reviews for: listing #30694 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

Bear Hugs--Book now for your getaway!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sky Harbor
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $150 /nt

sort by:

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

This was our second year staying at the cabin and we had a great time as before! The cabin was in perfect shape and so comfortable. It really felt like we were at a place of our own. I would recommend this place to anyone! Can't wait to go back next year! Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Awesome

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Everything was even better than expected. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute cabin!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

it's a very nice cabin, very clean and nice condition. I brought my two small dogs and they seemed to like it too. The porch was my favorite spot. It was just nice to sit there and look at the woods. The hot tub was awesome. We saw a bear twice. There isn't much grass for walking the dogs next to the cabin, but if you walk up the hill there are some grassy areas. It was good exercise wlking up the hill. The weather was perfect and we had no problem with Mosquitos. The air quit working one night, but was promptly repaired. We recommend Apple Barn Winery and Texas Roadhouse. The Peddler sucked and was expensive. We had a better meal and betterr service at Texas Roadhouse. Be sure to visit the local arts and crafts community on Glades Rd. Beautiful stuff.

My only peeve was the couch. It's sagging and needs to be replaced. I found the bed uncomfortable, but my husband loved it. I brought an Aero bed, just in case, so we were both happy. I will have fond memories of our visit. We rekindled a little of the romance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: New couch is arriving September 1st. Glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

First Time Cabin Rental was A+

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This was the first time we had rented a cabin. We always stayed in hotels and, to be honest, was leery of doing business with an independent cabin rental. I am SO glad we did! The cabin was amazing and was better than advertised. Being a first time renter, I wasn't sure what would be available for use in the cabin. Everything I needed was there - laundry detergent, dish detergent, trash bags, paper towels, dishes, pots/pans, salt and pepper, even toothpicks! I had read a previous review that said the cabin was not suitable for children. I have 3 children, ages 4-11 and was also a little leery of that. Let me tell you, my kids LOVED it!!! They loved having their own "private" quarters in the loft with the pool table, TV, and playstation. They also really enjoyed the hot tub. There wasn't a yard, but there was a path they loved exploring on. The only complaint I can give was that the bed was too firm for our taste, but that's not fault with the cabin or owner, just our own personal preference. We would definitely recommend this cabin to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

The weather created havoc getting there first of all. Not the renter's problem, but then when we got inside, a note stating that the hot tub could not be used due to frozen pipes was disappointing. Also, loud neighbors above us made it less restful. Disappointed that rental company did not offer any refund or help with situations. Cabin was very nice. We enjoyed going to Dixie Stampede.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Like you said, I cannot control the weather. I am very sorry you had trouble getting there. The pipes to the hot tub were frozen, therefore the hot tub was unable to be used. If you had called me I could have tried to get the issues taken care of. When I don't know there is a problem, I can't fix them.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

Little Cabin in the Woods

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

I was very happy with our stay at the Bear Hugs cabin. It was exactly what I had hoped for. The cabin is very spacious for only being one bedroom. The hot tub was fantastic and we were in there at least 3 times a day!

The location of this cabin was right between Pigeon Forge and Gaitlinburg which was awesome! It was also very close to the National Park. The actual drive up to the cabin is a little scary at first, but you get used to it. It's really steep and narrow, yet paved and easy to travel on.

The only thing that surprised me was how close this cabin is to others. Bearadise is directly across from Bear Hugs, but it doesn't really matter because you don't hang out on the front porch. There is also a cabin up a hill to the back of Bear Hugs. They have put a screen in for more privacy, but it's still pretty close.

All in all, I would DEFINITELY stay at Bear Hugs again. It was clean, roomy, and really relaxing.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

June 4-6

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

My Husband and I celebrtated our 4th anv. here!! We fell in love with this cabin! Hope to stay again soon!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here from November 6 through November 14th for our 20th Anniversary this year. It was so peaceful and quiet and the cabin had everything that we needed and the decor was wonderful. It was so warm and inviting. It was in a beautiful, quiet mountain area but also centrally located between Pigeon Forge & Gatlinburg. We loved having the gas fireplace to cozy up to and the hot tub was great in the evenings to relax. We also loved having the gas grill on the back deck. I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone! It was also such an easy transaction with the rental and Jennifer was pleasant to deal with. We enjoyed ourselves so much and hope to return soon one day! We miss it so much already!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

June 26- July 3, 2009

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

This was a lovely cabin. Everything was nice. The downside is there is no flat yard at all--straight down a hillside and very windy small steep road getting to the cabin-but worth it. I rented it so I could take my English Sheep Dog and there was no grass whatsoever for her but without the dog it would be perfect. Not good for kids-no land.

