reviews for: listing #29947 - Santa Monica, California Cottage rental

$180! Magical Spanish Bungalow ~ 8 blocks to beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Park
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $205 /nt

sort by:

Great Location/Cute & Comfortable Bungalow

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

My husband, best friend, and I enjoyed this bungalow and our stay in Santa Monica.
THE BUNGALOW: It was clean and pleasant. The two bedrooms were a little cramped, but with coaches and lots of seating areas. The t.v. was not in the den, but rather the main bedroom, which I found nice for socializing. It t.v. was of good quality, with digital cable. The den was spacious and had a beautiful view of flowers and trees. Charlie, the bungalow kitty, was very nice and loving. He didn't cry or bother us at all. The kitchen had a great sink and lots of dishes. The internet had no problems. There was sky lights in each bedroom and bathroom. This was nice for a warm glow throughout the bungalow, but it did make it very sunny in the mornings. We were okay with that, but if you need to sleep during the day, you may not like sunshine you can't shut off. But why would you sleep in California? Right!
AREA AROUND BUNGALOW: A quite neighborhood, and had no problems parking. I didn't hear any traffic or noise at all at night. Also, the bungalow was right next to a grocery store, that now has a Star Bucks! It was only 1-2 blocks away. The beach, Ocean View, was 8 blocks away. The beach parking was reasonably priced, and not hard to find a parking spot. I recommend renting a bike on the long bike trail that is on the beach. Don't rent outside of the bike trail, or you'll just have to carry it back with you home or if you have any issues you can't bike it back to the bike shop... just rent it on the bike trail, and you can bike for hours! We biked all over and from the Santa Monica Pier to Venice Beach. I didn't think I would enjoy Venice, but it really was fun to watch the skateboarders, muscle beach, and the stores had cheap souvenirs!
RESTAURANTS: We ate at "The Misfit" in Downtown Santa Monica one night. Parking was so cheap and it was very hip and cool! I am not sure if it would be kid friendly because downtown had a lot of homeless beggars, but we paid $2 to park and had a fun night! 4 blocks away was Main Street- has a lot of diners for breakfast and we really enjoyed every place we went. Some late night restaurants as well.
OWNER & RENTING: Kelly was easy to work with and she always responded in a timely manner. She returned our deposit with no problems. Everything went smoothly with our transactions with owner, Kelly.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa, thank you for this kind and thorough review! We look forward to having you back!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cute, compact and convenient

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

The Casita was perfect for us (2.) The garden was lovely, the place was clean and well-appointed, and it was within walking distance to the beach, Main Street shops and restaurants, and supermarket.
It turns out, we didn't need more room than we had! It's cozy and comfy. Bravo--and the cat is very laid-back!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Pat, thanks for this sweet review!

Future guests: Pat stayed in my studio Casita, not in the Bungalow which is posted here. I can accommodate larger groups who decide to book both for more room and privacy!

The Bungalow and Casita are well-located. I rarely have a car when I'm home and walk everywhere. Grocery store is only a block away!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Santa Monica Area Sightseeing

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

This is a nice cozy place to stay with a real welcome cat haha. We stayed here a few days and did some sightseeing around the area. There is a nice bar down the street called Cock 'n' Bull which my friend and I really liked since we are huge soccer fans and they play the games there. The beds are comfortable and we were able to park our car right out front. Easy to get to as its right off the main drag in santa monica. Checking in and out was very easy. The area is very quiet and peaceful and the decor makes for a relaxing stay. Thank you for accommodating us!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful retreat in the middle of it all

