reviews for: listing #292368ha - Esterillos, Costa Rica rental

The Hilltop House The best views, location and amenities
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 229 - $ 400 / night
    $ 1,400 - $ 2,800 / week
    $ 3,500 - $ 3,999 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Costa Rica Adventure

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

Hilltop House was a wonderful setting for our 8 day family vacation in Costa Rica. The house was peaceful, secluded, and had fantastic views! The third floor deck offered a view of surrounding forests and the ocean. It was breezy and beautiful! From our hammocks, we could see toucans, macaws, monkeys, and even a sloth nearby! The second floor had a rocking chair porch with bar and TV/Game room. It was perfect for nighttime fun with the entire family! The pool area was secluded with fences and beautiful landscaping. It offered hours of entertainment after a day of hiking in the area, horseback riding, or visiting the rain forests. The nearby beaches had tidal pools, surfing areas, and wildlife in trees. Ellen and Brent, the owners, were welcoming and helpful. It was an enjoyable experience for the entire group!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Du fun en masse, la place est vraiment hot !!

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Wow que ça été plaisant !! Première expérience au Costa Rica et pas la dernière. On a été très bien acceuilli par le proprio Brent. Ça été très facile dès le début des démarches. On est arrivé et tout était prêt comme prévu, aucune mauvaise surprise.

L'endroit est vraiment cool autant pour une famille ou pour des jeunes qui veulent faire le party et partir sur la brosse. À 4min 30sec de marche de la plage ;) c'est vraiment bien situé. On a énormément profité de la piscine qui était toujours chaude. Des chambres bien isolées et climatisées. La petite suite est parfaite pour recevoir des amis comme c'est arrivé dans notre cas. Sinon, une superbe terrasse sur le toit pour faire du Yoga le matin ou pour tout simplement pour regarder la nature et les couchers de soleil dans les hammacks. (couchers de soleil sur la plage vraiment fous, plus beaux jamais vu pour ma part)

L'endroit est très sécuritaire, il y a une gates électrique à l'entrée avec 2 places de stationnement dans le garage. Sinon, on laissait toujours nos guitares dehors même quand on partait à l'extérieur sans le moindre soucis.

Le village de Esterillos Oeste est quand même bien. Il y a un supermarché pour se dépanner et 3 bars pour se rafraichir. 2-3 petits restos sympa, 2 écoles de surf. On a utilisé les services de Brett pour l'occasion qui nous a ammené à Estrillos Este pour surfer, ça été vraiment cool ! On a aussi été à la pêche avec un local de là bas qui tient un des restaurants, c'était très bien aussi. Demandez toutes ces infos à Brent et il pourra vous indiquer le tout sans problème.

Au final, ça été un super beau trip et je le reccommande à tout le monde. À faire et refaire !!

Simon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So peaceful!!! A great getaway!!

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 27, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Hilltop House in Esterillos Oeste and have nothing but good things to say about the place/owners. It's pefectly located up on the hill overlooking the ocean and also has beautiful mountain views!! The toughest part is trying to figure out where to lounge!! I definitley recommend to anyone wanting to get away for some r and r.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place and great hosts!

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

We rented the Hilltop House over Thanksgiving week, with 2 families totaling 10 people.
We had a fantastic time, and the house is even more unbelievable than it looks in the pictures. The layout was great for us, with the side apartment over the garage providing a measure of privacy and independence for a couple or small family, and the 2nd floor of the main house providing a hang-out area for a large group. The kitchen was well equipped and easily handled our party. An amazing feature of the place is the 3rd floor terrace over the side apartment; incredible view and lots of bird life to watch (including the occasional monkeys). There's nothing like starting your day with a cup of Tico coffee and heading up to the rooftop to slide into a hammock or watch birds through the binocs! The beach is a 3 minute walk down the road, and about 10 minutes to the 'center' of town and the main beach there. Esterillos Oueste is a wonderful, laid back little town with friendly people and a decent surfing beach. Make sure to try the Los Almendros restaurant for dinner some night, and hit the Rancho Coral for a great breakfast on the beach.
Our hosts Brent and Ellen were fantastic, always available to help us with tips and advice when needed, but otherwise they clearly go out of their way to be hands off. They take wonderful care of the place and are just special people. You will definitely enjoy this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home and Location

