the island, either by car or by free trolley (air conditioned). We never got lost!! The owner greeted us with a phone call to make sure we found everything to our liking. Songbird is a great place. We were calling it "home" by the 3rd day there. The island is spectacular. This visit was our honeymoon and only one week long (short); the next will be longer and soon. I would rather keep it a secret, but we just have to tell. If you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful, warm, breezy, and natural place to vacation....... this is it !!! Inside Songbird AND out on the island. Paridise Found !!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The street work was a surprise but it will improve the rain water drainage and is over the end of September.

We try hard to exceed your expectations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A stay as lovely as a song bird

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Recently my wonderful lady and I had a chance to stay at one of the properties called SongbirdA. Awaiting us was an amazing experience. Arrival and check in was easy without confusion or hassle. The unit was clean and fully stocked we were left wanting nothing. The unit had recently been fitted with air-conditioning which made the stay that much more enjoyable. Had it not been there are ceiling fans in all the major rooms as well. The two bedrooms are spacious with plenty of closet space. The kitchen was well equipped with all the appliances and utensils necessary. All linens and household items were provided and easily accessible. Not to mention the use of the bikes were a great way to see the island and enjoy the day. For those couch potatoes or evening snugglers the tv and entertainment center was great with enough sitting room for a large group of people. Songbird is a great place to stay and the owners are helpful and available to answer any questions or deal with any problems though we had none. This is definitely a place we plan on coming back to.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We work to keep the place clean and comfortable at a reasonable rate.

There are now 6 bikes and they give you an opportunity to explore the island.

Our goal is to have guests want to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Sorry to be tardy in writing,songbird was very clean,neat and comfortable,all we had to buy was the food everything was there from the dishes to the pots and even dish washing detergent did I mention there is a washer and dryer and a ice maker which we loved. The neighborhood was very quiet there were times I thought we were the only ones there,Mr Joel provided us with all the information needed everything was accurate and he even send a list of places and things to do which were very helpful.The beach was a crystal clear jade color and the sand was white we saw dolphins right off the shore while we were swimming almost every time we went to the beach now how awesome is that,the sunset is breathtaking did I mention that the water was always warm. We were here for a month so we went everywhere my favorites were Siesta key beach on sundays there is a sunset drum show it starts at 6PM its very nice, Caspersen beach if you like looking for shark teeth,jungle gardens,smugglers cove,ringling museum in sarasota on thursday after 5PM its half price to get in,rod n reel great food and beautiful sunset,coquinta beach has beautiful seashells we even found a seadollar,my sons favorite was the mote aquarium and tour,there's to many to mention but we had tons of fun everyone was so friendly and helpful,my favorite places to eat was eat here the food and service was unbelievable and danny's pizzeria had the best pizza I had in a long time it brought me back to my homeland NYC.Well all I could say is that I will return and recommend this home away from home to my friends and family it truly is a Paradise thank you Mr Joel.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: My goal has been to provide a clean and comfortable place at an affordable price. And to be responsive to issues that can arise.

This guest stayed for 4 weeks and left it as clean as they found it. As my cleaning person said "I hope they come again". Me too.

Thank you.

Mr. Joel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As comfortable as home, only closer to the beach.

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Your labor has not gone unappreciated, the cottage is lovely. We are enjoying our stay already. The island is divine. Thanks to you and your wife for your thoughtfulness.
always, christy h

Thank you Joel, I had the most amazing time, as comfortable as home, only closer to the beach.... We were glad to leave the cottage as we found it, we enjoyed staying there so much. Hope to do it again . Christy H. 10/17/10

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and cozy

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Feel the stress melt away as you leave the city behind. Feel the calmness and serenity as you approach Anna Maria Island. Just feel. Smell the sea, which is a 5 minute walk from Songbird. Get sandy, wet and salty when you're at the beautiful beach. Watch the birds, hunt for shells, lay in the sun and listen to the waves. Or, go do something rowdy. What more could you ask for. Ahhhhhh.........

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Songbird stay was relaxing and comfortable

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This location is a very quite residential area with a short 4 block walk to the beach. The beach here is real nice with fine white sand. We only saw one jellyfish the whole time and the water was a beautiful shade of green and clear and very calm the whole week. All the information provided was accurate and it was very clean and well maintained. The owner called us on the day of our arrival to make sure everything was fine and it was. I have already recommened this property to someone looking for a beach vacation. We tried many restarants and liked the Waterfront for a special dinner, Rod and Pier's had a great crab cake sandwich and it was very casual. Beachfront has a don't miss key lime pie. Mr Bones has great barbeque (we're Texans and we loved it)and Mr. Bones also had good indian biryani (who would guess). Regarding the beach, we also liked to drive just down the road about 5 minutes to Bean Beach. It was the least crowded beach on the island and it is a nesting site for birds. We also went to check out Siesta Key Beach after all I had heard about the quality of the sand and it is as soft as they say, but I was glad we stayed on Anna Maria Island because it was not as crowded as the Siesta Key area. I went to the Shelby botanical gardens in Sarasota and it was spectacular, went to see the Ybor area in Tampa (funky shops and resturants and clubs).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

heaven on earth

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This was our second stay in Songbird and would like to return next year. The house was neat and clean and decorated for the Island. The neighborhood was quiet and the walk to the beach just close enough. The owner called to make sure everything was in working order. Had the use of a washer and dryer just out back. Fishing poles, beach toys, wagon and coolers to use. Transportation by trolly was easy and fun. Eating at the Rod and Reel pier was our favorite dining destination. Ginny and Janies coffee and pasties were fatastic!We loved walking on the beach and swimming in the ocean; which was crystal clear !! We saw dolphins right off shore on the beach every evening.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Emailed to me from guests

