reviews for: listing #29758 - Manzanillo, Pacific Coast House rental

Luxury beachfront 6 bdrm home with suites
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $8,200 /wk

sort by:

WONDERFUL VACATION EXPERIENCE!

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

My family and I rented this beautiful home for Father's Day and my Birthday. We rented the entire house since there were 12 adults and 4 children. The house was perfect for us! Each couple had a room and some rooms have futons and/or second beds so everyone fit perfectly. The house is beautifully designed and the pictures do not do this house justice. It is absolutely breathtaking. We enjoyed the pool daily and at night we enjoyed watching the sunset.

Michelle, the owner, is a DELIGHT to work with. She replied to all of my emails and was able to reserve our transportation to and from the hotel. The housecleaners were wonderful as well. They gave us local tips and were servicing our every request.


The men went deep sea fishing and we grilled their catch. Spending time with family and making memories in this gorgeous home is priceless. We will definitely be back. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your wonderful comments Adrianna and am really happy to hear that your family enjoyed a great vacation with us! More than happy to have you back anytime!! Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever!!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a week vacationing in Manzanillo. We traveled with 5 other couples ... all of us in desperate need of a break from our brutal South Dakota winter. This vacation far exceeded any expectations we had. The house is amazing!!! Staff were wonderful and very accommodating. Personally speaking, this is the first week I can ever remember where I woke up completely rested every morning and overall felt great! This beautiful home, the wonderful friends we vacationed with, and leisurely pace definitely provided the stress-free environment that I needed. For activities, we walked the beach, shopped, fished, zip lined, took in a sunset cruise, ate out a couple times at local restaurants (delicious), and lazed by the pool for hours on end (my personal favorite). I loved that we had our own pool and didn't have to worry about getting enough loungers for our large group at a resort. The beach was right outside the gate also if you wanted a break from the pool. There are plenty of things to do and for all interests. If you're looking for a luxurious home to spend time at while you soak up sun and relax, this is your place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sioux Falls,South Dakota

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We spent a wk in this gorgeous property with five other couple whom we have been friends with for many years. It was fabulous in every way and everyone said it was such a relaxing vacation and none of us were ready to go home. Can't say enough how wonderful Michelle was to work with. We booked this quite a few months in advance so I was forever emailing her with all sorts of questions and she was always quick to respond. Also when we were down here she would email with things going on in the area which was so helpful. The entire property is so beautiful and everything was so clean everyday. Rueben, Susie, and Karen were great even though we had a big language barrier as none of us spoke Spanish but it worked out fine. We had great transportation that Michelle had lined up,had the cook three times which was well worth it( if to return would have her more), and the boys went fishing with the cooks husband(they did catch quite a few Doritos) which were delicious. We pretty much were in the pool all the time! We had massages and mani-pedis set up in the house so life was good! Would return in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our best vacation rental ever!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We vacationed over Christmas 2013 at this perfect property! Our group of ten was mixed ages from 6 to 68. We were welcomed with a lovely dinner by Angelina that evening and for many evenings to come. Ruben was very helpful with any special requests, and under his care, the house was beautifully maintained on a daily basis. The house is so well appointed - even more lovely than the pictures show. Daily maid service was amazing, especially with a large group! Perhaps the best thing about our vacation that it was not at a resort, but in a city in Mexico, which we were privileged to visit. Shops and restaurants nearby were friendly and welcoming, the Saturday market in nearby Santiago very worthwhile. I would certainly recommend to my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

Coming from someone that prefers to vacation at 5 star resorts, we were thrilled at this beach front home we rented via the internet. When we arrived everything was perfect. The house was built with exquisite taste and attention to detail (the photos just don't do it justice). Everything about the house was high quality, from the decor, the furniture and gorgeous Mexican art in every room.

Five of the bedrooms open up to their own sitting area/balcony that overlooked the pool and the beach. The views were breathtaking. We enjoyed all of the sunsets and watching the ships coming in and out of the local port.

The pool was immaculately clean (as was then entire home and property) and the beach was only a few steps away. We felt very safe and comfortable with our kids playing on the beach as some of us set by the pool and could see them perfectly.

The staff was excellent and very accommodating. Ruben was always around when you needed him and was helpful in every way. Michele, the owner of the property was wonderful at communicating with me via e-mail and phone prior to our arrival.

We will most definitely return to this home and will also suggest it to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review and comments Kari - we frequently hear the photos do not do it justice! We will try and get some new ones posted shortly!! We are sure happy you enjoyed a relaxing time at the beach and look forward to having you back in the furture. Thanks again,
Michele

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This house is even better than you can imagine!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We booked this house through the internet for a surprise 70th birthday week for my father-in-law. As someone who works in the tourism industry I am very well versed in booking travel and vacations and of course has some trepidation in booking a vacation home via the web. From the second we exited the private transfer we had arranged through the home owner all fears were put aside and joy over took us all. The pictures and description do not do this home justice. It was beyond amazing. the location is great as it is in a non-touristy part of Mexico, we were never harassed and we felt beyond safe at all times.

