reviews for: listing #289955vb - Papagayo, Costa Rica rental

Relax, Adventure, Luxury, Concierge, Four Seasons Costa Rica Golf
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Service and Experience in Costa Rica

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

This is Gavin from the recent group at Villa Hermosa. I wanted to give you a little feedback. First, thank you for your great service and especially your responsiveness, which got things off to a good start. I think that's especially valuable for first time visitors to Costa Rica.

We did two boat days with your crew Alex and Robiron (sp?). I've been on a lot of charter boats, and operated boats myself with groups. Your guys do a very nice job, and they do a good job of delineating roles during the tour. I would do boat trips with you again in the future without hesitation. We had a diverse group in terms of experience and ambition level, and within those confines we did well. You obviously know dive and snorkel charters well, so little about this is likely to surprise you.

We also did a bike tour with Leslie Sanchez. There were four of us on the ride, and three of us are former professional riders. Granted, we're middle-aged and far from our former abilities, but we all still ride actively. So, we're tough customers. Leslie pulled off a really great experience for us, and it was a lot of fun to do it with him. He integrated into the group well, is physically fit himself and pieced together an interesting and challenging route. I was favorably surprised and impressed. You won't find a lot of groups that need a ride as challenging as what we did, but scaling back is easier than the other way around. If I had to choose among all the things we did during our visit to your area, and our subsequent days in the Arenal area, it would be the trip with Leslie.

Thanks again for your contribution to what was a very positive experience in Costa Rica. Laura and I have already had a chance to recommend you to friends of ours that are planning trips to your area. And hopefully we will be back down there at some point in the future ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing place

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We stayed in La Terrazas for 5 days in the beginning of november.
This place is really super. The house is very nice, super clean and the view is amazing.
Also the staff is very friendly and helpfull. We booked 2 times a snorkeling trip and I can tell you that those were very good. Also a mountain bike trip was planned and the boys had a super good ride with their guide.
If you are planning to go to Costa Rica don't hesitate and just book this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Visit to Papagayo

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

We had a breathtaking vacation at Vista Hermosa. The condominium was spacious, beautifully appointed, well-stocked with supplies and comfortable. It offered a beautiful view over the infinity pool and into the golf course and jungle beyond. My husband and I spent a lot of time on the wide balcony, listening to the howler monkeys across the way, and watching the birds flit from tree to tree. We especially enjoyed the freedom it gave us to either prepare our own meals or take advantage of the local restaurants (all of which were delicious). The concierge, Bari, pre-stocked our kitchen and met us when we arrived. She was an invaluable and always accomodating resource during our stay, giving us practical guidance so that we could "hit the ground running" and not waste vacation time finding our bearings. We were also met by Leslie withing hours of arriving, who arranged for our family to go boating down a river in the jungle, zip-lining, ATV-ing and horseback riding. Each adventure showed us a different aspect of the beautiful Guanacaste region and a glimpse of exotic wildlife. Daily we used the Four Seasons golf and tennis facilities. The nearby Prieta Beach Club was a gem, offering an uncrowded slice of beach, a variety of pools and terrific food. We have already recommended this condominium to our friends, and would not hesitate to suggest it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at our vacation rental. I'm sure that potential guests appreciate the details of how you used the villa and amenities (beach club and golf/tennis) as well as the specific tours you enjoyed. We welcome you and your friends for your next Costa Rica adventure!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Impeccable Service

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

"... the service here has been impeccable. Everyone from Bari to Sondra to Migeul to Leslie has been wonderful: attentive, nice, and fun. We will recommend this place to everyone and will definitely be back ourselves!" [emailed Jul 18,2013]

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We are in Heaven!"

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Oh my goodness we are in Heaven! I was just getting ready to thank Felipe for a spectacular dinner and evening! He is a real treasure and we all enjoyed our mini watch and learn session!
Robin,Leslie, Felipe and Sandra have all been amazing! We feel like pampered movie stars!

Leslie was phenomenal ....so knowledgeable and easy to be with. He spotted a scarlet macaw at the end of our boat tour! Isn't that amazing? I could just blither on and on! We loved robin as well! It was a picture perfect day on the water! We will definitely be returning if you will have us!

The perfect vacation.....we rode down to the four seasons and decided we were sooooo happy to be here! The golf cart has been so fun! Robert has played the course twice and loved it! I am going to ride nine holes with him tomorrow because he has been blown away by the animals and birds. So I am tagging along with my binoculars. And we have had our own private pool.....unbelievable! We have had the most memorable family time. The only thing lacking so far is our family picture!

And.....we Loved your fabulous bread! Is that a secret recipe or one you would share?

Many thanks for all you have done to make our stay so very memorable. Next time. Two weeks if Jane will let us!

