reviews for: listing #294054vb - Los Suenos, Costa Rica rental

Official Site of El Castillo de Esparza - Luxury Mediterranean Villa
  • bedrooms  10
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  11
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 1,715 / night
    $ 19,495 / week
  • sleeps  30
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you !

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

I just wanted to let you know what a great time we had at your home last week. The home is so beautiful and the staff is incredible. What great food and great service! We really appreciate all that Hank and the rest of the staff did to make our stay so perfect! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful, amazing home with us for the week and providing us with such and great opportunity to share a perfect vacation with friends. With thanks, Tammie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I went to stay at the castle with a group of 10 people. We had such an amazing stay. We stayed for over a week. From the moment we landed at the airport we felt very accommodated by the castle and staff. There were so many activities at the castle. We would wake up and play tennis then use the pool to swim or start up a game of water volleyball with friends. There was also a separate pool near by which had a really fun water slide for any age. The castle also had a chipping green, giant chess game, and a hot tub. It was beautiful to sit and relax as well as swim up to the bar to be waited on by such wonderful, respectful, and helpful staff. They are there to ensure you have a great stay! The food was superb. Presentation and taste was impeccable. Every meal was fresh and enjoyable. The staff was very flexible with time and place with meals inside the castle. The staff recommended taking a trip the beach, zip line in the forest, and a crocodile tour. All were excellent recommendations and would recommend anyone else to do the same things. However, there are more activities outside the castle in which you can do! Overall, I am definitely coming back to the castle. Not only is there so many activities and the staff was wonderful, our stay had great value for our money spent. Well worth every cent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

No Better Place to Relax - Great Staff - Beautiful Historic Property - Plenty of Fun Things to Do

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

First let me share with you that the best way to book this wonderful property is directly with the owners as we did. This privately owned estate is managed flawlessly by Mr. Henry "Hank" Denzler; who made sure from our first inquiry that each of our visits would be exceptional.

We arrived at San Jose Int'l a little after noontime and emerged from customs to be greeted by Hank who had us loaded into the Castillo vans and on our way. It should be noted that Hank will arrange the commute by helicopter to the estate's helipad if you prefer.

We drove up the winding road to the front gate which opened to reveal El Castillo de Esparza which as you can see from the photographs is magnificent and really more impressive in person. Anna, the head of staff, opened the front door leading into the grand foyer where the entire staff of 10 were assembled to greet and welcome us with tall glasses of rum punch. Not a bad start to what was going to be a great 5 day retreat for 7 guys looking to escape and recharge.

Our group hails from across the USA and Europe. We are blessed with wives who encourage what we like to refer to as "The Global Economic Conference". The El Castillo de Esparza is easy for all of to reach with direct connections into San Jose from many hubs in the states.

After settling into our rooms - with 10 bedroom/suites spread through the main house and guest cottages, there is plenty of choice; we convened cocktail hour at the swim-up bar. The bartender and head waiter, Joshua, is quick to learn your preferences and invisibly attendant to your needs. Relaxing at the pool we began solving the global economic conundrum in earnest - the conference had begun!

At around 5PM we showered up and headed to the game room located on the open mezzanine in the main house to shoot a game of pool and enjoy Chef Minor's hors d'oeuvre offering. Dinner is served on the main outdoor portico deck looking out across the bay toward the bright orange setting sun.

The food served at El Castillo de Esparza is all delicious owing to both Chef Minor's knowledge of local sources of fresh everything! In the course of our visit we enjoyed numerous seafood dinners, local beef, incredible salads, grilled veggies, chilled soups and amazing desserts. Breakfast menu starts with fresh local fruit, fresh juice followed by your request to the chef for anything!

During our stay Hank arranged many excursions but we were always happy to return to our luxurious home base.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation with friends

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

El Castillo is amazing. From the minute we arrived, we were greeted with champagne and fabulous hors d'eouvres. The staff was attentive and helped us plan an amazing week. We went zip lining, croc tours and beach and saw crazy wildlife - the monkeys were the highlight.

The resort has a private pool and hot tub which is great if you just want to spend the day relaxing. We were even presented with lunch in the pool side patio. After lunch, we needed some exercise so we would venture to the waterslide.

