reviews for: listing #305110vb - Carlsbad, California rental

Classic Beach Cottage in Carlsbad Village 1 Block to Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 129 - $ 185 / night
    $ 799 - $ 1,300 / week
    $ 2,600 - $ 4,598 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Awesome!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We had a wonderful time! All beach items were included and the accommodations were just what we needed...walking distance to everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach vacation

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We had a great time staying in this cottage. Plenty of room, nice little back yard, walking distance to the beach and Carlsbad Village, nice and private. We loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

I cannot say it enough we LOVED this place! The cottage was perfect and Michael was so nice and helpful. It was a heat wave when we arrived and the day after we arrived he brought us a portable AC unit. So thoughtful!
The location is a perfect distance from the beach, 1 block, and downtown carlsbad. It is about 7 miles from Legoland and the outlets. It's also 1/2 way between San Diego and Orange County. Just a perfect spot to kick off your adventure! We went to Legoland and it took us 10 minutes and Disneyland was an hour away.
Michael recommended Norte for a good Mexican dinner and he nailed it! Super yummy! You also have to check out Jays! The seafood pasta was delish!
The house has everything you could need. There is no dishwasher but that's no biggie. Has the most charming patio with lounge chairs, a table and chairs, gas BBQ. Even the tools for the BBQ are provided.
The washer and dryer on premises is shared but we never had an issue using it. He provides the soap, bleach and fabric softener. The beach towels provided are nice and thick and soft. All the toys you could need for the beach are provided as well.
If I could give this place more than 5 stars I would! Perfect for our family of 3!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week in Carlsbad !!

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Great stay right in the heart of the village. Perfect location, walk everywhere. Anything I could have asked for was in the cottage and then some!! Clean, fresh, private!! This is where we will book any chance we get !!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Staying by the beach

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

Cute apartment but near the train. Not a big deal for us but others may have issues. Clean and close to beach and village. Easy stroll for dinner. Close to Oceanside harbor - we rented a sailboat!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute cottage handy to most locations

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Great little cottage (actually half of a duplex) near the center of Carlsbad and the beach. While the building is dated, inside was maintained well. Owner lives next door so he is available for any needs. My wife and I loved the closed proximity within this cute village. We walked to restaurants and shops most of the time. I would have given a rating of 5 stars if it had a dishwasher, which it doesn't.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

This place was perfect for our needs. Visiting some family in Oceanside, we were very close to their home. The cottage was just off the main drag and within a short walk of good restaurants and our morning coffee from Starbucks. The beach was at most a five minute walk. The cottage had an ample living room with comfortable sofas, king size bedroom that excellent, full kitchen with outdoor porch and gas grill. The bathroom was small but adequate which kept us from giving the rating 5 stars. The nearby Coaster train might disturb some but I slept through without a bit of problem. Fresh ocean breeze was always pleasant. My daughter and her husband and two small children stayed in a similar cottage next door and it was just fine for them as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carlsbad 1 bedroom

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Just finished a 5 night stay at #305110. The location was absolutely perfect. A short stroll to one of the best beaches I've ever been to and just far enough from the main road so there was not much street noise. Easy walk to many restaurants.
The apartment had everything we needed including a comfortable king bed, wi-fi, big tv with many channels, a private backyard, and beach chairs, etc.
We took the train in to San Diego which was convenient and inexpensive. Buy a one day regional pass which gets you a return trip plus allows you to ride the San Diego trolleys and buses.
We loved Carlsbad and hopefully we will be able to come back again. If we do, we will stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Mike was super easy to work with. The place was clean and set up nicely. Very short walk to the beach or to shopping. Yes, you are near the trains and they go by frequently, but they didn't bother me or prevent me from working from the cottage all week.

Has a convenience store within a block, 2 grocery stores within 2 miles, and Costco within 4 miles.

