reviews for: listing #29483 - Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario House rental

Casablanca Cottage in the heart of old town
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (CAD) $400 - $550 /nt
    $1,300 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Want a getaway in a charming, cozy, clean, comfortable, colorful cottage where only a 2 minute walk provides access to great restaurants, theaters, unique shops? Well, you can't go wrong with Casablanca Cottage.

My husband and I just completed a snowy, beautiful month's stay that included the Christmas holidays. We couldn't have been more content. Fully stocked with any and all amenities, owner Don George is a hands on guy. Problem, question, his response is immediate and unobtrusive. He truly cares. He even decorated the cottage for the holidays, an added bonus.

There is an ample supply of videos, books, and a charming fireplace that adds to the character and charm. The warm colors and attention to details reveal owners who take pride in their accommodation. The furnishings are perfectly appropriate and plentiful. We immediately felt at home.

Our only regret was that the winter weather did not allow us to take advantage of the porches, deck, and delightful garden.

I can't imagine anyone who would be unhappy with this delightful home.

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I think you hit all of the high points, Very close to stores and restaurants, cozy and comfortable for winter stays, fun outdoor spaces for summer vacations. I hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Want a getaway in a charming, cozy, clean, comfortable, colorful cottage where only a 2 minute walk provides access to great restaurants, theaters, unique shops? Well, you can't go wrong with Casablanca Cottage.

We just completed a snowy, beautiful month's stay that included the Christmas holidays. We couldn't have been more content. Fully stocked with any and all amenities, owner Don George is a hands on guy. Problem, question, his response is immediate and unobtrusive. He truly cares. He even decorated the cottage for the holidays, an added bonus.

There is an ample supply of videos, books, and a charming fireplace that adds to the character and charm. The warm colors and attention to details reveal owners who take pride in their accommodation. The furnishings are perfectly appropriate and plentiful. We immediately felt at home.

Our only regret was that the winter weather did not allow us to take advantage of the porches, deck, and delightful garden.

I can't imagine anyone who would be unhappy with this delightful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

What a wonderful weekend! There were 8 of us girls staying at Casablanca Cottage. The house was cozy and warm and perfectly located for all of our activities. On Friday night, the street in front of the house was full of people enjoying the annual Candlelight Stroll. A makeshift bandstand featured jazzy holiday singers just two doors down. On Saturday, we attended the Holiday House Tour and 5 of the beautiful homes were within easy walking distance.

The house itself is colorfully decorated, with plenty of comfy seating and bedding. The kitchen was well stocked with pots,pans ad utensils, which we put to good use for Saturday dinner and Sunday breakfast.

While the wintry weather kept us inside, we all wish we could return to enjoy the spacious front porch and rear garden - spectacular in the warm months, I'm sure!

All-in-all, a perfect vacation rental in picturesque Niagara on the Lake.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. As you mentioned the house is 1/2 block from Queen street so it is hard to get any closer to activities in old town. We decorated both of our houses in a style that we enjoy (I own Marrakech Mansion as well) the bright yellow (Peach butter from Para) is the main paint colour in both rental houses and our own home. The beds are mostly new and the Winter Duvets from Ikea are warm. I change the duvets in summer to a lighter weight. When you rent vacation home you should expect it to be clean, well equipped and comfortable, all things I try hard to achieve.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casablanca Cottage in NOTL!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Don, Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your fabulous Casablanca Cottage! It is a lovely home; impeccably kept and decorated. I was never a big fan of yellow, but I am now! And of course how can I leave out "Location, location, location!"? Just a short block from beautiful Queen Street and another short distance to Queen's Royal Park on Lake Ontario. I miss my daily early morning stroll to the gazebo, followed by breakfast on the cottage's front porch. The photos and the reviews certainly set our expectations high and The Cottage exceeded them all! We fell deeply in love with Niagara on the Lake. It is definitely one of the prettiest towns we have ever seen and the people were warm and friendly. Surrounded by wineries and just a short drive to Niagara Falls, it is truly difficult to beat. We are definitely planning on returning next year and making NOTL regular destination. Thanks again,
The Val T. Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. Clean is high on my list of priorities, we stay in Vacation Rental properties around the world and clean is important to us when we book so we know it is important to people who book my houses. The location of both of my houses (I own Marrakech Mansion as well) is within a block of Queen street where the restaurant's and theatres are located. The grocery store is a a block from both houses and as mentioned in the review Queens Royal Park and the Gazebo is an easy walk. I am of course happy that you enjoyed our town and found the people friendly. We would love to see you return to Niagara on the Lake for a future visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Who says you can't go home again!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

