reviews for: listing #305637vb - Playa Prieta, Costa Rica rental

Gorgeous Beachfront Villa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

The Palms

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

What a wonderful place. My husband and I just came back from a really special week there. It was the first time we'd been away without kids since our honeymoon and I can't image a more romantic destination. Everything was perfect. The property, the staff and the incredible white sand beach location. We went to several other beaches while we were there, and Flamingo is the best. Beautiful white sand, uncrowded, consistently nice surf, very special. We came walking back from the surf without towels one afternoon; we hadn't even left the sand yet when one of the staff met us with a big smile and two towels, the staff is hands-down superb! They took care of everything and helped us plan day excursions and find secret spots - that really helped make for a special trip. And don't miss Roy's poolside drinks and goodies. Make sure to try his ceviche - best ever. The condo is really something else too. Everything is gorgeous and very well maintained. The glass walls, (doors) facing the surf fold away, making you feel as if you are sleeping outside on the beach with the sound of the waves and tropical birds. The entire wall facing the water literally goes away - amazing doors. Pure heaven! I wonder why I'm writing all this. Pura Vida. I have to share. Don't miss this treasure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

: Sun + service + swim = sublime!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

One of the best getaway spots ever. The beauty of Playa Flamingo and the sumptuous facilities were only the start. The service from the concierge staff and their support staff was exemplary. Truly, the personal attention we received - no detail too small - turned this to a most memorable visit. The villa was well-appointed, comfortable and in our case easily accommodated two families. Food and beverages supplied by the concierge staff were top flight - prepared with care and mindful of our personal tastes. My wife and I recommend this villa unreservedly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Resort We Have Stayed at in the World!!

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The Palms in Costa Rica on Flamingo Beach is by far the best place we have ever stayed in our world travels. We have stayed at other "Five Star Resorts and Hotels" but this by far was the best. The views of the ocean, beach, pools and landscaping were breathtaking. Everything stated on their website held true. We have been to other places where the pictures look great but then when you arrive at the property you wonder where they got their photos. The condo's interior was also first class. The finish carpentry, flooring, furniture and decor were all gorgeous with top of the line appliances. The staff at the Palms truly pampered us. Although there were nearby restaurants and a spacious kitchen in our condo we often ordered breakfast, lunch, dinner or drinks at the resort. These were prepared by the staff and you could be served poolside or in your condo. We took advantage of several excursions all of which were arranged for by the on site staff. The beach was literally steps from our condo, as were the pools and lawn. My wife swam laps every morning in the edgeless pool and we both enjoyed swimming or kayaking in the ocean or walking the beach. We are hooked and look forward to our next stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica Paradise

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Our family stayed at the luxurious Palms for a week in August. This 5-star condo is truly first class, with elegant furnishings and lots of granite and marble throughout. It has a spacious kitchen, with granite counters, state of the art appliances, and lots of room for cooking, eating and lounging. The welcome of the staff at the Palms was exceptional and they were always there to help and line up numerous daily excursions. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a tropical beverage and a welcome package of groceries to tide us over until we could visit the market nearby. The Palms provided free equipment for any activity such as kayaking, surfing and snorkeling. The grounds are equally fabulous with an infinity pool, just steps away from the fabulous white sandy beach, gym, and a barbeque area as well. Flamingo Beach is quiet, private with perfect waves and definitely one of the best beaches we visited in Costa Rica. Even though we visited in August (the rainy season) we encountered very little rainfall and almost perfect weather with amazing sunsets. We did an afternoon sail on a Catamaran which included snacks, beverages and snorkeling which was really fun. I also recommend an excursion to Arenal Volcano. It's a 4-hour drive from the Palms in Playa Flamingo, but well worth the trip. Once there, we rappelled down several waterfalls (Pure Trek), did zip lining (Sky Tram) across the rain forest, and visited Tabacon Springs Resort to enjoy the thermal pools. However when we returned, we were convinced we had truly found paradise at The Palms and didn’t really need to go anywhere else! We can't wait to return to The Palms, which reminds us of the way Mexico and Hawaii used to be. Pura vida!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Palms, Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week stay at The Palms. This was our 2nd trip to Costa Rica and by far, the best. Flamingo Beach is hands down the best beach we visited in Costa Rica. The Palms and its location on the beach is truely the closest thing to paradise that I have encountered. Even though we visited in July (the rainy season) we encountered very little rainfall and almost perfect weather. The staff at the Palms were exceptional and always there to help and line up numerous daily excursions. The afternoon sail on the Catamaran was amazing and still our favorite excursion. I would highly recommend The Palms and Flamingo Beach for any vacation plans!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Over the Top Five Star Resort on the Best Beach in Costa Rica

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

My wife and I and young son just got back from a week at The Palms. We headed out each morning in a rented SUV on our daily adventure. Each day we returned with more and more confidence that The Palms' stretch of beach was the best part of the best beach in Costa Rica -- a perfect crescent made of white fine sand with gentle waves perfect for wading, body surfing and boogie boarding.