No complaints.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome vaccation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a really good time in Carlsbad, appartments were very clean, Michael was very kind and supportive, we had an awesome vaccation and will come back, even if Germany is pretty far away.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cute, little beach cottage

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Beach house was great..very clean, awesome location.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our stay was perfect. The place was just what we wanted. Everything we needed was provided. Easy to walk everywhere we needed to go. The property owner gets a standing ovation. Thanks Michael.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

It was a great location for my family of four; we made the sleeping arrangements work. Michael on site was great and worked to ensure our stay was enjoyable. I would come back to this site, but stay in a larger unit next time.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

perfect stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

Cottage had everything I needed, well maintained, wonderful location, close to beach, shops, restaurants, transportation. The manager was extremely helpful and available. Would highly recommend the property to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to stay for wedding/honeymoon

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

My fiance and I came to the San Diego area for our wedding and honeymoon. After many hours searching properties, I came upon this cottage. I contacted Michael and he responded quickly to availablility and rate info.
This is a perfectly beautiful cottage. Our time at the cottage was mostly evenings and early mornings, as we had many activities planned. We arrived at nearly 10pm on Wednesday evening. Michael had called to confim arrival time and key pickup. He was kind enough to let me know that right off the freeway was a grocery store in case there were things we might want to get for our stay.
The cottage is located right in the village. We walked to the beach two evenings, a short block and a half. I had my hair and makeup done at a local shop for my wedding and it was a short walk back to the cottage to dress. You can walk to many of the shops and foodie places.
Towels were plentiful, as was hot water and a strong stream in the shower (a pet peeve of mine)...new husband prefers a shower type shower head, gentle and soft...I want a strong hard stream. The shower head was adjustable so this was a plus, plus for me. Toilet in bathroom is behind the bathroom door...ample visitors will fit, but it is a smaller space.
There is nice tile on the bathroom, hardwood floors in livingroom, carpet in the bedroom. Plenty of room for hubby and me...the bedroom is large, with a comfortable king bed and lots of closet space and dresser drawers.
Nice flat screen tv and cable, wireless internet easy to connect with instructions provided. Nice kitchen table and kitchen CLEAN! Peeked at the patio, but never had an opportunity to use it.
This is actually a duplex cottage...there were neighbors...elderly and quiet, saw them only one time. Others have mentioned the train...let me just say...yes, it is close, very close and loud. This was not an issue as it stopped at 10pm, not a big deal. We were not at the cottage during the day, so no problem with the proximity. I would have liked to have seen a shade of some kind over the front door. There was a storm door, glass front and a nice front door, also glass. On the inside of the front door there was a bamboo type screen over the glass, it cut down the light entering the living room and you could see right through it. In the evening with the light on in the front room, there simply was a lack of privacy as anyone outside can see in.

A fantastic place to stay, I highly recommend it!! Thank you, Micheal!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice rental

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

I highly recommend this beach cottage vacation rental for the following reasons:
- Michael is a very friendly, flexible, generous owner/manager. I have used VRBO several times in the past, but had never encountered such an easy-going and gracious host.
- Location. It's about 5 minute-walk to the beach and to the village of Carlsbad. The residential area is very quiet. Noise from the train was not an issue. The train does not run throughout the night.
- The cottage is very cozy. Heater works very well during the cold days of January (we had it at low setting). The back yard is cute and private. Plenty of appliances for use in the kitchen. We particularly liked the rice cooker and used it every day.
Thank you, Michael, for a memorable stay. Hope to be back some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Will be back:-)

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

Everything was as described with the only surprise being even better than we had hoped it would be! Very clean, cozy and every detail was thought of down to a blender for drinks. Felt like we were staying at a friends house who did everything to make us feel welcome. Great location and even tho you can't see the beach from a window, you just need to step outside and walk a block and there is the ocean along with many different restaurants, shops and things to see and do. All within walking distance which is just what we were looking for. Can hardly wait to book it again or maybe even a larger unit and bring the family. Thanks Michael!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice place

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

Booking was easy. I was contacted within an hour of my inquiry. Place was older, but clean, and had everything we needed, even a new dish sponge. The heat if needed is supplied by an older heater in the living area, and with the fan on low circulated well. (I guess they were having a bit of a cold spell when we were there.) (20c in November is pretty amazing to me!) There were also plenty of blankets available for the bedding if needed. It is near the train track but we barely noticed that. It is located exactly where we wanted to be. We could walk to shops, bookstores, 7-11, the beach walk, lots of restaurants. It was ideal for us. We just wanted to relax for a week with some sunshine. The community is used to tourists and is VERY friendly. It is also a dog friendly community.
Most important, we received EXCELLENT service from Mike. Our airline switched our flight on us last minute. We had to change our arrival and departure date very last minute, and as they had no booking the day after us, accommodated us without question. It allowed us a full day extra to relax.
I would absolutely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Will return

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Beach was easily accessible. Cottage was clean, quiet, and restful. Owner is very accommodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just what I was looking for......