With gratitude
C****** [note: emailed from guest on June 20, 2013]

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional Property with Accurately Reflected Information

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

The condo was everything that it claimed and even better. From my first encounter with the owner, she’s like my new favorite proprietor and unbelievably accommodating. Then the next connection with the concierge, her banana-chocolate chip bread is amazing and she did all the shopping for me and stocked the kitchen from my list. She arranged a masseuse who came to the unit and was equally amazing. The travel guide, very knowledgeable and knew all the right places to show us (seriously…I’m not making this stuff up)… it just flowed. Even the woman who came and cleaned every day was so nice and helpful. The setting and decor were amazing with different pieces from around the world that reflected pride and love in ownership of this unit. Everything that you could possibly need and then some was available. They left you with a well-equipped “Home away from Home" feel. The view from every room...it's like a picture perfect postcard!! The Four Seasons and The Beach Club were also excellent facilities and really good food and ambiance and the Cadillac golf cart rocked! Waterfalls, horseback riding, volcanos, hiking, diving (and so much more to do here) and lots of warm fuzzy creatures running around! The country (and the people) and all it has to offer is so amazing I will be back. This location and place is perfect for all. Enjoy!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Everything was even more amazing than I could have imagined. Costa Rica is truly a beautiful country and your home is stunning. We loved the smaller beach closer to your condo, the water was so clear and calm and one quiet afternoon we spotted monkeys everywhere. So fun! We also had an amazing snorkeling experience one morning when we chartered a boat on a 1/2 day excursion. Of course, the beach club was great too. The wonderful pools and beach and the food was exceptional.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing experience!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We had one of our best trips ever! The condo was absolutely beautiful and very high end. It was even nicer than we expected. It is located in close proximity to the tennis/golf club, beach club and Four Seasons restaurants/spa. It was fun using the golf cart provided by the owner to explore the area and see animals, especially the monkeys. The infinity pool at the condo was refreshing after being out all day and has an absolutely gorgeous view. Both the owner and concierge were very attentive to our needs and helped us arrange groceries, a chef and tours if we needed them. We would definitely recommend staying here. We received excellent service everywhere we went and fell in love with Costa Rica. The people here are wonderful and very sincere. We can't wait to book again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Luxury Condo with beautiful views and wonderful amenties

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

This condo was the perfect location for our family of four during the Easter holidays. When we arrived there was a welcome basket filled with goodies including yummy fresh baked banana bread from Bari the property manager. Bari also did our grocery shopping for us so the fridge was stocked.

The home is well laid out and is decorated with magnificent furniture and art. We relaxed each evening in the comfortable living room. We loved the view and enjoyed listening to all the sounds of the wildlife. We could also see lots of animals from our balcony.

There is a golf cart to use around the area. We went to the beach club each day to workout, swim and play in the surf. We also had an excellent dinner at the Golf Club.

Bari set us up with Leslie to be our tour guide and he was fantastic. A few of the adventures Leslie took us on were hiking to waterfalls, zipling, Tarzan swing, mud baths, mountain biking, and going down the fastest mountain water slide. After a busy day experiencing Costa Rica it was nice to come into a stunning home with nice linens and comfortable beds! We slept well! This home feels like a Four Season's Hotel!

There is so much to do here while staying in this home. Another adventure that we loved was a snorkel trip and gourmet lunch on a secluded beach. Bari can set it all up for you. We had a 5 star experience. The owner was perfect to rent from and the photos of the condo are very accurate.
We would rent this home again and recommend it to all our friends and family. Our only regret is that we didn't set up Bari and her husband to come and prepare a private dinner for us!
We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Property, Everything Thought Of

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

I love Costa Rica and have been trying to get my boyfriend to come for years. Finally we decided to book a trip. At first we wanted to get the Plunge Pool Suite at the nearby Four Seasons. They were sold out, so I decided to look into other options since we usually like to have at least a separate living area. We saw two different properties that Jane manages had availability on VRBO and selected this condo. She put us in touch with her concierge, Bari who took care of all our arrangements. Both of them couldn't have been more professional, helpful and friendly.

The home was gorgeous! We walked into a living room vista that rivaled any post-card. Everything was done with care and pictures did the place no justice. It was plenty of room for six people, maybe more. Sitting outside looking over the driving range and water-views was great. The pool was right next to the home and was lovely. The included golf-cart was great to tool around on.

You can tell the owners are avid travelers and take pride in the property. The home was immaculate and we loved how each piece of furniture had a story and was from an exotic location yet fit so well into the property. Things were very organized and clean. The maid that came daily washed our dishes, did laundry and even cut up a bunch of fruit from our fridge and made a beautiful platter. We had an arrival basket with the most delicious banana chocolate chip bread in it. A nice touch.

