reviews for: listing #29736 - Wellfleet, Massachusetts House rental

Sweeping Water Views of Wellfleet Harbor
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $550 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,800 /wk

sort by:

Outstanding!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We can't say enough about the beauty and perfection of this gorgeous home. It was a wonderful and memorable stay-- totally spotless throughout, every amenity you could want, and a spectacular view. The location is perfect, so private in a quiet neighborhood setting right on the water. The beach was excellent for the kids. We all enjoyed early morning strolls along the bay, watching the wildlife and skipping stones. It's like a secret little haven on the Cape, no traffic, just the right distance off of Route 6 so you can get away from it all, but without being too isolated. It was so convenient. We visit the Cape about 3-4 times a year, and this stay has definitely been the highlight of the past few years! John was awesome to deal with, very informative and quick to answer any inquiries. Thanks for the memorable experience, John!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We had a great time in the upper cape and the house was exactly what we needed. The location is great since it is really not that far from anything we wanted to do. We did not have an agenda, just wanted a place where we could reconnect with our two college-aged children and be a family. Whale watching was great. The beaches are beautiful. For the most part, we were ahead of the busy season. The property was clean and the owners were very nice and very helpful. We did discover that the no-see-ums kept us off the upstairs deck at dusk if you were wearing shorts. You can cover up with long pants/sleeves or a blanket. Also, since linens and towels are not provided with the home, we had to bring along an extra suitcase just for linens for the four of us. We discovered the Furies literally just around the corner that rents linens and towels and more. For the cost of an extra suitcase round trip, you can rent what you need with no hassle. They also provide a cleaning service if you don't want to clean up yourself when you leave. Great seafood wherever you go on the cape. Nice people everywhere. I would definitely recommend this home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Getaway!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

House was very nice inside and out, well kept and very clean. Kitchen was gorgeous and very accommodating, bathrooms were clean. The views from the top deck/sitting room of the house were amazing, great sunsets as well. Steps away from the Harbor/Bay and five minute driving distance from the Ocean and Freshwater Pond. Shops and restaurants were great, people were warm and friendly. Pearl restaurant was lovely, great food, excellent service. Owner was friendly, accommodating, and recommended lots of places to go, restaurants and activities for the time of our stay. Was very pleased with the service, house, location, and town, would highly recommend to all.

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Kelly! I look forward to having you visit again sometime soon! John Glennon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An amazing April vacation on the Cape!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

Having moved to the USA (Boston) a year ago this was our first (of many) trips to the Cape, we took a chance and booked to take my parents and two children (6 and 9) in April. I have to say we really lucked out with the weather for April and had an amazing "out of season" vacation on the Cape with very little traffic, and deserted beaches!

Booking the house through John was very easy and he was very helpful and replied to emails and questions promptly. The house is in a beautiful in an unusual top of hill position with stunning views over Wellfleet where you see the most amazing sunsets. The house is very nicely furnished and the kitchen living area is very well done. The Master suite is beautiful and waking up to that view made for a real treat. The only tiny negative I have is that there is no bathroom on the second floor and the stairs and quite steep, so very young or older people may feel like they would prefer the downstairs bedroom.

The house is in a great location and a lovely walk round the beach to Wellfleet which has a useful shop and several great restaurants. Wellfleet itself is very well positioned as no where is a very long drive. We went Whale watching in Provincetown which was a fantastic experience, and for a family bike ride from Orleans along the old rail road.

We look forward to returning to Wellfleet in future years and would highly recommend John's house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

We couldn't have picked a more perfect spot for a vacation. Situated at the end of a quiet, dead-end road overlooking Wellfleet harbor, the house has fantastic views of the harbor. The house is the type of Cape Cod home you would expect to see on a postcard, beautiful inside and out. It is also perfectly located as Wellfleet is centrally located on the outer cape. Everything on the outer cape is within a 20 minute drive of John's house. We enjoyed short drives to restaurants, shops, and of course the beaches. When we didn't feel like driving, we just walked along the beach to Wellfleet and explored the town. John provided a wealth of information on where to go and what to see. We made a point of spending our evenings either on the second floor deck or the private beach watching the sunset almost every evening. John was professional and obviously detail orientated as the house was very clean and decorated nicely. We will vacation at this house again next year and would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words! I'm glad your family enjoyed the house as much as my family does. John Glennon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A WONDERFUL DECISION