I grew up in this house. Three years ago, I booked Casablanca for my two sisters brother and our spouses. It was great to be together for a whole weekend at our old home from which we have so many wonderful memories. Our mother comes for day visits. Don has done an incredible job with the house. It is bright and clean and fully stocked with everything one needs. Being only a block from the main street, no driving is necessary. We are always happy when we arrive and sad when we have to leave, but we always make sure to book again for the coming year. Thanks to Don for running such a first class establishment. We would recommend Casablanca to anyone. Who says you can't go home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This family owned the house for over 20 years, so having endorsement is especially important to me. The house has lots of windows all of which open and have screens. In my view a cottage must have windows that open so that you can enjoy the fresh summer air and hear the sounds of the town including the horse drawn carriages that often pass the house. The location as mentioned is perfect, you are in the heart of the historic district yet away from the crowds of Queen street. I am happy and proud to be able to look after this great house so that previous owners and the many guests can return year after year to enjoy the town and Casablanca cottage. Note: They have booked for 2014

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring in NOTL

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Spending a weekend each spring at Casablanca Cottage in Niagara on the Lake has become an annual get together for ourselves and two other couples. We just finished our third year in a row. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed the location and the property starting with the barbeque on Friday evening and our brunch on Sunday morning. The location is perfect and the only thing you have to bring is a suitcase.

Looking forward to next year already!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thank you Bob for your review. I love to hear of people enjoying their stay in Casablanca Cottage. I own the house and my Wife and I like to decorate it and keep it in the condition we keep our own home. We love to stay in it and are grateful that others enjoy it as much as we do. I look forward to seeing you and your friends again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway Home!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We were looking to spend some time away from the city. And have just returned from a wonderful trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake and had a great stay at the Casablanca Cottage! The cottage has everything you need, Don does a wonderful job of having it equipt. We had our 8 month old son so we were very happy with how well kept and clean Casablanca is. It was a great to put our son down for naps or for bedtime and just relax by the fire (to read or go on the fast internet) or one of us would go for a walk on the main street (which is just a block over!) or if we wanted some country feel we would walk the other direction into the quiet neighborhood. When he was up we had all the shops, park, and the waterfront to explore. Both of us had a spa treatment to top it off! We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely be returning!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your review. You have experienced what Niagara on the Lake is all about. Quiet walks, interesting shops and all of it within a block or two of Casablanca cottage. When you next visit be sure to ask me about the discount available at Sanctuary Spa. We worked out a deal this week where guests at my houses will receive a $20.00 discount at the newest Spa in town and it is only a block away from the house. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I welcome you back anytime.
Don George Home owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casablanca , Niagara on the Lake

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Casablanca Cottage was a wonderful place for our group of 5 women (who have known each other for more than 40 years). We wanted a clean, appealing place which would provide comfortable seating both inside and so that we could sit and talk and where we could easily walk to shopping, restaurants and the theatres. Casablanca met all of our expectations and then some. We all agreed that we would definitely recommend it to friends!

Nancy

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Nancy: I strive to make the home fun and enjoyable for all who stay. I have help from great cleaning people who look after the house like it was their own. Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you and your friends again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful cottage!

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

We stayed at Casablanca for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Everything was comfy, cozy, and convenient. Visited a winery, golfed at the oldest course in North America, and even drove to Toronto for the day. And of course we visited the falls. Very nice to come back to this comfy home each evening in such a quaint and picturesque town.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casablanca Cottage

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We have been here twice and have certainly enjoyed our stays both times. The house is clean neat and tidy with very comfortable beds and couches,and very conveniently located for shopping and the theatres,yet far enough back to be nice and quietfor sleeping.
For a few days we had two of our young grandchildren staying with us .We took them on a horse and buggy ride ending at the front of the house and they thought Bert was a neat horse. My husband enjoyed cooking on the top rated Weber barbecue in the back garden We would certainly recommend this home.


