reviews for: listing #29982 - Lake Hartwell, South Carolina House rental

Harmony on Hartwell
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $220 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

This is a lovely and roomy lake house. The layout was perfect for us. It is well-maintained and very clean. The beds are quite comfy and everything was new! It is beautifully decorated and they have a well-equipped kitchen.
The owners provided a notebook with information about the property and the surrounding areas. They even printed out maps to grocery stores, restaurants, the marina and provided maps of Lake Hartwell.
There are steps down to the covered dock. There is a small fenced-in back yard and doggy door for pets--perfect for our little dog.
They have satellite TV with lots of channels--both upstairs and down. We didn't watch much, though. We were too busy having fun on the lake!
We grilled every night but the last one when we went to Anderson and had a yummy dinner at the Olive Garden.
We'd love to return. I would recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We had vacationed on Lake Hartwell several times prior to purchasing our vacation home, so we know what it's like to be from out of town and need local information. We spent alot of time making sure the details were covered and it really makes your vacation more enjoyable. If you're not sure what all the area offers, we're always glad to discuss your vacation with you and help you fully enjoy all that upstate SC has to offer.....and it's alot!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family weekend Sept 27-30, 2013

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

The home is very spacious, clean and well-maintained. We enjoyed staying there very much! It is right on the lake with very few neighbors nearby. It is a nicely wooded area. There are many steps leading down to the boat dock and it is really steep so we did not use the boat dock. It is very nice for family activities. With the lower floor having the family room with TV/DVD; two bedrooms and full bath, it would be a perfect separate living area for kids/teenagers or a second family sharing the home. There is even an extra refrigerator downstairs. The listing photos are accurate-the rooms are comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes/glassware/silverware, pots and pans, paper products, cleaning supplies. There are even some books and DVDs to enjoy. The owners were available for questions, either via email or by phone and were very helpful. Since this was our first experience renting a vacation home, we wanted to talk with others who had stayed at this one. The owners were very helpful in providing contact information to talk with returning renters. We went to Anderson to the grocery store and to eat out a few times. We would definitely recommend the Sunday Brunch Buffet at Tucker's Restaurant in Anderson. Good selection of items, very good food and excellent service! We would also recommend the Harbor Light Marina for boat rentals.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious lake home in quiet cove and pet friendly

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Location is excellent - only few miles off interstate 85. Area is very quiet and at end of the road, No traffic. House is clean and very spacious with upstairs and downstairs living room areas and great sitting porches.Kitchen is well stocked and offers plenty of room to entertain. Very pet friendly with dog door to outside fenced area and grassy area off carport. Cove is quiet. Steps are steep down to the covered clean dock . Minimal sitting area at dock if you don't have a boat. Tri County Boat Rental (Jay) was great to work with and will bring one right to you. Caught several spotted and shoal bass and also a large catfish at the dock. Love Lake Hartwell ! Great home to rent !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

The house is great! Clean, comfortable, well equipped kitchen. We visited for my husband's birthday- just the two of us & our dogs. It was so relaxing we decided to stay there & cook instead of going out!
We travel with our dogs frequently but this house was special because, not only was it very clean & comfortable- it had a fenced in area for the dogs that they could access through a doggy door! My only suggestions would be a TV in the master bedroom & a little grass in fenced area. Also it is a hilly slope to lake but dock is nice once you get there.
We would highly recommend this vacation rental to folks who appreciate a really nice property whether you have pets or not but especially so for those who do.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Football Weekend!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

First time renter! Very nice home that was perfect for our needs. Only 20 minutes from Clemson and had a great updated roomy kitchen to prepare our tailgate buffet! The home was very clean and well-maintained and easily accommodated our group of 10 (6 adults and 4 kids). Looking forward to visiting again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Stayed at this house for a Clemson football weekend, location was perfect - not too far away from campus and on the water.
The size of the house was perfect for our group (5 adults and 3 children), and up-to-date.
The kitchen was a great size and well equipped.
The updated laundry area was nice to have as well (and the extra refrigerator)!
We enjoyed walking down to the dock a few times - the stairs definitely helped.
We hope to come back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. Most of our clientele over the last year has all been repeat renters so we really appreciate getting new feedback!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation House