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

Renting a house you have never seen can be a haunting experience. My daughter and I recently did this and it turned out to be a wonderful experience.
Dealing with John Glennon who was most helpful with his suggestions, recommendations of places to see, beaches to wander and restaurants to go to made our visit to the Cape a joyful experience.
If you like to cook - this is your place! A fully equipped kitchen that made cooking there a pleasure. You want a clean house - you have it. It is certainly a comfortable house for adults but a family would certainly appreciate all there is to enjoy. The views from the rooftop deck, out to the harbor, are ever changing. Don't forget to schedule your day to be there for the sunsets. They are magnificent!
Thanks, John, for being so welcoming, sharing your knowledge of Wellfleet and your friendly suggestions helped to give us a special time together, in a special place and certainly a time to remember
We hope to return in 2012.

Pat Ryan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Everything about our stay was perfect! The house, working with John and the Cape!

This was our second time staying at the Glennon property and once again it did not disappoint! John was an absolute dream to work with. He is both professional and friendly, offering excellent advice on places to visit and things to do. The house is beautiful (a quintessential Cape Cod vacation home) and is central to a variety of fun thins to do on the Cape. This vacation we spent time kayaking on Gull Pond, biking on the Cape Cod Rail Trail, exploring on Indian Neck beach and whale watching in P-Town.

We have already scheduled our return trip for next year, and this time we are staying for two weeks. One was just not enough!

Thanks so much to John and his family for maintaining an amazing vacation home and for sharing it with all of us!

The Affolter Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wellfleet waterview rental

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

A spotlessly clean and fresh house with beautiful waterviews of Wellfleet Harbor and the pier from a large roof deck and even larger screened in porch. Cozy and comfortable, delivers all that is promised. The owners have gone out of their way to make sure that the home is well appointed, up to date, and comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! My cleaning man Bob deserves all the credit for keeping the home spotlessly clean, he's the best!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great family vacation

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Thank you so much John for a wonderful time in Wellfleet.
We felt at home immediately and everything was there to accommodate our needs (2 young children).
The boys loved the meals on the (huge) terrasse!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much! Its such a special location and I love sharing it with guests!
John Glennon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The house was just perfect for our needs..."

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

We rented the Glennon’s house for a 3-day week-end. John was a pleasure to deal with as we made arrangements. The house was just perfect for our needs: very well maintained, bright, views on the water, in a quiet area, real "cape vacation" feeling. The location is really perfect as well: access to a beach, 5 minutes away from downtown Wellfleet by car and some of the Cape's best beaches, great small food stores around. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...perfect place for our Cape Cod honeymoon!"

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

The Glennon house was the perfect place for our Cape Cod honeymoon! The house was immaculate, comfortable, and serene. We enjoyed our morning coffee and breakfast on the second floor deck, looking out at the water. The remodeled kitchen is gorgeous and was fully stocked with everything you’d need. The house is in a convenient location: an easy drive to Provincetown, and also to the National Seashore parks and beaches.
John Glennon was so helpful throughout the entire process and promptly responded to all our questions. He also gave us lots of great advice on restaurants, day trips, and more. This was our first time Cape Cod, and we plan on coming back again, and will definitely choose this house!
- Anthony and AsheLee

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location and Views

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Hi John, I just wanted to let you know how grateful we are for your hospitality. We really enjoyed all of your recommendations and most of all staying at your lovely home. We spent most evenings watching the sunsets and eating are dinners in the screened in porch. A perfect home for us...we look forward to a return visit sometime soon! Take care! Betsy Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Satisfied

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We spoke with a few property owners and found John to have the best property for us. Once we arrived everything was as described by the owner. The views from this home are amazing! The house is very well cared for and has everything you would need to entertain your family. It's a peaceful location and a 1 minute walk to a private beach on Wellfleet Harbor. Everyday we walked to town along the beach which takes 15 minutes. John Glennon was excellent to work with and we would recommend this home to everyone. Thanks for a memorable vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...blown away with the beautiful home, location and amenities."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Our friends and us have been looking for awhile now for a place we can all regularly and repeatedly come together and visit while our families grow -- and after visiting the Wellfleet House, we now know where we'll be coming for hopefully years to come.

