reviews for: listing #30487 - Tybee Island, Georgia House rental

Gorgeous Home 200 Paces to Beach-Privacy and Convenience
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Private South End
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

love this place!

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We are staying in this beautiful house now, as I write this. We had never been to Tybee before, and are so glad we came. The house is wonderful, as is the island. Almost everything is within walking distance, and I feel my kids (17 & 15) are perfectly safe exploring on the bikes by themselves. My only complaints are rather minor. We are a bit disappointed that the ping pong table had not yet been replaced, and I'm now standing at the kitchen counter because the stools are all too short. I know that sounds sort of insignificant, but there is no comfortable way to sit at the counter for meals or working on the computer, etc. Other than that, this place is perfect for the 4 of us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our home and have discovered why we love Tybee! It's true that the Ping Pong Table has been consumed by the humidity of Tybee but it had been removed from the amenity/advertisement on VRBO over two years ago. Apologize for the let down but not exactly sure what the confusion about the existence of a Ping Pong Table was? The dining table is outfitted to accommodate 8 (4 kids & 4 adults). The kitchen counter is a bit taller than standard but as stated a small thing in the overall comfort of the kitchen. (Maybe taller stools next summer) Thank you for the feedback as we strive to make improvements with each season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, clean property with wonderful owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Just returned from our week long stay at Margarite's Retreat. It's a short walk to both the Atlantic and Bull River beaches but far enough away to be shielded from the touristy madness. Our party consisted of 6 adults and 4 children under 8, so we were snug but not unbearably so. The house was clean and adequately appointed. We particularly enjoyed the beach toys, the playroom under the stairs for the little folks, and the assortment of bikes, including a two-passenger trike that our young grandkids loved. We also utilized the outdoor shower daily. On the last night of our stay, the A/C malfunctioned. I was able to reach the owner who responded promptly and had the air back on in less than an hour.
We also rented a kayak and SUP from Sea Kayak GA. They delivered and picked up the equipment. Lovely folks. Patronize their business if you can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation rental!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We spent Memorial Day weekend on Tybee Island in this beautiful beach rental. I've been renting vacation homes in the Los Angeles South Bay area for many years. This was my first time renting on the East Coast. The house was as advertised and more. Not only was it very clean and stocked with all of the beach gear you'll ever need, the location, as advertised, was within steps of the beach and a bike ride into the main part of town. My only gripe is that I wish it had not had been so humid that weekend. We didn't take full advantage of the porches (although I was able to enjoy early morning quiet time on the back, screened in porch before it got too humid).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time at maragrites retreat

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We had a great time, the cottage was as advertised, close to the beach and very comfortable. We slept 10 easily.
The hot tube was clean and easy to use and even though the main drag and night life was a two blocks away, it seemed quiet and secluded at the retreat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

This was our first trip to Tybee and was a big hit with the whole family. The location was wonderful and as close to the beaches as promised. The street was nice and quiet and in an area that was perfect for riding bikes. We even rode the bikes to the grocery. The house was lovely and had plenty of room for all seven of us. The younger ones loved sleeping in the upstairs bunk beds even though the room was quite tiny. We loved that there were bikes and beach chairs to use for our stay. The only negative would be the slow internet since my husband had to do some work while there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tybee the Right Way & the Best Way

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Location is excellent: near both the back bay and the ocean (less than a five minute stroll).
House is well-appointed, tasteful. The kitchen is amply supplied. The porches and their furniture are top-notch. Parking off-street is more than ample. An abundance of toys and bikes are available for young and old alike. The beds are quite comfortable and the adult bedrooms are very nice. Our grandkids loved their bunked rooms. When we had questions or concerns, we received speedy answers.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely home and great location

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Home was immaculately clean - not a dust bunny anywhere! Kudos to the cleaning staff.

Owner is super nice and very responsive. You feel like you are talking to a real person.

4th bedroom is fun and funky but not functional or hideaway for a teenager (think 8-12 year old). There are lots of bikes but don't expect new and be prepared to apply a little elbow grease to get them road worthy. We didn't mind. Hubby is mr handyman extraordinaire.


If you have a toddler or younger, they have a great toy closet! Baby beds were great but no high seat or baby cups/silverware.

Living room, dining room and kitchen are very beautiful but not easy for all to watch a movie as a family. GREAT cable package for days that are rainy.

GREAT laundry room but don't forget your laundry detergent ... I had some out on my home counter but forgot it! .... grrr....

