reviews for: listing #29136 - Islamorada, Florida Townhome rental

Great Islamorada Location at Good Price with Free WiFi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Executive Bay Club
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $230 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,650 /wk
    $3,200 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place To Stay ***** 5 STAR REVIEW *****

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

I am not one to write a review by nature, however I thought it was important since I used them for our vacation. I had a struggle on where to stay for our vacation in the Keys. I decided on the EBC, and booked it. I showed my daughter who is 16 and she had other ideas…she was not happy with my decision. My daughter was going to be taking a friend who was also 16.

I did have some conversations with Jose, who was more concerned about us having a good vacation than renting his house. Needless to say we settled on EBC. Imagine how I felt pulling in and then opening the door to our vacation.

With the girls… When they walked into this house, things changed as to how they felt about staying here. They were extremely happy. In fact, they loved that they had their own room and own beds with a TV. They loved the shower. They loved the space and accommodations, the TV and music. I asked them what they wanted me to say about the accommodations and they said it was perfect.

As far as being perfect, the one thing they said liked best was the home cooked meal. We also managed that night to play cards and games which was great.
The first thing to know is that the description of the condo/house is accurate. So I have nothing more to add here.

I think this location is excellent. We were only a short distance from Key Largo and about 2 hours to Key West. The beach is nice at the EBC and Founders Park but unfortunately we had little time for these. We managed to swim with the dolphins, kayak, fish, parasail, snorkel and visit Key West. Also, this location has good restaurants close by and ones that will cook your fish if you happen to catch some. Which we did and dinner was excellent.

This is the first time we tried something other than a resort or hotel and I would sum it all up by saying we are glad we did and will do it again.
Thank you Jose and Marcia We enjoyed sharing your home away from home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pride in Ownership Throughout

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

VRBO Guest Review: My family headed down to Islamorada to go scuba diving during our kids' spring break. I was SO HAPPY with this property! They had plenty of space for us to spread out and there wasn't a single thing we were lacking. Great kitchen supplies, a dvd player to enjoy a movie at the end of the night and peace and quiet throughout the evening. The kids and my husband did enjoy using the tennis rackets in the unit one afternoon, while I took a nap on a chair on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. It was also next to a really nice park where I went to run most mornings. Our hosts also left a binder full of information answering every question we could have had. We loved our visit and our home away from home! This is a perfect location for people looking for a quiet, peacefully place to rest your head.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT Vacation in Islamorada - 5 Star Review!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

VRBO Guest Review: "We enjoyed our stay and are not ready to go home! The Islamorada area was GREAT and not too far from the other Keys for day trips. The beach/pier onsite was awesome! Four manatees came to visit the pier everyday along with lots of other fish, etc. Both of our kids caught a nurse shark off the pier along with some snappers, etc. The sunsets are beautiful! All the beds were so comfortable and the upstairs bathroom is amazing! Our daughter loved the loft area in the bedroom. We had fun at Founders Park (beach, volleyball court, baseball fields) which is walking distance next door. The kids loved feeding the Tarpons at Robbies Marina. Our son was pretty brave and had his entire hand in one of the tarpons mouth. Bahia Honda State Park is beautiful with some good snorkeling. The wild bird center in Key Largo does some great things for the injured or no longer wanted birds. If you go, talk to Pickles and Fredrika the parrots - they're a hoot! There is also a pelican who was released back into the wild over 20 years ago and he decided to come back and follow all the workers around. We chartered a boat with a GREAT captain! You will be sure to come home with fish if you use him. The extended snorkeling tour at John Pennekamp State Park was great! The waters were crystal clear and we saw so many colorful and beautiful fish - paradise! We had some great food at the following restaurants: lobster/shrimp/crab cake sandwich at Bentleys, conch fritters up at the Conch House (Key Largo), conch fritters, pizza, salsa at Springers (Big Pine Key), fish reuben, shrimp burger, fish tacos and chocolate pie at Snappers (Key Largo), and Hobo's in Key Largo. We LOVED The Keys and cannot wait to come back."