We instantly fell in love with the house the second we arrived. We already knew we were in for a great trip and visit with all of John's helpful tips, information and patient efforts to coordinate the trip with us prior to our arrival -- but were blown away with the beautiful home, location and amenities. There is truly something to be said when the pictures on the website doesn't do the house justice. And so kid friendly and family orientated too! As one of our companion's had said, by far this is the coziest, convenient and obviously well-loved place we have stayed at since we started making our annual trips. John and Cheri's pride in their home shows.

From the beautiful screened in porch which permitted us a sheltered place to have early morning brisk breakfasts and late night gabs over wine, to the beautiful kitchen which permitted us a place to make gourmet meals and upstairs sun deck for the most beautiful sunsets, the house had everything we were looking for and more. Steps from Wellfleet Harbor, two seconds from the Village of Wellfleet and a quick drive to everything the Cape has to offer, this place is ideal for a memorable visit to the Cape. We only wished we had planned more time!

And for the uninitiated to Wellfleet and the Cape, John's recommendations and tips for what to do and where to go was priceless. We wouldn't have discovered all of the gems that Wellfleet has to offer without John's help. We think that Mac's Shack and the Bakery at South Wellfleet General Store might think of us as new town regulars given how much we visited the place -- which we wouldn't have found if not for John's suggestions.

Are we coming back? Absolutely and with no reservations. And my wife and I might secretly do so without telling our friends, as well. Who says we can't make multiple visits to this wonderful place?

Thanks John and Cheri!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The house is located at the end of a very quiet, peaceful street...'baby proofed'..."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Our stay at John Glennon's Wellfleet home simply exceeded all expectations. John was a pleasure to deal with and was more than helpful in providing suggestions on things to do in the area, places to eat, etc. As parents of a one-year old, it was extremely helpful to be in a home that was 'baby proofed'. We used the high chair the entire week of our stay and the baby gates were a big help as well. The house is located at the end of a very quiet, peaceful street. The views from the upstairs deck are simply amazing - we saw gorgeous sunsets every night. The screened in porch downstairs was a nice feature as well and we spent our mornings relaxing out there. The high-def television is a nice feature, the updated kitchen was fantastic and the queen bed upstairs was very comfortable. Perhaps the nicest feature is the location - Wellfleet is a quiet, relaxing place to spend the week, yet you’re also still in close proximity to other Cape Cod towns. This was our first visit to the Cape and we had the opportunity to drive to several other towns but found Wellfleet to be the nicest, most relaxing of them all. And the beach access was wonderful as well - just 100 yards or so from the front door of the house and you can be out walking along the water. We will definitely return and would highly recommend this home to anybody else wanting to stay in a quiet, comfortable home for the week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Glennon home has been our favorite for a number of reasons."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

Our family has been renting homes on Cape Cod and the Islands for over 25 years, and the Glennon home has been our favorite for a number of reasons. The home itself is lovely, very clean, well maintained and a brand new kitchen. The large upstairs deck with views of the water and Wellfleet harbor provides a wonderful place for morning coffee and a peaceful place to end your day with beautiful sunsets. The huge screened in porch invites memorable dinners with friends and family ---- bug free. A big plus is the location which is a 15 minute walk along the water to the town of Wellfleet - without ever having to deal with Rt 6.

Working with John is a pure delight. He is organized, highly responsive and true to his word. We hope someday to meet him in person.

Thanks for everything,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"John Glennon's property has proven to be the best! The house is pristine..."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

In all the years we've "escaped to The Cape," John Glennon's property has proven to be the best! The location of the beach below & Wellfleet Harbor are incredible positives given our interest in kayaking & swimming. The house is pristine and allows for multiple "spaces" for all of us. The "upper deck" overlooking the harbor is my favorite with incredible sunsets or that morning cup of coffee.