Lovely location, quiet area but close to everything including shops, beach, and grocery store!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for family time

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This house was nearly perfect for our 3-generation family. We loved the porches! The location was perfect; close to the beach and the bike trail but off the main drag so very quiet. We used the beach toys and chairs and having the cart to haul it all back and forth with our pre-school aged grandchildren was very convenient. We also used some of the bikes; rusty and 'used' yes, but worked just fine. The kitchen was well equipped and the grill was perfect. There was plenty of room for the 7 of us. In fact the only disappointment at all was the 4th bedroom, or the shiproom. That was our 6'2" teenager's room and frankly, the picture was a little misleading in my opinion. Plus it said there was a TV in every bedroom so was this a bed-room or not? Anyone who has teenagers know sometimes they need a little 'alone' time to themselves with the TV, or their electronics. There wasn't even an outlet for his laptop. It was a good way for us to 'unplug' him for a little while, but he was disappointed. The wifi was a little 'iffy' somedays, but it was adequate.

Certainly we would recommend this house and I would love to stay again. It was comfortable and welcoming.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very accomodating house!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

We stayed at the house with another family, 4 adults and 5 kids. We loved the open floor plan and 2 decks. The house was well equipped with bikes, beach chairs and wagons to bring all of your items to the beach. It is very easy to walk to the ocean or river side of the beach from the house. The bunk beds were perfect for the kids. There were also kid movies that our children enjoyed watching. We had a very pleasant stay and will remember the house for a future Tybee vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our family had a great time! The kids loved the "ship room"! Its the little things that count!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Tybee and enjoyed the vacation immensely.

Our children enjoyed the bicycles, the "ship room", the downstairs bunk-beds, and the fact that the beach (the bayside beach) was so close. Having a wagon to take the children and supplies to the beach and also a "beach buggy" were a huge plus.

This house was great because of the "little things". Little things like the owner making sure that there was not just one but 2 cribs for our infant. Little things like the owner also making sure that there was a high chair to feed her in. (all at my request via telephone). Little things like bike helmets to go with the bikes. The bicycles, by the way, were more than acceptable. The tires were inflated and they worked. Yes they had a bit of rust on them, but who would expect brand new rust-free bikes at the beach. Other little things.... PLENTY of towels, good kitchen equipment and plenty of dishes, hardwood floors, a large nice shower area along with whirlpool tub in the master, an awesome gas grill (the same model I have at home...most rentals I find have "CharmGrill" or some other crappy grill...this place had a Weber), what else...a phone number to call when I wanted to slightly adjust our departure time, hardwood floors.... 2 decks, including one screened in porch with fans and LED lighting for the evening, location right on the suggested Tybee bike path, walking distance to a meeting of the Friends of Bill Wilson for those interested, about 4 blocks to the Main Tybee beach along with the 200 paces to the Bayside (quiet beach)....

Anyway, great place in Tybee. Now, as far as the area for those not familiar with Tybee. This was off season, so not much was happening in Tybee, which was exactly what we wanted. BUT, there was plenty to do in that we went to the local library, the Jaycee Park, the Lighthouse, Fort Pulaski. We beach combed (and found 3 sand dollars). Because my children are 50% Maine-iac they had no problem swimming on the day it hit the 70 degree plus mark. We went to Savannah (about 25-30 minutes away) and wow - what a great city. We highly suggest going to Lazaretto Seafood by the way, just off the island...wow what great local shrimp to cook on that grill!

At any rate, if you cant tell, we were extremely pleased with Tybee, with this house, with Savannah, and with the service that the owner and Laura gave us. THANK YOU!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Close to to Everything. Perfect for 8!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

I really enjoyed my time at 1616 Jones Ave. My favorite part was how close it was to everything I wanted to do-downtown, the beach, the fisherman's pier, and tasty restaurants. The kitchen was adequate and we cooked several tasty meals at home. All the beds were comfy and the linens were very nice. The house has an open air porch with swing and a smaller screened porch. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone and would happily stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We liked it but didn't love it

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We liked it but did not love it. I did not feel that it was worth what we paid for the rental. I did feel that the ad was misleading.