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

july rental

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Property was fair to good. Had a few window blinds that didn't work well. The front door lock is a pain and door needs re-hinged or adjusted? The spiral stair case is not something many people would want to navigate - and the only access to upstairs level. (children, elderly, disabled, etc.) Owner was friendly and helpful.

Owners response: Thanks for the high marks on your review and positive comments that I was helpful. As is my custom, I reached out to you on multiple occasions to see about any issues. The only replies were text messages that everything was OK. In a specific reply email to me, you stated that “your kitchen and bathrooms are wonderful. Thank you for everything!”

Based on this and our follow up discussions, I was very happy and relieved that you had a very nice vacation experience. This includes the very, very popular 4th of July Fireworks celebration display right next door at Founders Park. This is done out over the water and the best viewing place is EBC beach and pier!

So I was extremely surprised by the focus on minor issues mentioned. I truly wished you had replied to me during your stay about these very small matters that I could have addressed very easily.

Well, we listen to all feedback and advice. But the fact is that we have been making constant improvements beyond those items mentioned. Yes, the window blinds were completely replaced. The front door has been completely updated with added the hydraulic hinges to assist the door in closing properly. These were very easy and inexpensive fixes.

Please note that spiral stairs are in every condo in EBC, plus numerous other communities and homes in Florida Keys. I have had numerous family members of all ages (from 3 to 83) and stairs are very easy to navigate. It is made of iron and nice wood steps overlay, plus it is equipped with handrails on both sides. I frankly think that it adds to our condo’s overall charm. I have a photo on our ad which plainly shows the spiral stairway and clearly mention that we have two floors and stairs. Finally, we never state that we are prepared for the disabled.

I can only imagine that your Wyoming cowboy country offers much more space and wide stairs. But I guess space has been at a premium for us in Florida Keys.

Best Regards,
Jose & Marcia

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Splendor in the Keys at EBC (5 Stars VRBO Review)

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

VRBO Guest Review: We so enjoyed our stay and it is our pleasure to submit this review. The accommodations were as described & shown in the listing. The condo is located in a secure, gated community. The facilities & grounds are clean and very well maintained. The condo itself was perfect for our needs. It was clean and equipped with everything we could possibly need, and we quickly felt as though we were "at home" (at least for three weeks). The owners were readily available to respond to any questions or concerns and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay would be a memorable one. The guest binder clearly outlines all the rules and regulations, and provides detailed information about Islamorada and the surrounding areas in the Keys, including many pamphlets and brochures for dining (many showcasing local island talent), and island activities to please travelers of all ages (fishing charters, snorkeling, deep see diving, museums, ecotours, kayaking, sunset cruises, parks, and shops). We do recommend that you have use of a vehicle, and this area is a boater's paradise. Our three week stay unfortunately ended all too quickly. We truly enjoyed our holiday in Islamorada; great weather, cycling, fishing, shopping, dining and accommodations. Our favorite activities included fishing charter excursions and cycling, relaxing at the pool and enjoying the evening sunsets at our condo's beach area, and frequenting our newly found favorite local restaurants (such as Loreli, Marker 88, Lazy Days, Island Grill, Robbies & Ziggy Mad Dogs) to enjoy wonderful food, local entertainment and again the most incredible sunsets! Thank you again Jose & Marcia for your hospitality and for sharing your home. If we ever return to the "Purple Isles of Islamorada," we would definitely stay here again. Joanne & Darrell.

Owner Response: Dear Joanne & Darrell, we are simply “wowed” by your kind words. We know that your detailed feedback will assist others in choosing things to see and do in Islamorada and the Keys. We will continue to do our best for our guests / “new friends” that visit. Furthermore, it was truly our pleasure to have you as our guests for month of March 2013. An unexpected benefit of our place has been our ability to connect and make friends from all over US and world. So we were thrilled to have you as our first Canadian guests. When you decide to comeback, we will have our doors open for you. Best Regards from Your New Found Friends, Jose & Marcia

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Purple Isles of the Keys Islamorada wonderful stay

