reviews for: listing #29185 - St Louis, Missouri House rental

Quiet Home on Water with 2 bedrooms or optional 3 bedroom
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $215 /nt
    $995 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,200 - $4,100 /mth

sort by:

Trip #4

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

I came here for the 4th time for a guys getaway, nothing has changed, it's still a great time. Everything was so nice, house was clean, and it's even better now that the basement is finished!! Hopefully a couch and tv is going down there, that would be a huge plus! Another nice plus is the new gas grill that they have on the deck. I recommend this place to everyone I know and as usual the owners were super nice! We all plan on coming back sometime in the future, hopefully not long.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fish are Biting!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Pros: The house was cute, clean, and well-situated on the lake. And the fishing was great.
Cons: We were relying on the watercraft provided to get out on the lake, but the kayak was "out" for the weekend (?) and the rowboat had a hole in it. We were offered the boat/raft-type thing from the other rental, but it was filthy, had no seats and only one oar. No other options were available. Also, there are some large homes being built next to the rental which caused some significant construction noise and impacts the privacy that I thought we were getting. This isn't anybody's fault, just a fact. Little things - the bathroom lock doesn't work (found this out the hard way), the "walk out" part of the basement was locked, and the remotes for one of the tv's were missing. We didn't mention the construction noise or the bathroom lock to the owner, but they were aware and/or informed of the rest. All in all I would stay here again, but adjust expectations accordingly.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Retreat Close To St Louis

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our peaceful stay at your charming bungalow during our 11 day visit to the St Louis area. The accomodations were comfortable (recommend some hooks for towels in the bathroom), the surroundings were peaceful, and the drive to the bungalow was very convenient to shopping and attractions. Our dogs loved running around the pond and playing with Snowy the cat, perfect environment for those with pets! We will recommend and hopefully come back for a visit again! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you back. Thanks for the suggestion for the bath. I will pick up some hooks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weekend

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Thanks to Heidi for a most enjoyable weekend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. I am glad you enjoyed our home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful lake retreat close to St. Louis

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Very lucky to find a beautiful setting so close to home! Good fishing, peace and quiet, and a good deal of privacy for a small lake with several homes on it.. We enjoyed fishing the big lake, relaxing on the deck, and the bungalow is very nice and spacious.. Heidi was very accommodating, and while the property is still under development, it remains quiet and feels private.

Owners response: Thanks. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another great stay!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

This was our first trip to this 2 bedroom lake house, the past two stays we have stayed in the 3 bedroom home that Sean has to offer. We didn't know what to expect but we were very impressed when we arrived, very very nice home with everything you need for your stay and much more, plenty of room also!! Most of the house is not pictured on the website and you'll be shocked at how big and beautiful this house really is! The back deck is so nice and private, facing away from the other rental home and right on the lake. We spent much of our time out there or in the lake with the newly built docks right on the lake and boats provided for our use! What more could you ask for!!? There is not a bad thing to say about this place, we will definitely be back for the FOURTH time in the future!
Thanks Sean & Heidi

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks Matt. We hope to see you back next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

hidden treasure

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

My son and I stayed at this very charming bungalow. They had a boat, 2 kayaks, and fishing poles ready for us to use. You can fish right off the back deck or walk down to either of the 2 docks. The home was well equipped with appliances, dishes, extra blankets, pillows, towels, etc. I enjoyed meeting Heidi, she was very sweet and said she'd help with anything we needed. I wished I'd had more time to just relax at their home but had planned some fun activities in the area. It fully is a beautiful place and a hidden treasure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls week-end

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

this was a week-end girls get away.It was perfect.Very nice view and lots of room.Heidi was very helpful about arranageing everything. I would reccomend this property to anyone that just wants to relax and hang out. also close to downtown St. Louis. Thanks so much for letting us stay at your place. Sarah Allen

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks... I am so glad you enjoyed yourself. We love sharing our home and hope you make it back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay outside of the chaos

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

The cabin was great. Owners responded quickly to any minor issues. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed you stay and we hope to have you back.

Sean and Heidi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than Advertised!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Was a little cautious heading to the Bungalow with only seeing pictures of half the cabin. Was pleasantly surprised. Bedrooms, Living Room and back deck (not pictured at time of renting) were all top notch. While the 40 acres are being built on, the Bungalow is tucked away and secluded from everything. Owners checked in to make sure everything was fine.

