reviews for: listing #29428 - Stockholm, Wisconsin House rental

Historic TansyHus in Scenic Village of Stockholm
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village of Stockholm
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $210 - $500 /nt

sort by:

4th of July stay with family

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Tansy Hus is a great destination for enjoying the Wisconsin side of the Mississippi. Stockholm is a tiny but vibrant and interesting town, and Tansy Hus sits right off the main drag. The house is comfortably updated with plenty of room to move around-- we used it as a hangout place as family and friends came to visit in the area and everyone enjoyed the charm and modern amenities. The owner, Sandra, is easily reachable for questions/concerns and took care of everything we needed during our stay. Highly recommend Tansy Hus for family get-togethers and as a jumping-off point for enjoying this part of WI!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: The TansyHus in the tiny Village of Stockholm is ideal for several generations. There is ample space and bedroom privacy for all. The generous dining room adjacent to the well stocked kitchen and sitting room offers a place to gather. There is great access to Lake Pepin within an easy walk from the front door. For visitors eager to get out on the water, a sail boat rental from the Marina in Pepin is suggested. The Lake is beautiful with rolling bluffs and vistas to the Minnesota shoreline.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't have been more perfect!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Eight of us stayed at TansyHus for a girlfriends' weekend. Turned out that we picked the weekend of the annual Fresh Art Tour, which made it all the better! We were all so at home here! The house was well beyond our expectations, and immaculately clean and homey. Sandra has thought of every detail. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at TansyHus and had a wonderful time on the art tour and perusing the shops of Stockholm and the surrounding villages. I hope to return next year with my sister and nieces!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: TansyHus named for a prolific yellow flower and hus, is house in Swedish, is in the heart of the tiny, picturesque village of Stockholm, WI on The Great River Road. The village is within 1 1/2 hrs drive from the Twin cities and an hour from Rochester, MN. The 1904 structure, built by the village blacksmith, has recently been upgraded. The home sleeps 8 guests and is available by a 2 night minimum.

The Fresh Art tour takes place in May and again in early October. The 3 day event spans a 50 mile radius and all within a 45 minute drive from TansyHus.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Historic TansyHus in Scenic Village of Stockholm

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We had a girls getaway weekend. There were eight of us. The home was lovely with many amenities. The beds were ALL very comfortable. TansyHus is located in a very quiet and private location, but is still only a couple of blocks away from the shops in the community. We went the weekend of the Art Tour on the third weekend in May. The Tour was wonderful, and we would strongly recommend it.
The Stockholm Pie Company pie is wonderful with every type of pie that you can imagine--even great chicken pot pies--which are frozen and you can bring home or to TansyHus to bake.
We enjoyed looking in the shops in Stockholm as well as some shops in Maiden Rock.
We also went to Wabasha to the Eagle Center. There was plenty to keep us busy all weekend.
TansyHus is the perfect place to allow you to slow down a bit, put your feet up, and reflect on where you are at this point in your life. So, hurry, get your reservation made RIGHT NOW. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

TansyHus was perfect....

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

TansyHus was just perfect to celebrate a recent family gathering. We enjoyed the flow of the space in this house, plus the beauty of the setting in Stockholm. I think we all came away from the weekend with a renewed sense of family and togetherness. No question that TansyHus contributed to this feeling.

This 110-year-old house has been beautifully restored. We appreciated the many efforts Sandra has made and will continue to make TansyHus a prime destination. The kitchen in TansyHus is the most fully equipped kitchen I have ever experienced in a rental home. The three bedrooms are warm and inviting. All the rooms are just as wonderful to “live in” as they appear on the website.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The recent upgrades to TansyHus surely contributed to this 'sparkling review'. I cannot take full responsibility for the house and improvements. My husband, John Myklebust, licensed architect and lighting designer's attention to detail has been and will continue to play a big role in the upgrades. Future guests are sure to appreciate the outdoors even more. The next project focuses on the landscaping. The natural beauty of The Great River Road is sure to bring our guests back for future visits.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days at Tansyhus and were very pleased with our stay. We had never rented a home before and were a bit nervous about what to expect. Tansyhus was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. This was our home base as we ventured out on the Great River Road Wine Trail. The place was a perfect romantic getaway and would be fantastic for a Girls Weekend. Many thanks to the owner and those who maintain the home for making it so comfortable and inviting. We hope to return one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

TansyHus stay in August 2012

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

The house is lovely. Four bedrooms are well equipped. House description describes one bedroom as an "attached sleeping porch". That is a lovely room that is a separate bedroom and will allow for full privacy for anyone who stays in that room.

The house is well equipped with plenty of towels, pillows and blankets as well as lots of chairs and cusions for enjoying the front porch. The kitchen has everything you will need to cook all of the meals during your stay.

Easy to find and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the bar that is in Stockholm.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

pleasant stay

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

My family and I stayed there while in Pasadena for a wedding. The cottage was very comfortable and unbelievable close to everything. The owner was very pleasant, easy to work with and very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

TansyHus, Many Thoughtful Touches

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

"What a sweet, snug, comfortable home. TansyHus clearly has been renovated with love by people with great taste and style. And like any good Swedish house, its kept neat as a pin and clean as a whistle. Thoughtful touches abound-like hooks everywhere you'd need them, a cupboard full of teas, and a kitchen better equipped than my own. The location was ideal, I'd wander down the hill to shop or dine, then return to the quiet front porch to read and watch the yellow swallowtails cruise past. TansyHus was lovely for a solo vacation but I couldn't help imagining what fun it would be to come back for a long weekend with my sweetie or a group of girlfriends."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning Guests Comments

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

We look forward to returning again in 2010. Your home has woven itself into the lives that my daughter's and daugher-in-law share. TansyHus is an especially lovely and inviting atmosphere.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review