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

We arrived and within a couple of hours were unpacked stocked up on groceries, relaxed, unwound and in the pool, a first for fussy me. The condo is very comfortable because it is a home from home, with everything you could want and more like tennis raquets, scuba gear, fishing rod, beach towels, cool bag, beach chairs, just great, oh and bicycles! We cooked most evenings because we liked to have our pre dinner drinks down by the dock meeting and talking to the neighbours while dinner was cooking in the oven. I even caught fish off the dock, though the first one wriggled off the hook! Lol. The hosts what can we say.......they were great to deal with, promptly replied to emails. They are also the most considerate that I have had, they phoned us several times to make sure we had everything we needed, and especially to make sure we were not anxious of approaching hurricane Sandy, we felt very looked after, not just left on ou own. We did however get inormation on what to do and what supplies we should have from the Florida Keys visitors centre info site, needless to say we did not have to put it into action. The goid thing about hurricanes you get plenty of time to get out of their way. Here are a few of our favourite things to do, Founders Park literally less than ten minutes, great for olympic sized pool, beach, boat hire, and kayaks which we took out and had a great time seeing th local wildlife, and rays, wonderful coloured fish, sadly did not see a manatee but good reason to return. John Pennekamp park snorkellers and divers will not be disappoinyed. Theatre of the Sea great value but go early and make a day of it. Key West is great, we stayed overnight to make the most f it, there is also a ferry that goes over to Fort Myers on the Gulf side of Florida. Eating out was fun to, Shula's has the most amazing burgers my family all rated it 5/5. Morada Bay Cafe have full moon parties on the full moon, we had a blast on Oct 27th not to be missed. Dinner at sunset in Lori Lei's was amazing and the food and service great. We enjoyed exploring off the main roads found lovely little places try it! My favourite time was at the Marine Research Centre very educational and inspiring will def go back there, rays are my thing! We are going back to the condo next year, hopefully this will be our annul holiday from now on, as our son and his family now live in near in Fort Lauderdale. We had a wonderful holiday in the Purple Isles of the Keys, can't wait to get back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Restful Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

From VRBO Review: We have been here for almost a month. It was home away from from home. For us. We found everything according to description and more. Everything we need in household we found here. Even a portable step for my 4 year old (for reaching things). Great apartment, lots of rooms, towels, dishes, pots, everything. Jose called many times to find out if we are alright. Our child loved the pool. She learned to how to swim there. Great dock for fishing, snorkeling, chilling out. Beautiful sunsets! We loved the beds, especially in the bedroom – great mattress. We had a guest stay as well, who slept there - he said best bed in his life. We did not want to get up in the morning! Thank you, Jose and Marcia, for letting us stay in your second home and enjoy its hospitality. We had a great time at the pool, on the EBC beach, on the beach at Founders Park. Now, well rested we are going back to NY. BTW, Jose signed up for Internet for us. He was accommodating us, so we could stay whole month with Internet that we needed. Thank you, Jose. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends. God bless you, Jose and Marcia!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful time in the Keys

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time on our recent get away to the keys. Jose and his family provided a beautiful condo as described. The condo was very clean and spacious. We had a great time fishing off the dock, swimming in the pool and hanging out at Founder's Park. Thanks for a great get-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for great feedback... We are absolutely in love with our new place as well. We are always adding more things and making improvements. So we hope to see you back in the Florida Keys real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic place....

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Islamorada, and really enjoyed staying at this property. The place was very clean and comfortable, and incredibly well stocked: beach towels, snorkel gear, games, internet...they had it all. A short walk form the unit was a very clean and well-kept beach and pier; we spent each evening there watching the incredible sunsets, and occasionally swimming. All in all, this was a terrific place at a great price; the owner was very helpful as well. Islamorada is a great home base to see all the Keys... we snorkeled from Key Largo several times, and also drove down to Key West for a day trip.... very nice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Stay in Keys... Home is Very Comfortable