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

My friend and I had a fantastic stay at the bungalow. Kelly was prompt, responsive and easy to deal with, and her manager who met me at the bungalow was very helpful.
The bungalow is cosy without being cramped, with two bedrooms and a roomy shared bath. The kitchen looks quite functional though we didn't use it, and there is a comfortable living area though we spent more of our time out on the deck enjoying the amazing weather. There is another rental that shares the property though we never saw the other visitors and the yard is big enough to coexist easily.
The bungalow is in a quiet residential neighborhood full of beautiful houses and gorgeous vegetation. It is a peaceful area but close to lots of activity. We were able to walk to the beach, the Santa Monica pier, Venice Beach and Abbot-Kinney for shopping. Highlights for us were margaritas at La Cabana and dinner at Sunny Spot, a Caribbean place with good food and fantastic cocktails a short drive away. There is also a good coffee shop a 10-minute walk away.
i am very happy to recommend the bungalow for anyone looking to get enjoy a great part of LA while still feeling relaxed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kryss, so glad you and Regine had a great time! La Cabaña has been a favorite of mine ever since I moved to Santa Monica 30 years ago. I'll try the Caribbean restaurant. Thanks for the tip -- and for the sweet review!

Come back again!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place in Santa Monica

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Our family of 4 visited Santa Monica for 5 days in September. As we love Ocean Park, this property was exacly what we needed with a great location, close to the beach and only 15-20 min drive from the airport. The setup of the cottage was perfect with 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen and a nice deck to enjoy our morning coffee and evening meals. Everything very clean and fully equiped with towels and linen. Thanks to Kelly and Wendy, they have done a great job, so our booking, arrival and stay were very smooth. And, of course we already miss Charley, who has become our best friend from the first day of staying in bungalow... We will definitely consider this place again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful Santa Monica retreat

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

I stayed here with family members for 2 weeks on short notice when I adopted my newborn daughter. Kelly was so gracious and attentive to our needs during a very stressful time. The home, with it's quirky, cool and colorful design features and fun location near the beach and Main Street shops, provided a lovely sanctuary. We especially loved cooking in the light, airy kitchen and having friends over for dinner in the beautifully landscaped courtyard. Would highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Erin, what a sweet review! I was so honored to have my home be the first Lily visited. I'm glad Charley, my cat, was so good with her. You and your folks were a delight. I wish you and Lily all the best! Come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect holiday stay

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We had found Kelly's place through this site and from the first email contact on I knew that we had picked the perfect holiday getaway for us. We are a family of four and wanted a quiet and cozy location in Santa Monica close to stores, beach and the main L.A attractions. The bungalow is exactly what we were looking for. It is quiet and provides you with two bedrooms, a nice outside porch and everything you need. Full kitchen, towls, sheets, bath tub, TV, Internet.....
just read the description of it and you know what to expect!
Kelly was very helpful with giving us information on restaurants, sights, free concerts etc. so we felt like locals right away.
The arrival procedure worked well, too and we quickly felt like at home.
We would definitely stay there again. More space than in a motel room, good rate and great location - what more can you ask of?
We are still very happy that we have found this jewel of vacation homes and are looking forward to staying there again one day.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to give such a thorough and sweet review! Yes, come back anytime...

Kelly

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

can't wait for next year :)

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Perfect little hideaway in the heart of Santa Monica. Clean, and the nicest people around you, you could imagine!
Kelly is a sweetheart so is Wendy thank you guys so so much!
Also Charley is the best cat ever ;)
Thank you guys so much for making my 2 weeks in LA relaxing and comfortable.

-susan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan, it was so much fun meeting you! (As you know, I travel a lot and rarely have the pleasure of meeting the cool people who stay in my home.) I love your CD and wish you every success in your career. So many creative people are drawn to my Bungalow, Casita and Hideaway. It's exciting to watch my guests' careers take off!

So glad you will be back!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Our Stay in Santa Monica

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We stayed 7 days in this charming bungalow in a secure and quiet environment. It has all the commodity and is well located to travel in and out of the city and is close to one of the nicest beach in the area. It has a nice terrace where you can have lunch in a private atmosphere. Also close to famous Venice beach for those who look for more animation.The airport is only 15 min away wich is very convenient. A car is a good thing to rely on and made us feel free to go around the coast wich has much to offer.

One of our preferred visit has been The Getty museum wich is stunning by its situation and array of beautiful achitecture,and stunning art collection.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pierre, I'm so glad you and your friends enjoyed yourselves! It was a pleasure to have you all and I hope you come back!

Kelly (and Charley, too!)

