reviews for: listing #29492 - Imperial Beach, California Condo rental

Luxurious Condo with Unobstructed Beach Front Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Imperial Beach Club
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

Perfection

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We were delighted with our stay at the condo. Everything was immaculate upon our arrival, and we enjoyed all the small details provided. We used the games, sand toys, beach chairs and wetsuits, as well as the well-stocked kitchen. The pool and hot tub are heavenly, after a beach day in the cold Pacific! We also loved the grills set up near the pool. Our favorite places are Seacoast Pizza, right down the street, and Cowabunga, at the pier. Thank you for such a wonderful, relaxing stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We, too, are delighted to provide this wonderful vacation spot. We continue to receive positive feedback and return guests. We are inspired to attend to the detailsthat make this vacation home the very best it can be. We encourage those who find this property to be our guests. Pamela and Neil Nevills

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our Family

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This was the perfect place for our family to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday and have a family reunion. The Condo was decorated nice and all the rooms were clean and the beds comfy. We had everything we needed. My Mom, daughter and I enjoyed being at the condo more than going to the attractions (Sea World, Zoo). But, everything we needed to go to was not too far away. I enjoyed watching dolphins and pelicans. We also enjoyed the pool and collecting shells on the beach. The BBQ grills came in handy several times. It was safe and had an elevator for my mom. I definitely want to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very pleased first-timers!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our family has carried on a tradition that has continued for generations now - to visit the California coast for Summer Vacation. We've revisited some beach locations for more than 10 years. We decided to take a chance; to make a change. As first-time visitors to Imperial Beach and renters of this condo, we were completely satisfied with this choice we made. All agreed that it couldn't have been better. As others have commented, the condo is fantastic. I almost hesitate to state that in order to keep it a secret. But our hosts were great, considerate of our needs, and made the process simple. We all enjoyed the combination of amenities, from the clean beach with nearby pier and jetties, to the oasis-like swimming pool area with jacuzzi and more. Nearby parks, restaurants, etc. added plenty of enjoyment during our visit. It was a calming, relaxing week at the beach. We all agreed and repeated many times, “I think we have a new favorite.” This is our new favorite place to continue our family tradition. Thanks again to our hosts!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always appreciate guests who take time to complete a review. And, we certainly hope these guests will return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very pleased first-timers!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our family has carried on a tradition that has continued for generations now - to visit the California coast for Summer Vacation. We've revisited some beach locations for more than 10 years. We decided to take a chance; to make a change. As first-time visitors to Imperial Beach and renters of this condo, we were completely satisfied with this choice we made. All agreed that it couldn't have been better. As others have commented, the condo is fantastic. I almost hesitate to state that in order to keep it a secret. But our hosts were great, considerate of our needs, and made the process simple. We all enjoyed the combination of amenities, from the clean beach with nearby pier and jetties, to the oasis-like swimming pool area with jacuzzi and more. Nearby parks, restaurants, etc. added plenty of enjoyment during our visit. It was a calming, relaxing week at the beach. We all agreed and repeated many times, “I think we have a new favorite.” This is our new favorite place to continue our family tradition. Thanks again to our hosts!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Home Away from Home...Only Better

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We have been fortunate to call this beautiful So. California penthouse our summer vacation home for nearly ten years; and every year is better than the last.

It is hard for our family (and best friends) to tear ourselves away from the great view stretching from San Diego and Coronado to Mexico and everything in between. Starting with our morning coffee on the balcony, to the clean family beach below, to the amazingly brilliant, colorful sunsets, there is nowhere else we want to be.

The top floor, corner condo is very clean, comfortable and accommodating; big, beautiful couches, a game/dining table with reclining chairs, breakfast bar,a kitchen filled with anything you could need, wonderful beds and best of all, the constant sound of the ocean waves accompanied by the amazing view. The kids love the pool and the jacuzzi is a favorite of all of ours. The big decision of the day is whether or not we go to the beach first or the pool and jacuzzi.

It is nice to know that when we stay, we don't need to bring beach towels, chairs etc. because there are plenty there. We also use the barbecue grills when we're not out at our favorite local spots like Katy's downstairs for coffee, the Tin Fish out on the pier (a few steps down the beach), Jersey Boy's diner and of course the pizza, Thai food, Greek and Mexican food. And what's a day at the beach without homemade icecream from Cow-a-bunga?

Through the years I've recommended this large, corner penthouse to family and friends who now won't stay anywhere else. Leaving "our home away from home" is pretty diffucult each year. The only thing that makes us feel better, is when we have the reservation made for our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so pleased to have return guests, and especially thankful when they love our place as we do. What more could I say? This is a better promotion than I could write myself.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

I'm still talking about it!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

My best-friend and I went to this amazing condo to be able to have a girls week-end away. I absolutely loved everything about the condo. My bedroom opened right up to the beach and the bed was the coziest bed I'd ever slept in and I slept so comfortably listening to the waves all night long! I woke early each morning, made a pot of coffee and sat on the corner balcony, watching the surfers and just enjoying the serenity of it. The condo itself had absolutely everything we would have ever wanted! I loved the bathrooms and bedrooms and felt like I was always being pampered!

We took walks on the beach several times a day and spent hours looking for shells and sand dollars and walking up the pier.

We loved the nearby coffee shop and enjoyed their breakfast and tea almost every morning. The people there were so relaxed and friendly and we were able to lounge and talk there without feeling rushed.