Ruben and the staff at the house helped to make our stay. We had dinner made for us almost every night (everyone needs to do this!) which was a great treat and really, really inexpensive. We went sightseeing 2 days but most of the time just ate, drank, read and relaxed by the pool and on the beach. We had a great time watching all the container and navy ships come into port and the sunsets every night we an amazing way to end each great day.

There were 8 of us in total and at no point did we feel on top of one another and we all had enough privacy in our rooms to make us still like each other by the end of our week.

If you want a relaxing, safe and beautiful alternative to an all-inclusive then this is the house for you. We could not have been more happy with our experience from the time we made the booking to the time we came home (to a snow storm that dropped 50cms on us and made us long to return)

As a professional in tourism who has seen it all I give this house and its team an A+, 5 stars or 5 diamonds which ever rating system you use you will not go wrong!

Manzanillo may be off the beaten path and a little harder to get to but trust me it is worth it!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review of our home, staff and the area of Manzanillo, Mexico! It sounds as though you had a great time and enjoyed both relaxing and getting out and about a little. We love Manzanillo and the people in the area and were pleased that you felt so safe - something we really appreciate ourselves. We were also happy to hear you enjoyed some of the local cooking at the house and that the price was right. We will certainly hope to have you return again in the near future!! Michele and Ron Berkner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathtaking beach front villa

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

My husband and I spent the 2nd week of our honeymoon at Casa Puesta del Sol with 10 friends and had an experience of a lifetime! The villa is beautifully decorated; everything is kept impeccably clean by the staff; and the views are unbelievable! And the flowers and foliage surrounding the property...WOW! It is without a doubt the most beautiful property on the street.

Now let's talk details:
The villa is an architectural dream! Beautifully designed and very skillfully decorated. Each and every room had distinctive decorative elements that made them all very unique. The staff: Jeanette, Ruben, Lupita and Oscar were very friendly and helpful. They came in each day to clean the rooms, made sure the grounds and pool were clean and to check on our comfort level and if we needed anything. Ruben would take our list each day and pick up whatever items we needed. It was very convenient for us not having to do excessive running around. The cooking and shopping were extremely reasonable financially. There is a mercado directly across the street from the villa, run by a lovely family. They are open late and have almost everything you would need.
-We had Jeanette and Lupita cook a traditional mexican dinner and breakfast for us and it was simply delicious. And that's coming from a "foodie". I would highly suggest having them cook for you during your stay!
-The town of Manzanillo is a cultural playground. Wonderful restaurants, namely Toscana's and Marina Grill. We enjoyed the HUGE meat and produce mercado in downtown, picking up yummy chorizo and accoutrements for the next mornings breakfast. The locals are sooo friendly!

We visited Colima, Comala, Melaque, Barra de Navidad, El Salto Falls and Las Hadas. I think my favorite day trip was Barra de Navidad. Beautiful town and GREAT shopping! The waterfall was amazing as was swimming in the lagoon. If you either swim (or tumble) down the small rapids to the 2nd lagoon or walk to your far right along a path taking you through some caves you'll come across a smaller waterfall that you can stand under, which was pretty exhilarating!

Michele, the owner, has a charter business, so a bunch of us went sail-fishing. The captain and crew were great! Four were caught and we kept one for ourselves and it was absolutely delicious!

I could go on, but I'll close by saying Michele is a delight and very helpful with planning your vacation! We look forward to returning to Casa Puesta del Sol!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptionally beautiful villa paradise

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

We spent the 2nd week of our honeymoon at Casa Puesta del Sol with 10 friends and had an experience of a lifetime! The villa is beautifully decorated; everything is kept impeccably clean by the staff; and the views are unbelievable! And the flowers and foliage surrounding the property...WOW! It is without a doubt the most beautiful property on the street.

Now let's talk details:
The villa is an architectural dream! Beautifully designed and very skillfully decorated. Each and every room had distinctive decorative elements that made them all very unique. The staff: Jeanette, Ruben, Lupita and Oscar were very friendly and helpful. They came in each day to clean the rooms, made sure the grounds and pool were clean and to check on our comfort level and if we needed anything. Ruben would take our list each day and pick up whatever items we needed. It was very convenient for us not having to do excessive running around. The cooking and shopping were extremely reasonable financially. There is a mercado directly across the street from the villa, run by a lovely family. They are open late and have almost everything you would need.

We had Jeanette and Lupita cook a traditional mexican dinner and breakfast for us and it was simply delicious. And that's coming from a "foodie". I would highly suggest having them cook for you during your stay!

