reviews for: listing #30529 - Northstar, California Condo rental

Ski-in/Ski-Out Northstar Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Northstar Ski Trail
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $450 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

We love this place!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We love this place. We have been renting this place multiple years now. Our family stays for a week to ski and we all have a wonderful time. The remodel is great and the layout is perfect. We use the well stocked kitchen regularly and often ski back to the condo for lunch/break and head out again for the afternoon.

Staying on the mountain works well for us as we don't all have to pile into a car and go to the mountain together/stay all day, etc. It gives us all the flexibility to head out to the slopes early in the morning when it's not as crowded and take advantage of the fresh snow!

The owner couldn't be more helpful and if you need anything, she's a phone call away.

Laundry is right outside the unit too so that's super easy and there is a locker below to store your skis. The kids sled right outside too so we rarely move the car. The village is a short walk down the hill and/or a shuttle ride away if you prefer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We love this place!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We love this place. We have been renting this place multiple years now. Our family stays for a week to ski and we all have a wonderful time. The remodel is great and the layout is perfect. We use the well stocked kitchen regularly and often ski back to the condo for lunch/break and head out again for the afternoon.

Staying on the mountain works well for us as we don't all have to pile into a car and go to the mountain together/stay all day, etc. It gives us all the flexibility to head out to the slopes early in the morning when it's not as crowded and take advantage of the fresh snow!

The owner couldn't be more helpful and if you need anything, she's a phone call away.

Laundry is right outside the unit too so that's super easy and there is a locker below to store your skis. The kids sled right outside too so we rarely move the car. The village is a short walk down the hill and/or a shuttle ride away if you prefer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Northstar Condo

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

This is a fabulous, clean condo located within Northstar resort. We spent a wonderful week skiing at this home away from home! Wonderfully well stocked kitchen with plenty of pots, pans, utensils - all in great condition! Great view of the trails and ski lift right from the living room window! Easy walk down to the village or ski down! Owner couldn't be more helpful and gracious! Will definetely recommend to others and look forward to a return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All in working order

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We stayed in this 2 bedroom unit for a week over the new year. All was clean and in working order.
The kitchen while snug is fully functional and well equipped for folks that like to cook the meals in the condo.
It is tastefully decorated and sleeps 2 comfortable or 2 couples. The downstairs bedroom was a bit tight for my 6 foot teenager and another adult.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good value/Great location

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We were adamant about being right on the slopes...ski out your front door, etc...but wanted the best value so I searched endlessly, comparing locations vs. cost, etc...and I arrived at this choice ). This condo has everything and is in the perfect spot on the slopes. Nice view of the run. Well appointed. The owner is responsive and professional. The only criticism I have is the very limited cable t.v. selection..only a handful of clear channels. But who stays on the slopes to watch t.v.?? DVD collection is good and there's always internet t.v.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I have expanded the channel selections.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

?

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

I would use the property again. We were pleased with it. The main floor bathroom fixtures need attention. When we arrived the housekeeping had not cleaned the unit yet so we had to go kill an hour while we waited for them to do that. Upon our day of departure, I had not been informed of the time we had to depart by so planned to leave at noon. At 11 am the housekeeping came and gave us a hard time because we were still there so we hurried up and ate fast and left. You might want to check on your housekeeping people. Those were the only negatives about the whole unit. We thought everything else was great. Loved the coffeemaker. The fireplace worked well too. It was perfect for 4 people and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous and Family Friendly!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Wonderful true ski-in/out location, beautiful views, easy parking, lots of activities, and good access to shops/village! Our 2 young kids had an absolute blast. Stayed at this condo for skiing/snowboarding, summer activities, off season, and enjoyed it all. This place is especially gorgeous after the renovation and we'll continue to come back for all four seasons. Nice place for long weekend getaways, holidays, and extended stays - I've done them all! Owner is super friendly and accommodating. Can't wait to go back! Epic snow!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous and Family Friendly!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Wonderful true ski-in/out location, beautiful views, easy parking, lots of activities, and good access to shops/village! Our 2 young kids had an absolute blast. Stayed at this condo for skiing/snowboarding, summer activities, off season, and enjoyed it all. This place is especially gorgeous after the renovation and we'll continue to come back for all four seasons. Nice place for long weekend getaways, holidays, and extended stays - I've done them all! Owner is super friendly and accommodating. Can't wait to go back! Epic snow!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is the perfect place for a getway!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time on our ski vacation. Sandy was excellent to work with and very accomodating. Our family would eat breakfast and the boys would head out to ski for the morning. We would all eat lunch back at the condo and then head out for some afternoon runs. Our toddler was able to stay at the condo and still feel part of the vacation as the family was able to take breaks throughout the day. We also had a sitter that lived very close by and was able to watch our toddler so I could ski for a bit each day as well.

