reviews for: listing #28940 - Mount Rainier, Washington House rental

Beautiful Northwest Lodging
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $220 /nt
    $1,245 - $1,245 /wk

sort by:

great view, great home... made even better by gracious property owners

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

This place has an amazing view of Mt. Rainier. But since the mountain is not always out, you need more than a nice view when making a rental decision. The owners were great to communicate with and even had some toys and teddy-bears waiting for out three young children. The place will easily sleep 8. You should rent this place! If you are on the fence, here is why you should rent this place over other choices in the area:
1) not far from the plowed access road, only a couple hundred yards (if snow is a concern, other rentals don't have plowed access) but still quite with no traffic noise
2) not far from Packwood, a two minute trip to get pizza, ice cream or that beer-run
3) this place is clean! random fact: I had to get my flashlight out to look for a lost toy for the two-year-old. I looked under everything to find the toy. While I was looking for the toy, I didn't find any dust-bunnies, no food in the cushions, no dirt anywhere!...even in the hard to reach places! Oh, and I found the toy!
4) the beds are comfy and the furniture is too
5) the garage entry is perfect for storing skis, boots or even mountain bikes!
6) Elk everywhere!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you G & A. We do have a great view from our great home, but great people make it easy to be a gracious host. If you remembered your camera, send us a couple of photo you took during your visit. I would love to post them on our Beautiful Northwest Lodging Facebook page (names withheld for privacy).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

We stayed at the house/cabin for three nights over Christmas Break and had a wonderful stay. The pictures do not do it justice.

The home has a view of Mount Rainier on clear days (we had a couple of those!) - and has elk roaming around the property in the mornings and evenings!

We stayed here with one other couple - with the three bedrooms, it would easily fit three couples with no problems - the house is quite spacious.

We will rent again from the owners - they rent out more than just this place - they were wonderful to deal with and the quality of their property is amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Don,

Thank you for your kind words and taking time to leave a comment. I'm a bit of a "Shutter Bug" and tried to represent the property as it really is. I'm glad you felt you got more value than anticipated!

We hope you will come again, you were delightful renters and easy to work with. Next time add that couple to the third bedroom, or even in tandem with one or more of our other houses on adjacent properties. We do enjoy hosting small retreats and family reunions.

Next time, if possible, choose a warmer time of year so Mt. Rainier can tantalize your other four senses (e.g. the wildflower bloom at Paradise is intoxicating). There is so much more to Packwood: Gifford Pinchot National Forest, William O. Douglas, Tatoosh and Goat Rock Wilderness areas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

Our family stay here was wonderful. The rental process was easy and efficient. We have rented many properties through VRBO, but have never had a welcome book as complete as Marilly's. It was a great reference for the home, as well as the local area. The house is even better than it appears in the pictures. Everything was extremely clean and in good working order. The elk were with us both days that we stayed here. The second morning they walked up the driveway and lingered in front of the lodge as they headed up the hill. We walked the path behind the lodge and found a cow bedded down right behind the house. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us! We would love the opportunity to visit this area again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear L, I welcome the opportunity to serve you and your family again! My husband and I really do try and anticipate the needs and desires of our guests. Your comment, validates that effort, thank you. October is the month of bugling elk. Here's hoping you heard as well as saw them on the property. The colors are changing, now that the government is back to work, Mt. Rainier National Park is open again. This one thing demonstrates how we can't control every aspect of someones visit. Thanks again, Marilly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This weekend was one of the bests I think we have ever gotten away! the lodge was beautiful and so peaceful! I could not of asked for better! the owner was so sweet and worked with us to let us fit in one more night to stay! There were board games and puzzles we played all weekend! Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful lodge! We would love to come back!! the baby crib helped out so we did not have to pack all things baby!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear J & B,

It was our pleasure to host you this weekend, and I can't thank you enough for the condition in which you left the house. Besides the board games and puzzles, I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the indoor sauna and outdoor hot tub.

You said you could not have asked for better, but I wish the weather had been nicer, so you could enjoy the view of Mt. Rainier, it is spectacular! Elk sightings first thing in the morning and at dusk are pretty exciting too.

We hope you will come see us again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great place to stay while visiting Mt Rainier

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Not far from the main road leading to Mt Rainier, a great and beautiful house. You have to be stunned by the view from the leaving room. in fact, it -really - seems the volcano is in the house through these huge cathedral-like windows. You will find here whatever you need to fulfill your desires. The kitchen is well furnished. The beds are perfect to rest after a day spent hiking in Mont Rainier national park and the teddy bears in the rooms are so cute !
But if the weather is bad, you can still enjoy your stay in the bonus room with a Wii (too bad there is only one game controller, it would be much more fun with two). There is also a table soccer game which unfortunately was broken at the time, hoping it will be fixed in the future.
The hot tub is also restful and you can enjoy the view on the forest while relaxing and it is remote from the main road.
You cannot be closer to nature. We even saw a group of elks just 20 meters away from the front porch.
So, it is just an excellent place to stay while enjoying the wonders of mont Rainier.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Loved hosting our new friends from France. We were surprised they didn't mention the indoor sauna in the master bathroom. If you arrive with aches and pains, this is a good way to leave them behind!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

HI there,
Just wanted to say a BIG THANKS for a wonderful weekend with our entire family!! The place was in tip-top condition and more than we were expecting. The place was perfect for us with sleeping, eating (love the BIG table), relaxing...the view and weather couldn't have been better!!
We went on day hikes in the area, found our church services in Morton for Sunday (we are Mormon) and appreciated your generous hospitality to open such a lovely home for us to enjoy together.
We loved the campfires at night and visiting around them. It was nice to have all 6 of our children gathered around the campfire and enjoy conversations and look into all their faces...truly a beautiful sight!!
Anyway, I don't know if you get to hear from your renters, but we absolutely LOVED our time there and say THANKS for having us!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 27, 2009   Date of arrival: January 27, 2009

We had a great time last weekend and would recommend the cabin to anyone going to White Pass. Truly this was my best vacation rental experience. The amenities of your cabin were great!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

We stayed at the Rainier View Lodge over the New Year's week, 2008. It is such a beautiful home and in an amazing setting. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review