reviews for: listing #29508 - Biddeford Pool, Maine House rental

Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,300 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

Not as advertised

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My family and my brother's family rented this property in August. We rented through vrbo,.com, but the owner removed the listing from the site, so I couldn't leave a review there.

We have rented in BP for 10 years and have never paid so much for so little. The house was as advertised from a space perspective, but in our opinion, the condition was not as expected. The house was not clean, and was in disrepair, according to our standards.

As always we had a wonderful time in BP, thank goodness, the weather was impeccable, so that we could be outdoors all the time.

We did contact the owner with our complaints, who said our opinion was subjective and promised a refund of some sort, which we never received. They say that they had surveyed the other summers' tenants who had great things to say about the property. Perhaps they didn't survey the person above.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Access, Easy Beach living

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Perfect beach house for me and my family this summer. Loved the location, especially the wooden walkway through the pines and over the dunes to get directly onto the beach in an easy 3-4 minute walk from the back door! Makes pushing a stroller or dragging a wagon with all the beach gear super easy, plus we could hop back for the bathroom, a snack, or to make a business call -- no car needed and we did not have to all leave the beach together, which is a rarity. Our tweens loved the freedom to sleep late & meet us on the beach later, lol. We brought our small dog (one end of this beach allows pets all day), and appreciate that although pets are welcome, the house was clean and showed no sign of other animals staying there (no "doggie" smells, no damaged furniture, pristine grass in yard for barefoot frisbee playing). The outdoor shower made it easy to clean dog & kids & keep all the sand out, too. The open plan kitchen/dining area is super - room for everyone to help out and eat meals together, with everything you could possibly need, dishwasher, blender, griddle, grill, lobster pot, even muffin tins -- also used extra kitchen w/ fridge in the adjacent apartment for overflow platters and back up provisions. When multi-generations and friends gathered it was nice being able to entertain just like we do at home, rather than having to get everyone off the beach early, showered, and in the car to go to a restaurant. House cleaners were super efficient - had a small issue with previous tenants leaving mess behind, but 1 call to owner and it was taken care of next day while we were enjoying stunning cliff walk at nature preserve a few blocks away. This is not what I would call a luxury rental, it's a classic Maine beach cottage that is inviting and comfy, where you can put your feet on the coffee table, play marathon Monopoly games for days at a time, cook up a huge clambake feast for 12 people, savor a glass of wine on the deck with friends, and the kids can safely play tag on the lawn, walk down to the rocky cove to look for sea glass, or ride bikes to the general store for ice cream. Wish we could stay all summer -- we will come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely and very comfortable house

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

House comfortably supported 6 people (4 adults, 2 children) -- very easy walk to the beach, fully furnished with usual amenities (including chairs/beach stuff) and a fully stocked kitchen with all working appliances (not always a given when we've rented). Bathrooms and kitchen were immaculate when we arrived and very easy for us to maintain. Nicely decorated, but not over the top -- all in all, exceedingly comfortable and an excellent value for what we received. Recommend this property highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location - loved Biddeford Pool

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This "welcoming family beach house " was well located and spacious. It was our 1st trip to Maine and we loved discovering all that Biddeford Pool had to offer. From the description of the house given by the homeowner we were expecting our accommodation to be comfortable and family oriented, certainly not 5 star as we were there for a simple family holiday with our children and grandchildren. Our excitment soon turned to disappointment when we entered the house. While it accommodated our family very well, we found it to be very dirty and in poor repair. There was food under the table from the previous tenants, the floors were in such bad shape that we hesitated to walk on them in our bare feet and the furniture was so stained that we were uncomfortable sitting on it. The kitchen cupboards were in complete disarray with everything just thrown in and disorganized. The outside shower was used quite a lot because the tub and shower in the main bathroom were disgusting. Thankfully the weather was good, the beach was beautiful and many happy memories were made dispite the poor accommodations.

Owners response: We are puzzled and upset by this review. This is our family vacation home. We stayed there just a short time before these tenants and while the floors are old, neither the floors, bathrooms or furniture were stained or dirty. Furthermore, professional cleaners were there the day these renters moved in. Maybe the cupboards were organized differently than these renters might have liked. However, none of the other renters (neither this summer nor in prior years) have made remarks like this. It is possible that these renters had unrealistic expectations despite what they say. Or we suspect these renters are angry because we caught them doing something they shouldn't have. Notably they never complained during their stay.

We have years of rental history with happy renters returning year after year and writing wonderful comments to us. We have never solicited online reviews and thus the contented and positive comments sent directly to us are not reflected here to balance this one.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review