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Fantastic home and location. Arrived on the 23 of Oct. Stayed for 12 days and nights. Best vacation home we have ever rented. Party of 7. Plenty of room and the pool was great. Brent the owner even arranged for us to have a house keeper for 2 days, she was awesome. Esterillos is a great area to kick back and relax. We based out of the home and went on many little day trips. It was always nice to return the the house at night and relax by the pool. Brent could not have been more accommodating. He answered all questions and even made recommendations, very helpful. We highly recommend The Hilltop House. Looking forward to returning next year....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fabulous vacation in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Spent 7 days in this beautiful home and the only regret is we didn't have another week. We had 7 adults (5 being young adults). The house was very comflortable and the above garage apartment worked excellent for our needs. Everything about the property is immaculate. From the well kept home to the pool and the well maintained grounds. We spent many hours in the 2nd floor entertainment room watching movies on the tv and many more leisure hours on the 3rd floor observation deck. With the hammocks to relax in you could stay there for hours watching for macaws, monkeys, the waves as they rolled into shore and the mountains.
The town of Esterillos is such a quaint spot. The locals are very helpful and friendly. With the super sol for quick groceries, restaurants for the days you don't want to cook, and the beach, if you want to just lay back and relax, this is the perfect place.
For those who need alittle more activity Jaco is about 20 minutes north. It has shopping, many eateries and the night life for those who are looking for that. Manuel Antonio is south of Esterillos and is worth the drive to see the beauty at the park. Be sure and have a meal at The Avion. Ask about the history of the plane. Los Suenos golf and zip line are both close to the area and offer a day of fun on the greens and zipping through the trees. The scenery is just wonderful. We took a waterfall tour out of Jaco and spent a day trekking through the rain forrest to some outstanding waterfalls.
Brent couldn't have been a more excellent host. He is always ready to offer information or book tours. He arranged to have a meal brought in for us one night. Just anything you need. He went out of his way to make this one of our most enjoyable vactions. Even has a maid that comes in and cleans up one day. Very nice. Just can't say enough.
Would highly recommend this home to anyone wanting to experience the beauty of Costa Rica, the sounds of the ocean in the comfort of a wonderful home. It far superceded our expectations!!!
We understand Pura Vida.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House, Perfect Location!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Hilltop House! There were 6 adults and 5 kids (between 3 and 8) and we were very comfortable, with plenty of room. The pictures here are great, but they can’t really convey the stunning views and beauty that surround this awesome place. Brent was extremely helpful and gracious – offering us several recommendations on activities and restaurants, all of which were superb. While not directly on the beach, the house is beach accessible via a short walk down the steep road, or a quick 1 minute drive. We actually preferred being up in the tree tops and the top floor viewing deck just can’t be beat. We were able to spot a few monkeys and lots of birds from the very relaxing hammocks – and everyone enjoyed the pool and second floor outdoor deck area. The house is nicely finished, but very comfortable and a great fit for multi or large families.

The geographic location of this house is perfect for exploring the entire SW region of Costa Rica. Playa Hermosa and Jaco are only 15-25 minutes to the North and Quepos and the National Park (Manuel Antonio) are only about 45 minutes to the south. Esterillos Oeste offers just the right amount of restaurant options, a great beach, boogie/surf board rentals, and the tiny “super sol” market is all you need for necessities like eggs, produce, beer. If you fly into SJO, the drive down to Esterillos is just under two hours (if it’s not raining or during rush hour) and offers you beautiful mountain views during the day.