There was never a lack of activities. One of our favorite parts of the day was having cocktails on the veranda as the sunset overlooking the ocean.

Can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extravagant Relaxation

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

I've visited the Castillo numerous times and upon every visit I wonder why i don't return more often. The staff and service is terrific and they are available for your convenience all the time. Food is upscale with the new kitchen, and amenities are top notch. The room villas are beautiful, and equal to if not better than the nicest hotels. You can design your own vacation with luxurious downtime on the Castillo grounds with poolside cabana/bar, or tour the countryside and enjoy the wildlife and many activities. It is literally a paradise for a large group of close family/friends to get away in total luxury and privacy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Escape

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

Wow what a wonderful escape and exotic property to spend 2 weeks in! We all had once in a lifetime (well, we will be back again) experience and spoiled ourselves rotten. But the staff, amenities and local area was mainly responsible for the spoiling, Polite, professional staff that were as attentive as we needed, facilities that truly made us not want to leave and accommodations that met every expectation.
We canopy zip lined at a nearby outfit and had a blast, explored local villages and towns, shopped local markets, toured coffee plantation. Spending time at the pool and lounging around decompressing were our favorite activities and the environment encourages that feeling. I personally have traveled to over 75 countries and this Castle and Costa Rica were superb experiences. Owners take great care in offering a stunning property, meeting all needs. Do it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

El Castillo de Esparza

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Our visit to El Castillo was an unforgettable experience from the moment we stepped foot off the plane. What makes El Castillo special is not only the ornate and meticulously decorated spaces, but the staff who works there. During our entire trip of seven days, the staff would drop everything and make accommodations to take us on our choice of excursions, even at the last minute. Everyone truly goes the extra mile to make your stay unforgettable. The drinks, the incredible food, the music, the company…they truly exceeded any expectations we had prior to our trip. The key is that the staff is detail-oriented. From the moment you awake, your curtains are drawn and fresh sheets are on the bed. Every morning a gorgeous breakfast would be waiting for us on the beautiful terrace overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Throughout the day, they oblige at any moment to make you a snack (we highly recommend the guacamole) or an alcoholic beverage. The dinners prepared by Chef Minor were absolutely phenomenal, consisting of three courses. We highly recommend Minor’s famous Azteca Soup, as it was unforgettable. As night falls, the bed is subsequently turned down and the curtains drawn. Day after day, no detail was looked over.

Not only are there several activities to keep you busy outside the castle (eg. Crocodile River Tours, exploring the Monkey Beach, Volcano view, etc.), but there are so many activities to do at the property. We could have spent all day playing volleyball in the pool, challenging each other to tennis tournaments, playing cards on the veranda, learning to play pool with a gorgeous view of the terrace framing the experience, or selecting a movie from hundreds of choices available in the home theater room.

El Castillo de Esparza is a true gem in the heart of Costa Rican activity. We will never forget the experience or the friends that we made on our celebratory adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fabulous vacation

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Castillo Esparza with a group of friends and can't say enough about the quality of the service, food and accomodations. Coming from the bleak Northeast in March we were greeted at the airport with smiles and cold drinks. From that moment we were in excellent hands with Hank and the Castillo staff. I would absolutely recommend it especially for families and groups of friends. It's a very special and beautiful property and offers a unique and unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Property, Great Location

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

This enormous estate is one of a kind! I was so lucky to find this very well maintained Castle in Costa Rica were all our dreams came true for our Family reunion of 30 people. The property manager and the staff were 5 star and helped us arrange from visiting the Volcanoes, to getting the best boat for our deep sea fishing excursions, golf, Zip lining and seeing the beautiful rainforest the country has to offer. But the best was all the activities on the property Carnival night, Bands, Tennis court, Spa treatments, Winding water slide (which all the kids and a few adults loved), golf, horseback riding and I could go on and on! The property includes a wonderful staff and a full-time chef "Minor" and helper that could cook anything for us breakfast, lunch and dinner. We loved his cooking so much we would rush back to the castle after touring for all the fresh fish he would cook and the desserts!!!! I recommend this property and there is no doubt in our minds that anybody who stays here will have a magical time whether it's two people or 30 people....Thanks you everyone at the Castillo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A word of caution....