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Just like home, only better

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

My husband and I and our two teen kids had a great time in L.A. and our visit was so very enhanced by staying at the bungalow. It was fabulous, frankly. Staying there gave us a taste of what it's like to live in Santa Monica. There were many great things we did during our trip; but the kids' favorite thing was the visit to Hollywood and seeing the Hollywood sign, stars in the concrete and handprints (silly isn't it? But I guess it's a top attraction for a reason!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rose, I'm so glad you all had a great time! (My hands happen to be the same size as Marilyn Monroe's. Coincidence???? Hmmmm....)

You're welcome back anytime -- and I hope you can stay longer next time!

Thanks!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

A Gem in a great neighbourhood

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

Great location and a fun house to visit - Kelly the owner was so helpful and gave wonderful recommendations. Thanks to Wendy who welcomed us and and gave us a great recommendation for lunch "Urth cafe " . Yoga on Santa Monica beach with Brad at 10:30 on Sat and Sunday at lifeguard station # 29 was fantastic

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi, Liz! I didn't know about the beach yoga. I'll include that in my list of fun things to do. Thanks for the tip! That's a straight, easy walk from the Bungalow. So glad you and Aergus had fun. Come back anytime!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Santa Monica Casita Stay

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Enjoyed our stay in Santa Monica. The Casita is as described, perfect for one or two that need a comfortable place to stay. Easy in/out of Santa Monica. Loved walking down to the beach.
Recommend Urth for breakfast. Great coffee and excellent food.

Owners response: Thanks, Patrick! I'm glad you and Tiffany had fun. Come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

The perfect California laid back experience

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

I'd recommend this bungalow for those people looking for a true California experience. For us it was like being home, so cozy, romantic, close to the beach (you don't need to use the car) and to everything you need to live your relaxing days. The neighborhood is excellent, very quiet and comfortable. Too bad it was not the season to use the outside dining table, that would have added more memorable moments.
Charlie, the cat, was the unexpected gift, the kids fell in love with him and kept cuddling him all the way to the end of our stay (a spoiled cat now).
Kelly is a wonderful person and we wish we could stay again in the bungalow very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mauro, thank you for your sweet note! I loved the photos you sent me of your gorgeous children with Charley. So glad we could help make your LA experience memorable!

Caio!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Perfect

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

This lovely home was a perfect place to reunite with my high school friend after 20 years! Wendy was right on time and perfectly accomidating! We were able to park at the entrance of the bungalow which is where Charlie greeted us, and then snuggled down for a nap with my friend. Very comfy beds!

This location was perfect for chatty brief walks to Venice Beach, downtown tourist sites, and the Organic market! What a great way to catch up!

Thank goodness for the kitchen being fully furnished! What a treat it was to dine & chat more with my girl on the lovely porch warmed by a heater...in December! PERFECT!

*Bonus that these money's fund refugee assistance!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Proud Grandma!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

The Bungalow was the perfect place for me to stay to visit my daughter and HER new daughter! As a proud new grandma I didn't spend much time in the Bungalow, but it was great for me to head "home" and let my daughter and my new grandbaby get some rest.

The place is cute, a bit small, but everything's here. I was surprised to have free long distance calling, so I could call my husband every night.

I was disappointed I couldn't sty at the Bungalow again this summer -- it was already booked. Hopefully, next time I can move faster.

Grandma Corletti

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, Kay! I'm so sorry I was booked this summer when you wanted to come back. I'm pretty open this fall -- and fall is a GREAT time to be in Santa Monica. We'd love to have you back!

Send new pix of your granddaughter!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 17 / 19

 

My Writing Retreat ~ Creative Haven

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

I stayed a month at Kelly's Bungalow and accomplished quite a bit of writing. It's quiet, comfortable and her cat is a great listener. This was my 2nd stay, and I hope to make this an annual retreat to get some writing done.

Her place just has a good, clear feel to it that really unleashes my creativity. Such beats the Buffalo winter!

I also liked that I could walk everywhere - grocery store, Blockbuster, restaurants down on Main St. - so I didn't need a rental car.

This last winter I met a fascinating Australian documentarian and we've stayed in touch. This is a place to meet really remarkable travelers.