Sharon and Ian

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casablanca cottage

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

We stayed at Casablanca cottage for a week in July 2011. We loved it! The weather was fablous, and sitting out on the front deck was great. We loved the quiet neighbourhood and the people were great. The property is only a few blocks from the centre of NOTL with lots of quaint shops and good restaurants. The cottage was decorated with taste and care, as well as the yard. A comfortable house where you and your family can feel at home. Thanks so much for an unforgettable week, I'd recommend this rental to anybody!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Cleanest House on the Block

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

Don George has done an outstanding job making a "cottage" into
a cozy relaxing place to stay. Location, location, location...it's one block
from "the strip", and reasonably priced!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Peaches: When we go on vacation and rent a home, clean is the first thing we see. It is important to us so we know it is important to you. Our goal is always to have a clean inviting property for you to stay in and hopefully return to and tell others about. Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Place in Town

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

We have been going to NOTL for the past five years for the Shaw Theatre Festival, which is by far one of the best theatre companies in North America. Each year we admired the Casablanca Cottage from the street but, due to no availabilities, we stayed in other houses. This time we arranged our visit so that we could stay here. And, the Casablanca Cottage exceeded my already high expectations. It is simply lovely. There are ample places to sit and relax both inside and out. The yard is peaceful and beautifully landscaped. The kitchen has all the right appliances (even a blender). The shower has excellent water pressure and the beds are very comfortable. And, of course, you can walk (2--5 minutes) to all three theatres as well as restaurants, shopping and the lake. In my opinion, Casablanca Cottage is THE PLACE to stay!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Party of 5 - Casablanca

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Casablanca; Perfect location to the the quaint village of Niagara on the Lake. Casablanca is located within a 3-7 minute walk to to shops, shaw festival, grocery market, and lake, yet still in a very quiet residential area. This heritage home has been decorated in vibrant colours with beautiful imported moroccan pieces. Cozy up to a good book (their are lots to choose from in the personal library), watch the horse dawn carriages or visitors pass by on your old fashion veranda. House is very clean and provides everything you will need to prepare your own meals. Don, the owner was very friendly and great to deal with. We all had a great time and would recommend Casablanca for your stay in Niagara on the lake vacation.

Amenities; 4/5
Location; 5/5
Cleanliness; 5/5

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation in NOTL

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

We stayed at the Casablanca Cottage for a week, we really enjoyed our vacation. first of all the location of the house is near everything shopping restaurant Queen St, theater don't need your car. The area is quiet and nature is beautiful. Now the cottage, you will stay in an old house nicely decorated and scrupulously clean. You will not regret your stay

Nous avons séjourné une semaine à la résidence Casablanca à Niagara on the Lake, son emplacement géographique au coeur du quartier historique fait en soi son charme de part sa verdure et ses immenses arbres. Le quartier est tranquille et tout les services sont disponibles à distance de marche, boutique restaurant théâtre. La résidence comme telle est typique de l'époque mais fort bien entretenue, la propreté est exemplaire vous ne regretterez pas votre choix

Pierre and Sonia from Quebec city

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a find!

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

What a great place for a peaceful but comfortable getaway weekend! The cottage is charming and roomy, is fully stocked with everything you'd need, and the exterior porch and back gardens are truly delightful. It was a wonderful place for five women to rest, relax and forget the business of the big city!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casablanca Cottage

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

We have been coming to this cottage for many years and we plan to keep coming back. The cottage is a perfect mix of a beautiful, historical, period house from the early 1800s with all of the modern conveniences you would expect.

The cottage is always clean and fully appointed. We have never lacked for anything. It is a short walk to the grocery store and all of the fantastic shopping that Niagara on the Lake is famous for, but just far enough off of the busiest areas to ensure a quiet and tranquil stay. The walking down the quite streets is so refreshing.

We stay here with 3 couples and have lots of room and privacy. Stay here if you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable and refreshing time "away from it all".

I highly recommend this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

We just returned from our fourth visit to the Casablanca. In addition to the great location, the Casablanca is always well stocked, super clean and neat. Don is an honest person and does an exceptional job in keeping everything looking great inside and outside, as well as everything being functional. He seems to think of everything!!! We look forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casablanca Cottage

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

A little piece of heaven in Southern Ontario.....stayed here for the last 5 years and we are still comming back....front porch in the evening....BBQ for supper each day....grounds and cottage clean and well kept....beds comfortable....cooking needs and appliances all available....heat or a/c as required....TV, DVD and books great for the quiet times....walk everywhere....a perfect location for a vacation in the Niagara region

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casablanca Cottage

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

My group has stayed at Casablanca cottage for about 5 years in a row--love the location-walking distance to all theaters and shopping. Each year the cottage gets some updating and additional amenities--we love the ability to cook complete meals and still make the theater times. Outdoor living is very nice with the porch to view the passing walkers and carriages and the backyard cooking and dining area makes for relaxing evenings. the basement bath is tight, but adds to the charm of the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review