The condo is a short walk and/or shuttle ride to the village where you can eat at the many restaurants, ice skate, etc as well. The location is great as you are not right in the village with the hustle and bustle but still close enough to walk. We love the location as we can park right by the condo and leave our car for the entire trip.

The kitchen is also fully stocked and we cooked most of our meals at the condo. We had a lot of fun! We brought the Wii and our boys played it in the first floor bedroom which left the main living room tv free for us. The master suite is perfectly done and the bathroom was beautifully remodeled. There is also a closet full of old VHS/DVD movies and some family games as well.

Sandy also installed a code on the door which means it's a keyless entry. This is an added feature that makes it nice so you can ski to the condo without worrying about getting the key, etc.

We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fabulous for a family getaway!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

What a gorgeous and well-equipped condo. Everything is beautifully done, and is brand new. My grown sons and I had a quick weekend getaway of skiing and relaxing, and it couldn't have worked out better. The location on the ski run means you don't have to deal with any of the hassle, traffic or time wasted in getting going. We brought all our food and beverages (courtesy of Safeway in Truckee), and never had to leave. My boys got up early to hit the slopes, I could relax and meet them later. It was a pleasure just to "hang out" by the fire, look out the window, or watch some TV. My boys loved the WIFI, claiming it was faster working on their laptops than at home in the City. The owner is an absolute pleasure to work with. She is really interested in everything being right.

I cannot recommend this place more. We look forward to going back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

WOW. This place is beautiful. Can't wait to go back. Great location right next to the slopes. Just get on your skis and and ski down to the village. Interior is done very well. Felt very comfortable and cozy. The fireplace in the living room is great and it kept the whole place nice and warm. Bedrooms are great with awesome beds and the bathrooms are better than at a five star hotel. Owner is great and easy to work with. Had the greatest time this winter. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Northstar Condo 30529

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

We had our family vacation at this beautiful Northstar Condo during the winter months and had a wonderful time. The condo was beautiful and very clean, with many family movies to choose from and games to be played. Our grandson had his own crib on the loft level and it was a perfect place for his mom and dad to sit and relax with the little fellow. After a day of hiking and exploring the area we were able to come back to the condo, sit and relax in front of the fire. The view from the large living area window is breathtaking. We could look and watch the snowboarders/skiers ski off of the mountain. The one feature I really liked was that the kitchen was open to the living area so I could still be a part of the group while everyone chatted. The European style Northstar Village is a short hike away. We loved watching the kids on the ice rink as we sat in front of an open fire pit. Also, just a short walk from the condo is the gondola (free) that takes you up the mountain to the beautiful Ritz Carlton Rotel. When riding in the Gondola they made sure that we kept warm by giving us blankets to cozy up with. At the Ritz, we sat on the deck and watched the skier's come in for the evening while live music played near us. What a wonderful family vacation we had and to be able to watch our new granson touch snow for the first time was awesome. Thank you to the owners of this beautiful condo for helping make our vacation a great memory.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rude Owner-but cozy place, good location

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

After skiing all day and getting settled in the condo, we realized there were no cables for any of the DVD's or VCR's in the unit. Looked everywhere, then called the owner who lives out of state. She says to go out and purchase new ones and she would reimburse the cost. Next morning drove out and purchased just one set of cables for $9.57. Left them there and when got home, called owner to advise of out of pocket expense. She says she is not going to reimburse the $9.57 because she called the previous guests and they had no problem with missing cables. She refused to believe we needed to purchase any and even said that in the future we should book only through the large on-site rental agents as they could have solved the problem easily. She was very rude and difficult. Also the large picture window has a seal that was broken and the view was obstructed, she didn't disclose this until she sent the confirmation booking package. Oh well, Karma will prevail! Thanks for reading.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

North Star Ski Trail Condo

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

True ski in- ski out condo at North Star! Set in a beautiful wooded setting and right on the village ski run (beginner) you cannot beat this location. Cozy and clean condo with beautiful views and a well appointed kitchen. Sit in front of the wood burning fireplace and enjoy the views! Within walking distance (or very short drive) to North Star village. Short drive to recreation center with pool, game room and hot tubs. Condo has a wide variety of books and movies for renters to enjoy. While there is no separate "dining room" there is a roll out dining table available that seats six (as well as counter dining). We put it in front of the fireplace and enjoyed "fireside" dining. Free washer/dryer right next to unit. Free ski lockers on ground level. Owner extremely helpful. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review