I would suggest screening the deck because the mosquito's start around 5 PM and made it impossible to use hot tub or sit outside in the evening. Did not use hot tub one single time because of mosquito's.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: This cabin is located in the mountains. The road getting to the cabin is steep in a couple places, however it is paved and easy to travel on.
The porch is not screened in, so that guests can enjoy the wooded surroundings. Nobody likes mosquitoes, but they seem to be at their worst in June and July.
Children seem to enjoy the cabin quite a bit. They have a pool table, DVD's, and a PlayStation 2 (with a variety of games) to play with while they are there.
We do plan on clearing out the bottom area, as a "pet walk". I have a number of guests that love the fact they can bring their pet along with them for a reasonable price. I hope to have the pet walk area completed before the end of this year.
If you have any questions, feel free to call and ask. I will give you an honest answer to any of your questions.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

What a wonderful way to spend our Spring Break in this beautiful cabin. We really appreciate the big TV over the fireplace, and this was one of the few cabins that you could still use the fireplace this time of year and allows dogs, but we didn't bring ours this time because he's just a pup, maybe next time. It's nice having the loft;an extra place to go hang out & play video games. It was also nice having the jacuzzi tub and TV in the bedroom.It was so relaxing & the large windows in the living area are beautiful.We made use of the laundry room,that is so convenient, to keep up on the laundry.All the amenities of home. Its so cozy, & has spoiled us,hotels will not seem the same after our stay here. There is so much to do, there is not enough time to do it all. And the weather held out. Even though it snowed it a little we were still able to make it over to Laurel Falls and that was amazing.We really enjoyed it. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful cabin.
Sincerely,
The Poulton Family
Grove City, OH

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

We stayed in this cabin last year and enjoyed it so much-we decided to stay here again this year! We had a great visit & was able to relax and enjoy the view & town activities. We really like that it's right between Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge. Thanks for the cabin comfort.

The Morgans
Greg, Tammy, Kate & our dog Pepper

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

Dear Paul & LaVerne,
The cabin was great! We especially appreciate the cleanliness & all of the items that make the cabin like being at home. The hot tub, the darts, pool table,movies,PlayStation, & things certainly make the cabin a great place to escape after a day of walking in Gatlinburg. We have stayed in many cabins in the area in previous years. This one is by far the best for the money. I was curious if the one across the way is just as nice! Thanks again & many blessings.
Mahalo from Hawaii residents!

Leilani & Muali

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

We had a great time. We fell in love the cabin. It was very clean in the cabin. The hot tub was very warm. My brother & my sister & me & my uncle had fun playing pool.We didn't get to play the Playstation. We was too busy playing pool & watching TV. There was Leslie,Larry,Hunter,Destiny,Riley,Justin,and Madisyn that stayed in this cabin. We stayed from 13-20. We went to Comedy Barn. (written by 9 yr old Riley)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 22, 2009

We loved staying at your cabin! We have always stayed in a hotel when we visit Gatlinburg, but I don't think we will ever again. This has been so comfortable and convenient and we even had a few inches of snow on the ground while we were here. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your cabin. I'm sure we will be back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kevin & Angie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 13, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

We have enjoyed staying at your lovely cabin. It is very nice and very clean. The hot tub is great, the kids loved the pool table. My husband enjoyed meeting and talking with Paul and his grandson. We will be back to stay again. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your cabin.

The Norris Family!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

We absolutely fell in love with your cabin! It was so cozy, warm, inviting and really clean! It was a second home to us! Even our chihuahuas made themselves at home! This trip was such a memorable one. Thanks for allowing us to rent your cabin! We cannot wait to return! We LOVE Tennessee. We also enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace. Great experience from booking the trip to our stay! Thanks for allowing pets!!
The Mc Guigan's & Ella Scully & Chihuahuas

*Future visitors must make time to drive through National Park via 441.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 17, 2008   Date of arrival: December 17, 2008

We totally enjoyed our stay here at "Bear Hugs". The cabin was comfortable and inviting. My 7 year old son was just thrilled about the Play Station being here. Having everything provided here at the cabin was very convenient for us. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others who want to stay in the area!

Many thanks-
The Kennedys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 12, 2008   Date of arrival: December 12, 2008

The cabin was great! We are from France and in France we could never afford something like this. We really enjoyed it!

Merci

Michael & Kamille

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review