reviews for: listing #30611 - Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire Cottage rental

Secluded Lake Winnipesaukee Cottage (Very Cozy & Private)
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Cozy & Private

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

The location was perfect. Everything you could possibly want was nearby. Two quality grocery stores, shopping, and restaurants. It was down the road from Weirs Beach and a nice drive to Meredith. Everything we could possibly need was provided and with good quality. It is a beautiful spot, literaly right ON Paugus Bay. Craig was very helpful and accommodating. My dog was psyched to be with us and went swimming every chance he could. The water was clean and clear and there was enough of a yard to tie him up so he could snoop around. We were there for the Fourth of July and the condo right next to the cabin was bustling with many guests but were not much of a distraction. They were there on vacation and were enjoying themselves. Everyone was pleasant. If there were no guests at the condo our stay in the cabin would have been absolutely private. It's a great spot to get away. 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

I love this place. I will list the pros and cons to be fair and balanced.
CONS:
-Shower was small. I owned an RV that had a bigger shower.
-Circuit breaker kept shutting off when ironing
-There is a small beach right next to the property. We visited in the off season so no one was there except for 3 guys with a cooler of beers. I would imagine it being not as private in the peak season.

PROS:
-The pros are everything else you could possibly think of when looking for a vacation property. It was clean, right on the lake, located close to Weirs Beach.

My wife and I really enjoyed our time there. I only mentioned the cons to be fair but quite honestly this place is fantastic. Many great memories. Don’t think twice about booking this place if you’re looking to vacation in New Hampshire

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The cottage

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

This was a wonderful get away. The cottage was perfect, cozy, and very well maintained. The cottage came complete with everything you need. The location could not be better, perfectly located on Winnipesaukee Lake and very private. The cottage has booth a gas and charcoal grill. There was also a large stone fireplace, were we built nightly bonfires, roasted marshmallows, and drink tea after sunset, and two ducks that came for visits daily. The beautiful sunsets over mountains. Great place to relax.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Sunsets!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This cottage was amazing! What a find, so private, cozy and secluded, but yet still close to everything. My husband, myself and our two Golden’s had a blast, walking, swimming, and sightseeing. The cottage can’t get any closer to the water, what a view and gorgeous sunsets. Craig was a great host; he even brought us extra blankets because it was going to be cold a few nights. Thanks Craig. Craig also went above and beyond, we had left one of our dogs collars there (special one, leather and engraved) Craig found it and immediately had the collar fed ex’d to us. That was super awesome!! If you rent here all you need is your clothes and a toothbrush, they have everything you need, and I would highly recommend this rental. (I didn’t want to because I want it all to myself!) Thanks again Craig, we had a wonderful time and will be back soon.

Heidi and Dave
Windsor, Connecticut

Owners response: Heidi,
Thanks for the great review hope to see you next year.
-Craig

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

My husband, myself and our 2 Newfoundlands just arrived home from this wonderful place. I do not know where to begin. Everything listed in the description is accurate. This property is well maintained and the owner is very friendly. It is secluded (not scary secluded) so privacy was a non-issue. You really feel as though you are away from it all! They have 2 large grocery stores in town which is just up the road (5 minute drive). Many attractions are within a 10 minute drive. We spent hours sitting by the lake each day just taking in the scenery which is spectacular. Being the 1st week in September, the weather was a bit cooler but the lake was still quite warm and swimmable. The water is crystal clear too! Just loved, loved, LOVED this place! The only thing that could be better is the shower head as it seemed old and the pressure just wasn't there. Thats the ONLY improvement I think the owner could make. This cottage has charm and character which is lacking in so many places today!

We highly recommend a Lobster Roll from Tamaracks down the road from Weirs Beach. We ate Lobster rolls 4 times and found these to be the best!

When we vacation in this region again, this is definitely where we will stay. Thank you Craig Johnson for a tranquil, restful and wonderful vacation spot!

The Newmans
from NJ

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for leaving the cottage so neat. I will change out the shower head ASAP now I know there is an issue.
It was a pleasure meeting you and your gorgeous Nuffies hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
-Craig

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A True Gem!!

