reviews for: listing #2976 - Palm Island, Florida House rental

Waterfront Island POOL Home on Palm Island
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $410 - $455 /nt
    $1,795 - $2,450 /wk
    $6,210 - $7,495 /mth

sort by:

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

This has been our third trip to Palm Island staying at the Grand Cayman.....We absolutely love it. Thanks Blake for all of your prompt responses when making arrangements for our stay. You, your wife and your property manager make each trip that much more special. We love it here!! The fishing is amazing and the best sunrises and sunsets anyone could every wish for. Thanks again....We look forward to our next stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing week on the island - everything you need!

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Thanks so much for such a great vacation! We had my sister and 3 little ones and this home satisfied everyone's needs. A beautiful lanai and outdoor pool set the scene for our view of Kettle Harbor, where we kept our rental boat for the week. Blake took so much time to talk with my husband about the fishing and personally took him fishing to give him tips on how to catch snook. Fishing was awesome and all of us caught an array of snook, ladyfish, sea trout, jacks and pinfish. My husband caught pompano surf fishing too on the beach, which is really closeby. Right off the dock at this home we saw dolphins and manatees. Great kayaking if you're up for it and there's a cool lagoon passage just up the way for you to explore and bird watch. Cannot say enough about the space. Terrific set/up and finishes throughout the home. Make sure you explore some of the goings on at the Palm Island Resort. Blake made sure we knew what was going on there for the kiddos and there are lots of fun events, such as face painting and a pirate show. Even without the shows, this is a fun place to go to get ice cream at Coconuts. We'll definitely be back - thanks again to Blake for all the tips!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation, amazing home, the perfect place !

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Hello Blake,
thank you for all. We had a great time in your beautiful tropical house. It is a fantastic place. Thank you for your best service, the boat trip and the delicious snook. We are looking forward to Christmas 2014. We will definitely come back!

Birgit and Henning from Hannover , Germany,
Kirstin an Bo from Sweden

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a little piece of paradise

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

Balmy weather, beach to ourselves, best fishing from a dock ever, heated pool to float around in, beautiful views of the inter-coastal waterway from the back porch----what else can you wish for in the middle of winter?
We read and walked and fished and napped and kayaked and rode bikes and tootled around in the golf cart and ate a lot of fish. One of us trained for a marathon while we were there, and the runner says it's the perfect place to run---hard packed roads that meander around the island.
The listing description was spot on. The house is immaculate. The attention to detail in the landscaping is unbeatable---a beautiful waterfall to look at and fall asleep to. Blake, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful in pointing us to all the best on the island, especially how to fish in this very spot.
We have no hesitation in recommending Grand Cayman. Just hoping everyone doesn't discover this island and this house; and I think I'm sabotaging myself to write this review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Wonderful !

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Thank you Blake for making this such a wonderful vacation ! The house could not have been more perfect so clean and comfortable, we loved the porch ! The pool is so relaxing and the dock is so much fun.The locals on Palm Island are so pleasant everyone would smile and wave or would stop and talk we felt so welcomed . The beach is spectacular very calm and relaxing . We really enjoy taking the golf cart to the beach, sightseeing or for ice cream . While on Palm Island time meant nothing and relaxation was at its best ! See you next year and THANK YOU !!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Palm Island Vacation

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We would just like to thank Blake and his family for opening up there home to us to taste a piece of paradise! This was an amazing trip we would recommend this to everyone. This home was absolutely beautiful clean and elegant the landscaping made you feel like you were in the caribbean. Our children loved the pool and catching redfish right from the dock, trout was right in the flats kayaking distance and finding shark's teeth right on the beach we also caught a snook right off the beach guess you could say it was an inshore slam week!! The 6 man golf cart is a must fun to explore the island with and to load up to go to the beach. We BBQ'd everyday and sat on the dock and drank our coffee as the sun was rising and sat on the dock with a glass of wine and watched the sun come down. After a long day we would soak in the amazing 2 man jacuzzi bathtub and eat dinner on the beautiful screened balcony. It was like a home away from home we were all sad to leave and will definitely be back. P.S. bring your off and sun screen :) WE LOVE PALM ISLAND!!!!
Thanks again for an amazing trip,
Ashley & Frank

