reviews for: listing #293278vb - Playa Negra, Costa Rica rental

Playa Avellanas Guest House - Close Walk to the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 80 - $ 100 / night
    $ 400 - $ 500 / week
    $ 1,200 - $ 1,500 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Very Relaxing Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

I had a great vacation at Ben's property. It is very beautiful and peaceful there. It is on the edge of the jungle, and one of the nicest beaches in Costa Rica for dieting or just laying in the sun relaxing is just a short walk away. There are also multiple reasonably priced restaurants within a short walk. The guest house is set up very nicely and the photos don't do it justice. It is much bigger and nicer than it looks. There are also constant improvements being made and anything I asked Ben for he was quick to provide. In fact Ben was so helpful in many ways. He drove me to town to get groceries before I had a vehicle, he assisted me in arranging transportation to other areas in Costa Rica, he helped me set up tours to volcanoes, and surf trips. He knows somebody who does a tour for everything. Just tell him what you want to do and he will hook you up.
I highly recommend you stay here. You won't regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A peaceful paradise!

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two months at this wonderful spot! We originally planned to only stay for one month but enjoyed everything so much that we just had to make it two! It really is a little bit of everything that makes this place so special, of course the beach really stands out, the sand is soft, the water warm (most of the time anyway!) and the views are beautiful. The cabina was beyond what we expected, it was spacious and comfortable and the hammocks were a real treat in the afternoon with the warm breezes blowing. The desk and the excellent internet were a definite bonus as well! The feeling of security on the property was nice too, everything is fenced and gated, which was really nice for a feeling of privacy as well. The owner Ben was a fantastic host! He was very helpful with suggestions on local restaurants, shopping and any other little bits of information we were after on the area, as well as being quick to help us out with any requests we had. We absolutely loved having the company of his two wonderful dogs as well!
We are already planning to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't say enough nice things!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

Wonderful place to spend a vacation. Great atmosphere & very relaxing. Comfortable & cozy. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing low-key getaway!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 weeks here in December, and had a wonderful time! We were looking for a spot where we could easily relax and spend a lot of time on the beach, and this place was perfect. Ben was a fantastic host - he took us into town a few times, gave us lots of local advice, and gave me an awesome surf lesson! The beach is great for lounging, swimming, boogie boarding, surfing, and fishing (my boyfriend caught tons of tuna, so we had some delicious fresh fish dinners). The guesthouse itself is very quaint, and is comfortable for 2 people. We felt really safe here, partly due to the two guard dogs:-) They are super friendly, and were great companions for us while we were there! We'd definitely recommend this spot for anyone looking for a relaxing and quiet stay off the beaten path!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful 6 Weeks!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

This place was great! Ben was a great host, and even took me along to trips into town to get groceries. Internet is fast so working from here was easy. This place would be so much better if you have your own vehicle, or plan to walk a lot. Beach is close enough to carry a surfboard down too. The A/C is brand new, and turns the place into a freezer in about 5 minutes. Would visit again! The two dogs on the property were so nice, will miss them for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great for Quiet and Surfing

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

I took some time off in-between jobs and really enjoyed my stay here. I was looking for something quiet and off the beaten path where I could spend time surfing and relaxing. I really liked the fact that there was a kitchen so I could make my own food, wifi so I could work when needed and the hammocks were wonderful for relaxing. Ben (the owner) is a great surf instructor and very patient. He also made it very easy for me to rent a board and change it out as my surfing ability improved. Overall I felt very much at home during my stay here both in Ben's place and in the community.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Nice and Relaxing

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

I stayed here for about a week and found it to be well worth it. The accommodations aren't luxurious but for the price and location they were great. I was able to use my use my laptop with the wireless internet and cook my meals in house which are two of the main things I look for when traveling through Central and South America. As for the location I think it is ideal for people looking for a more authentic and tranquil costa rican vacation compared to what you would find in a more touristy area such as Tamarindo. The casita is a short and scenic 5 minute walk to the beach and Avellanas is a great beach for both surfing and enjoying the picturesque costa rican landscape. The owner Ben is very nice and accommodating with any questions or concerns you may have while there. He offers surf lessons if you want to learn or you can rent a board from his quiver if you are traveling without yours. Overall I had a very positive experience and would highly recommend this rental for 1-2 people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent place to enjoy a trip to Playa Avellanas

