reviews for: listing #29528 - North Muskegon, Michigan House rental

Windhaven on Lake Michigan
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach Front Homes
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Home for a Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My Husband, Mother, and I rented this home during the week of July 13-20. We were absolutely thrilled with how lovely and comfortable the home was as well as the spectacular beach. The view was gorgeous, and we literally had the beach to ourselves for a majority of the week! There was plently of room to accomodate the occasional friend or family member that would visit us for a day or a night, and it was an extra bonus having those extra amenities (washer and dryer, air conditioning, plenty of beach chairs, etc) available to us. The owner was very kind and offered a list of attractions in the area that might be of interest to us. We had dinner at the Lighthouse one evening which was fantastic, and made the occasional pit stop at the Red Rooster for a nightcap and some good music if you're lucky to catch a good band that night. :) We would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway. My family plans on coming back to Windhaven next summer, and could quite possibly turn into a family tradition!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I appreciate your taking the time to share your experiences with others. After doing this for a few years, I think we have a pretty good system in place and it always makes me happy when our guests like it well enough to return year after year. Thank you again and, I'll look forward to hearing from you in the spring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Lake Michigan vacation spot

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Watch the owner's YouTube videos - Windhaven is exactly as advertised: It's a really nice cozy cottage on a wooded lot with fantastic views from atop the dune bluff. Windhaven has a large deck with a screened-in porch. Amenities include washer/dryer, grill, parking for 5+ cars, and plenty of beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, etc. The secluded, undeveloped beach is spectacular and stretches for miles. And the cottage is withn a few miles of three great public parks: Duck Lake State Park, Pioneer County Park and Muskegon State Park. We stayed the last week in August 2012 and had amazing weather. The owner was responsive to all our inquiries and provided excellent customer service.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It's always great to get comments like this. Windhaven isn't just a rental property, it's our family vacation home and it's a wonderful feeling when our guests enjoy the experience as much as our own family does. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you'll keep us in mind again for next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderfull

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

windhaven is a great place for a family getaway. The house is clean and comfortable with everything you need. The location is secluded but still close to shopping, tourist attractions, and city life. The real jewel is the beach. You may be walking along the shore or sitting in the sand but you can always see,hear and feel one of the most beautiful freshwater lakes in the world.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, Larry. From the number of times you've visited Windhaven, I'm sure you appreciate the beauty of this place as much as our own family does and, I know you're looking forward to your visit later in September. Enjoy the time with your family and, let's hope the fishing is good.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Windhaven is perfect for the entire family!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Windhaven is a great vacation destination. First and foremost - the view of the lake is beautiful! You can walk for hours along beautiful white sand beaches or play in the sand and water just down the steps from the house.

The house itself is very comfortable and clean. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is even a washer and dryer. There are beautiful parks nearby, great museums, and picturesque lighthouses within a short drive.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write, Chris. It's hard to do justice to all of the fun the Muskegon area has to offer in addition to having a beautiful sandy beach virtually right outside the front door. I've never heard anyone say that they couldn't find anything to do. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at our home and found the accommodations to your liking. We hope to see you again next year. Take care and, thanks again for your comments.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Perfect family vacation on lake Michigan. Lots of room for comfortable sleeping accommodations. Very comfortable home with a homey atmosphere. Plenty of towels and blankets, very clean. I will highly recommend Windhaven to friends and family and can't wait to return. Beach was fantastic, no rocks like further up north, really enjoyed the private beach atmosphere. You do have to be able to negotiate some pretty steep stairs to get down to the beach but my Grandmother also took advantage of the great views and breezes on top of the dune as well as the very comfortable screened in porch. Enjoyed being away from it all but it's an easy trip into town for essentials.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the great review, Sarah. We try to think of everything we can to make sure the only thing you have to worry about is the sun screen and how to keep up with the kids. The last time I counted, I think that there are about 60 steps down to the beach with a landing about half way down so, that's about the equivalent of 4 flights of stairs. It can definitely be a bit of a hike but, it sounds like everyone was able to find a niche that allowed them to enjoy their time there. Thank you again and, we hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Found this gem a couple years ago on vacationrentals.com and could not be happier about it! It is something my three young kids (as well as my wife and I) look forward to doing every year. It really is one of the highlights of our year.

The owner does a good job explaining the house in detail on this site so I will not spend any time going over that other than to say it is accurate. There are some things I probably would have highlighted even more, like the fact there is a washer and dryer available. This is huge since my kids were constantly running down to the beach every day so we have plenty of towels and suits to wash and not have to bring back bags of dirty clothes is great. Speaking of the beach, it was awesome. Nice and sandy and the kids could walk out about 20 yards before it started to get too deep. Perfect for playing and swimming in without any fears. There were a couple days we were at the beach and did not see anyone for the whole day...felt really private! About a mile or two up the road is Duck Lake Beach, which is really awesome if you have young kids like I do. Not private like Windhaven, but the kids love playing in the channel.

The owner was very accommodating to our needs. He also does a good job recommending sites and eateries around the area. Really dug the burrito's at the Red Rooster Tavern (think that was the name). Don't worry about bringing any movies for when the kids go to bed...there must be 300 movies for you to choose from at the house. There was also plenty of room for others to spend the night on occasion like we had. We stayed the week and one night the in-laws would stay and another night friends with their kids came and it never felt crowded. Actually my kids looked forward to their friends coming over so they could all spend the night in the bunk beds downstairs. Must have heard "I get top bunk" 50 times.

I am reviewing from a family of 5 point of view looking for a great getaway, but could also see this being a great place for a private getaway. I would highly recommend this place for vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It always makes me feel good when our guests return for a second or third visit or make us a part of their annual family vacation. It feels like we are doing something right when others can share in the beauty of this place and the memories you create when you bring friends and family together in such a special way. Thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review