The whole area of Papagayo where this condo is has excellent roads and is simply stunning. If you've traveled through other parts of Costa Rica where the roads are dirt or the traveling bumpy, you will be in awe when you stay in this area! We get the sense there were supposed to be many more homes/developments built that did not go up which make the area feel luxurious yet not overcrowded, which is rare.

The reason I chose that property was that it had access to the nearby Arnold Palmer Golf Course and Preita Beach Club... and was also adjacent to the Four Seasons. We definitely preferred the beach club to the Four Seasons! We went to the Four Seasons one afternoon and were so happy that we didn't stay there as there were tons of kids running around and didn't really have a relaxing feel. They showed us the plunge pool suite (the pool was a joke) and we couldn't understand why anyone would stay there if they knew they had the option of staying in an amazing place so close by for so much less!

We hope to come back very soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad that you had a wonderful time! It is such a special place for us and for our family, and it means a lot when our guests enjoy it as much as we do. It's great that you were able to enjoy a special candlelight dinner at the Beach Club, as well as to take a snorkeling trip. Bari's boat trips are such a fun way to see the Peninsula from a completely different perspective, and allow you to explore new beaches inaccessible by land. Thanks so much for your detailed review, and we hope you visit soon. --JM

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

We loved this house it was everything we could of asked for. We were a family with teenagers and we all had a fabulous time. The people are all so friendly and they made us feel welcome and comfortable. The beach club was a real treat everything from swimming, boogie boarding the waves or cruising on the stand up paddle board was all there. The wildlife around us was amazing and everyday was different. This place is totally worth the visit and would go back anytime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're thrilled you had such an amazing experience. We always hope that our guests enjoy it as much as we do! We look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Top Shelf

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

From the moment I entered the complex I knew I was in a special place. I was awe struck and speachless - hardly an easy accomplishment for me.

Remain in the luxuriously appointed condo with spectacular views from every room, or do as I did, play golf and see how much wildlife you can spot, swim in the infinity pool outside your door or enjoy the beach club pools and black sand beach. My five day golf vacation and stay at Condo Vista Hermosa was the highlight of 2012.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect condo in an idyllic location!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Our family stayed in this gorgeous condo for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The home was well-maintained and the service we received from the concierge and cleaning crews was exceptional. The advantage of the condo rental over the hotel onsite is that my family of 6 had more room to spread out. We also liked the flexibility of having a kitchen in the condo for breakfast and snacks. We did take advantage of the services offered by the concierge (boating, day excursions, etc.) and highly recommend them. No need to book many things in advance of your arrival. We especially enjoyed the Beach Club and the restaurant at the marina. We fell in love with Papagayo Pennisula, which is an exclusive resort/luxury home community, and hope to return again some day. We loved the peaceful, quiet surroundings, but if you are looking for an active nightlife, this may not be the place for you. It was perfect for our family and we would definitely stay at this condo again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury at its finest!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We stayed at this luxury condo a few months ago and hope to go back very soon! It was pure heaven! The condo itself is beautiful, spacious and luxurious with stunning views. There is a pool near the condo which was very convenient and we also spent a lot of time at the Playa Prieta Beach Club, which is absolutely amazing. I highly recommend this villa for families or a getaway with friends. There is so much to do in the area for adventure seekers and beach goers alike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay - Great Unit

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

... We particularly enjoyed our stay at Vista Hermosa (unit 6) at Las Terrazas, which is centrally located and close to golf, the Beach Club and the Marina. The views are great and the private pool and BBQ area came in very handy.

The interior of the unit is spacious and tastefully decorated, and each of the three bedrooms has its own bathroom and private terrace. We were very pleased to find the kitchen fully equipped.

We would not hesitate to recommend Vista Hermosa for a long or short stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a spectacular way to spend a vacation!!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

This rental is definitely one of the best I've visited. From the moment I walked in the door, I was speechless. The decor, view and comfort were amazing. It was such a pleasure to enjoy Papagayo and come back to this beautiful setting. Everything you might read about it is true. It is on my "must go again" list!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mind-blowing

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Our stay was a terrific break from an arduous motorcycle trip from Oregon to Panama. The condominium had great views, easy access to all resort amenities, and our own nearly-private swimming pool.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Luxury and nature together

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Our stay at this condo was outstanding. The condo itself is beautifully decorated and overlooks the golf course, woods and bay, allowing for daily monkey sightings. The papagayo facilities are pure luxury and should not be missed. I would highly recommended this to anyone looking for a relaxing and luxurious stay in a beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute Paradise!

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This condo and its settings are fantastic!! We felt that even the gorgeous photos on the website don't do it justice. The condo is the perfect combination of tasteful decor, relaxed ambiance, and includes all amenities one could possibly need. The setting and facilities are world class, and worth the trip themselves. We spent most of our time at the beautiful private Beach Club. Would definitely recommend for an unforgettable romantic get-away or luxurious escape to paradise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review