Thanks, Kelly, for making your nurturing home available. Good luck with your book!....Carole

Owners response: Thanks, Carole! My books is coming along -- and I really appreciate your support by staying at my home. Glad you are raising Charley's appreciation for excellent prose! Looking forward to reading your book....

Write on!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Made our wedding so special, We came back!!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

To accommodate everyone for our wedding, my fiance and I had my family stay at both the Bungalow and the Casita. It was sooo convenient having everyone together, yet with their own privacy....and they had kitchens and all the comforts of home without the nickel-and-diming that goes on at our local hotels. (You know, extra costs for phone calls, internet, parking, tipping....Everything was free and available for us!)

My husband and I loved it so much, we decided to take our own "in-town" vacation while our apartment was being repainted and had a romantic "second honeymoon" at the Bungalow. We liked the deep bathtub. :)

We never met Kelly, but she was fast and detailed with her emails, and Wendy (manager) was awesome!

Genie & George

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Genie, I'm looking forward to coffee when I come back to Santa Monica next month. I want to see wedding pictures! It was so sweet of you to leave one of your gorgeous floral centerpieces. Wendy sent me a photo of it. So kind!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

We BBQ'd, Relaxed, Loved It!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We loved the huge porch and had all our meals out there in the secluded yard. The BBQ was great, although we wish there were long tongs. The Bungalow is well-appointed -- very interesting art from Iraqi artists that Kelly has met -- and very, very comfortable. Our 9-year-old fell in love with Charley, who is the most personable cat around. I grew up in Santa Monica and this is by far the best neighborhood for sightseeing -- comfortable walk to the Pier, the Boardwalk, and, of course, the beach! We can't wait to come back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michelle, thanks for the sweet review. BBQ tongs - got it, will get it! It was lovely getting a chance to meet you - even briefly - and I hope we have a chance to connect when I'm in Hamburg this fall.

Charley wants you to come back!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Not great for jetlag or young children

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

My husband and I and our 18 month old and my husband's brother all stayed at the bungalow for a few days after arriving in LA travelling from Australia. The place is set up to sleep six, however all beds are not permanent, ie double futon in lounge, double futon in one of the bedrooms, and queen fold out from the wall bed in the bedroom, all of which were extremely uncomfortable. There are skylights in both bedrooms making it very difficult to sleep in due to long daylight hours and difficult for our 18 month old trying to go to bed at 7pm, when it's broad daylight in the bedroom because of the skylight! Television is in one of the bedrooms, and not in main living area, making it difficult to watch unless you want all persons staying in the bungalow in your bedroom! So all in all, not a great choice of accom for jetlagged travellers, especially those with young children...or those wanting to sleep in a comfortable bed I suppose either!

Owners response: Yeah, this is a couple I shouldn’t have rented to…My lapse of judgment. They complained at every step during the rental process.

What they didn’t mention in their comment is that they broke a glass shelf and left the Bungalow a mess. I’m sorry they were unhappy: We went out of our way before they arrived to make them comfortable, including loaning them a port-a-cot for their baby – for free! I've had many families stay at my Bungalow who really enjoyed themselves -- and returned.

I received an e-mail from Leigh the night they arrived with vague complaints, then no response to my emails when I followed up to resolve whatever it was she was unhappy with. I also invited her to call me at my expense; no reply. After they left, I emailed the couple (at both their email addresses) to ask them about the condition they left the Bungalow. Again, no word. I still have not heard from them...This couple was unresponsive and irresponsible.

Luckily, they are not my typical guests. I’ve been privileged during the last 3 years to rent to literally hundreds of people who have enjoyed my home (and Charley!). Many have returned year after year and cherished my home as if it were their own. In fact, I’ve stayed with a few of my guests in their own homes when I’ve traveled!

VacationRentals.com has just begun soliciting guest comments. It’s unfortunate this is my first comment...Soon, I’ll be posting a notice on how to avoid a vacation rental rip-off and how to choose the right vacation rental for your holiday. My goal is to have informed, excited guests who enjoy a great financial deal in a fabulous Los Angeles location!

Feel free to contact me with your specific questions and needs. I'm here to make your trip to LA memorable!

Kelly Hayes-Raitt

Helpful votes: 6 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review