reviews for: listing #29635 - St Simon's Island, Georgia Condo rental

Island Haven at Ocean Walk
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Oceanwalk
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $170 /nt
    $850 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

The description was very accurate, but the condo was better. The owners were very flexible and easy to deal with. After staying in Brunswick for a couple of days we were able to head out to the condo. It was like a whole new world! There was plenty of room for 3 kids and 4 adults. The location was great. We could stay there and play in the pool, the courts, etc. or easily head into town for the water park, beach, and restaurants. My kids wanted to move in forever! Check in and check out was incredibly easy. We loved that it was just far enough away to avoid the crowds, but only a 2 minute drive. Having a toddler would have made even short walks very long. So the pool was just right for walking and the beach just right for driving. We loved Massingale Park, especially in the evening at high tide. It was fun to get to the little island at low tide. And the little barbeque restaurant 1 block down was outstanding!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This condo is truly a gem on St. Simons Island. The property was very clean and had all the amenities a family could need while vacationing (beach toys, towels, games, movies, books, etc....) The kitchen and laundry room is fully stocked with all cooking and washing supplies which makes it perfect for all your needs whether you are washing your towels in between trips to the beach or staying in for a home cooked meal. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. Not only is the condo a hop, skip, and jump from the ocean but there is plenty to do if you want to stay around the property. There are two pools with outdoor kitchenettes and grills (which our children could not get enough of)and are great for getting together and hanging out poolside, tennis courts with basketball hoops and plenty of bicycle paths nearby. There is plenty to discover and explore on St. Simons especially if you like nature and history. The owners have a wealth of knowledge about the island and keep updated brochures in the condo for the guests to read and use. Our teenage son loved the kayak adventure and fishing off the pier. The younger children enjoyed playing at Neptune Park and Pool and of course strolling through the candy, ice cream and souevenir shops. There are plenty of great restaurants with good old southern hospitality and delicious seafood. The lighthouse and Coast Guard Station are fascinating if you enjoy learning about maritime history. Our family was amazed with the low and high tides that can be experienced daily off the beach. The live oak trees are breathtaking and majestic. There really is something for everyone to enjoy! The location, amenities, and comfort of the condo made it easy for our family to taken in all the island has to offer and at the end of the day return to our "home away from home." We will most definately come back to St. Simons and this condo for another vacation in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Rented this condo for a girls weekend with my three girlfriends. The condo was perfect for us, very clean, everything we needed, and comfortable. Ocean Walk is very pretty and well maintained. The location was great for the island, very close to the village and walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. Also close to the beach in the village. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay. It was very easy renting the condo. You can do everything online. I would highly recommend this vacation rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We all had a wonderful week at St. Simons Island. Your condo was wonderfully suited for all of us. Paul and Sarah had never experienced a vacation where you played in the ocean all day and we all loved it. We enjoyed crab at the crab trap and barbecue at a little restaurant across the street. We made a couple of trips to the yogi shop. There was a basketball court right outside which Paul played yet in between trips to the beach. Thanks for the use of the condo. It had everything we could imagine. We'd love to come back sometime.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable homey surroundings

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

We had the most enjoyable time relaxing in this beautifully decorated condo. Our relatives spent the day after the wedding with us and we all had a great time in comfortable homey surroundings. We love to stay here again thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a wonderful time

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time here and enjoy the pool tennis courts fitness center and love watching the ducks. The village was fabulous and the pier was one of the favorite highlights after a wonderful meal and Barbara jeans and of course the best chocolate stop Desert. Your condo is very well-equipped and again we had a wonderful time here thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

condo was wonderful

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had a long trip from illness to get here but finally did and we were very please. Your condo is absolutely wonderful and had everything we needed just like him. The ocean was wonderful and we enjoyed the walk to town and on the pier. The people in the community when nice and made us feel welcome. Our grandson loved having the pool felt close and used it every day during our stay. We truly loved the island and found ourselves wanting to stay here and making this a permanent home. Maybe someday. There were so many great places to eat out but one of our favorite places was Sonny's and Brunswick. Thank you so much for opening your home to us. We would love to come back again. The Gyorts. 7/8/12

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a blast

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Thank you. We had a blast at your condo. Everything was perfect. We appreciate how well-stocked it was. We spent most of our time out at the village and beach. Logan was our favorite place to eat. Thanks for opening your home to us. We will be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo comforrtable and central to everything

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The condo was so comfortable and central to everything. Some of our favorite places to eat; Palmers for breakfast and Coastal Kitchen for dinner. Moo Cow is a must try too. We did the Fredricka walking tour and the Sea Turtle rescue was interesting. The Shrimp trawling boat, Lady Jane was awesome- best shrimp we ever had. We will be back for sure. The Rileys.
PS the best nightlife was the Palm Coast Ccoffee- great owners and music at night. 7/29/11

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful winter get away

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We love staying at your gracious home for the month. St. Simons is a wonderful winter getaway for us. Next year we wanted to stay in your unit for the month of March but understand that you will be in residence there. Perhaps we will meet again. 4/15/11

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very nice condo

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

We had a great time. We all enjoyed the pool and beach. Thanks for the use of the sand toys. Our grandson caught his first fish from the pond. This is a very nice condo for our purposes. Thanks for the use of it. 1/7/12

