reviews for: listing #28940 - Mount Rainier, Washington House rental

Beautiful Northwest Lodging
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $220 /nt
    $1,245 - $1,245 /wk

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 23, 2014

Very nice house with a fantastic view. Would be great for any season. Kid friendly too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous House

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

This house is so comfortable, so clean, so well cared for, and the view of Rainier cannot be beat. The kitchen is just outstanding with its HUGE wooden table (room for everyone) and has everything you could possibly want. Gorgeous cabinetry throughout, AC if you wish it, a cute gas fireplace, superior W/D, leather furniture, and from the back deck you can hear a brook rushing through the woods past the property line. The spa is super clean and the firepit is enormous, perfect for a large family. From here we toured both Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens in one day, though we did get up early. This house would offer convenient accommodations for White Pass ski area as well, if the road conditions permit. Just off the main road, but perfectly private and quiet. There's a pizza place and a market just down the road. We enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear L, Thank you for becoming a part of our Rainier View Lodge family. I loved our interactions on the phone, and I'm glad the Lodge and its privacy (yet nearness to town) were just the ticket for your family. Hall Creek (the brook rushing through the woods) does run year round, though at times, slowly. Since your stay was the end of July, it is nice to have documentation that you can hear it from the back deck. Because I got a specific question about Hall Creek, I photographed it the week before you were there. I will have to make a greater effort to post those pictures on our Beautiful Northwest Lodging Facebook page for others to see. You said, "This house would offer convenient accommodations for White Pass ski area as well, if the road conditions permit." State Hwy 12 (White Pass Scenic Byway), is a major artery connecting the I-5 corridor to the eastern side of White Pass Ski Area (Naches, Yakima, etc.), and the state keeps it very well plowed. Because all our houses are just .1 of a mile from Hwy 12, and our road is plowed on the same rotation as downtown, it makes winter access a snap. Though carrying chains is required for White Pass during the winter, most of the time they aren't needed, AND White Pass Ski area is only 17 mi. from Packwood.
From Wikipedia "The base elevation of White Pass is at 4,500 feet (1,370 m) above sea level, with a lift-served summit at 6,500 feet (1,980 m), yielding a vertical drop of 2,000 feet (610 m). Located on the south side of the east-west highway, the slopes primarily face north."
"The mountain has six chairlifts: two high speed quads, a fixed-grip quad, a triple, and two doubles. It also includes two surface lifts: a platter lift and a magic carpet for beginning skiers. There is a terrain park that regularly features rail jams, slopestyle, and the like."
"The Nordic Center provides access to a variety of groomed, double-tracked cross-country ski trails in the Wenatchee and Gifford Pinchot National Forests. The terrain challenges all ability levels in classic cross-county, skating cross-country, and snowshoeing on 18 km (11 mi) of trails."
From Visit Rainier, "The new lodge in the basin (built during the expansion project of 2010-2011) is appropriately named High Camp and is accessible by trails from both new chairlifts. Its location makes it possible to spend the entire day at Paradise Basin; no longer necessary now to return to the base to warm up or get a bite-to-eat." So SKI WHITE PASS!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rainier in your face

Review submitted: July 27, 2014   Date of arrival: July 23, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Rainier View Lodge. Everything seen on the website was exact! On a clear day Mt. Rainier is right there in the living room with you. If you are on the deck you hear the waterfall, and can follow the trail to it, not far from the back door. I can't say enough about it. It is a beautiful home with all the amenities one could ask for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear L, It was wonderful hosting you and D in Rainier View Lodge. Thank you for confirming we don't over-promote our property. We hope you will visit us again from your Mt. Vernon, OH home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mt. Rainier in Your Living Room

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

We loved the Cabin was amazing very much like a home. The rooms were great all with a view. Loved the kitchen and living room area. The view was to die for, Mt Rainier directly out all the windows was fantastic. Although we did not have time to use the sauna, hot tub or fire pit they were available. Walking distance to town great location. Marilly was wonderful to work with. We highly recommend it.

