reviews for: listing #30784 - New Smyrna Beach, Florida House rental

Gundacker's Beachside Home with HEATED Private Pool and Yard
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beachside
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Great winter escape!

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

What a wonderful house. The owner has decorated the place tastefully, with a comfortable and cozy feel throughout. With two loud and rowdy boys, this was a much better option than a condo. The boys couldn't get enough of the heated pool, and the privacy fence hopefully minimized the noeghbors torture. The TV's in every room and excellent wifi was a huge plus. We'll be back for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and everyone felt comfortable in our home. Most families appreciate the private home more than the busy condo scenario.
The beach and pool are wonderful, but sometimes, everyone just needs a little retreat to their own room with their own tv. :)
We are always thankful for such great guests and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Perfect Stay!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Well, What can I say? It was another perfect stay at the Beach House.
The weather was perfect. The house was perfect like always. Diesta Even put up a Christmas tree for us to have on Christmas day.The updates to the bathrooms and floors thru the house were beautiful.We can't wait for our next stay, which we are planning right now.If you want a perfect place to stay, this is it! Everything you would need is provided! The owners are the BEST! Thanks again for a GREAT stay! We will be back later this year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words! Although, I can't take credit for the nice weather- we are very happy that you enjoyed our new renovations and had a great stay. Hopefully many wonderful family memories were made and we look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

This home was beautiful. My family had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Everything you need is provided in this home. The home was spotless and very welcoming. My children had more than enough to do with bikes, games, books, pool...
It is a two minute walk to the ocean and gorgeous beach. There is nothing like falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the ocean.
We will definitely be back next year. This is the first vacation we took where we seriously did not want to come home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving Week stay, and found it relaxing. We love our guests, but especially when they want to return! And, we are in the midst of complete bathroom renovations to keep everything new and fresh. It will only be better :) We look forward to welcoming you again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great time!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My family had a wonderful time at this home. We had everything you could imagine in a beach house. The beach, the yard, the pool, the home...all beautiful. We woke up to the sounds of the ocean and took a two minute walk to the beach.
My children had so much fun and we seriously didnt want to leave.
We will be back next year for sure.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

After four long days at Disney we arrived at the beach house and were blown away! We were not sure what to expect but needless to day the house far exceeded our expectations! We had 3 adults and 2 kids and had more than enough room. The block walk to the beach was perfect and being so close to a National Park was a bonus! Diesta left a treat for all of us...yet another bonus. I highly recommend this beach house! We have already started talking about our next trip to our new vacation house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip to New Smyrna Beach and your stay in our home. I forget to mention the National Seashore Park, but it is truly a gem. We are thrilled to add you to the list of special guests who refer to our home as "their" vacation home, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Wonderful home, beautiful! Loved the pool, close to the beach and restaurants!
Found everything we needed, and it was great for two teenage boys! I would love to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our home. Sometimes it can be a bit more difficult to keep the "teens" happy, but so glad that they enjoyed the stay as well. Whenever you should choose to revisit NSB, please know that we would be delighted to have you as guests again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best and most relaxing

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

When my family and I arrived and walked into this home we were speachless. It was better to see in person that what the pictures show. We felt so welcome it made out stay more relaxing and enjoyable. With all the extras this house had we didn't have to pack as much leaving more room for kids. My husband and I have already decided to come back next year and we are still in talks about making it for two weeks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We are SO delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our home to be comfortable. We are grateful for happy guests and it is truly our goal. Hopefully you are able to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Home" at the beach

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Cautiously we arrived for a 3 week vacation with trailer in tow. Since we were a large group consisting of grandma and grandad, 2 grown children and spouses and 3 small children under 4 years old, we brought everything we could think of for our extended stay. We needed nothing!! Well almost nothing--Bring 2 or 3 days of clean clothes (only to prevent you from wasting your vacation time washing clothes in the washer/dryer) and that's it. Everything is furnished from bikes and fishing rods in the garage to a fully equipped kitchen. I even joked with the landlord about having a "junk" drawer in the kitchen. Any questions were promptly answered by the landlord making our stay just like being at home at the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay and found everything comfortable. We try our best to make certain that you don't have to bring much with you, or do without. We hope that you'll visit New Smyrna again and will think of us :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We had a great time during our stay in the house. It was stocked with everything we could have needed. There was a storm the first weekend we stayed that caused a few issues with the pool and AC, but they were remedied very quickly by the owner once reported. I was very impressed with the response time of the owner and her concern over the quality of our vacation. When visiting the area again, I would definitely stay in this house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We're so glad that a good time was had by all, despite a couple of unexpected rough storm days. It's wonderful to have guests with such a great attitude...having fun and enjoying what the beach has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Brilliant Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

I am just back form the most wonderful relaxing stay at the Gundacker's Beachside house in New Smyrna Beach. The house is a minutes walk from the most amazing beach, super quiet .. clean with life guard.