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

We had a fabulous time - the cottage is perfect, so clean and falling to sleep with the sound of the waves splashing against the house was wonderful. Craig, the owner, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We liked it so much, we've booked our stay for next year!! A true gem!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't say enough great things about this property!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past week and it is absolutely wonderful. This home is literally ON the water. It is incredible to wake up each morning, open the blinds and have this magnificent lake view. The house is very clean and comes stocked with anything you can need beyond the basic linens: a flashlight, wine bottle opener, sponge and dish detergent, plastic wrap and baggies for left over food, coffee maker and filters, etc. It is close in proximity to anything and everything we have wanted to do there. Our lake area isn't really a "beach," but the two Adirondack chairs and the stairs right into the lake are perfect. We are mildly obsessed with our dogs and they were more than happy here; they were LOVING it. We brought the long dog cords for each of them which worked out perfectly. You can see and speak to the people in the condos on the other side of the house if you choose to, but you definitely aren't forced to socialize. My husband and I value our privacy on vacations and we have been more than happy with this location. Upon arrival Craig sent a text to be certain that we had everything we could want or need which of course we did. He also sent and posted his reviews of attractions in the area. We hiked one of the trails and ate dinner at two of the restaurants he suggested, all of which were great. Overall, I would absolutely recommend this cottage for an amazing, relaxing retreat. We are already talking about returning next year and are just waiting for the August calendar to come up!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Better than photos!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Imagine putting your head against the window pane, looking down, and seeing water. Can't get any closer than that! Plus, with a bank of windows across the wall a beautiful panoramic view of the lake is before you. After renovations the cottage is more spacious and with the added amenities has all the comfort of home. Craig has provided everything for a relaxing worry free vacation and he's close by on the premises if needs arise. Shopping for anything is in close proximity. This is a great place to stay and being pet friendly is a bonus. This cottage is a definite choice when renting in the Lakes Region again. Thanks, Craig

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

My partner and I just got back today from our trip to Lake Winnipesaukee, staying at Craig's cottage on Paugus Bay, and we are already missing it. We arrived last week later in the evening so by the time we got there it was dark, making it a little hard to find the place. However, Craig was nice enough to leave the light on for us allowing us to see it at the end of the dirt road. This place is so secluded and private it would be great for anyone trying to get away from it all, not to mention how romantic the scenery is. The cottage had just been renovated before we got there and it looks amazing. There is plenty of space to spread out, plus a great outdoor area for grilling and swimming (if the weather is warm enough). I would highly recommend staying here not only for the location and wonderful accommodations but for the hospitality as well. Craig stopped by (he lives right around the corner) to check in and make sure everything was going well and to see if we needed anything - something he did not have to do, but was much appreciated and very thoughtful. He also seemed genuinely interested in our feedback on our stay and if we had any suggestions for him. Truth be told we had none. It was perfect the way it was. I do not want to forget to mention that this is also a pet friendly cottage, something that is not easy to find and despite that, it was still very clean and well taken care of. We will definitely be coming back again next year!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great location for solitude

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

My husband and myself wanted to finally get away and we love privacy. We loved this cute cottage, almost literally, on the lake and brought our non-shedding dogs. There was just enough room. It was nice and clean and had so much in this neat, little cabin...everything we needed. There are flat-screen t.v.'s in both main room and bedroom...screened porch was awesome place to read or feed the dogs. We travelled during off-season so didn't get to swim in the lake; next time I'd come in warmer weather. Privacy was my favourite feature as you are not surrounded by other cabins; have your own picnic table, could sit on wall at edge of lake and walk on natural rock at the shore or through the nice sandy right beside the cottage! If it were closer to the lake, it'd be a boathouse! We loved the view looking across the lake and saw only a few boats go by. I took beautiful photos of morning mist on the lake, the dogs, etc. We'd either come later for better Autumn colours or early for warmer weather so we could swim next time. Went hiking at the White Mountains, enjoyed exploring local area on foot with the dogs and drive around the lake to check out how the rich people live. You can walk to one restaurant and drive to many others including grocery and other stores. Only improvements are to provide hand towels in the bathroom and get a screen door that closes properly (re dogs or small children sneaking out). Otherwise, it was so peaceful. Thanks, Craig.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gail,
Thank you for your review. You will be happy to know that the screen door is being replaced this year and many other changes too. There is new carpet, high speed internet, DirecTV, new sleep sofa and futon & now a queen size bed. Hand towels will be there for you this year too.
See you soon,
-Craig

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Relaxation!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

If you're looking for a place to relax, enjoy the lake and beautiful scenery this is perfect. I have a 3 & 5 year old and a little dog and we had plenty of space. The cottage is centrally located to the grocery stores and Wiers beach. The best thing about the cottage is the private beach and well maintained property. I am already planning my next visit!!

