reviews for: listing #29570 - Dominican Republic, Caribbean Villa rental

Canciones De Cofresi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Playa Cofresi
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Stop looking and book it now!!!!

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

This place is perfect. The pictures don't do it justice. It is way bigger than we expected. The views were awesome and it was very close to the beach and the casino. 2 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the casino. We rented a boat at the marina for deep sea fishing and caught 5 mahi mahi and one barracuda. This is also right next to the casino. The restaurant closest to us, Los Charros, filleted and cooked everything for us for free. We just bought drinks and sides. You have your own personal guard but never feel it is necessary and the cooks and maids that come with the villa become family. Stop looking around and just book it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spring Break in Paradise

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My family enjoyed the beautiful scenery, the lovely home and the housekeeper, Odalis and our faithful watchman, Jaime, made our stay so wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every day and a clean home. We had some excitement with the native insects, which supplied many memories that we will never stop talking about. We rented a car even though we were advised not to. We enjoyed the excitement of the challenge of driving and got the hang of it. My husband's aggressive driving came out and he liked the game after a while. We laughed so hard with every adventure. Cofresi, Sosua and Cabarete beaches were all so beautiful. Our favorite was Cabarete because it was more modern and laid back compared to Sosua. The hawkers are everywhere. This was one of my least favorite things to have to deal with. We took the jeep excursion despite early skepticism and thoroughly enjoyed it. The falls were great. We did it early in the week so we got a flavor of the area early. Thank you for allowing us to live in your home for a week. We enjoyed it so very much. God Bless!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Incredibly Remarkable Experience

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Four of my friends and I traveled to the D.R. for a reunion trip down in Playa Cofresi the first week in August 2010. Let me just say that from the time we first stepped foot on the property we felt like royalty. We were greeted by our maids Odalis and Sobeida who took great care of us by cooking our meals, washing clothes, and so much more. The villa it self was breathtaking especially the master bedroom. Views are fantastic and the convenience as far as location to everything you need is ideal. Take advantage of the excursions that Michael and Gabino suggest in the literature. We went "ATV-ing" and climbed waterfalls and it was truly worth every penny. I would recommend this property to everyone, especially groups like ours that would want to reconnect and kick back and relax after being in the hustle and bustle of "real life". I can speak for all of my friends when I say we would definitely come back and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

Over Spring break, 4 adults and 4 kids stayed at this Villa. We arranged with the owner a pickup at the Santiago airport. We were met at the airport with a newer air conditioned van that carried us comfortably to our destination. The trip from the Santiago airport to the Villa was about 90 minutes. When we arrived at the Villa in the early AM, we were met by the night watchman, who helped us with our luggage and gave us the key. The Villa had snacks and drinks to help us get relaxed after a long trip from the states.

The following day, "Gambino" the village manager met us at the Villa to set up excursions for the week. It was easy to arrange and there was no pressure to book any of the trips offered by Gambino. If you want to know what to do while staying in the villa before you arrive, ask Michael to email you a document on local excursions to try during your stay. Be prepared to use cash or travelers checks for most transactions. If you elect to try the jeep excursion, bring candy, the local kids will love you!

There was an optional maid service that we elected to have which was well worth the money. If you travel with someone who speaks Spanish that's a plus. I recommend purchasing groceries during you stay and having the maid service cook for you. Spanish is a plus during this time to get the meals needed for your stay. Not to worry if no one speaks Spanish. If you use a taxi to get to the grocer, the taxi driver may be able to help with translations. The maid(s) are fantastic and they will prepare local dishes if you desire. There are recipes for local dishes inside the villa and this makes it easy for you to plan meals for your stay. There is so much to try and experience, you do not want to miss out on the opportunity. As a bonus, you may get fresh fruit smoothies in between breakfast and lunch. Of course there are local establishments by the beach which is about 200 yards from the Villa like Chris and Matty's. Take my advice, you will not be disappointed with the maid service.

When you get tired of the beach you have a private pool that allows the kids to swim and adults to sip cool drinks while sitting by the private pool.

I highly recommend this villa as a destination for a large family looking to experience the Dominican Republic culture.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great place for a fun and relaxing time

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

I first went to Cofresi and stayed at this villa last June. Having been to numerous destinations in the Caribbean, I can say that this was certainly one of the best experiences that I have had. In fact, I returned here for my next vacation on June of this year.

The villa itself is situated on a quiet little road on a hillside overlooking the ocean. The other guests and I spent much of our time sitting on the large front patio, which has a great view and wonderful ocean breeze, while we were at the villa. The staff took care of everything- cleaning, breakfast, etc.- and are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. We always felt relaxed at the villa.

Within easy walking distance from the villa is the beach at Cofresi, which is very picturesque and not crowded with hordes of tourists. One may also easily walk to local bars, restaurants, and the casino at Ocean World. All of us actually won money at the latter.

I have stayed at both resorts and private villas in the Caribbean, and I have to say that staying in your own place without throngs of the fanny-pack set surrounding you is certainly the way to go. For the price and the location you cannot go wrong at this one. I would highly recommend it to someone who wants to have a fun and experience the culture of the place themselves. Actually, there is a resort not far from the villa. After talking with some of the guests there, I was even happier with my choice. I will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review