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This is from our Guestbook... "The end of a fabulous stay in the Keys! We certainly enjoyed every creature comfort here in E4! Your home is very comfortable – we didn’t miss a single thing! Lots to do here – we had lots of laughs feeding the Tarpons (and pelicans) at Robbies! Went back to do a half day fishing on the reef out near Alligator Lighthouse with Captain Michael. Didn’t know we could enjoy fishing!!! They make it easy (clean) and just a gorgeous day on the water. We also enjoyed a kayak trip from Robbies through the mangroves. We saw fish and many majestic osprey! (No croc, thank goodness!) There are so many lovely places to eat – great (hubby says best ever) burgers at Shula. The burger salad is so yummy); delicious tuna nachos at Island Grill (also talented-toe-tapping local music), great ribs there, too! We ate a whole lot of local shrimp from Winn-Dixie – never tired of that fresh flavor! We took it with us to the beach several times. Even for the drive down to Key West! Bahia Honda Beach is beautiful! Spent a lovely day there – rented chairs and enjoyed a perfect day! We’ve seen so many birds while here – Blue Indigo, Scarlet Tanagers, Bald Eagles, Ospreys, Pilleated Woodpeckers (down at the Marina here!), Cardinals, of course the Mourning Doves (we first thought they were owls!) and Mocking Birds. Saw Green Turtle from one of the route / bridges. Jose & Marcia, thank you so much! We had a relaxing stay here in Islamorada! We've built some wonderful memories! Lauren & Mark D. Andover, NH"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nicely Decorated, Clean and with Ample Amenities

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a great time. Your place is nicely decorated, clean and with ample amenities. Thanks for a great vacation!!!
- Matt & Tracee

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to relax.

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our two month stay at E.B.C. The complex is great with a nice large pool, tennis courts, and waterfront area, all very reasonably priced.This unit is located on the north side of E.B.C. midway between highway 1 and the gulf.
The unit was just purchased by a new owner the end of last year, and he was very helpful addressing any possible issues. He also is in the process of renovating. The living and dining areas are done already with a nice flat screen TV (a cable package including HD channels would be nice). The owner plans to have WiFi Internet access soon.The bedrooms are in good shape. In biggest need of renovation are the kitchen cabinets, counter tops and stove, they are old and worn. The refrigerator is very new and big.The bathrooms are ok but could use some attention also.
The spiral stairs to the second floor are steep and could be a problem for someone older and less mobile, especially when carrying heavy bulky luggage upstairs.
We think it's a great place and will only get better. We are looking forward to another two month stay early next year.

Owners response: Thanks for FIVE STARS and for being such a good guest!

We are actually much closer to beach, fishing pier and clubhouse pool. I unofficially timed the walk to the beach during this New Year’s celebration. It took less than two minutes. This was made more difficult due to an almost full glass in one hand and a bottle in the other hand. New found friends at the beach to toast with – priceless!

EBC Condo Association already offers an excellent Comcast digital cable package to all owners. But I did just upgrade to our own private Comcast Internet service with secure WiFi. Plus we added a Roku for NetFlix (to our collection of free DVD's). We set up an office area with comfy chair and desk.

Yes, the spiral stairways are part of all EBC townhomes. So pack light and dress down for our Florida Keys weather. Your goal is to enjoy our sun and our beautiful waters. We provide advice as to good places to visit and help with discounts where available.

Yes, we have been making numerous improvements, such as complete new beautiful kitchen cabinets & granite counter top, upgraded stainless steel appliances, new doors throughout, easy to use keyless entry system. (Since my wife is a licensed interior designer, she loves this!)

Plus we keep adding amenities, such as 3 complete sets of snorkeling gear and dive flag, fishing rod, beach floats, and much more.

We love the privacy and natural beauty that surrounds us in our townhouse, so we just keep adding even more plants and trees in front and in back yard. The photos don’t do it justice. Love to just sit back there and relax, or simply read, or listen to light music.

Beyond the physical, being in Executive Bay Club is always like being among close friends and family to us. We want to make so that when you stay at E4, you become part of our extended family and friends. So as we just confirmed, this will be your home again in Jan. and Feb. 2013.

Best Regards,
Marcia & Jose

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review