Owners response: Dear T., It is easy to be a gracious host, when you start with awesome guests, and you were! Thank you for becoming part of our "family". We hope you will come again and get an opportunity to use the indoor sauna (far infra-red), outdoor hot tub and fire pit. You didn't mention if you saw elk. It seldom happens that a guest DOESN'T see elk, and I hope you weren't one of them. Fortunately Rainier View Lodge and the surrounding area have other things to offer. Hope your reunion was a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review for rental 217029

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

This property exceeded our expectations. Perfectly located to visit Mt. Ranier and Mt. St. Helens area. Beautiful and clean. Wonderful view of Mt. Ranier when the clouds weren't in place. Would highly recommend. Owner and property manager were great to work with

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear V, Wow, we don't normally get a review out of more than one guest per visit, but we got two from yours (your sister and now your self), thank you, thank you. Glad the mountain finally came out and you had a good time. If you ever get another opportunity to come this directions, we would love to host you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What A View!!!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

Our family could not have been more pleased with our accomodations for the first stop of our Washington trip! The view from the picture window immediately puts you in the frame of mind to explore natures incredible beauty that surrounds this comfortable home!!!! We enjoyed the forests, valleys, mountains, snow, waterfalls, lakes, deer, and elk! Luckily we encountered no bear! After a day of exploring, dinner in the beautiful kitchen, sunset over Mt. Ranier, relaxing in the hot tub, a warm shower, and a good nights sleep; it made us want to do it all over again, so we did!!!! What a wonderful 3 days!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear "V's sister", Thank you for your glowing comment, and peek into your days activities. There are so many things to do along the White Pass Scenic Byway. The area surrounding Rainier View Lodge is like a buffet to someone that hasn't eaten for days . . . where do you start! It looks like you managed with a perfect balance of activity and relaxation. It was our pleasure hosting you from AL.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Property

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

The Rainier View Lodge is a fantastic property. The living room has floor to ceiling windows, with a spectacular view of the mountain. The interior was very clean, and nicely furnished, including comfortable beds. We had 6 people in our group, although the house could easily accommodate the maximum advertised capacity of 8 (house has 2 queen beds, 2 singles, and a king). The backyard fire pit is a great way to wind down the day. Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear R, It is always a pleasure hosting you (originally Hall Creek Cabin in 2012, and now our premium property, Rainier View Lodge). Glad we worked out a way to return your "lost" computer cord. We never tire of Mt. Rainier and her many moods throughout the year. The fire pit is not only a great way to end a day, but I have been known to rise while yet dark, build a fire and drink the heady draught of morning as it pours through the woods behind the house, mixed generously with mountain air and wood smoke . . . occasionally served with a dollop of elk visitation. All the money in the world cannot buy that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great lodge

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Very clean. Owner is really nice. Renter should pay attention to the check out procedure very carefully.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear V,
Thank you for your kind words and 5 star rating of the Rainier View Lodge.
You are absolutely correct about the check-out procedures. To keep cost down for departing guests, and the optimal experience for those arriving, we do have expectations (clearly communicated in our rental contract and driving directions, access codes and procedures). The one-time cleaning fee is based upon those "chores" being completed. It is never our intent to keep any portion of a security deposit, but when they aren't, an hourly rate is applied and withheld.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great view, great home... made even better by gracious property owners

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

This place has an amazing view of Mt. Rainier. But since the mountain is not always out, you need more than a nice view when making a rental decision. The owners were great to communicate with and even had some toys and teddy-bears waiting for out three young children. The place will easily sleep 8. You should rent this place! If you are on the fence, here is why you should rent this place over other choices in the area:
1) not far from the plowed access road, only a couple hundred yards (if snow is a concern, other rentals don't have plowed access) but still quite with no traffic noise
2) not far from Packwood, a two minute trip to get pizza, ice cream or that beer-run
3) this place is clean! random fact: I had to get my flashlight out to look for a lost toy for the two-year-old. I looked under everything to find the toy. While I was looking for the toy, I didn't find any dust-bunnies, no food in the cushions, no dirt anywhere!...even in the hard to reach places! Oh, and I found the toy!
4) the beds are comfy and the furniture is too
5) the garage entry is perfect for storing skis, boots or even mountain bikes!
6) Elk everywhere!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you G & A. We do have a great view from our great home, but great people make it easy to be a gracious host. If you remembered your camera, send us a couple of photo you took during your visit. I would love to post them on our Beautiful Northwest Lodging Facebook page (names withheld for privacy).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

We stayed at the house/cabin for three nights over Christmas Break and had a wonderful stay. The pictures do not do it justice.

The home has a view of Mount Rainier on clear days (we had a couple of those!) - and has elk roaming around the property in the mornings and evenings!

We stayed here with one other couple - with the three bedrooms, it would easily fit three couples with no problems - the house is quite spacious.