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

I enjoyed my time here immensely and would recommend it to anyone.This guesthouse is only a 5 minute walk from the pathway down to Playa Avellanas. It features a bedroom and bed that could sleep two, indoor bathroom, and indoor kitchen. The bedroom has AC and ceiling fans with wooden dresser for clothing and desk for writing letters or reading.There is a television with satellite tv also there is high speed wifi access to the internet.Outside there are 2 hammocks and chairs for relaxing around the very peaceful and private property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Mind blowing paradise - absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Right away we noticed Playa Avellanas Guest House is one of the closest properties to the boardwalk and definitely the nicest of the ones we saw. Unlike the others it's super secure with a large cacti perimeter and two guard dogs. That really made us feel better since we were two girls staying alone.

After getting inside the perfectly charming compound Benny greated us and made sure we were all setteled in the guesthouse. It was very clean and cutely decorated, even nicer than the pictures. It's bigger than the pictures too. The hammoks in front are nap-perfect, we took some fab naps there after the ocean. Benny was a great host and gave us some good advice for the rest of our trip.

We loved walking to the beach in the morning, going out in Tamarindo at night, visitng the local dairy farm, and practicing our surfing :-) We plan on coming back next month!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A Big Disappointment

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Ben, the owner/manager is such a nice person that I write this review with deep regret, but the unbearable conditions at this "house" (it is a tiny cottage) completely screwed up my plans for a longer tour of Costa Rica. I stayed in Avellanas not even half the time planned and since my budget was based on staying there for a month I had to cut my entire trip in half. Ben refused to refund any portion of the money I had paid. On the positive side, this casita is temptingly cheap. It is safe (from theft), there is internet and TV. There is no hot water, and sometimes no cold water either, and the place is generally so poorly constructed that it is open to insects, frogs in the bathroom and kitchen and lots of scorpions. (I was stung by one in my bed). The snake guard on the bottom of the kitchen door left a huge gap of space. (Thank God I did not encounter snakes inside). I finally enlisted the gardener to help close the gap with a board and that helped against the scorpions, but my experience generally was exactly the same as the reviewer below. Had I seen her review, I would not have gone. Ben insisted that it is like that everywhere in Costa Rica, but I stayed in 3 other places and did not find that to be true. The dogs are really sweet and do make you feel safe, but they are in your face every minute as is the poop and you cannot walk two steps without a tick crawling up your leg. I had to buy several items for the kitchen, which in general is almost completely unworkable. It was a week before I had a decent sheet and never any mattress pad over a pretty filthy mattress. The wood shutters on the windows look charming, but to run the AC (which works just barely) you have to close them leaving you with no view to the outside at all. Kind of like jail. Sorry, Ben, but if you apply yourself a little and fix things up, you will have a nice property. It is a bit of a hike to the beach, which is gorgeous when you get there, and if you are staying more than a couple of days you really need a car as there is not much in Avellanas and you will not want to spend more time in the house than is absolutely necessary. Very nice people locally, especially at Las Olas. Lola's is lovely. If you don't mind camping, go for it. If you are expecting something more civilized, remember that you get what you pay for. Take lots of Raid (the spiders are huge) and a can opener.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: My maid, my gardener, & myself bent over backwards for this lady, day & night. She is 1 of 3 bad reviews over our last 4 years of operation & there was absolutely no pleasing her. She told me she was really loving her stay, then started screaming, swearing, & threatening a bad review when we refused to let her take in a stray dog off the beach. I wish I could of done something more for her.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Very bad. Parents beware.