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We stayed at Castillo de Esparza for week over New Year's (2011-2012) and had one of our best-ever family vacations. The grounds are well-manicured, the service staff was wonderful, the attention to detail by management was superb. Unfortunately, we learned when we didn't get our deposit back that the agent had spent our deposit and is currently awaiting indictment for wire and mail fraud by the FBI. The owner's position is that we dealt with the company that advertised his property at our peril, and he refused to stand good for our deposit. The owner has the property registered off-shore, so there is no recourse when the owner's agent is a thief.

Owners response: This is a very good reason why you should use VRBO. Deal with us directly. Now the facts.
Now the facts

We do not pay to advertise on their agents website. We pay to be on VRBO.
The agent is THEIR agent, not ours. THEY selected HIM. WE did not select or solicit the CLIENT.
The agent has put our property on his website under a totally different name.
The agent contacted us on the BEHALF of the Linebargers asking us to accept the rental.
We accepted the rental upon payment of a deposit but as of this date have never received a copy of the contract.
We WELCOMED them on arrival even though WE HAVE NOT BEEN PAID IN FULL AND REMAIN SO AS OF THIS WRITING.
WE DO NOT REQUIRE A SEPARATE DAMAGE DEPOSIT except under very special circumstances. For example someone wanting to bring a pet.
WE NEVER HAD CARE, CUSTODY OR CONTROL OF HIS DAMAGE DEPOSIT.
We had no knowledge the client had paid a damage deposit until the client informed us just before their departure !
In fact, it was our management that reminded the client via followup email after their departure to contact the agent for the refund of the deposit.
We have been working with the agent to get us made whole as well as this client.
The agent, at our insistence, has contacted the Linebargers to resolve the matter.
In the clients own words "THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN OUR BEST VACATION EVER........"

How do you have a property in a foreign country registered in the United States ? The inference is that our property being registered in Costa Rica is sinister...We are only following the law in Costa Rica.

To me, this clients complaint belongs on the website of the agent HE CHOSE....not on VRBO. What is his motive ? To harass us to pay him the money he lost when we HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH IT ? YOU BE THE JUDGE !

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

I will make plans to bring the family there again once I find the dates for M........ March Break 2012…I don’t know when it will be but we’ll be planning for a two week stay this time. Hopefully, we can get our request in before anyone else, as I doubt we’ll find a place as comfortable and people as welcoming as at El Castillo de Esparza.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Just to let you know, I am trying to book March 9th to 24th, 2012 !. My family is extremely excited and hopes that all the same staff will be there. Also, I have told a few friends, so you may see some of them over the next year.

I hope you are well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Thank you again for all your help while we were in Costa Rica. It was a fantastic experience.
Cheers,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

......I will let everyone know and we have fond memories of our recent stay. Our kids are very jealous that they were not here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We had a great time and appreciate your fine work of you both on behalf of our family. Henry and his team are topnotch and we enjoy working with them. Henry and I spoke daily and I knew that you were in terrific hands.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2007

"...Henry, I wanted to again pass along our thanks and compliments to you and your staff for the outstanding experience we had in Costa Rica. It was truly a first class vacation. Nicole and I talk often of The Castle and have the greatest hope we will be able to visit you again. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2008

"...Just wanted to say thanks for the news letter. I came with the A.K. crew last July (we hired the band) and it was BY FAR the best vacation we ever had...short but sweet. I will be back soon. "
"...Glen and I can't thank you, Anna and the staff enough. You went over and beyond any of our expectations. Everything was wonderful from the food to the service"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2008

"...Just wanted to see if you all miss us as much as we miss you!! We had a wonderful time. You have a terrific staff and we greatly appreciated everything they did. We are getting together May 17 for a picture/video party to relive it all. Give my best to everyone. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

"...We sure enjoyed our stay with you. Sam's bow and arrows made it home in one piece and is now hanging on his bedroom wall. Thanks for packing it so nicely."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

" ...I hope that someday we will return to the Castillo. We all had such a memorable time. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

"...A quick note to thank you very much for last week. We had a wonderful time and we love El Castillo. As ever you were a wonderful host and the staff were all very attentive. I only gained two pounds despite the best efforts of Chef!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review