We will rent again from the owners - they rent out more than just this place - they were wonderful to deal with and the quality of their property is amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Don,

Thank you for your kind words and taking time to leave a comment. I'm a bit of a "Shutter Bug" and tried to represent the property as it really is. I'm glad you felt you got more value than anticipated!

We hope you will come again, you were delightful renters and easy to work with. Next time add that couple to the third bedroom, or even in tandem with one or more of our other houses on adjacent properties. We do enjoy hosting small retreats and family reunions.

Next time, if possible, choose a warmer time of year so Mt. Rainier can tantalize your other four senses (e.g. the wildflower bloom at Paradise is intoxicating). There is so much more to Packwood: Gifford Pinchot National Forest, William O. Douglas, Tatoosh and Goat Rock Wilderness areas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

Our family stay here was wonderful. The rental process was easy and efficient. We have rented many properties through VRBO, but have never had a welcome book as complete as Marilly's. It was a great reference for the home, as well as the local area. The house is even better than it appears in the pictures. Everything was extremely clean and in good working order. The elk were with us both days that we stayed here. The second morning they walked up the driveway and lingered in front of the lodge as they headed up the hill. We walked the path behind the lodge and found a cow bedded down right behind the house. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us! We would love the opportunity to visit this area again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear L, I welcome the opportunity to serve you and your family again! My husband and I really do try and anticipate the needs and desires of our guests. Your comment, validates that effort, thank you. October is the month of bugling elk. Here's hoping you heard as well as saw them on the property. The colors are changing, now that the government is back to work, Mt. Rainier National Park is open again. This one thing demonstrates how we can't control every aspect of someones visit. Thanks again, Marilly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This weekend was one of the bests I think we have ever gotten away! the lodge was beautiful and so peaceful! I could not of asked for better! the owner was so sweet and worked with us to let us fit in one more night to stay! There were board games and puzzles we played all weekend! Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful lodge! We would love to come back!! the baby crib helped out so we did not have to pack all things baby!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear J & B,

It was our pleasure to host you this weekend, and I can't thank you enough for the condition in which you left the house. Besides the board games and puzzles, I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the indoor sauna and outdoor hot tub.

You said you could not have asked for better, but I wish the weather had been nicer, so you could enjoy the view of Mt. Rainier, it is spectacular! Elk sightings first thing in the morning and at dusk are pretty exciting too.

We hope you will come see us again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great place to stay while visiting Mt Rainier

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Not far from the main road leading to Mt Rainier, a great and beautiful house. You have to be stunned by the view from the leaving room. in fact, it -really - seems the volcano is in the house through these huge cathedral-like windows. You will find here whatever you need to fulfill your desires. The kitchen is well furnished. The beds are perfect to rest after a day spent hiking in Mont Rainier national park and the teddy bears in the rooms are so cute !
But if the weather is bad, you can still enjoy your stay in the bonus room with a Wii (too bad there is only one game controller, it would be much more fun with two). There is also a table soccer game which unfortunately was broken at the time, hoping it will be fixed in the future.
The hot tub is also restful and you can enjoy the view on the forest while relaxing and it is remote from the main road.
You cannot be closer to nature. We even saw a group of elks just 20 meters away from the front porch.
So, it is just an excellent place to stay while enjoying the wonders of mont Rainier.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Loved hosting our new friends from France. We were surprised they didn't mention the indoor sauna in the master bathroom. If you arrive with aches and pains, this is a good way to leave them behind!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

HI there,
Just wanted to say a BIG THANKS for a wonderful weekend with our entire family!! The place was in tip-top condition and more than we were expecting. The place was perfect for us with sleeping, eating (love the BIG table), relaxing...the view and weather couldn't have been better!!
We went on day hikes in the area, found our church services in Morton for Sunday (we are Mormon) and appreciated your generous hospitality to open such a lovely home for us to enjoy together.
We loved the campfires at night and visiting around them. It was nice to have all 6 of our children gathered around the campfire and enjoy conversations and look into all their faces...truly a beautiful sight!!
Anyway, I don't know if you get to hear from your renters, but we absolutely LOVED our time there and say THANKS for having us!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 27, 2009   Date of arrival: January 27, 2009

We had a great time last weekend and would recommend the cabin to anyone going to White Pass. Truly this was my best vacation rental experience. The amenities of your cabin were great!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

We stayed at the Rainier View Lodge over the New Year's week, 2008. It is such a beautiful home and in an amazing setting. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review