Places/experiences that we enjoyed include: Rainmaker Park (rainforest hike with swinging bridges – a must do – and eat at Tilapias Rio Seco next door, where you can catch your own fish and have them fry it right up), Los Suenos Canopy Zipline Tour, The beach in Esterillos, Crocodile Bridge (be careful), Manuel Antonio National Park (go on a weekday, and go early), Los Almendros (restaurant in Esterillos), La Sirena (restaurant in Esterillos), Panaderia Artesenal (bakery in Jaco – worth the drive in the morning for awesome pastries, American breakfast and delicious coffee), Pizza Bocha (pizza and phenomenal empanadas in Playa Hermosa). So much more we wanted to do.... we could have stayed two weeks at the Hilltop House – and we encourage you to do the same!

Thanks Brent for making our first trip to Costa Rica and our stay at Hilltop House better than we could have imagined.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the nice words!
Hope to see you on your next trip.
Pura vida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautifull Property

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

Arrived on march 18, travelling with 2 families ( 4 adults and 5 children aged 5 and under).
Brent (the owner) was present to meet and greet us at the house and to show us around. The house was as advertized although some of the indoor pictures dont do it justice. The pool and grounds where impecably maintained by both Brent and the gardener. The bedrooms are confortable and the air-conditioning did a good job of keping them cool. The kitchen comes with all you need to cook for a "family" of 9.

Brent was kind enough to provide us with a pack-and-play crib and a High chair for the baby.

Esterillos is a 20 minute drive from Jaco where all the conveniences can be found. I recommend the Feria (farmers market) held in Jaco every Friday. Manuel Antonio park is a 45 minute drive away and San Jose can be reached in 1h15. The village itself is quiet and the beach has 2 main sections, one for surfing and one of tide pools the children loved. Macaws can be seen daily by the beach and can be heard from the house.

The house is suitable for families but the pool is easily accessible and requires close supervison if traveliing with young children.

I would recommend the rental and would rent again on my next trip to CR.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You have to stay here!!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

This house was the pinnacle of our first trip to Costa Rica!! The rooms were more than adequate and the house was FULL of additional benefits!! The privacy of the suite was a great feature. The 2nd floor porch is equipped with a full wet bar and bathroom- perfect for hanging out. There is also a secluded, private, extra room with a tv and separate air conditioner, awesome for privacy! The 3rd floor porch (roof top) was amazing a d to great for words! On my last night in CR, i laid in the hammock listening to the waves and jungle life, it could not have been more perfect!
The little "town" in walking distance was great. I (youngish female) even walked to the bar alone and hung out with the locals who were wonderful! Local restuarants had great food if we didn't feel like cooking, but having a kitchen was a real benefit! We were able to eat breakfast at the house every morning and not worry about all waking together to make a trip. Some nights, a few would go out while others chose to stay in and cook. It was perfect! The house provided a location for us all to meet, sleep and hang out if we chose to. This was my first trip to CR and first time renting a home. Well, I'll do both regularly from now on!! I have already convinced a group of friends to rent this house for their trip in a few months!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Spot for a Relaxing Family Getaway

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilltop House. The property easily accommodated our extended family of six adults and three children and provided a secluded and tranquil atmosphere for relaxation and family fun. The kids had a blast in the swimming pool and were delighted by the local iguanas, birds and butterflies. The adults enjoyed lounging by the pool and taking in the views on the upper observation deck.

The house is clean, comfortable and stocked with all the necessary amenities. The property is secure and nicely landscaped, giving it a very private feel. Brent and Ellen were very responsive and made us feel truly welcome; they had great suggestions for local services and attractions.

It's a short walk into town where you will find a small grocery store, shops, bars and restaurants. Beach access is also a short walk down the road where you will find rocky areas with tide pools for exploring as well as large sandy areas for playing.