The screened porch for large dinners, pool table & ping pong, give us all options especially on the rare rainy day. The ability to walk to town along the beach & Uncle Tim's Bridge add to the convenience of the location. John Glennon is superb to deal with and leaves nothing to chance. In dealing with him over the years he's moved from "owner" to friend. On behalf of my entire family I heartily recommend the property and hope to return next summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...rental was great for my family with young children."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

This Wellfleet house rental was great for my family with young children. Views are beautiful from the upper deck, and the lower deck is screened in which was great if it ever got buggy. My nephews spent quite a bit of time with the ping pong table downstairs, and it gave them something to do on the rainy days we had. The outdoor shower really makes me feel like I'm on vacation…we hardly ever used the indoor one!


The location is great and the house is close to many beautiful ocean and bayside beaches I also loved the Wellfleet freshwater lakes which are also great for kids.

The kitchen was newly remodeled this year and all kitchen dishes, utensils, etc are provided which made it really easy to dine in, even a brand new dishwasher. There are also many restaurant options available if you don't want to use the kitchen at all.

Then renter, John Glennon, was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very friendly and answered all of my emails right away. He provided lots of information on the area, and also kindly returned our security deposit right away. This was our first time renting and he happily led us right through it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The house is more than comfortable; we were 2 families... 4 children..."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

"We had the opportunity to stay at Mr. Glennon's home in Cape Cod recently and were delighted with our experience. The location is great, it's close to almost everything: the Bay, the sea shores, the ponds, Provincetown and many other attractions. The house is more than comfortable; we were 2 families with a total of 4 children. But the heart and soul of this beautiful home is clearly its screened in porch where we spent most of our time.



Finally, the process of renting the home went very smoothly with Mr. Glennon. Dealing with him was a pleasure and he gave us some great tips on the main activities in Cape Cod."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...spectacular views and the location is perfect ..."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

Dear John, I wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had when we rented your Wellfeet home. The house is just beautiful with spectacular views and the location is perfect for a nice walk into town or for getting easily to other places on the Cape. The kids had a great time exploring the shore by the house and Tyler and I loved our evenings out on the upper deck. Thanks again so much for all your help with everything, including excellent recommendations on where to eat, swim and explore! You really helped to make our visit very special! Again, thank you and it was a pleasure renting the house from you! Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer! Ann Affolter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...super view of Wellfleet harbor and Great Island..."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

The house has a super view of Wellfleet harbor and Great Island from the upstairs deck, a charming master bedroom tastefully furnished and a well appointed newly installed kitchen. It is a short walk to a private beach and a short distance by car to the historic village of Wellfleet. Ona

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The location was extremely convenient to everything."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

Let me start by saying all four of us were impressed before we entered your place in Wellfleet. The location was extremely convenient to everything. Then upon entrance it got even better.....The new kitchen is bright, well laid out and all the right stuff you need to cook --breakfast, lunch and supper. Jack Levitt, a retired contractor made note of the craftsmanship in both bathrooms. He's not much on commenting so I would take this as a very high compliment. The outdoor deck on the second floor was spectacular...everyday from 4 till 6 we watched over the harbor. We never had the need to use the screened in porch located underneath but it too is spacious and has the furniture to make it a very relaxing and useable room.... Last but not least the outdoor shower....I was the only one to use it so they don't know what they're missing....I used it everyday and I will/have put that on my list of things to do at my house....thank you very much.....ps we plan to be back next year around the same time....Rick

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Friends and I spent the Memorial Day Weekend at this wonderful house..."

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

Friends and I spent the Memorial Day Weekend at this wonderful house in Wellfleet Mass. The condition of the house was superior upon arrival. We were thrilled with the large screened in deck off the living area and the beautifully updated kitchen. The second floor deck off the master bedroom offers spectacular views of the harbor. I especially enjoyed being able to access Wellfleet Center by way of Uncle Tim's bridge, a wonderful walk. We had an outstanding vacation. I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review