reviews for: listing #30002 - Lake Nantahala, North Carolina Chalet rental

Brye Haus-Private, wonderful views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Little Choga
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $250 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We thank everyone who has stayed with us, and welcome in the New Year. We hope all our past guests and new guests have a happy and safe year ahead and wish everyone well. Also thank you all those who have stayed with us, and have shared their pictures, thoughts and reviews.

We have repaired the hot tub issue , installed a new remote that will lift the hot tub cover, and also replaced the cover.

Best wishes to all
Eve and Jeff Walstrom

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

The cabin was beautiful. The owner decorated with Christmas decorations which made it feel extra cozy. The cabin is not near any others, which was very nice. The only bad part was the fridge stopped working one day so we had to live out of coolers for a little while. It did eventually start working again otherwise it would have been a huge inconvenience. Also, the hot tub did not work at all! In the winter there is not as much to do as in the summer so we were so disappointed! The owner reimbursed us for just the hot tub fee of $50.00. We did not let this ruin our time though. We hiked every day and found beautiful waterfalls. The guys went fishing on the river nearby and the ladies went into the little town to look around the shops. A lot of places close for the winter. Overall, we had a great time, just wished we could have soaked in that hot tub after our long drive, and hikes.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate it. I am glad you had a good time even considering the hic ups. We did replace the heater in the hot tub. Our apologies that is wasn't working while you were there, unfortunately these things happen and mountain time for repairs aren't quick. We are glad you enjoyed the area and got to experience what the mountains have to offer. Hopefully you can join us in the warmer weather to enjoy the lake . Have a wonderful holiday.
Best wishes for the new year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect....

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

I hesitate to speak too highly of this cabin, because I want to go BACK!
What a great weekend. A perfect place, if you're looking for a relaxing, secluded location with spectacular views. Great to get away from the grid, as well and recharge our batteries. Facilities are first rate.
On the way out, we stopped at the Calaboose Winery (Thanks for making us fans). Unfortunately, they were closed on Sunday, but would recommend going by there for a tasting.

Owners response: So glad you could enjoy yourself and find our cabin with the expectations we try to bring to everyone that stays with us.
The winery is an adorable little spot ( also brews their own beer) they do have selected hours though. Maybe next time you can go and visit on your next stay with us.
Best wishes and thank you for the kind words. Eve and Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This is a wonderful cabin for families. We stayed over labor day weekend and were pleasantly surprised that the lake wasn't overcrowded! I was very glad that we rented a boat because there wasn't a swim area. The view from the cabin is beautiful and makes up for not being on the water. We enjoyed the fire pit, hot tub and all the board games when we weren't on the water. Great place to stay we would love to return in the fall!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin. I agree even though we aren't directly on the lake the views and the evenings around the fire pit do make up for it. We'd love to have you again. Thanks for booking with us we do appreciate it.
Best wishes Eve and Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly Vacation Near Beautiful Lake

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

We had a great family weekend together in this Nantahala Lake home. The house was ready for our arrival and the owners were very responsive with questions in advance. The directions worked perfectly. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking implements and it was a great kitchen to cook in and the dining area was very comfortable. The swing on the porch was very relaxing and there was a great selection of movies and books to read. We were disappointed in the distance it was to the water---it was definitely a drive to get to the dock and it was a very steep walk to the water carrying kayaks. We rented a pontoon boat one day, which is really a must to explore the whole lake. The large dock is shared with other homes but was a great way to meet other travellers and had plenty of space for all to use. We enjoyed paddling on the Tuckaseegee and the Nantahala rivers for some whitewater fun and discovered lots of potential hikes for the future. There is no cell signal or Internet so you are forced to leave your worries at home!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great experience

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Amazing property, clean and well stocked, very accommodating and friendly owners, easy rental/check-in experience. Highly recommended overall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jeff, We are glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin.
It is always nice when someone can relax and enjoy our home, as we do. Have a wonderful weekend. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes Eve and Jeff

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Charlotte Honeymooners

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

What a beautiful setting and place for a honeymoon. No cell or internet was the best. Although there was a bump in the road at the beginning, the owners did the fair and right thing. Thank you for the wine and roses to mark our special occasion. The direction on the map you sent from Bryson City said right on Wayah Rd....it should be a left. We will be back in the summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Hi Eve,

What a wonderful cabin you have! My mom and sister and I had an absolutely wonderful time this past weekend, and we will hopefully be back. You know we loved it when: (1) we were still unloading groceries and bags from the car into the house on Friday and my sister tells my mom and me that we should come back with our husbands soon, and (2) within 5 minutes of sitting out on the deck to relax, my mom has decided that we should come back on an annual basis. I agree with them both! You did such an incredible job decorating and building your cabin, and we bragged about it until the moment we walked out the door (correction – we continued to brag about it all the way home and to our husbands when we got home). Some of my favorite personal touches were the hot tub, wind chimes, big comfortable bar stools, beds, kitchen and the amazing mountain and lake views. I will definitely share our feelings with friends and family who inquire about mountain getaways. I asked my assistant to fax you the revised signed contract/invoice on Friday, so I hope you received that. Please let me know if my last-minute calculations were incorrect!