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Restful, quiet, clean, very accommodating........I will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay, Lots of Extras

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday and stayed until Thursday. We almost asked if it was booked the rest of the week, we didn't want to leave. Mike welcomed us and asked if we had any questions, he was very pleasant to deal with. The laundry room was a very nice bonus. We also enjoyed the beach supplies. Everyone at the beach would say, "we need to get one of those". Mike has a garden style trailer you load all the beach supplies that he has on site and you make the long 2 block watch to an amazing beach:) He even loaned me his fins, so I could tear it up on the body board, in October! The train is a block away and you definitely hear it, but we slept with the windows open too. We understand its part of the towns culture and hoped to ride it while we were there, but didn't get a chance. The noise didn't bother us, if it did we would have shut the windows. It was nice to have satellite tv for us to relax when our son went to bed. This place is very kid friendly, our 2 year old son loved the beach and the train. We wanted to have a bbq in the small but very nice and comfortable backyard, but didn't get a chance. Everything was clean and amazing. We hope to come back in a couple months. AFter this experience I don't want to ever pay for a hotel again. I'm checking tourist with a car, but if your into using publice transit the train station to San Diego or wherever really is a block away, so that is definitely an option. We drove very little while there. Oh, check out Fish 101 in Encinitas. Its off the hook, no pun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a great stay

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

We were very comfortable here and were thrilled to be walking distance from everything we needed. If my husband and I visit the San Diego area again we'd love to stay here again. Definitely recommend to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carlsbad getaway

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 8 nights and our stay was wonderful. The king size bed was super comfortable and the house was in a great location...close to the beach, food, shopping, etc. The house had everything we could need over our weeks stay. There is free, onsight laundry on site and beach chairs, umbrella and toys provided. There was a grill and outside eating area provided as well. The house was also private and well maintained. We both highly recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great beachy cottage

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We traveled to Carlsbad from Arizona and couldn't have been more pleased with the cottage! While it is small, it never was uncomfortable. Well appointed decor, immaculate and decently equipped with everything you need for a home away from home. The cottage is a close walk to the beach and the village. The only compliant I would have (which has nothing to do with the cottage) is that you hear the train frequently and it is loud, but you will have that ANYWHERE within the Carlsbad Village area. Michael is great to work with and he always makes sure you have your needs met and goes above and beyond what most would do to make sure you have a pleasant stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Classic Beach Cottages

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Beach Cottage. It's in a perfect location, easy walk to the beach, lots of bike trails, close to good restaurants and shopping. Michael thought of everything to make our stay perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best weekend of his life!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This was my first time to the area and my boyfriends first time to cali and I decided to bring him here for his 30th. Hotels are too impersonal. This cozy beach cottage was the ticket! when we walked in my bf said "wooooow... this is nice". We loved how intimate and homey and CLEAN it was! it had everything thing we could ever need and so much more. Michael, the owner was there to greet us and beyond pleasant. We had an amazing stay, so much so that the bf has decided to come back once a year and stay here specifically!!! we're actually thinking of coming back before the year is out if at all possible. but only if this cottage is available (Michale you will be hearing from me soon about that! :) ) I will definitely be recommending to family and friends. and will be back OFTEN. Thank you Michael for making this gem easily accessible to the public. You are the definition of california cool! You rock!!!! Can't wait to be back soon.

oh and might I add this was the best sleep I've had in months! I had knee surgery in March with no good sleep since. This bed here is the most comfortable my body has ever graced! much more so than the hotel beds. big and comfy! I could say more but theres not enough room! :)

Thanks again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 from Nevada

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We loved staying here. It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was perfect: about a block and a half from the beach, and easy walking distance to everything you need in Carlsbad.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Carlsbad Experience

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My wife and 2 teen-age children had a wonderful time in Carlsbad. The location of this cottage was PERFECT, so close to everything. The accomodations were great. The cottage was clean and perfect for the 4 of us. We typically stay in Del Mar but we all agreed that we like staying in Carlsbad Village better. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything You Could Wish For!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

We stayed here 10 days. The place had everything we needed for a delightful vacation, including a nice instruction booklet. Mike is an excellent host. We would definitely come back here, and we will also recommend it to our friends.