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

April 2008 Joel,
Sorry to be so tardy checking in with you - still recovering from a
GREAT time -- in no small part because your house was fanatastic, and
all the arrangements were seamless. Geoff

April 2008 Joel, Just wanted to say THANK YOU again! We are in love with Songbird and the island! I'm trying to talk my mother and father-in-law into going there next Jan and Feb instead of Bonita. It's just so relaxing and beautiful. Sharon Mitchell

2007 Joel, We had a great time and decided that the best places to eat dinner are the dumpy pier restaurants. Great food and fantastic ocean views. Rotten Ralph's was good, but I liked the Rod & Reel pier better. Mr. Bones BBQ was really good. Only problem with Anna Maria island food is that there is no Indian restaurant there. Not a hot thing in sight except hot sauce and that isn't even hot. We boated 2 days in a row with Capt. Kathe and had a great time watching manatees and dophins. I hope we can go again. Carolyn

February 2007 Hi Joel, We're back from Anna Maria island. After a fantastic trip to the west coast of Florida with family reunions and all, we wanted to let you know how great your accommodations were. Great location, all the conveniences of home, space, clean, laundry, close to shopping, 4 blocks from the beach, we couldn't have asked for better or for more. Thank you very much, we had a great time and it comes highly recommended. Best regards, Charlotte & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email to me from guests

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

December 08 Hope all is well. I had a great time... David

October 08 Staying at Songbird provided us the opportunity to view a little bit of heaven on earth. The ocean serves as a reminder of God’s power while each seashell was like a unique tiny gift to show how much He loves us. I brought a handful of those gifts home! Songbird was clean and comfortable – a home away from home. We can’t wait to return. Jill and Benn

May 08 I normally am ready to leave after 4 days but I got anxious this time because I was going to be leaving. Loved it and will visit again. Missy and Tom

June 08 Joel - Just wanted to let you know how much we really LOVE it at Songbird (of course, you know that...our second time there)! Anna Maria Island is wonderful (my kind of place...casual, a little artsy). We love the restaurants, shops, stuff to do near by. It is so gorgeous there! We saw dolphins while at a different restaurant this time...I find that amazing. Your place there is just right...easy walking to the beach or stores, the kitchen has everything we need, cable TV keeps our child busy when he's not using the boogy board or scuba diving (alas, he won't just sit in the sun and enjoy it, like mom). I also love having a washer and dryer right there. There is such a sense of freedom to me, being in a house instead of a hotel. A recurring theme amongst the shopkeepers I talk to on the island, is that they came here every year to visit, for 18, 32, however many years, then finally moved there. I KNOW we'll keep coming back, and I will happily recommend Songbird to anyone looking for a vacation spot!Thanks, Suzi & Mark

April 08
Love the house - the wagon, beach chairs, high-quality beach towels, location, quiet, good value. Keys were right where they were supposed to be.
Thoughts for next year - new shower curtain [Owner speaking here -shower curtain is white and needed a real good washing at the bottom and it got it], maybe some tupperware type plastic bowls with lids [Owner again - more plastic bowls with lids now on premises] , porch awning of some sort over the grill and picnic table, dishwasher !! Hoping to return next year. Thanks for all, Joel. Take care, Lin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Emailed to me from guests

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

November 1, 2009 Hi Joel, Thank you for sharing your wonderful place with us in Anna Maria :) The slow pace - laid back way of life there was just what I needed! In exploring the island & talking with shop owners, I can see what has drawn them there - a piece of paradise!!

I met Julie this morning, the one who watches over your place. She asked me if we got the bottle of wine. Did you arrange that to be in the frig for us? We saw it there & drank it. No note, so we thought the previous guests left it.
As we go into our tundra here - I will think of the sand between my toes, warm water, sunshine & beautiful sunsets & dream of being there!! Thanks again Joel. Wanda :)
October 23, 2009 Dear Joel, it was a wonderful time here, thank you for the helpful and friendly way of booking your house. We have lost one towel on the way to the beach, we have bought a new one. We think about coming again next year or the year after! Thanks for all, Karsten and Annett.
March 2, 2009 Hi Joel,
Just a note to thank you for your hospitality and concern for our happiness here on Anna Maria. Life is comfortable here because you have seen to the details that make it so. One suggestion would be to replace the wooden racks on the backs of the BR doors with a material far more substantial. Thanks again, Carl and Mary
January 31, 2009 I just love being in a neigborhood with sidewalks! Peggy C
January 30, 2009 Hi Joel,
We are almost all packed and ready to leave early tomorrow morning.
We had considerable rain over the past 24 hours and therefore the front garden plants and the fruit trees have been well watered. I will put the basil plants in the planter to the care of the Calhoun's. Tony & I wanted to thank you for making our stay in your rental very comfortable and enjoyable. We will write tonight a few remarks in the house book and they will be for your reading when you visit again. we have had a most restful and enjoyable 6 weeks.
We did try to leave it in the same condition as we found it and truly think that is the right way to treat folks like you who care very much about renters.
Although we have not made decisions about next year we will be seriously considering a return trip. Owner speaking - they did come for 8 weeks in Dec 09
In the meantime, lets stay in touch. Once I have downloaded some of our pictures, I will send some along. Regards to Marga, Genny & Tony

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review