I hope to talk to you again soon, and thank you again for sharing your lovely cabin.

Best,
Suzannah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

thank you!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

We LOVED our stay in your house!!! We had beautiful weather and such pleasant temperatures! Hurricane Isaac decided to make its appearance while we were gone. Our home missed the many inches of rain that were predicted, thank goodness! Came home to limbs all over the yard and lots of leaves but no wind damage.

We did kayak one day and rented the pontoon one day. Loved the lake! I really hope we can come back another time. You will get a kick out of this: We accidentally (thought we were taking a less mountainous route) went over the tail of the dragon mountain to get to Andrews. WOW..........definitely NOT the drive for Delta people...:) But we did survive all the twists and turns! So going up to your house was a piece of cake!!

Thanks again for a lovely stay. Your house is just perfect! I truly felt like I was in the home of friends...:)

Lanny

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Katherine & Cary Adkinson

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

I haven't been this relaxed in years!!! My husband & our best friends can't stop talking about our stay. The cabin is beautiful & serene with a gorgeous view of Lake Nantahala! We rented a pontoon boat from Mr. Parker & had a wonderful 2 days on the lake exploring the waterfall & private coves. We honestly felt like we were in another country. We are all from Texas where it's nothing but 100+ degree weather & brown flatlands all summer long. So the lush acres of trees & mountains, scattered rain & good ole' southern hospitality were just what we needed. We made smores in the firepit one night and used the jacuzzi every evening. The weather was never more than 85 degrees during the day, with 60 degrees every morning. Coffee on the porch swing every morning, a good book & wonderful friends, as well as the beautiful view made this the most memorable vacation we've had to date!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, yourselves and were able to relax. It is my favorite part of being up there. To relax and get away from everything. The Parker family is a wonder family that we had met on the lake before we built, who also showed us how hospitible people can be. I'm glad you took the opportunity to enjoy and explore the lake. Thank you for staying with us, and that we gave you that memorable vacation.
Best wishes Eve and Jeff

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

July 4th vacation on Lake Nanthala

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

What an excellent cabin for our family vacation... Enjoyed the cabin, lake, views, hottub, etc., .... only hiccup was we arrived at night, so negociating the mountain roads was a bit tricky, and we ended up turning right on Erlick road and ended up at a house of the desendants who helped us get back on track. Other than that, the entire trip was awesome, and went by entirely too fast.... Anyone who enjoys views and the lake should put this on their short list.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Chet,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind review we appreciate the feed back. We love it here ourselves and enjoy when someone stays with us and loves it as much as we do.
Hopefully we will see you again soon. Have a great remaining summer. Best wishes Jeff and Eve

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful and relaxing

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

Eve:

Just a note to share about our stay at your cabin April 22-26.
The six of us had a wonderful and relaxing time at your mountain home.
On Monday morning we awoke to snow flurries followed by cool and pleasant days thereafter. We took advantage of all that the cabin had to offer, including the beautiful views from your balcony. We did some waterfall sight-seeing and took a drive around the lake. We were going to rent a pontoon boat, but it was a bit too cool and windy. We were fortunate to have excellent cooks in our group including a Cajun chef that fed us a gourmet meal that you cannot get outside of Louisiana. Denise and I cannot remember a better vacation get-a-way.
Thanks again, for your participation in the St. Timothy Auction and the opportunity it gave us to make a mountain retreat. If we could, we would never leave the mountains.

God Bless.