Thanks Craig!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Relaxation!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

If you're looking for a place to relax, enjoy the lake and beautiful scenery this is perfect. I have a 3 & 5 year old and a little dog and we had plenty of space. The cottage is centrally located to the grocery stores and Wiers beach. The best thing about the cottage is the private beach and well maintained property. I am already planning my next visit!!

Thanks Craig!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful and private

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

This was just what we were looking for. My husband and I have stressful jobs so we wanted some seclusion and peace and quiet. My favorite thing was to lie on the futon, on the porch, and read while listening to waves that were inches away. You have your own private beach on one side which offers a lot of privacy. The condos on the other side are set back, not right on top of you. The cabin is cozy and clean, which was very important to us. My husband was happy they had a big screen T.V. with cable. We had one rainy day and it was nice to watch movies on the big screen. They have a DVD player. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook with. My husband enjoyed fishing on site and around town. We biked along a bike path in town. We visited Mount Washington. I walked along the lake. It was a very relaxing vacation. The highlights of this property were: its location-right on the lake, no close neighbors-very private and quiet, cleanliness, and the cozy porch. I miss that porch already. Improvements that I would recommend-a better cable package. My husband complained about that but I was glad because it made me read more. More towels would have been good. We washed them ourselves, mid-week. These are minor things. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this place without hesitation. Thanks Craig.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

It Was Great!

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

My husband, college aged son and I and our two miniature dachshunds were all pleasantly surprised that this vacation advertisement was spot on! It is a cute, one bedroom cottage, located right on Lake Winnepesaukee in a VERY secluded location. You have your own driveway down to the cottage, own parking spot, and a private waterfront cottage that is literally located right on the water! There's a dock to swim out to, and in the morning the ducks are perched there watching you as you have your coffee! Every evening there is a beautiful sunset, and affords you the the nice warm rays of the sun in the afternoon/evening. It has a pull-out couch in the livingroom, and a futon out on the waterfront porch, so it sleeps 6 altogether. When you sleep on the futon on the front porch, you wake up to the waves of the lake lapping at the porch. It is so cool! We loved the privacy (there is a condominium with 4 units located just south of this cottage, but they have their own beach which is separate from the cottage. The owner lives up on the hill, but, other than seeing him upon arrival, don't even know there is anybody else around. It is an absolute gem, and, compared to many places that we looked at of similar price, was truly outstanding. We had a great, great, time on the Lake and it is within minutes of Weir's Beach, Laconia, Meredith, and all sorts of vacation attractions. I brought my 12 speed bike and had a very enjoyable ride around the Lake. We toured Laconia, found a cute nostalgic store downtown, a great diner at which to eat, and hung out on Weir's Beach at night. And, we rode Hobo Railroad train that runs from Weir's Beach to Lakeport (one hour trip), but you can even take it to Meredith. And, we could even see and hear the train from across the Lake every day at the cottage! We were within minutes of grocery stores to buy food, but the cottage came supplied with everything, including a grill! We could even walk up the hill to "Christmas Island" tavern to eat or drink! There is even jetski and boat rentals within 10 minutes of the cottage if you feel the need to "get out on the lake!" Cool too was that there was a 5 screen drive-in movie theatre with up to date movies that you can go watch right up the road across from Weir's Beach. Needless to say, we absolutely loved our stay and have already booked for next year!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

The Beach House on Winnipesaukee

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

First time vacationers to the lake had a wonderful week. Cabin very clean and cozy. Great sunsets! Sandy beach, quiet nights and lots of stars. Craig was a very accommodating host. Friendly neighbors. Cabin has every thing you need, we only needed to bring beach chairs and beach towels. Would highly recommend this cabin for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review. I am always trying to improve my property for my renters. I was able to launch Mark's boat for him and take it out too (at no extra charge). I would not want to launch a boat off the beach over 1200LBS though. For larger boats we have many choices all within one mile. I now offer a great docking system for our guests with boat whips to secure your boat safely away from the dock.
Thanks again,
-Craig

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

just what i needed!!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

great little place!! excellent views and couldnt be closer to the water.... the fishing wasnt the best but we still caught a buzz lol... the owners were very nice and i would deff rent this cottage again.. its a mile from some stores in case you need ice or whatever... great memories!! thanks again!!

steve-

Owners response: Steve,
Thanks for the great review! Next year I'll have to give you the heads up where to catch Bass, Pickerel, Lake & Rainbow Trout and of course Salmon without leaving the Bay.
Thank you,
-Craig

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review