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here in your condo with our two boys and their girls. It had been about 14 years since we last stayed on St. Simons. We enjoyed eating at Spanky's the Crabtrap and Coastal Kitchen. The guys ate breakfast at Fourth of May after fishing and crabbing. We also did one of the ghost tours and played putt putt golf. Spent most of our time either at the beach or pool. We rode our bikes down to the village several times and once to the airport. Our sons also played the disc golf course. My husband and I went over to Jekyll Island today to see where we stayed over there We enjoyed working around the historic District and ate lunch at Redbug pizza. They have good salads and sandwiches besides pizza. Oh I forgot we ate at Sals pizza on St. Simons for lunch. Very good and unique place. Visited Christ Church and the Wesley Memorial. As you can see we had a great vacation and hope to return. Thanks for letting us stay in your condo. The Tover family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Will rent again

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

I stayed at this condo for a week with my three boys. It was nicely decorated and had everything we could have possibly needed. The kitchen was better equipped than my own home. The condo community has two pools, tennis court right outside the door and a nice playground. We were able to walk downtown in a matter of minutes where there are lots of great shopping and restaurants. We had a great time and we will be renting this condo again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will stay again

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Stayed at the condo for a week with my three boys. It was nicely decorated and had everything we could have possibly needed. The kitchen was better equipped than my own home. The condo community has two pools, tennis court right outside the door and a nice playground. We were able to walk downtown in a matter of minutes where there are lots of great shopping and restaurants. We had a great time and we will be renting this condo again next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

My family and I rented this condo for a week at the end of April. The owner was nice on the phone and knowledgeable about the area. The problems arose when we got there. I rented this particular place because it boasted of a heated pool and playground on site. Well it did have a playground, but it was so old and dilapidated we were not able to use it. The wooden set was in such disarray that I could not let my children go on it. It was splintering and there was so much debris from the trees surrounding. It definitely posed safety issues as well as being a let down.The heated pool was another disappointment. There was no way that the pool was heated. The temperature outside was in the mid to late seventies and got in to the low eighties one day. The pool was freezing, and for that matter, was the same temperature as the other pool that was not heated. Please also be aware that the realtor managing the property that I had to deal with was downright rude and was no help whatsoever. I would NOT stay in this condo again nor would I recommend it to anyone. The island is beautiful and the accommodations were adequate with the three bedrooms but the amenities were not very impressive and were not what was in the condo description.

Owners response: I have spoken with the person writing this review and with the manager of the property.
The manager states that the pool is heated to 85 degrees when the weather is cooler so when the weather drops below that it kicks in. If the surrounding air temperature is close to 85 or above the pool may feel like it is not heated. The playground is small and the wooden set there is older but sturdy. My own young grandchildren were there last summer and enjoyed it and no safety issues were noted at that time. If the playground does not meet the needs of renters there are two larger playgrounds within a half mile and directions can be given. The manager has promised to follow up and investigate the concerns raised in both discussion and in writing.
Clarifacation was made in discussion with the renter that the condo itself was as described and it more than met their family's needs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We very much enjoyed our weekend getaway at this condo. It was very roomy and comfortable. It was furnished nicely and contained all the items we needed, plus books for our 2 year old and a movie that she very much enjoyed. We couldn't have found anthing any better. We also enjoyed the pools. Thanks for sharing your wonderful condo with us and we hope to be able to come back again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for children

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

We really enjoyed the condo and our stay here on St Simons. We came with children and loved having the kitchen and the washer and dryer. You really have everything you could possibly use here. If we thought of it, you had it. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See you next year

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful place to stay. We had a great time...it felt very much like home for our vacation. The condo is so nice, well furnished and clean. Hopefully we will see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

well euipped- essentials and entertainmeni items

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

I stayed here in your condo 2 nights at my daughter's invitation. I haven't been in any condo on any beach that was so well equipped with essentials and entertainment items. I would love to come back with my youngest family who always visit the beach spring break. Traveling a distance makes it hard to bring entertainment items. You have a wonderful condo. Thank you for the 2 nights.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

what a great week

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

Wow! What a great week! We had a blast. Your condo is beautiful and fit our family perfectly. it rained most of the week but we still found a lot to do. We crabbed until 3:30 in the morning, went to a movie, shopped and ate phenomenally. I am so glad I found your condo on line. You and Theresa were delights to deal with. Thank you for a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

well stocked condo

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We have very much enjoyed our stay at your ocean walk condo. We appreciate how well stocked it was. We love the pool and the tennis courts and how close we were to the village. We visited Jekyll, rode bikes to Epworth by the sea, spent time on the beach and visited the Ujiversity of Florida. we also enjoyed the Palm Sunday service at Frist Baptist of St Simons.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a home away from home

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

What a marvelous place! The beaches are gorgeous! We found many wonderful creatures like sand dollars, horseshoe crabs, sea horses etc....The little coffee shop downtown has the best lattes and desserts. What a relaxing get-away. A home away from home. Thank you so much for opening your home to us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

until next time

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2009

Thank you for opening your home to us. We enjoyed the comforts. The grounds are beautiful. I enjoyed the swing our back and the rocking chairs on the porch of the office. I took advantage of your balcony for breakfast and quiet time early in the mornings. We enjoyed trying our the local restaurants- our favorite place was Barbara Jeans. Until next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

everything we needed

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Thanks for a great place that provided everything we needed. Can't wait to come back. We enjoyed our visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

cozy and comfortable

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

My family enjoyed your condo, a cozy and comfortable stay. We loved the island and the beach. We even got to see the shuttle launch at the pier. We got to ride our bikes and swim too. We did everything.
Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review