Joe

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home, gorgeous views, fully equipped

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

Definitely loved this place & hope to return. Recommend both 4-wheel drive & bringing some DVDs for inclement weather, as the road is very steep & can be slick in the rain...and satellite TV isn't available in bad weather. However, the place is beautiful, views of mountains, forest, & the lake from deck & patio & hot tub & fire pit. Nicely decorated for the holidays as you see in photos...all photos accurately show how pretty it is here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

We won a raffle to stay here, and I can't even begin to tell you how nice it is. The cabin was one of the nicest places that we have ever stayed. The view was to die for! It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Even though we won the stay, the owners were so accomodating! We saw 2 deer on the way up, and saw several hummingbirds. They have two feeders on the deck. I would highly recommend this cabin. Thank you Jeff and Eve!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Marjorie,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you sometime again. My husband has yet to see the deer.. he is so jealous. :) So glad you could enjoy everything.
Thanks Jeff and Eve

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Hi Eve and Jeff, wanted to email you and thank you for another wonderful stay at your cabin. We left Saturday around 11:00 and everything on the checkout list was completed. We did our best to minimize the maids cleanup and left some extra firewood by the pit. Two weeks up there felt like a month, as it always slows down once you're up there. Awesome!!! Had a great variety of weather during our stay, and the boat worked out as well. We treat the cabins we stay in as if we own them. I also wanted to thank you for being flexible about check in, and giving us such a great deal. We will be long term customers for sure. Even though we live on the beach, the kids did not want to leave your cabin. Thanks again, and let us know if there is anything we can do and when you have any spontaneous deals/openings you want to fill. Take care.

Stephen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable!! Exceeded my expectations!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights and leaving was so difficult!! The attention to detail in this house was just incredible, the views were indescribable, everything was immaculate and so comfortable. I cannot say enough positive things about our stay. We are already planning our next trip out there and advising everyone we know to make staying at the Brye Haus their next vacation destination. Seriously once you get there, you don't want to leave and go anywhere, we are so happy we got to have this beautiful memory and cannot wait to come back!!!!! :-) Kristen & Matt

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you both had a great time. Thanks for all the kind words, happy we could make your experience so enjoyable. We hope to see you both again in the future.
Happy Holidays Eve!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

This was an amazing property! Very well kept and decorated. Amazing view and very secluded love it. This was a real get away from Urman South Florida! Eve is very easy to deal with! and the prices you can't beat. Thank you Eve once again for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2009

Hi Eve,
We had a wonderful time at the cabin. It is even prettier and nicer than we were expecting. We all loved it! We roasted marshmallows and wieners, went hiking, went out on the lake, and even white water rafting. It was so much fun. Thank you for everything!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

Eve,
Thanks. Again, we greatly enjoyed the stay. And my boys ask at least once a week, when they can go back.

Trevor

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful cabin

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Good afternoon Eve,

My husband I loved our visit to your cabin. The home is well decorated, very cozy, and very secluded. The view is awesome we saw many shooting stars Saturday night. I love the shower upstairs and took pictures we plan on doing something like that in our future home. The cabin is very well built. My husband is a carpenter so he was very impressed with the quality of work. You don’t find very many cabins these days that are well built.
Again we enjoyed our stay so much that we wanted to see if it was possible to be able to rent your place every year around Dec 12th. Each year we have stayed in a cabin and yours is by far the best we have stayed at. I hope that you will think about it and we will keep in touch.

P.S. I have given your VRBO number to a few people who are interested in renting out a cabin sometime next year. I hope they will decide on yours. They will not be disappointed.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

Eve,
Happy New Year!
I’m sorry this is so late, but I just wanted to drop you a line to say thank you so much for allowing us to rent your beautiful cabin.
We had such an enjoyable time while we were up there – we went to Maggie Valley and skied, visited the Fontana Dam, the brewery in Sylva, the waterfalls near Highlands and loved driving around Lake Nantahala and the surrounding cities!
We can’t wait to come back in the summertime – sounds like a lot fun water activities!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Eve,
We had a wonderful week last week – your home there is spectacular – the leaves are already starting to change. We found the rugged beauty of western NC to be awe-inspiring and stress-relieving. We had great weather and we really struggled coming back to the 92 degrees yesterday in Jacksonville.

We have rented several homes over the years and this was the first time we experienced such a well appointed vacation rental home. Everything was as advertised…….we truly enjoyed our time away.

For restaurants, we tried a couple in Murphy – the Chophouse (very average) and Shoe Booties (excellent, went on all-you-can-eat crablegs Thursday).

Thanks again, and hopefully we will be able to visit again sometime, perhaps next time with the kids in tow!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Hi! I just wanted to let you know that we had a GREAT time this past weekend! We have already been talking about when we can go back! We did try the restaurant "Shoe Booties" and it was wonderful! Thanks so much for allowing us to stay in your rental home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the fishing

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Hello,

Well at long last I have the opportunity to thank you for the weekend at your home. It truly was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed your home and the scenery. My daughter’s favorite was the hot tub. My wife’s was our hike along the Appalachian Trail.