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Tropical Getaway

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

What a wonderful vacation rental! It was very relaxing and away from the hustle and bustle of the mainland. The house is furnished with high end furnishings and the beds are very comfortable. We loved roaming the island on the golf cart and it was perfect for toting all of your beach stuff. We fished in the surf and the beaches were mainly empty. Wonderful! We fished off the dock all the time and caught a lot of different fish including a puffer fish. We even threw a pinfish to the heron that flew down and joined us on the boat lift. He actually took the fish! Herons are pretty aloof so we were surprised. We also saw a porpoise chasing lady fish in the inlet lagoon. We happened to be on the bridge and had a front row seat. It was like our own private seaworld show. It was nice to cool off in the pool in the afternoons and we bbqed several times. Overall a perfect getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful vacation house and property!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Our family planned a vacation for the first time in Palm Island and after much research we decided to to rent the " Grand Cayman" house. The owner was very informative, educational and friendly. The house was clean, beautifully decorated and the outdoor space lived up to the same, The pool was awesome and we took a late afternoon dip in it everyday. The house had a dock which was the best fishing dock on the island, It was very long, lighted and had chairs and a fish cleaning table, My teenage son caught a 15-18 lb snook off the dock. It was a thrill of a lifetime for him, He said he will remember that his entire life, We also caught trout, catfish, and redfish as well, We saw manatees and dolphins at the dock as well. The beaches on Palm Island our beautiful. The water was very clear and calm. The shelling was awesome!! The beaches are far from crowded and you will feel like you are on your own private island!! We found sand dollars, alphabet cones, lightening whelks and conch shells. You will definitely want to rent the golf cart from the owner. Everyone gets around the island that way. We drove the golfcart to the beaches and to Palm Island Resort. Blake recommended several restaurants and both were great food!! We went and had ice cream at Coconuts most days of the week as well. Blake was an awesome host and if u have any questions or need some recommendations on anything he is very friendly and informative!! Our family had a blast the entire week!! We saw lots of wildlife as well. We saw manatees, dolphins, fish, birds and gopher tortoises. If you go to Palm Island this is the place to rent and the person to rent from, you won't be disappointed at all! We will definitely be back and have some great memories from our vacation!! Thanks again Blake and look forward to renting from you again next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional, already rebooked the "Grand Cayman"!

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

This was our 6th stay on Don Pedro Island and the “Grand Cayman” met all our expectations. Upon returning to our own home, we have already booked another week at your home in October…and we can’t wait to return. Your home is very clean with plenty of amenities. We enjoyed the refreshing pool and the wonderful harbor view from the porch. Blake was very responsive and accessible, providing lots of tips and suggestions for us. Thanks for a wonderful vacation and see you in October!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Where do I start ...The entire vacation from start to finish was a ten out of a ten ! Palm Island is a friendly , quiet place with beautiful beaches . The house is fantastic- decor is stunning , great kitchen and very comfortable beds.
We had two 14 year olds with us. They never ran out of things to do. Fishing from the dock day and night . Swiming in the pool or ocean. They rode the bikes around the island , to different beaches . We are avid fisherman, the fishing packages we rented were great quality ! Not to mention they were delivered right to the house.
The restraunt has a wide variety of great food choices and price points. Taking the ferry back and forth was easy . The grocery store and shopping is less than 10 minurtes away .
Thanks again Blake for everything !!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Grand Cayman

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Grand Cayman for a week during March. It was even better than this webpage depicts! The house was exceptionally clean and meticulously decorated, down to the little details. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you'd need for your stay. And the view was spectacular! Blake was also true to his promise that we'd see dolphins and manatees. We saw a dolphin right off the dock, and my husband saw two manatees just down the way.
We will definitely be back!
Blake, thank you for such a memorable stay!
Annie, Guy and Allie from New Prague, Minnesota

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wedding/Honeymoon

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

we were married on the dock of one of the most beautiful places on the planet! The home was immaculate and had all of the amenities to ensure a wonderful stay. Not to mention world class fishing- from a dock!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grand Cayman

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

My stay, Sep. 22-29, 2010, was a great time to be at your Grand Cayman House as the weather was absolutely perfect. It is appropriately named with all your beautiful tropical landscaping as it was like being on an island without a bunch of tourists. Really enjoyed the private pool with the waterfall, fishing and seeing the manatees off your big dock and driving the golf cart around the island, to the beach and going for ice cream or dinner at Rum Bay. Every night I went to the beach to view the great sunsets. Look forward to coming back many times and also at different times of the year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad you had a great time on Palm Island Mrs. Kidder! We also love spending time on the 150' dock and feel like you are sitting in the middle of the harbor with the Manatees gently swimming around, Ospreys calling from the trees, and and watching the kids catch fish. Those kind of memories are the best!
The Monroe's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at "Grand Cayman"

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2010

"Thank you" Blake Monroe & family, for letting us enjoy your lovely vacation home.We recently had the most enjoyable stay.We Divided our time between your pool w/ its lush tropical landscaping, the dock, and the beach Your golf carts made exploring the island so easy. The forethought in furnishing both the interior and exterior of your home made it evident that you care about your guests comfort.We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forwarded to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the "Grand Cayman" on Palm Island James and Kitty. It is always a delight to speak with you. The 6 passenger golf cart does make the vacation special...and Palm Island unique! Where else can you enjoy a quiet ride around on a narrow little island on hard packed sand roads, surrounded by natural Florida beach landscape, with no crowds, almost no traffic, and only have to dodge the turtles crossing the road. We love to hop in the golf cart and run over to the local ice cream shop just down the road...then it is off to the beach to collect more shells and sandollars. I'm glad you found Palm Island!
The Monroe's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome property!

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Great place to relax and unwind! And the fishing is unbelievable! We were maybe 1/2 mile from the house and had fish biting every line put in the water!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation, anyone?