The town of Manzanillo is a cultural playground. Wonderful restaurants, namely Toscana's and Marina Grill. We enjoyed the HUGE meat and produce mercado in downtown, picking up yummy chorizo and accoutrements for the next mornings breakfast. The locals are sooo friendly!

We visited Colima, Comala, Melaque, Barra de Navidad, El Salto Falls and Las Hadas. I think my favorite day trip was Barra de Navidad. Beautiful town and GREAT shopping! The waterfall was amazing as was swimming in the lagoon. If you either swim (or tumble) down the small rapids to the 2nd lagoon or walk to your far right along a path taking you through some caves you'll come across a smaller waterfall that you can stand under, which was pretty exhilarating!

Michele, the owner, has a charter business, so a bunch of us went sail-fishing. The captain and crew were great! Three large sailfish were caught and one ginormous one caught. We kept one and it was absolutely delicious!

I could go on, but I'll close by saying Michele is a delight and very helpful with planning your vacation! We look forward to returning to Casa Puesta del Sol!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than the pictures!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Finally a property that exceeds the pictures! The house is fantastic and although there were only 6 of us, we easily could have been 12 people and still had lots of room. We stayed 8 days and the amenities, people and the unbelievable sunsets changed our minds about going out for dinner. The staff, Jaime, Ruben and Gris were wonderful, helping us buy fresh fish and shrimps and keeping the place spotless. And, it was so much fun to practice my very poor Spanish with them. We also ventured out of Manzanillo to Barre de Navidad and Colima. It was just enough sightseeing to round out our stay. Not one bad moment! What a relaxing, enjoyable and different holiday. I highly recommend Ron and Michele's house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Five Star Idyllic Setting!

Review submitted: December 14, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

Our seven days at Casa Puesta del Sol were unforgettable! We were a family of 10, with 5 grown children, spouses and one grandchild.
The home is stunning with every amenity made available. The open layout of the main floor was conducive to gathering and enjoying meals together, but there were always privates nooks where one could peacefully enjoy a good book or a magnificent sunset. Jaime, Rubin and Gris kept the place spotless and kept everything humming along smoothly. They were so warm and hospitable, it felt like they were part of the family by the middle of the week.
From the deep sea fishing charter (the men caught a 8'7" sailfish) to the in-home massages, to the fabulous meals, each day was an adventure. With transportation from the airport arranged with Raul and easy access to the bus and taxi, we did not miss having a rental car. We loved the "un-touristy" atmosphere of Manzanillo, where the people are friendly and understanding of those of us with rusty Spanish. Michele and Ron have thought of everything at their beautiful home. A highlight of the week was witnessing a hatch of sea turtles right outside the home on the beach and "helping" the little guys in their race to the water...unforgettable! Thank you Michele, it was a privilege to spend a week in paradise at your gorgeous home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This home is amazing!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

We stayed in this home for 6 days and loved every minute of it. It is very large and accomodating and exactly like the description. The kitchen is well-stocked with appliances and the water cooler upstairs with hot water too was a lifesaver for making baby bottles at night. The pool was awesome and the entire feel of the place is tremendously relaxing. Jaime and his staff were very helpful and attentive and the owners were very helpful and accomodating. We recommend driving down to the other bay to play at the beach if you have small kids or non-swimmers. Don't listen to the locals and go to La Boquita beach. It is at the very end of the second bay and is over-crowded and dirty, but half-way there is a beautiful clean stretch of beach that is flat with gentle waves and quite perfect. I would definitely recommend this house to a friend and if we return to Manzanillo, would definitely stay in this house. Walmart and several other large grocery stores are a short drive away, so we mostly ate in the beautiful home. We grilled outside alot too and the poolside Cabana was very convenient to hang out in and play darts or cards. The views from this home are absolutely magnificent.
We loved it!!
Tracy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: October 25, 2008

We rented this beautiful home for 8 days and could not have imagined how perfect the experience would be. Every aspect of the home is beautifully designed and decorated. The openness of the kitchen/living area/outdoor patio blends the inside with the outside so perfectly and comfortably. The pool and palapa are wonderful, and of course the beach is fantastic, and only steps away from the pool. This has to be one of, if not the, best beachfront rentals in the area.

The staff is professional, friendly, and accommodating. They helped us arrange outings, a chef, and poolside massage. They kept the house and pool perfectly cleaned and groomed.

There were eight of us in the group and we're all still talking about how wonderful the experience was. Even though we went out for a few adventures (shopping, snorkeling, etc.) we mostly enjoyed hanging out together at the house. It's such a comfortable, inviting place to be! We will definitely rent here again.

Everything about this rental experience was outstanding. The owners are easy to work with, the staff was terrific, and best of all, the house is dreamy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Even more gorgeous than the pictures!