The house was within 30 minutes of several tours or attractions and car/van services can be arranged. I would recommend the Hilltop House to anyone who would like to stay "off the beaten path" but still be accessible to Jaco, Hermosa Beach, Manuel Antonio, etc. We hope to return to Costa Rica and would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Brent thank you for the lifetime of memories

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We rented the hilltop for a week when the kids from Denver came to Costa Rica for a holiday. the clan consists of 6 adults and three grandkids ages 5-4 1/2- and 17 months. the house was comfortable for all us.
The loft, vista deck was a great place for the evening getaway for the adults and is equiped with hamocks that provided some super relaxation time for me. The pool was a sourceof entertainment and meeting place for much of the day, relaxing and refreshing. The wading pool was a real hit with the toddler.
The house was well equiped with good cooking tools and towells linen , washer dryer, large fridge with ice making capability's. The dining area was big enough for all of us, the kids at an eating bar and adults at a family sized table.
The walk to the beach was short and the beach had beachin exploring potential, with one end having a long stretch of sandy beach, and the other end had tidepools.
If your party has elderly or infim I think you might want to drive down the hill that gets to the beach. Thank you again for a wonderful time

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A 6 month rental experience in Esterillos Oeste

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

The Hilltop House in Esterillos Oeste was my first rental in Costa Rica and everything after it has been hard pressed to compare to it. The House is very comfortable and anything that you may want or need is provided or not hard to aquire. Brent and Ellen were fantastic at providing info on anything that needed answers to and had great contacts and suggestions for us. The surf here is great, the locals were very nice and we made some great friends here too. Brent had some surf boards available for me to use which I used as much as possible. The roof top deck was a morning coffee favorite for us. Veiws from the deck were great. We had guests that would stay a week or two and were very comfortable at the house. The suite above the garage was used by the mother in law who stayed for 3 months and is now missing her stay with us in paradise. All in all a great rental home. Thanks Brent and Ellen for the wonderful stay at your beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway for a Family in Costa Rica!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

The location of this beautifully maintained house and property is ideal for a trip to Costa Rica. You are very close to a beautiful beach and a little town with a grocery store and some restaurants. But you don't feel like you are in the middle of a tourist trap...Esterillos Oeste is an authentic Costa Rican community and that is lovely. You are close to Jaco for all other necessities (bank, pharmacy) and easy drives to Manuel Antonio, Balleena Marine Park, Jaco, Playa Hermosa, etc. San Jose Airport is 1 hr and 40 minutes away.
The house itself is lovely. Big, functional kitchen and eating area. Wonderful outdoor living spaces (we loved the top deck with the hammocks as there was always a nice breeze up there no matter how warm it was). The pool is an amazing bonus to have...it was always the perfect temperature and my kids practically lived in it some days :-)
The seperate living quarters above the garage (connected by the breezeway) is lovely too. We made that home base for our family of four while other family members came and went in the other 3 bedrooms in the main house.
The house is completely secured as there is a HUGE black gate at bottom of driveway, so you have absolute privacy and it feels like your own little oasis when you are there. But a 5 minute walk and you can immerse yourselves with the locals at the beach, the super, surfing, etc.
You won't be disappointed with this VRBO rental...you'll be checking your calendar to see when you can come back again!!!
Thanks Brent & Ellen for the amazing rental and all your advice and recommendations that made our one month stay in Esterillos Oeste everything we hoped it would be and then some :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great property for your Costa Rica adventure!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

My family recently rented this property for a month in celebration of my parents 50th Anniversary. The amentities are excellent, the swimming pool is in excellent working order and is perfect for a hot day in CR! The location of the home in Esterillos Oeste offers an authentic Costa Rican experience! The road leading up to the home from the surfing village of Esterillos is an adventure, but well worth it once you arrive! Jaco is 20 minutes to the North and Manuel Antonio (which is absolutely beautiful and worth the drive) is 45 minutes South.
The master bedroom comes well equipped with a very functional master bathroom and plenty of closet space. The two bedrooms on the main floor also have plenty of closet space, ceiling fans, etc. The additional bedrooms on the main floor share a bath in the main hallway adjacent to the living area.
The second floor has an excellent entertainment room and small office area with a half bath. Also on this level there is an attached apartment with a queen bed, two futons, bathroom with shower and excellent kitchenette! The observation deck above the apartment is an excellent spot to observe the native Macaws, read a book, or take a nap in one of three hammocks.
Brent, the owner of the home, made the entire experience very enjoyable and was willing to do whatever we needed to make our stay in Costa Rica memorable. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking to rent in this area of Costa Rica, you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review