The construction and finishings at The Palms are top notch by first world country standards. It compares favorably to even the Four Seasons and comes with a more relaxed, but just as attentive staff. Towards the end of the week our adventures got shorter and shorter as we chose to simply enjoy the property. The restaurants nearby are great, from traditional "Tico" (authentic Costa Rican) to fine dining, and the food at the Palms was resort quality without the resort price.

In summary, if you go to North Pacific Costa Rica, stay at The Palms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay in paradise

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a luxurious stay in paradise at The Palms. How can you top 90 degree weather with a trade wind breeze to keep you comfortable? The attention to detail and great service at The Palms is exemplary. The welcoming attitude of the entire staff compliments the quality of construction and idealic setting on the white sands of Flamingo Beach. Onced we arrived at The Palms, we didn't want to go and anywhere else. We can't wait to return to The Palms, which reminds us of the way Mexico and Hawaii used to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Place

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

What a wonderful place to vacation. The Palms is fabulous. The condo is spacious, with lots of room for cooking, eating and lounging. It’s luxurious — beautiful wood, marble, glass — but also comfortable and very well equipped. The outside patio and upstairs balcony are great places to read, relax and watch the gorgeous sunsets over the ocean.

The grounds are equally fabulous. There’s a large – great for swimming – pool with a disappearing edge perfect for perching on. The beach is just a few steps away. It’s quiet and private with perfect waves– big enough to body surf and boogie board but not too overwhelming. It’s a great beach for both for strolling and building sand castles. The Palms provides free equipment for digging, surfing and snorkeling, and boasts a pretty barbeque area as well.

Staffers were very friendly and quite helpful. They helped us figure out where to buy groceries and other goods, and helped us line up restaurant reservations in the nearby town, just a few minutes away. They also helped us set up fishing trips, sailing and snorkeling tours, rappelling and zip lining adventures.

The Palms is a great place for either a romantic getaway or a vacation with lots of family and/or friends. We would go back in a heartbeat!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Getaway!

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

This was my first time to Costa Rica and this fabulous property was more then I expected! The pictures don't do this beautiful property justice, but come close. It's a beautiful location right on a very quiet beach with world-class amenities throughout. Downstairs was a gourmet kitchen with all the latest appliances and lots of granite counter space. The layout of the condo is perfect where you can see the pool or ocean from the kitchen through the dining area and the living room. The living room has full windows/French doors that open up to a private veranda that overlooks the grounds, beach and Pacific Ocean. Just a few steps and you're into the infinity pool. Another few steps from there and you're boogie boarding in the surf. Upstairs is a beautiful master suite with private bath and balcony overlooking the beach area. The other bedroom has its own private bath as well and a smaller balcony. There's also a third full bath downstairs. My kids and I stayed there for 9 wonderful days and didn't want to leave to come home. The grounds are immaculate, the staff is helpful, courteous, and friendly and I could have not asked for anything better. This property is by far the most luxurious I have had the pleasure to stay at and is conveniently located if you're willing to venture out to other parts of Northern Costa Rica. It's a nice walk down the beach to the town of Flamingo - takes about 45 minutes round trip. I highly recommend the Happy Snapper in Brasilito, only 10 minutes by car. They have the best fried whole red snapper I have ever tasted, but come hungry or share this dish as it's a huge meal. For grocery shopping, head to Tamarindo. It's a pretty drive and takes about 20 minutes. For adventure, make sure to do the Congo Trail Canopy Tour and make a day trip to Rincon de la Vieja. There are great things to do there through the Hotel Guachipilin or the Hotel Borenquin, but no need to stay overnight if you get up early and drive back to Playa Flamingo. I also recommend at least a 2-nite stay near Adrenal Volcano. It's a 4-hour drive from the Palms in Playa Flamingo, but well worth the trip. We stayed at the Hotel Los Lagos right at the base of the volcano, but heard the Springs Resort is amazing as well. I can guarantee you will love you're stay at the Palms in Playa Flamingo and want to come back time and time again! I know I will.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Place to Stay! Right on the Beach. Very friendly staff.

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

First off – I never write reviews but I have to in this case. I looked all around for a special place to stay with our family (kids 13/16/18) in the Playa Flamingo area on the Pacific Coast and the Palms was an amazing find. Most places in Costa Rica are not on the beach due to an offset law that passed in the 70’s. The Palms was built before then (and recently renovated) so that all the units are right on the beach. This is VERY rare to find beach front units in the Costa Rica. The Palms are extremely high-end for the area (and country). The units are meticulous, spacious and brand new with all the amenities you could ask for. The staff is friendly, helpful and very accessible. There is 24 hour security and the whole complex is safe and gated. They have a large, “to die for” infinity pool with a great BBQ area and lots of lounge chairs. The beach is spotless with soft large sandy areas and the waves are great for surfing or boarding.