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

This home is spectacular! The layout is great as the kitchen, living room and dining area are all connected. We were 12 people and never felt crowded.The home is meticulously maintained, both inside and out. The staff come in each day, but are never intrusive; they are warm and friendly. The area was nice and quiet. The beach was not that user friendly- hard to walk on! But the pool is gorgeous, the views are amazing and watching the ships that come into the port is incredible. We rented a car and are glad we did. There are buses, but we would not have been comfortable taking them at night, nor would I want to haul groceries on the bus. The chef that came to cook dinner the first night we were there did a great job. We cooked two or three dinners ourselves and ate out the other nights. The restaurants were very reasonably priced and the food quite good. The people were incredibly friendly, starting with the house staff and continuing everywhere we went, from the grocery store to the restaurants, all were quite warm and willing to work with us as we tried to speak Spanish. This is a great house. I would recommend it without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

WORLD CLASS HOME

Review submitted: April 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Dear Ron and Michelle, we would like to thank you again for the wonderful visit we had to your home in Manzanillo. We knew from the pictures that it would be very nice, but we were all bowled over by how incredible it really is...you should be very proud of it, as it is a world class home. We have been lucky to see many great locations in our travels as a family, but even we have never been to a place that combines the home, the services, and the location so well into one package. We had so much fun riding the bus around town and getting to know the locals, and we can see why Manzanillo has so much appeal for you. Marilu and her staff are excellent...very efficient but never in the way. You can tell that they really enjoy working with you, as they are always happy to help the guests, whether its with directions, travel suggestions, or with our "broken' Spanish. We loved every minute of our visit to your home, and we are already looking forward to another visit in 2009.Once again, thanks again for your incredible hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful luxury beachfront home!

Review submitted: April 2, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

This house is absolutely beautiful! The six bedrooms accommodated our group of twelve perfectly. We loved having the private pool to enjoy as well as the beach, which was perfect for swimming or long walks. The cabana was a favorite hang-out. From the outdoor space we saw lots of shipping/cargo vessels, whales, dolphins and birds. The sunsets are breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions and provided assisstance as needed. The owners were great to work with. They answered our numerous pre-arrival questions promptly. Our fishing charter and in-home spa treatments were arranged at our request by the owner. Both were excellent services. The location of this home is ideal. Public transportation and taxi service are close by, a convenience store across the street and grocery shopping a short drive. It is not a tourist area therefore you will experience the "real" Mexico and not have to fight crowds or be distracted by vendors. The home provides enough gathering space for games and socializing yet ares for private, quiet time as well. We had an amazing family vacation and would highly recommend this vacation home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

AWESOME ALL AROUND

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Perfect for our family reunion. We all had our privacy with the ensuite bathrooms and shared/loved the vast openness of the common spaces. No need to rent a car, we used public transport and taxis. The store across the street filled all of our libation needs and more! The house staff was friendly, helpful and gave us our space. I would highly recommend having the house staff take care of all the grocery shopping and cooking..next time we'll leave it up to them to allow for more downtime. The location of this house is away from the big tourist areas..quiet with very few vendors visiting along the beach. The only noise was later in the evenings at the public beach access site next door. The music was always local and we treated it like it was part of our personal music experience! The owner was very gracious and timely in answering all our questions and my family is anxious to return! I would absolutely recommend this to all my friends. We had 4 children in our group and the pool and enclosed compound made it a dream property for us all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

PERFECT VILLA ON THE BEACH !!!!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The villa and the staff are exceptional !!! you won't find better service anywhere. The location is perfect. you don't need to rent a car. The villa is very clean , beautifully furnished and comfortable.The beach right out front is good for swimming....So is the pool.The staff is happy to help you with anything you need. Working with the owner to rent the villa was a very easy transaction. She is very helpful.
We plan on returning often.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Luxury Beach Home has it all!

Review submitted: January 22, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This home was beautiful and more than what we expected. It is very new, well maintained and provides just about everything that is needed for a rental. The house staff were exceptional. They catered to whatever our needs and questions were. Having the beach right outside and a lovely pool was the best of both worlds. The beach was not a high traffic area so we were not bothered by tons of vendors. The vendors that we did see, were respectful and courteous. You could walk for miles along the shore or just enjoy the incredible view. From the yard we watched whales, birds, a vast selection of large shipping vessel, small fishing boats etc. The district that the house is located in is quiet and convenient. Bus stop, store, small local restaurants are all just across the street. Lots of parking for rental vehicles. This was real Mexico - not a tourist pit stop. The owners of the home did their very best in answering all of our multitudes of questions before we arrived and also followed up with us once we did arrive. They even got in touch with us after the holiday was over to ask our opinions. Nice touch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review