The location is outstanding! The beach is just a block away, and it is just half a block to the main Carlsbad Village Drive and all the shops and restaurants. There is a very nice yard with flowers, table and seating. There is shared washer and dryer, which is free including detergent, so you don't need to pack many clothes. And the bed was cozy and comfy! We loved the ambiance of the village and the nearby trains and surfers. All the people we met were very friendly.

We particularly loved Al's cafe for breakfast, and the Fish House for dinner. It is only two blocks to the Fish House and their Monkfish is incredible.

We couldn't, and wouldn't, ask for anything more.

Thank you, Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great location, but....

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

We stayed for a week, and the location is great - walking distance to everything in Carlsbad Village and, of course, the beach. The "but" is for the cottage being a bit on the dark side. No nightstands (king bed was great, but too large for the room); ergo no lights for reading in bed, which is, what we like to do. Since it was a bit cold yet during the night, the cottage was a bit chilly. It's not exactly well insolated. So, it's best to stay in the summertime. Otherwise, the owner, Mike, was very pleasant to deal with. Very accommodating.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: The Cottage is in a perfect Location. The Cottage also has a Gas heater that works great as well. If a guest decides to not to use the heater and the cottage is chilly, there is nothing I can do about it. In on site every day too but the concern of the guest was never brought to my attention. I also have clip on lights for the bed reading at night, however they were not used.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great cottage in Carlsbad

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

This was the perfect get away for us - nice little cottage in the heart of Carlsbad. We enjoyed our stay here - car free! We were 2 blocks from the Coaster station, and about the same from the heart of the village.
The accommodation was perfect; we had a kitchen and fridge (which turned out to be very useful for the food we had from many of the fine restaurants close by). Michael was very helpful.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Frequent visitor

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

My wife and I frequently visit Carlsbad. It's a wonderful community filled with most anything you may like to do. This property is very clean and is fully equipped with all essentials. We've stayed at this property twice and the first time it was for our wedding week. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We'll stay here again and recommend to everyone we know that likes to visit this area of southern California. Beach, bars, restaurants,clean safe and user friendly public transportation, and entertainment all within walking distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

This was a great getaway for our anniversary! Michael made sure everything was there and good! Enjoyed the time spent way too much. Wanting to keep this little gem all to myself. Thanks Michael and all!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location!!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Our stay here was outstanding!!! The cottage was every bit as nice as your photos and description you offer on your listing. Didn't get to personally meet Michael as he was off on his own vacation , but John was very nice and helpful. We will certainly recommend this place to our fiends, We have been coming to Carlsbad every year for 25 years and will be back to stay here!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Carlsbad experience

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

This was a great place to stay for the week. I had a 4 year old with me and he loved the shower. The rooms were spacious and I had everything I needed in the kitchen. There were plenty of towels for the beach. Mike checked in to make sure we had everything we needed. He was around quite a bit working on the other units but was never intrusive.

The location of the house was central to what we wanted to do (beach and Lego Land). The beach was very close and clean. I would recommend starying here and would do so again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We Will Be Back...

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

Our stay in Carlsbad was very enjoyable.Walking distance to everything we needed.Short walk to beach.Also short 1 1/2 blocks to Coaster light rail system.Great coffee shops.right down the street.Also Michael (the manager)is terrific...willing to assist with any need.Very quiet at night..We will be back

Bill & Ruth

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Relaxing,Clean, Amazing!!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

Thank you so much!! My family rented this cottage the first week in November. Our first visit to Carlsbad couldn't have been better. The house had everything we needed, plus more. Traveling with 3 young boys the back yard was perfect for them. The master bed was very comfortable. But the best part was Michael. He was very friendly, and available to make our vacation easier. The recommendation of the local pizza place was delicious. I highly recommend your home to anyone who wants to have a memoriable vacation as ours.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review