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Just returned to reality today after wonderful week at this lake house. We had a few questions/items upon arrival - nothing major - the owners were so response and handled the items immediately. The water level at the lake is low right now - they owners had already moved the dock so a boat worked well -- the house was clean and in good repair. Neighbors were very very quiet - good privacy for the house - great parking situation for cars & boat trailers. Several ramps nearby make it easy to get boats in & out. Loved the kitchen. Thank you for a great vacation with family & friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lake Hartwell house

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

The house at Lake Hartwell was great, plenty of room for our family, sister and brother-in-law, son and daughter in law and 2 boys and 1 dog. So sorry the lake was low but we enjoyed the area; didn't have a boat. . The excitement on Sunday was the electricity was out for 3 hours due to storm and some rain. We sat on the porch and listen to rain in the trees. Will hope to be on list for next spring or summer for your rental. Thanks. Betty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Time Fun!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a great weekend. Even with 7 children in one house. From ages 15 to 1year. The home is set up perfect for it! So neat and clean..the kitchen is great and has everything you need to eat in and make all your family’s favorite meals! The cove is quiet and fun to swim in. Great dock for boat and fishing off of...we caught a few big ones! We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We love families!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Time FUN!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a great weekend. Even with 7 children in one house. From ages 15 to 1year. The home is set up perfect for it! So neat and clean..the kitchen is great and has everything you need to eat in and make all your family’s favorite meals! The cove is quiet and fun to swim in. Great dock for boat and fishing off of...we caught a few big ones! We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summertime Fun!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a great weekend. Even with 7 children in one house. From ages 15 to 1year. The home is set up perfect for it! So neat and clean..the kitchen is great and has everything you need to eat in and make all your familys favorite meals! The cove is quiet and fun to swim in. Great dock for boat and fishing off of...we caught a few big ones! We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

This home turned out to be the perfect place to celebrate graduations from Clemson (and USC)! It's clean, set up great for entertaining, and worked well with all ages - from young cousins to grandparents. The steps to the lake are steep tho', so children need to be watched carefully, and some elderly or those with some disabilities may not be able to go down; but the owner was honest about that to begin with, so that was not a problem. And speaking of the owner, he was extremely helpful, honest, and responsive. I would absolutely recommend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

This home turned out to be the perfect place to celebrate graduations from Clemson (and USC)! It's clean, set up great for entertaining, and worked well with all ages - from young cousins to grandparents. The steps to the lake are steep tho', so children need to be watched carefully, and some elderly or those with some disabilities may not be able to go down; but the owner was honest about that to begin with, so that was not a problem. And speaking of the owner, he was extremely helpful, honest, and responsive. I would absolutely recommend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Getaway

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Eight of my family members came from Florida, Michigan, and Indiana for my wedding. It was the best decision ever to rent this home for them! They stayed for one week (I stayed a little too) and had such a good time at the lake and in the house. It made their stay very pleasant and so affordable. I had such a wonderful experience with this first rental off of vrbo.com that I will be staying at this same spot again for sure! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: We were honored to have our home part of your momentous occasion and we're happy it was everything you expected. Congratulations to you newlyweds!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Breathtaking

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

My husband and I and another couple spent New Years Eve Weekend at this lovely home. What a wonderful way to bring in the New Year. The home is just gorgeous and the view of the lake from the back deck was absolutely beautiful. The perfect place to sit and drink your morning coffee, read a book, or just think. The home was spotless and very tastefully decorated and the kitchen very well appointed. If we needed it, it was available. You can tell that the owners take great pride in their property. It was too cold to take in all the fun the lake has to offer, but I can't wait to return in the spring or summer to go fishing, boating, etc. I will definitely return to this lakeside jewel!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing family getaway

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Beautiful home with all amenities in an area that is secluded from others, yet close to town and attractions. The house is perfect with comfortable beds, furnishings, and a large kitchen. The deck overlooks the lake, and the boatdock. The dock is great for fishing, swimming, or just lounging in the sun with your feet in the water. Our group had a very relaxing weekend, and hope to return again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Lakeside getaway!!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Beautiful home with all amenities in an area that is secluded from others, yet close to town and attractions. The house is perfect with comfortable beds, furnishings, and a large kitchen. The deck overlooks the lake, and the boatdock. The dock is great for fishing, swimming, or just lounging in the sun with your feet in the water. Our group had a very relaxing weekend, and hope to return again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