Our group felt that this was a very good deal and would stay here again easily!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks!! We are glad you enjoyed you stay and would love to have you back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful month on the Lake!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

We spent a month during xmas and New Years at the cabin and had a wonderful time.
Heidi and Sean couldn't have been nicer and when I arrived they greeted me and made sure everything was comfortable. They even had a Xmas tree for us in the living room. They always got back to me when I had a question.
The cabin is nicer than it looks in the pictures. We had our two dogs with us and they were in heaven running in the field and taking long walks. The view is beautiful and we loved using the wood burning stove and cooking family dinners in the kitchen and watching the wildlife. A lovely , lovely time. Thank you Heidi and Sean

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice time in cabin with few hiccups

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this house for our 5 day vacation. It is about 20 minutes to St. Louis and easy to get in and out of once you get your bearings. It is a little difficult to find, and the address provided is for a road that the house is not on (or really very near). If they don't give you directions (which we didn't get), make sure you use google sattelite to familarize yourself with the surroundings. They may tell you to call a number to get the code to get into the cabin, but when you call the person will not know what you are talking about and be a little rude. There is no information on check in/ check out time and no maps, phone books, information about nearby attractions at all. However, once you finally settle in the cabin is adequate. We had a little trouble with allergies because there was either a cat or dog in the house recently. It was also dissapointing to not be able to use the boat, but they don't provide either oars or life jackets for the boat. If you fish there are plenty of bluegills (or similar panfish) in the lake. The only other thing we caught was a small turtle. The kitchen area had just the basics, but was easy to prepare meals in. The bathroom door does not latch!! I would suggest bringing ribbon or rope to tie it close if privacy would be important to your group.

Bottom line, the cabin is nice and works well, the people behind this rental are not used to doing this sort of thing, and it is not very well planned out.

Owners response: I am very sorry we let you down. I am going to have to check on the processes, you should have received two addresses for the property the old address (before the new roads) and the new one (it is not on maps or GPS yet). I cannot say I am sorry enough because my office is supposed to call you with the code a couple of days before you come into stay with us. There is supposed to be a paper in the home with my phone number and I will check on that and make sure it is there for the next person that stays. I will also make sure there is a phonebook out on the counter for next person. I will also have to check on the oars because they are supposed to be with the boats. I so wish you would have called we are right down the road from the property and would have made sure any issues were resolved. We were unaware of the bathroom door not latching and I will have someone over to fix it right away. I wish you would have called and let us know we would have fixed it immediately. Thank you for your feed back I am VERY sorry the ball was dropped. Heidi

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Debbie and Dan

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Back for the second time, had a great time again. Enjoyed swimming and floating in the beautiful lake since the temps were over 100 each day. Sean and Heidi are great! You will not be disappointed if you rent this house, plenty of room for 6 adults and a dog.

Owners response: Thanks Debbie. We were so glad to have you back. We love it out here and it and enjoy others getting enjoyment out of the property.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Property

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

Very nice rental. The house is much bigger inside than the pictures show. Everyone in the family loved it, good fishing, boating, hiking, playing, fun for everyone. Plenty of space to enjoy nature and observe the wildlife. The deck is a great place to eat or just enjoy a peaceful conversation, it has a great view of the lake. If it rains you can enjoy a fire in the sun room in front of the wood stove. There is a nice big kitchen if you choose to cook inside or if you prefer to cook outside there is a nice grill. If you choose not to cook there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Everything is close even though the house is located on a quiet lake, only about 15 minutes from the St. Louis Arch. The owners were very kind, we were only there 4 nights/5 days and during that time the cleaning lady, the husband and wife, on separate occasions, stopped to make sure we had everything we needed. I would recommend this property to families of all ages, something for everyone. This was a getaway we'll remember for years!

Owners response: Thanks, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sean and Heidi

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Place

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

The owners were a pleasure to deal with. They are good people, and have a beautiful home with an even better location on a breathtaking lake. We'll be staying there again... see you later down the road- thanks for everything!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Todd. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Heidi and Sean

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

excellent

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This place is great! Lots of room. We had 6 adults and there was plenty of room for all. Very nice and clean, great location. Lots to do on property and also nearby St Louis. Pictures online do not do this house justice. You will be pleasantly surprised. Good fishing, beautiful view sitting on deck, could go on and on.... Owners so friendly and welcoming! Cannot wait to return for many more family vacations! Thanks Sean and Heidi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This place is great! Lots of room. We had 6 adults and there was plenty of room for all. Very nice and clean, great location. Lots to do on property and also nearby St Louis. Pictures online do not do this house justice. You will be pleasantly surprised. Good fishing, beautiful view sitting on deck, could go on and on.... Owners so friendly and welcoming! Cannot wait to return for many more family vacations! Thanks Sean and Heidi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Deb

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This place is great! Lots of room. We had 6 adults and there was plenty of room for all. Very nice and clean, great location. Lots to do on property and also nearby St Louis.
Pictures online do not do this house justice. You will be pleasantly surprised. Good fishing, beautiful view sitting on deck, could go on and on....
Owners so friendly and welcoming! Cannot wait to return for many more family vacations!
Thanks Sean and Heidi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review