A real special find and GREAT for families!

Do not hesitate – book it NOW!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely 5 star !!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

We stayed at these condo's Feb. 2010. If it is possible, these condos and the surrounding area are even more beautiful than the advertisement photos. The condos are impeccably built and decorated. Everything used in these units are top of the line. The grounds are gorgeous and the infinity pool is positioned perfectly, so it is the perfect spot to relax and check out the beach and ocean. There is a lot to see and do and the staff was very helpful in planning excusions and giving recommendations for restaurant, sites, etc...
You will not be disappointed. This property is a must see. We cannot wait to plan another trip to Flamingo Beach to stay at The Palms !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fabulous experience at this very special property located on Flamingo Beach !!!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

We completely enjoyed our two week stay in this beautiful property located directly on Flamingo Beach. The property is first class in every respect. It is maintained to the highest standards by a highly trained professional staff that attends to all resident needs and wishes. The Infinity pool area is the central core of the property and is immediately adjacent to beautiful white sandy beaches and panaramic views of the Pacific ocean. The Howler monkey population that resides in the area provides a special treat throughout each day and evening. The property also provides residents with all the equipment necessary to fully enjoy ocean activities ( kayak, snorkel, floats, etc. ). And, the staff is available to arrange any activities that might be desired off property, including fishing trips, canopy tours, etc. Additionally, the property is located only a short distance from premier surfing locations located just south along the coast. We have highly recommend this property to all our friends that might have travel plans in the future to the wonderful country of Costa Rica.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic experience at The Palms!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at the Palms for a week this past winter, and the experience was beyond anything I could have imagined! First of all, the location is amazing. The Palms sits beside a gorgeous white sand beach that ends in a beautiful rocky bluff, which makes it feel very private and secluded. The view of the Catalina Islands is great, and the sunsets are unbelievable. No matter what we were doing during the day, we always rushed back to our own beach at sunset, because the colors and view from the Palms was better than anywhere else. Absolutely glorious!

In addition to the setting, the units themselves are amazing - beautifully laid out and appointed, the tone is comortable oppulance. The units are gorgeous inside and out, and have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. We especially enjoyed being able to completely open up the full wall-width doors to the beautiful pool, palms, and beach right outside. The staff was also great - keeping everything spotess on the grounds and in the units, and they were friendly and helpful in assisting us with questions about the area and in helping to arrange scuba, surfing, and canopy tours. They found the best tours and options for us to ensure that our trip was filled with fun and perfect in every way!

The Palms is also close to all the amazing attractions in Costa Rica, and we especially enjoyed surfing, scuba, shopping, the jungle canopy tour, and playing in the waves on boogie boards right off our own beach. There are many dining choices nearby, from casual to high-end, and the staff at the Palms helped us find the best in each category and helped with directions/reservations as needed.

We had such an amazing time on our trip, and I would absolutely recommend the Palms to my family and friends. The property has a great location, is convenient to all the attractions, has friendly/helpful staff, and is absolutely gorgeous. The Palms has spoiled us - we'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Once in a lifetime vacation!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My husband and I wanted to take the kids somewhere warm for spring break and happened upon this resort. We have traveled many places, Cabo, Hawaii, Caribbean and Panama but we've never experienced accomodations like this. These condos are brand new. Nicer than our home!! They are located on it's own bay with the warmest ocean I have ever been in. The pictures you see here are exactly way it looks from your bedroom.The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The marble bathrooms are gorgeous. There is a full kitchen with dishwasher and all utensils you need. The washer and dryer in the unit were a Godsend!

Having never been to Costa Rica, we enlisted the help of the concierge for activities for the kids. Management was very accomodating to our needs. They have surfboards and boogie boards for their guests which saved us money from having to purchase them just for the week.They have a state of the art weight room that overlooks the ocean free for guests. Surfing lessons in Tamarindo were a short drive away. We went zip-lining above the canopies and enjoyed the howler monkeys. We even had some visit our resort around sunset every evening. A highlight for us was spending an hour playing w/ Spider Monkeys and White Face Monkeys(for the mere price of $5).The rest of the week was spent relaxing at the pool and having massages in our room.
I would definitely recommend this resort to family and friends. This was an amazing find!! We plan on returning again next spring and hope to bring some friends.

Best vacation of our lives. A chance to live the lifestyles of the rich and famous - without the pricetag.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review