The Website says their is an air hockey table: there is not
The Website says there is table tennis: the table is completely warped and broken
The Website says bikes: I have pictures and 3 bikes have flat tires and all are very rusted
The Grill barely works: The first gas was empty. We hooked up the second can and the burners would not get warm enough to melt cheese. We had to fry the burgers in a frying pan.
Chairs outside and the deck: Needs to be powerwashed and the cushions should be taken inside or put in a place they will not mildew. All cushions were moldy and mildewed and the chairs were covered in cob webs and mildew.

The place says 4 bedrooms. The upstairs bedroom is not really a bedroom. It is really more like a closet with bunk beds. There is not even room for a suitcase to be put on the floor. The pictures were a little misleading.

Also, there were breakable "nick knacks" everywhere. I put everything up and away so that we would not break anything but I would recommend having a place to put all breakables up.

Things we liked:
We enjoyed the hot tub and the open area to gather.
We enjoyed the plastic toys for the children to play with.
The Master and the two bedrooms downstairs were beautiful.
There was a great selection dishes and we enjoyed the beach towels (they were nice beach towels)
The overall inside with the exception of the (4th "bedroom) was beautiful.
We were in town for the marathon and the transportation to/from was easy.

Owners response: I appreciate the time taken by all visitors to provide reviews. We are focused on ensuring the best vacation experience for our visitors and strive for nothing short of 5. Living here locally provides the opportunity to take corrective action or address issues immediately. I am located in Savannah (25 minutes from the home). Guests are encouraged to reach me if anything is out of order or requires attention.

Steps we have taken to correct the following:
BBQ Grill- 2 tanks are provided for guests. Should they become empty, it's our policy to reimburse guest for cost of tank swap. The grill malfunction was a result of incorrect tank swap causing the safety valve to activate.
Ping Pong Table-regrettably after years of weather & elements it must be replaced. New one in Spring. Still functions but not at competitive level.
Outdoor Cushions- the exterior fabric is designed to remain outside but the southern humidity will stain from pollen & moisture. They are professionally cleaned each Spring. Months of beach weather takes its toll.
4th Bedroom-this one was a bit of a surprise as it's usually the topic of praise in the home. It was designed to resemble a boat's mid-cabin sleeping quarters. It's usually the room my kids argue over. It's comfortable and includes 81 inch length bunk beds....large enough for an adult.
Bikes-we provide adult and child bikes for the convenience of our guests. They epitomize the beach bum cruisers we so love. More than functional for the flat terrain and grocery store run. Yes the surf and sand show the age. A pump is provided to re-inflate low tires and occasionally a chain will slip.

We advertise off-season rates an average of $215 per nite. It is our home away from home and enjoy sharing it with our guests and new friends.

Mark

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Tybee Beach House

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We stayed for a week in Tybee at this house- we loved it. Convenient walk/bike ride to the beach, restaurants, and shops. Cozy for 2 of us, but more people could stay. The house had absolutely everything we needed for the beach and for in the kitchen. Hope to make coming here a yearly tradition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3day weekends

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Excellent stay. It slept everyone perfect. The kitchen and cooking supplies and availability were great as we love to cook extravagant meals. The best part was the location. We couldn't have picked a better spot. Just steps to the beach, bars, shops, and stores. Owner was also very easy and fast to respond to all questions we had. Overall A+ I would recommend this to bachelor and bachelorette parties. Girls or guys weekends and especially family stays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family trip

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

What a fabulous place! I loved this house. It had an open floor plan downstairs with lots of space. The porches were great places to relax and enjoy people watching which is a favorite of mine. It's a very short distance from the beach. Lots of things for children. Just a very fun place to stay. I hope to repeat my stay there next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved your home!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This was our first stay on Tybee and we absolutely loved our time. We especially loved being able to ride the bikes and walk everywhere. I was very comfortable letting the teenaged girls loose on the bikes to wander up to the beach. Close enough to Savannah that we were able to take a day trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tybee captured our Hearts

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

This was our best family vacation to date & Margarite's Retreat made that possible. We didn't want for anything while staying here. The house was so beautiful! It was everything we expected and so much more. Tybee Island is the epitome of beach living and Margarite's Retreat is the epitome of a beach vacation home. Can't wait to go back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

Exceeding all of our expectations of a beach getaway. Being so close to Savannah gave us a needed break from the sun. Your home is amazing. Tybee is priceless.

Donna-Chicago

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First time at Tybee

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

We'll remember this vacation forever. Our kids loved all the beach items/games you provide with the house and we loved not having to bring anything! Your home is beautiful & convenient to everything on Tybee......We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review