reviews for: listing #30211 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

8 bedroom Estate w/Indoor Pool walk to Slopes-Disc Feb 10-14
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,500 /nt
    $4,900 - $7,900 /wk

sort by:

Great house for large get togethers

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

I booked this house for a family reunion. We had 20+ people, including a lot of kids. I would highly recommend this house.

Pros:
- There are a lot of bedrooms
- Lots of balconies
- The main level is great for entertaining. The living/dining/kitchen area is open and large. The balcony right off the dining room is HUGE
- The location is great. You can see Heavenly from the balcony
- Indoor pool!
- Hot tub on the balcony
- Gorgeous master suite
- The property manager, Mark, was very responsive in his communications. I found him very easy to deal with.

Cons:
- I wish there were more bathrooms
- Not a lot of parking

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Superb Property with amazing location

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

Very impressed with this home as it was in a great location walking distance to the Lodge at Heavenly and was situated on a ton of private land that our kids ran wild on playing in the snow and sledding.
We loved the layout of the home as you could get lost it seemed so big. It took us a few days to remember where are the rooms were in the house. The house was nicely appointed and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more. All our needs were met and we had a hard time leaving.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

This one WOWED the crowd!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

I plan a golf trip for 12 guys aged 40+ every year. This was the first year we rented a home as opposed to staying at a hotel / resort....so I was a little nervous about how the group would react...when we opened the door everyones jaw hit the floor! It is a gorgeous home, very clean and well maintained with plenty of room for 12 guys to sleep in their own beds/rooms as well as comfortable gathering areas for all of us to hang out & watch TV. We really enjoyed lounging on the deck, hot tubbing and grilling out each evening after golf. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and the air hockey/foosball/pool tournaments are now stuff of legend! We cooked dinner for 12 guys each night and had everything we needed in the very well appointed kitchen. The views were fantastic and the remoteness of the home was a big plus and made us feel like we were the only ones on the mountain, but it was still a fairly quick and easy drive each night to the casinos! This home definitely has it all for a group like ours and I am also considering a multi-family trip with the kids for some skiing as I think it would be even better in the winter! We will certainly be back for another Guys Golf & Gamble very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Perfect

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

Enjoyed a great experience in Tahoe and this home made the trip. The house has everything we could have wanted, was well maintained and clean. Great location as it was perfect for the kids to play around the house since there is so much land around this property and so much privacy.
Pool worked out great as the kids were all entertained constantly.
House is spread out nicely on 4 levels which provided nice spacing for privacy when
we wanted it.
Very close to town and casino area.
Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location, true Tahoe feel, great house

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Spent a wonderful week at this huge home that had great privacy and everything
our group could have asked for. House was clean and maintained well. Most of the days
were warm enough for us to enjoy the large amount of deck space. Nights were spent
watching the High Definition Large TV's by the fireplace. The kids spent most of their time
in the Indoor Pool on the bottom floor so they were entertained... We were all coming from a city so
to be in the mountains with not another home in site was truly what we all needed to relax.
Definitely recommend this property for anybody wanting a true vacation away from it all but still
next to skiing and close to casinos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Things the owner would want to know

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

The location and the floor plan of the house was wonderful. The listing accurately reflected the location and amenities of the house. The only drawback was the house was not well-maintained. The hot tub did not have chlorine, so all who used it developed a rash from contaminated water. Additionally, the stove,which was not very clean, had knobs which were missing and the teflon pots and pans had scraped teflon. Several light bulbs needed to be replaced, and old rodent traps were visible. All of these issues could be fixed if the cleaning and maintenance crew did a better job. I am sure the owner did not know that his house had those issues. We had a wonderful time despite these issues,but it could have been much more enjoyable if someone would have checked on the cleaning crew and maintenance crew.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback and sorry for the inconveniences.
We have replaced the cleaning and maintenance people and
have not had a single complaint since so those issues have
definitely been rectified.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great big large lovely home

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

We enjoyed this property immensely. It has everything we could have wanted and more....
Most of the adults in our group wanted to relax by the fire, cook, watch TV, hit the casinos and restaurants..... The house provided all that and is close to the main downtown casino area... The teen agers enjoyed the easy access from the house to the ski lodge to snowboard and spent many hours
on the many sledding areas in the back of this house on the property. The house was massive and spread out nicely on many levels. It was nicely appointed and stocked with all the things pertinent to making our stay enjoyable. Compared to other large homes we have stayed out in Tahoe this one sets itself apart because of the privacy and seclusion, many large homes in Tahoe are next to junky run down houses and the homes on this street are obviously all Mansion like.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great property, great location

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

If you really want to get away and relax you cannot beat this home.... So much serenity around the house as there is not another home in site and you have tons of acreage to yourself... The only noise you hear is the skiers coming down the slopes.... We soaked in the hot tub while taking in all the beauty
around. House is absolutely enormous. 4 levels makes it easy to spread out our family and friends of about 19 people. House was very comfortable and met all of our needs. Just a quick couple minute drive down the hill to the casinos in the main downtown South Lake Tahoe...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing home

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We rented in January and had such a great time we booked again for summer. House is quite spacious and has so much deck space we knew the decks would be used more in summer. Short walk to the Heavenly Lodge which can't be beat so people can come and go to the slopes when they want to. Great views looking at the slopes.
I am not a huge skier like much of the group so I enjoyed my time in front of the large stone fireplace while watching the big flat screen TV
in high definition which made me spoiled to come home to my standard definition TV's.... House is on a huge amount of property so privacy is great and being able to let the kids roam around outside and sled was nice. Very comfortable house with a great layout of 4 levels so you never felt too packed in.
Short drive down to casinos and lake so location was great as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful large home

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed the home so much we have already booked it for summer.
Great access to the Heavenly Boulder Lodge from back of the house.
Back of the house and all the decks look right at the slopes so it is
very cool views.
You can't see any other homes near you so privacy was sweet. Large stone
fireplace in living room got tons of use.
We rented this home in January and started imagining all the fun we could
have there during the summer that is why we booked again for July. There is so
much deck space to take advantage of in warmer months and some hiking or mountain bike trails accessible from the property that would probably be usable
from April to probably December....
The parents were able to hang out on one of the bottom floor decks and watch
the kids in the pool downstairs at the same time we could monitor other kids
playing in the snow in the backyard.....
House was comfortable and stocked well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing home

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Perfect location by the Heavenly Lodge... walked to skiing everyday.... I have stayed
at many large homes in Tahoe but nothing offered this kind of access to the slopes
and had the seclusion without any homes next to it..
We thoroughly enjoyed soaking in the hot tub each evening after coming
down off the mountain... the kids loved the pool.....
The house is spread out on 4 levels so it was nice to have privacy when
you need it.....
Close to town and lake so logistics was convenient....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

3 acre estate with indoor pool

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

The property will definitely accommodate large groups. It was very obvious that the property was rented/used by many as the interior had a weathered appearance, but was pretty clean. We never used the indoor pool due to the fact that it was located on the bottom level away from the main areas of the house and it was much too warm and steamy for this time of year. When taking showers the pipes will sing very loud which allows everyone else in the house to know you are clean. We called maintenance once due to a leaking kitchen sink. We found the store and beach to be fairly close, but you do have to go down a steep hill for approx. 2miles, so walking is not an option. The house is definitely not a 5 star, but if you're surrounded by great company and need a large space I recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review