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

This place is advertised as child friendly - what a joke. I was traveling with my 7 year old son and couldn't even stay at this place for our pre-paid week. We were greeted by two very cute, big dogs which one (the Rottweiler) was biting us. We later found out he was a puppy which explained why his bite hurt so much. This was the first problem. Entering the place it gives you the feeling of okay- let's make the best of this and what I mean by that is they have a very good photographer for the online pics. The place was dirty, had scorpions, spiders and big red ants all over including the bed and a lovely frog in the toilet. It gave me the feeling it hadn't been used or opened in months. The kitchen is a joke unless you plan on making pb&j's all week - poor utensils, pots/pans and there is a propane grill with 2 lighters that don't work next to it. At this point my son doesn't want to be inside but can't go outside because of the dog that bites. The owner was out of town at the time so he had a friend helping who was very nice but not as available as she said she would be. When I tried to discuss all these things she was "busy" with her boyfriends(?) visit. I called her name with no response. I immediately emailed the owner, Ben, to discuss my refund and what all happened. After numerous emails of me trying to justify the problems which is weird in itself and not once did he ask if we were okay since his dog was biting us he did not refund me but offered me another week with 2 surf lessons if I did not put my review on here. I will take the loss to save my travel friends from this disaster.

Owners response: The house is not advertised as child friendly, but as children welcome & we have never once had a problem before ever.

Additionally, Elvis, our Rottweiler, is extremely loving & playful 1 year old puppy with a kind & gentle soul. He is a teddy bear & is here to protect our guests & the property along with his sister Bessie, a Rhodesian & total sweetheart...& this is explained clearly on our listing (please note there are many robberies at neighboring hotels & houses but never here).

Also, the client admitted to me that Elvis never bit in anger, just trying to play (which I wouldn't consider biting personally). He is also very obedient, and responds well to the commands “no”, “stay”, & “sit”.

Additionally, I was traveling at the exact time of arrival, & had my maid there looking after things as explained to the client previously. The house was extremely clean upon my review, as I expected.

Also, Costa Rica is a very bio-diverse place with a lot of wildlife, especially out here in the rural areas & with the changing from rainy to dry season, it is not uncommon for insects to get stirred up from time to time, or ants to storm in & clean up a dead insect.

And yes, there is the occasional scorpion out here, though they are not the dangerous variety, delivering more of a bee sting in the rare chance you would get stung. Frogs do occasionally get inside as well...this is Costa Rica & either could of been easily removed.

I am under the impression that this place was more rural than the client expected, and that she was looking for any excuse to get a refund & head to the city (we turned down 4 other renters for this week after her booking).

We also were not even given a chance to resolve anything, provide any missing utensils from the main house, etc, as she left without notifying us, or explaining her concerns.

She has also left a number of bad reviews which she deleted after my response & has changed her story to me a number of times.

Every hotel/rental owner around here has the occasional visitor like this & I am sorry we could not be more accommodating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 6

 

30 YO female

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Perfect little getaway. There are now interior doors to the kitchen and bathroom. Equipped with all you could need for low-key vacation. Bed is comfortable, AC works well, satellite TV and WiFi for moments when you need a break after epic day of beach, surf, wildlife, and fun. "Landlord" (main house) is awesome and very helpful/accommodating. Two very sweet "guard dogs", iguanas, geckos, howler monkeys, and birds. I had such a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone looking for peace and something a little less tourismo.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

when i saw this place i was just like would ya look at that!

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

Super good place to stay. My girlfriend and I enjoyed 3weeks here. Perfect for a couples getaway. The owner is really nice. Nice Kitchen and Bath room. Short walk to the beach and good security. Gracias! PURA VIDA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Different strokes for different folks

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This spot would seem ideal for a solo-surfer or backpacker passing through but it's not very comfortable for a couple who is looking for a relaxing, affordable bungalow for a surf-getaway vacay; we stayed 2 of 7 pre-paid nights before having to throw down for more comfortable, equally affordable digs. The town of Avellanas is a treasure: go to the Cabinas bar & restaurant to find the handful of locals that call this place home - not touristy Lola's, packed with day-trippers.

Owners response: I would definitely recommend Cabinas Las Olas to any friends, clients, or family members looking for a Hotel experience on their trip to Costa Rica. It is really a wonderful place, just down the street from us (my favorite breakfast spot!)

The fact is that this renter paid less than 40% the cost of their room in this hotel, to stay here in their own private AC guest house (probably more sq ft) with kitchen, satellite tv, private internet/telephone line, etc not offered with these hotel rooms.