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

My husband and I, along with our son and his friend, visited The Grand Cayman. Every expectation was met, and beyond! As we drove onto the property we were welcomed by a truly beautiful home and welcoming landscaping. I couldn't wait to try out that hammock! The pictures of the dock and the water that we had seen on the website could not do them justice. We loved walking out on the dock, it was very serene. We saw so many fish just waiting for a line! Our weekend was shorter than we wanted it to be, but we managed to visit the beach and hunt for sea shells, we drove the golf cart to the resort for ice cream, we enjoyed taking pictures of all the wildlife,,, and there is so much of it. The turtles are the kings of the underbrush! At the house, there was no detail left unattended. I really appreciated that beach towels and chairs were available, and the home was very well appointed and comfortable. The bed linens and bath towels were thick and comfy... we didn't feel like we were visiting there, as such a feeling of "home" was abound. We enjoyed grilling out by our pool each evening and taking a dip after dinner. Our weekend was short, but we had a "no hurry" attitude. When it came time to leave, we decided we would return, and we would definitely recommend the Grand Cayman to our friends and family. We can't wait to get back to a little piece of paradise! Very Sincerely, The Walkers (Lakeland, FL)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Walker family! I know you love Palm Island as much as we do. After a day of the beach and fishing, the pool is the way to spend the afternoon or evening. I also love to grill my steaks poolside and watch the family swimming and laughing...away from the TV or electronics, it reminds me of why we chose to build this home on Palm Island. And when the sun is setting on the horizon on the Gulf of Mexico, and the sky is brilliant in color...we take a deep breath, smell the gulf breeze, and thank God for times like these. Hope you come back soon.
The Monroe's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Entire family enjoyed the vacation, primarily the pool. From fishing on the dock and kayak, collecting sand dollars in the gulf or simply relaxing in the comfort of your home, we all had an excellant vacation. We hope to visit again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: I knew your family would love the double fishing kayak. It is so stable, and makes it easy to get to the Trout fishing hole around the corner or just enjoy a leisurely stroll. I hope you got a chance to explore the secret hidden lake in the middle of the island just south of us by kayak. Only kayaks can get back in there through the hidden winding creek. Even the local kayak touring company takes it's guests to our area since it is so quiet and beautiful to explore.
We also love to collect sandollars on the beach sandbar, and since most of them are already bleached white and perfect for collecting, it is normally easy to get about 30 big ones very quickly. Thanks for sharing your memories with us.
Hope you can stay with us again soon.
The Monroe's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 3, 2005   Date of arrival: October 3, 2005

I wanted to let you know what a wonderful week we had at the Grand Cayman! It's the most relaxing place we've ever stayed at, and you were right...the best seat in the house is the dock! We enjoyed many an early morning coffee or early evening glass of wine watching the fish, birds and the total peace and quiet. Long beach walks and shell collecting were also wonderful. We are both full of envy that you have a haven so close to where you live to get away from it all and totally unwind. I will of course be recommending your beautiful home to friends who are looking for an "away for it all holiday" and I know that we will be back soon ourselves. Sue

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2004   Date of arrival: March 25, 2004

Shelling! Fishing! Shopping! Eating! Everyday was non stop p;easures for the taking! Every moment a memory maker. Our stay was too short, but oh so sweet...can't wait "Grand Cayman" until next time! This is such a beautiful home...a graet dock, beach, and water! Leverocks restaurant at sunset is so wonderful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2004   Date of arrival: January 5, 2004

Many thanks for opening up this wonderful home for us! you paid so much attention to detail in this beautiful Island house! All the little touches and conveniences really makes one feel at home! This vacation will always hold special memories to me.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 16, 2003   Date of arrival: November 16, 2003

Being from Austraia, we are used to seeing beautiful surroundings, and while we were here in the U.S.,we traveled quite a bit...but, the stay at this house was the highlight of our vacation! We spotted a sea turtles during moonlight walks on the beach. We also fishing at night. We had some wonderful gourmet feasts on the big porch...we will definatley be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2003   Date of arrival: July 3, 2003

Dear Monroe family, We are at the end of one our most enjoyable vacations! Certainly the most relaxing. We saw so many things in one short week...daily dolphin sightings,gopher turtles, a family of 5 Manatees with a baby, and many species of birds! There is a Great Blue Heron that stands at the end of your dock each day that we named. Each day we counted new sea turtle hatchings on the beach, but were never able to be there when they first left the nest. We all gathered a wonderful assortment of shells! Thank you for sharing this wonderful vacation home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2003   Date of arrival: May 25, 2003

What a BEAUTIFUL place you have here! The island setting is so gorgeous. Everything was fabulous. Our men went Tarpon fishing and caught a championship fish! The Tarpon was 6 feet long and weighed about 225 pounds! We took lots of pictures to prove it...what a memory. It was a perfect Memorial day vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2003   Date of arrival: April 11, 2003

We truley enjyed your beautiful home! Everything is so well decorated and thought out. Our boys really enjoyed their vacation here, and it will be a cherished family memory!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review