Thanks again. I hope that your rentals continue to go well. And, perhaps we can make a plan to visit that area again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Well at long last I have the opportunity to thank you for the weekend at your home. It truly was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed your home and the scenery. My daughter’s favorite was the hot tub. My wife’s was our hike along the Appalachian Trail.Thanks again. I hope that your rentals continue to go well. And, perhaps we can make a plan to visit that area again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Eve, We had a wonderful week last week – your home there is spectacular – the leaves are already starting to change. We found the rugged beauty of western NC to be awe-inspiring and stress-relieving. We had great weather and we really struggled coming back to the 92 degrees yesterday in Jacksonville.We have rented several homes over the years and this was the first time we experienced such a well appointed vacation rental home. Everything was as advertised…….we truly enjoyed our time away. For restaurants, we tried a couple in Murphy – the Chophouse (very average) and Shoe Booties (excellent, went on all-you-can-eat crablegs Thursday). Thanks again, and hopefully we will be able to visit again sometime, perhaps next time with the kids in tow!Richard J. Alberti

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Hi Eve, can't believe it's been a couple of weeks already since we left your cabin. Just wanted to let you know that we had a great time! Everything was perfect. The weather was ideal the whole time. Only rained the day we left. Anyway, we had a great time and wanted to thank you for letting us enjoy your beautiful home. Please put us on whatever list you may have and keep us informed, as we would love to visit again... Take care.... The Purcells

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Hi Eve - Just wanted to let you know we left this afternoon instead of tomorrow morning. We had really great time & enjoyed your home! It is beautiful!

We loved how comfortable & at home we felt there! The kids loved sleeping in the loft. The views were amazing & we really enjoyed the lake & boat! Although my husband & son would have loved to have caught some fish!! My son just chimed in & said he liked reading some of the books you had on the shelf but specifically "Do Not Open"!


Again, thank you so much for all your understanding with our re-scheduling. We really appreciate it. I don't think we have ever worked so hard at getting to a vacation!

Cynthia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 7, 2009

Hey Eve,
Just wanted to let you know we had a great time . Your cabin is beautiful and so comfortable. We loved the view . It was truly a great place to relax and enjoy each other. We celebrated our 25th and it will always be a very special memory. I love the pebble rock shower and would like to do something like that in our cabin. Hope to take our kids with us sometime. Thanks again for sharing your home with us.

Patty and Alan Pippin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

What a great place! We're been from Cairo to
Tokyo but the South is always our home. Thank
you for sharing your piece of it. We were just
needing a couple of nights to stay somewhere so
we could whitewater the Cheoah River. But I think
we might come back just to enjoy the view again
from your place. JP, April 2009

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed everything, hope the Cheoah was all you thought it would be. Hope you visit us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 15, 2009

Happy New Year!I’m sorry this is so late, but I just wanted to drop you a line to say thank you so much for allowing us to rent your beautiful cabin.We had such an enjoyable time while we were up there – we went to Maggie Valley and skied, visited the Fontana Dam, the brewery in Sylva, the waterfalls near Highlands and loved driving around Lake Nantahala and the surrounding cities! We can’t wait to come back in the summertime – sounds like a lot fun water activities!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 10, 2009   Date of arrival: January 10, 2009

Cabin was awesome! The decorating was spectacular, and with the Christmas lights up, and the snow, it was just magical! I'm ready to pack up and move.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 24, 2008   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

Hello Eve, just a short brief message to let you know how much we enjoyed the Brye house. The place is fabulous.

We left the house with some great memories. Thank you and happy new year.

Felix

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 15, 2008   Date of arrival: December 15, 2008

My husband I loved our visit to your cabin. The home is well decorated, very cozy, and very secluded. The view is awesome we saw many shooting stars Saturday night. I love the shower upstairs and took pictures we plan on doing something like that in our future home. The cabin is very well built. My husband is a carpenter so he was very impressed with the quality of work. You don’t find very many cabins these days that are well built. P.S. I have given your VRBO number to a few people who are interested in renting out a cabin sometime next year. I hope they will decide on yours. They will not be disappointed.Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 12, 2008

Eve,

Just wanted to say again how much we enjoyed the cabin. It was very comfortable and it has the best views.

Thanks.
Nicole Bolton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 23, 2008

I just wanted to email to let you know how much my family and I enjoyed our stay at the Brye Haus earlier this month. I wish we could have spent the entire week, as three nights went by just to fast!

I think your kids were very brave to venture into the COOL waters of the lake. My godchild, my mother and myself hung out with our feet dangling from the boat launch -- we never made it actually into the waters of the lake.

I hope that we can reserve the cabin for a longer period whenever we return to the North Carolina mountains in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 28, 2008

Eve,
Thanks. Again, we greatly enjoyed the stay. And my boys ask at least once a week, when they can go back.

Trevor

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review