reviews for: listing #29421 - Seven Springs, Pennsylvania House rental

Falling Timber (Reeds Cabin Rental)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $287 - $725 /nt
    $795 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Falling Timbers was fun

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Weather: Varied from 30's to 50's (but it didn't matter because it was still fun)

Guests: Maddy,Nee,Stu,Pri,Chits, Trups - from Michigan (Troy-Lansing)

What we did: Visited Pitts downtown - hiked at Kooser State Park, cook alot of pictures, went crazy in our rental car with alot of music, Sat in the hot tub outside Reeds Cabin, and had beers, talked about alot of interested things, tried to play sping the bootle in the hut tub.

Who we met:A carnivorous plant at Kooser, T.o.y; Deer (dead & alive) ; centipede; spider (in the bathroom); wild rat

Projects/chores: Making the bed, making tea, finding toothbrush, home slippers, brushing together, forgetting t.o.y at home, taking lots of pictures, cleaning the place, making noodles, laundry

Favorite moments/highlights: Driving in the fog to Reeds cabin, finally the place, sitting in the living room with friends and watching movies, laughing at night, seeing our pictures of the whole day, sitting in the hot tub, drinking beer, LOVED THIS PLACE!!

Notes: To anyone who reads this... This place rocks, Will definetly come back againa in the summer, Reeds... Thank you, We had to get away from the Mighigan weather and Enjoy Life Outside!!! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Week of fun

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Weather: Good! Rainy for a couple of days

Guests: Seniors from George Mason University in Fairfax VA

What we did: Flip cup, hot tub, scary moview, walmart! Flie and monkey golf!

Whoe we met: BEAR! @ 9:30 Saturday! He knocked over one of the garbage cans! AHHH

Favorite moments: HOT TUB, Skiing + snowboarding

Notes: Drain got clogged on last night

We loved the cabin. It was perfect for our last Spring Break! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing weekend with friends and family!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

Weather: in the 40's and rainy.

What we did: Watched movies, loved the Hot Tub, Skiing at Seven Springs, heating up by the fire, and just had fun and relaxed.

Who we met: Not many (Hybernation)

Projects/chores: Built a fire with wet wood

Favorite moments / special highlights (fun): Hanging with the family in the woods. Also seven springs.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Falling Timbers Cabin Rental

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

On the website (Vacation Rental and Reeds Cabin rentals) the description and pictures were inviting. On your website it stated the cabin was completely remodeled.

To be quite honest, I and my family were very disappointed. I have rented cabins and chalets in the past, and have experiences in doing so. I was embarrassed when my family arrived to find that the carpet in the family room was extremely worn and dirty with a bare spot in front of the couch. There were cob webs hanging from parts of the fireplace and extremely dusty. The description stated a plasma TV and I had assumed that there was either cable or satellite reception to receive at least basic channels. My brother-in-laws were upset to find out that was not the case and missed some of the Thanksgiving sports games. The bedroom in the back also had a bare spot in front of the dresser.

The area transitioning from the family room to the hallway poses a hazard. Many of the individuals (because of the tile) did not realize there was a step and as a result tripped and went flying landing on their knees or elbows (4 individuals went flying and hit pretty hard). You may want to consider some type of tape or something to differentiate the step. The bay windows show extreme signs of wood rot and a lot of cold air could be felt coming through the windows.

The rear patio was filled with leave and debris, so it was not so inviting. In addition to placing the garbage in the bins, the smell of a dead raccoon in one of them was very nauseating.

The worst problem was the mice infestation. I know this is in the woods, however other rentals I have had in the past did not have an issue with mice infestation. I did not expect extra company for our Thanksgiving meal and became extremely paranoid about leaving any type of food out on the counters.

However, even though the cabin rental is need of much TLC, I did ensure that everything, was clean and neat upon my departure.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfection in Pennsylvania

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Had an amazing time at this cabin. It's beautiful and perfectly located. The owners were awesome and catered to our every need. Would totally reccomend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fun in the mountains!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

I live and work in the city of Pittsburgh and to find such a gem of a place only an hour away is fantastic. Me and my girlfriend traveled here for the weekend and just enjoyed the mountain! The cabin is spectacular, clean, COMFORTABLE, and roomy! The open kitchen makes for great entertaining. On our trip we just relaxed, enjoyed building fires, taking hikes, and there is something about watching a movie in the mountains that is just so relaxing. Also this cabin has the a movie selection!

I would recommend this cabin to anyone! Plenty of room for large groups and finally I know I will be back, here is just so much to do up there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding in the area. I was so pleasantly surprised by how nice everything was at the house. I have stayed in several rental properties over the years and this was by far one of the nicest. It seems like you are out in the wilderness when you are sitting on the deck but when you go inside you have everything that you would normally have at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A great laurel mountain escape!!!

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Falling Timber was a wonderful home away from home for a weekend escape with friends! We enjoyed the clean, homey atmosphere, as well as the ample room for all ten of my friends. We also enjoyed visiting Seven Springs, which was only about a 20-minute drive. Another highlight of the area is Glade's Pike Winery. We took a drive there to sample the wines and great atmosphere. We mostly enjoyed hanging out in the cabin, where we were able to hang out on the spacious deck, build a campfire, and enjoy the clear mountain air! We will definitely return! Thanks for your kind hospitality Krista & Russ!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review