July 2010 - This was a great lake home, and we could not have asked for a better vacation. The home had plenty of space, was well appointed, well kept and very clean. The cove that the house sits on was perfect for swimming and our kids spent so much time in the water I think they grew fins. The location was great, and it was easy to get to from the interstate. It is convenient to so much that the area has to offer, and the owners we’re very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. A definite 10

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Rental for the Family

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

This property was everything we hoped to find. The decor and furnishings were very nice and comfortable for the family. We enjoyed the two living areas for the extended family to spread out. The kitchen is quite big and well appointed for all our needs. Lake Hartwell is one of the greatest lakes you could wish for if you are a fisherman or if you love water sports. We brought our own boat and enjoyed boating up to Clemson one day, docking at the public access dock and walking to the local restaurants for a little lunch. We also enjoyed sushi dinner at Nami's.
The week was perfect with the exception of the fairly dangerous steps joining the house and the beautiful dock. Be warned that you would not want to be out on the lake after dark because of the steps going up to the house. We would like to see an improved system of trail and steps leading up the steep incline though not a show stopper for us.
You will love the porches that have great furnishings to relax and enjoy the great outdoors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the tip! We have now installed lighting at the steps for safety. We love to hear suggestions that make our place the best choice for your vacation!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lake Hartwell Property

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

This is an amazing property! Not only is it very spacious,charming and white glove clean it is very easy to find. The owners are extremely gracious and very easy to work with. We are hoping to go back to enjoy the lake and all it has to offer. We rented the property for Clemson graduations and the drive was no problem. My family gives this house a AAA rating! I just hope it is available the next time we visit the Clemson area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

Wonderful vacation home!Two thumbs way up!

J. & J.. Asheville, NC.

Date of Stay: August 2009

This is a lovely and roomy lake house. The layout was perfect for our group of nine. It is well-maintained and very clean. The beds are quite comfy and everything was new! It is beautifully decorated and they have a well-equipped kitchen.
The owners provided a notebook with information about the property and the surrounding areas. They even printed out maps to grocery stores, restaurants, the marina and provided maps of Lake Hartwell.
There are steps down to the covered dock. There is a small fenced-in back yard and doggy door for pets--perfect for our little dog.
They have satellite TV with lots of channels--both upstairs and down. We didn't watch much, though. We were too busy having fun on the lake!
We grilled every night but the last one when we went to Anderson and had a yummy dinner at the Olive Garden.
We'd love to return. I would highly recommend it to friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

This is a wonderful house. We felt like we were staying at one of our own family members vacation home. The house is very clean and homey. The owners did not over look any details including information on nearby surroundings. We were very happy with our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

Beautiful home! Enjoyed our time there & cannot wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Rental Ever!

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

April 2009 - We LOVED staying at the house over Easter weekend (4 nights). Everything was so clean and new! The house is beautifully furnished, very spacious and comfortable; plenty of room for our family of 4. It is 25 minutes from Clemson University and really easy access to and from the interstate. Quiet and pretty wooded lot on lake; we liked hanging out on the back porch. We will definitely be return visitors and highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Another happy family! We love to hear that! We've also had families of 8 and 10 that have found the home to have plenty of room. We're so excited that everyone that has stayed can't wait to rent from us again. It sure helps that we have the best housekeeper in SC!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

April 2009 - We LOVED staying at the house over Easter weekend (4 nights). Everything was so clean and new! The house is beautifully furnished, very spacious and comfortable; plenty of room for our family of 4. It is 25 minutes from Clemson University and really easy access to and from the interstate. Quiet and pretty wooded lot on lake; we liked hanging out on the back porch. We will definitely be return visitors and highly recommend this property.

Owners response: Another happy family! We love to hear that! The home is very roomy, We've also had families of 8 and 10 who have found the home very comfortable. We're also excited that everyone that has stayed at our home can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review