We really enjoyed the nearby spa as well. I got a manicure and pedicure and my best friend had a massage. We were both treated to a glass of wine and the prices were comprable to what I'd pay in Denver!

We had so much fun using the hot tub and soaked every evening we were there. This condo is set up for people who want to spend time together talking, reading and just plain relaxing. We cooked two meals easily and then enjoyed a yummy meal at the thai place across the street!

I talk about this vacation often and when I need to slow down and relax, I think about sitting on the balcony listening and watching the ocean! I really hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Great 3 bedroom penthouse with all the comforts of home. Great views! - Floor-to-ceiling windows and balcony directly overlooking the beach. Has all the amenities you would expect, plus much more (beach equipment, toys, games, etc.) My 20+ year old kids and 2 year old granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Away from the crowds and congestion of the more "popular" beaches directly north, yet only 10-20 minutes away from all the San Diego attractions. We look forward to returning again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate our guests who take time to provide an unsolicited review of our beach home. We aim to keep the standard that our guests tell us they enjoy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation ever

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This was absolutely the best vacation our family has had. The pictures do not do justice to the unit. While the deck is on the corner of the facility and looks northwest out over the ocean, the floor to ceiling windows across the large living area face directly west - a nonstop view of the waves all week long.

We were also very pleased with how large and open the rooms felt. With a large family, we never felt cramped or crowded during the times we were in the condo. It is also newer and more modern than many beachfront properties. Less than half way through our stay, the whole family was making plans for a return visit next year.

The location and amenities also allowed us to save money. We took an obligatory trip to SeaWorld, but with the beach right downstairs, no one in the family was wanting to give up beach time to go to other amusement locations. In addition, aside from ordering in pizza once (Giant Pizza King feeds an army), this was our first trip where the kitchen was more than adequate and allowed us to not eat out once the entire week. Plus we were able to barbecue in the common area down by the pool.

We cannot recommend this rental highly enough. Thank you for sharing this fabulous location for our family to make memories that will last a lifetime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled when we learn how much guests enjoy our beach home. It is nice to know our desire to maintain the condo and to continually update the ammenities is appreciated by our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for Family Togetherness

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

This was the perfect place for our family of two seniors and a busy mom on her Spring Break with a 2 year old son and a 5 year old daughter. We had lazy hours on the beach hunting sand dollars and shells, playing in the sand and shallow surf, and kite-flying during the morning and evenings. We enjoyed our mornings with coffee watching dolphins, brown pelicans( seems a hundred were resting in one spot out in the ocean at one time), surfers, and other birds. Lifeguards routinely patrol the beach for safety altho we never let the kids out alone (they were too young and we wanted to enjoy the sand, too). The playground next to the condo was a fun place for the children. It was too bad our son-in-law could not accompany us on the trip for he would have loved being able to surf every morning just steps from the property.
During the day we had so many actvities and places to choose from but decided on the San Diego Zoo (who can resist the pandas),the fabulous Birch Aquarium in La Jolla (never saw a wolf eel or purple-striped jellyfish before), and the New Children's Museum near the waterfront in San Diego. This was a favorite of the children and I would highly recommend it if you have children 2-11.
We would have returned a second time to Pt. Loma Seafoods for outstanding squid sandwiches and ceviche if we had time. The smoked salmon is "to die for" and we bought some to take back for our snack with glasses of wine in the evening. Jalisco's Mexican Restaurant near the 15 Freeway on Palm Avenue on the way out from the condo came highly recommended by a longtime Imperial Beach resident but, alas, we had no time.
The condo was wonderful and equipped with everything we needed. We especially liked having the washer and dryer. The bathrooms were spacious and modern. This three-bedroom condo had so much room it was like being in a home and not a rental.
Thank you so much for a wonderful family-time together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation home to forget what day it is.

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

This condo was beautiful and spacious. We had a great view of the coast. The condo was clean and inviting. We felt at home right away. Our kids loved it. We were able to get down to the beach with just a short walk thru the complex. It was quiet and relaxing... just what we needed. We were centrally located for family to come and visit, enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant down stairs too. We were able to visit SeaWorld, the USS Midway via a Harbor Cruise from Coronado, Tijuana Estuary, and Balboa Park with just a sort drive. Imperial Beach is a quiet community that has lots of neat shops and restaurants too. We hope to make it a annual family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased others are able to enjoy this relatively unknown beach community and relax at the beach home, which is very special place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

The view was breathtaking, the condo was lovely and the area was safe. The condo had everything, we only brought our clothes and food. The kitchen was very modern with a breakfast bar and new appliances including a dishwasher. There was a separate table with chairs for dining. Everything you would need to cook and serve a perfect meal. The living area was comfortable with 2 large sofas, small tables and a large screen tv. The best part is that all this overlooks the beach with floor to ceiling windows that allows a perfect ocean view from anywhere in the kitchen or living area. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable with great bedding and closets...especially the master bedroom with a lovely bathroom and walk-in closet. It was very quiet inside the condo although you could hear your neighbors when they closed their outside doors. Much more quite than hotels! It was perfect and we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate being able to offer our beach home for others to enjoy. And, we want our guests to feel at home and enjoy this beautiful place as much as we do. It is reassuring to know that the efforts we put into making the condo comfortable, up to date, and accommodating are appreciated by others. Pamela

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review