After their 3rd night staying here, they announced abruptly they were moving, so I offered to credit them or family members for 4 nights towards a future trip.

Additionally, I reminded them that we have only been renting this guest house for a couple years now, and that we are making improvements to it often!

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Rustic Surf Camp

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We chose to stay with Ben because he offered great rates and had an excellent location in Avellanas. The accomodations are adequate and there is even satellite TV for those few days that Avellanas does not have a swell (very few and far between). Ben is a gracious and accomodating host who went to all lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable and most importantly enjoyable. His surf lessons were exceptional, my girlfriend literally went from limited experience in the ocean to catching her first waves in only two sessions with Ben. He is as good with intermediates as beginners and helped me to get past a plateau I've been stuck on for over a year! He also has an extensive selection of boards for those who are not in need of instruction, and has the best rates we found anywhere around. The beach access is close enough and the mangrove boardwalk is an interesting experience. I can't say enough about our stay, everything just fell into place perfectly, and it was an experience we won't ever forget. If you get the chance I highly recommend this little casita, and Ben, it's most gracious host/owner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great little surf getaway!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This place is a great little house with everything you need for a good surf vacation. It's close to the beach- short walk, and also close to yummy restaurants. Very cool wildlife around as well. The owner is super nice and accomodating, and hooked us up with great surfboards. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this place for a surf getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pura Vida and Shalom

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

This is a great place to rent for a short or long term visit. I rented the house for seven weeks just to get away, rest, relax and write. This place was perfect for just that. The house is a short walk to the beach as well as several restaurants and a small corner store. The house is perfect for beach living. Do not forget to make use of the two hammocks! You will find the place very peaceful and safe. (I came here alone and as a woman, I never felt unsafe.)

In addition, Ben is a great host. He is happy to accommodate any need. He is very knowledgeable about the local area and is extremely hospitable; arranging my transportation to and from the airport. In addition, Ben is a skilled surfer that not only offers lessons for the beginner but he also knows the local spots to surf. Be sure to just ask him for anything you might need or any questions you may have.

Puda Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Quiet and comfortable with cold a/c

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

If you're looking for a quiet, close to surf, house to spend some time then this is the place. The house was clean, the bed is comfortable and the A/C works great! The kitchen needs some counter/prep space but other than that it's fully functional. We did some of our own cooking but there are great restaurants close-by (ask Ben for recommendations). The house is bare-minimum but who needs much when you have the most beautiful beach just a close walk away. There were a few creature-comforts that were missed but Ben said it's a work in progress and will soon be added. Ben is a great host and he'll go out of his way to make sure you've got everything you need. One thing to remember, it is Costa Rica so make sure you're "nature" friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay for working and surfing everday

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

This is a nice rental that's an ideal location for surfing Avellanas. You have a choice of 2 different paths to take to the beach. Each takes about 10 minutes or so and will lead you to different areas of Avellanas. Unless you’re staying at Cabinas Las Olas, this is about a close as you can get to the surf.

The rental is a small house that has three rooms, though they’re not connected internally. The main room is nice with wall to wall tile, satellite tv, wireless internet, a very comfortable bed for Costa Rica (with nice sheets!), a couple of fans and A/C if you want it (I didn’t use it at all as the place stays quite cool). The bathroom is quite basic, but if you’re reading this you’re probably a surfer and don’t care about fancy bathrooms. The kitchen is also basic, but it’s clean and I cooked three meals a day without issue. I did bring my own blender, knife and cast iron pan for cooking though. Out front of the house there’s two nice hammocks and a sizeable yard for hanging out.

Ben’s a super nice guy who can answer any question you have about Avellanas or Tamarindo. He’s also a very knowledgeable about the surfing breaks, stores and locals. If you like dogs you’re in luck as he’s got two great ones. A big happy rottie and a very nice and sweet rhodesian ridgeback. This is country living so having a couple of big friendly dogs around the property is really great.

Aaron

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Very great place to spend a vacation! Nice living atmosphere and excellent surf out front!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review