reviews for: listing #29222 - St Augustine, Florida House rental

1-bedroom rustic oceanfront cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Vilano Beach
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $175 /nt
    $1,075 - $1,075 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Private Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This was a first-rate, number-one, private vacation place. No phone, no TV, no Internet, no interruptions. Just miles of seriously uncrowded beaches and beauty.

We just loved this place (does it show?). We cooked mountains of great seafood, had a few adult beverages, swam in the magnificent ocean, walked along the beach, and didn't miss the world a bit. Not a bit. Doug, the owner, was terrific, and when there was a small problem, he took care of it promptly.

If you're looking for a concierge, this isn't the place. If you have kids, this isn't the place (only one bedroom). If you need to be constantly entertained, this isn't the place. You can go to town, of course. But with a secret hide-away like this, why would you want to?

But, it you're interested in spending some great and quality time with a loved one, you can't do better. If vacationing means vacate-ing to you, then you've found Nirvana. And if you want to just be at the beach, well, you've found Home.

There might be some great restaurants nearby, but we enjoyed the solitude and privacy so much, we only ate out once.

If there was a way to make ourselves available to talk about our magnificent get-away, we would. But, contact the owner, instead. He's approachable, gentlemanly, and one of the good guys.

We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thom and Julia,
Thank you. We do try to insure that guests understand what the experience will be like at our beach cottage. You've captured that very well and we appreciate your compliments. We love return guests!
Doug and Mary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little place

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

This is a great place! The view is fantastic! We watched the sun come up every morning from the spacious deck. I would not consider the house as "rustic" just because there is not TV or phone, it has every other ammentity to make it a very relaxing vacation getaway! This house has a lot of charm and a perfect location to get away from the tourists and hunt for seashells. The owner's personal art work throughout the house really adds a nice touch. We really enjoyed the breeze and the sounds of the waves, many times we just opened the windows and turned off the A/C - Perfect!! Everything you need is only 1 - 2 miles up the road. If you stay on a Wednesday be sure to check out the farmers market at the pier. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. We do not recommend eating at the Saltwater Cowboys restaurant - slow service and bad food..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beautiful

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

Our third year staying in this cottage and we are ready to go back. Watching the sunrise over the ocean is amazing. Watching the dolphins play every day and finding so many different kinds of seashells we really enjoyed. The cottage has everything we needed from the full kitchen to extra pillows and blanket. It was like having our own private beach. Close to town but away from all the hotels and crowded beaches. We would never stay anywhere else. Love being only feet away from the ocean. Two weeks was not enough, we hope to stay longer next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Julie and Harley. We're shooting for 100% happy visitors! Look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

best beach front experience

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

This lovely cottage was exactly what we were looking for and exceeded our expectations. An easy drive from Jax airport. If you want to be ON the water, this is it. Private and quiet. Spacious outdoor deck - just walk down a few steps to the sand and water. The ocean/beach were pristine. Great for long walks, barefoot, in high and low tide. Water temp in August was perfect, cool, great swimming. Cottage was clean, bright and perfect for two. Comfy bed, and great shower. Thx for bbque grill! Fun to cook out on the deck in the evening sunset. Was fun watching dolphins follow schools of fish. Lots of birds. The homeowner was prompt and very helpful. And thanks for no TV! Boom-box was nice. Good local radio. Easy, 2 minute drive over bridge into St. Augustine for dining, shopping and history. We will be back! Thanks D. and M.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Julie,
Thank you for your kind comments. We're always very pleased when our guests enjoy our family beach house.
We try to present it just as it is on the website; not fancy, no phone or tv, just a great location on the ocean.
Hope we'll see you next year.
Doug

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful week

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

We had a wonderful week at your beach house and have been truly impressed with the area. Aside from the joy of being so close to the sea at all times, the highlight of our stay was dinner at Cap's on the first sunny day as the sun was setting!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..a beautiful house available at a reasonable pric

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

We really enjoyed the decor of your house, its privacy and the wonderful view of the ocean. However, it would be especially nice for elderly visitors to have a railing on the beach access stairs. My mother is 81 and would really appreciate this for future visits. Also, a weather radio or a small TV for weather forecasts would be useful. It was difficult to get weather forecasts on the radio.

Thank you for communicating so promptly and for having just a beautiful house available at a reasonable price.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review