The house was immaculate with all mod cons.. We great enjoy the pool and barbecue. The house is very close to all amenities as-well as several wonderful restaurants.

New Smyrna is easy to connect onto I-95 for sight seeing. We explored historic towns like St. Augustine, visited the Kennedy Space Centre and went to Universal Studios. as well as a day at the mall. The local visitors information office was also super friendly and helpful.

All in all the perfect location for a relaxed holiday. Moreover the owner Deista could not be more helpful with any questions or queries. I would thoroughly recommend this property for a wonderful vacation.

Thanks for a wonderful time !

Joanne & Family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: It was a joy to have you as guests in our home. We're glad that you found the location easy, to get
to and from, all that the area has to offer. I guess it's always nice to know that after enjoying a "touristy" day, you can always go back and relax at the beach :) We hope that you'll return again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awsome place to relax!!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This house is just awsome! We stayed there with two kids - teenager and toddler - both had a great time. House is so clean and beautifuly furnished. For sure it will meet your needs. There are bikes to ride on, even the trailer fot toddlers. We rodr bikes to the store and to the beach. Beach is jus across the street! Swimming pool - AWSOME! We spent lazy days and nights at the swimming pool for hours. We'd really recommend this house! We hope to come back next Summer. Thanks for sharing your beach house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your note. Our goal is to make this a spot that you want to return to and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to having you as a guest again next summer :)

Diesta and Charlie Gundacker

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach Rental!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

I couldn't be more pleased with my rental of the Gundacker Beach Home in New Smyrna Beach. Working with Diesta Gundacker was a great experience, from the beginning through the end. This house is wonderful, just perfect in every respect. Everyone in my group had something for them - from the Nintendo/TV in the kids room that we used when my son was sick for a couple of days to the large number of items in the kitchen that was plenty capable of serving a large family dinner, to of course the backyard pool and close proximity to the beach.

Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beachside with a pool

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

We loved this home from the moment we walked through the door. It was very clean and well maintained. No surprises here, it fit the description and pictures on the internet. There are many restaurants within walking distance, our favorite was The Garlic. Don't let the fact that it is across the street from the beach walkway scare you off. This was not an issue for us, even with a 3 and a 1 year old. We loved the pool and beach so much we only left one day to go to the Melbourne zoo. My son and I cried on the way home. We can't wait to visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, hospitibal owners

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

This beach house was perfect! A group of friends and I rented it for a week the end of September, and were not disappointed. The neighborhood is quiet, and the beach is only 100-150 yards from the front door. The owners have provided endless extras, including beach towels, beach chairs, surf and skim boards, and bikes. The house is spacious, but not huge. The home sleeps 6 comfortably, and another 2 if you include the pull-out sofa. The kitchen is complete with anything you need for meal prep., including spices! I would definitely suggest this home to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best beach place in New Smyrna !!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This is such a *fantastic* place to get away and relax! We loved the privacy of being in a single family home away from lots of (noisy) condo people. We totally relaxed floating in the pool in the very private back yard - no sharing a pool with crowds! TV/DVD/VCR combo was a great addition - we'd brought along some favorite old movies - and wireless internet allowed us to be in touch with our world as much as we might want(we had a tiny bit of work to finish). Everything is top-notch - linens, towels, dishes. Kitchen is fully equipped (very quiet dishwasher & microwave, huge refrigerator). We thought we'd go out for dinner, but the kitchen was so inviting and clean we stayed in and cooked dinner every night instead! Bikes, strollers, coolers of all sizes are in the garage for use; washer & dryer on the premises. We walked the beach every morning and evening, and watched the sunrise and moonrise - beautiful. We loved the privacy and felt very pampered in this wonderful place - the perfect getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best beach place in New Smyrna !!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This is such a *fantastic* place! A short 1-block walk to the beach, and because it's a single family home, we weren't trapped in a condo building with tons of other (sometimes noisy) people. We loved the privacy of being in a house and enjoyed floating in the wonderful heated private swimming pool in the back yard. TV/DVD/VCR combo was great - we brought some favorite old movies - and wireless internet kept us in touch with the world when we needed it. Kitchen had everything we needed, garage is filled with bikes and strollers and coolers, plus washer and dryer - something for every family. We spent every day of our time there walking the beach and watching sunrises and moonrises. Linens and amenities are nicer than what we have in our own home!! We would go back in a heartbeat!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation @ NSB

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Our stay at the Gundacker's beachside home was a memorable one. The home is fully equipped with everything that you can imagine and is truly like a home away from home complete with boogie boards and bicycles that we enjoyed. The kitchen and furniture is immaculate. The swimming pool is heated on a timer and with crystal clear water and maintained in excellent condition. We grilled on lazy afternoons as we soaked in the sun at the poolside. The beach is across the street and well maintained. Diesta is very pleasant and is careful to fulfill any special needs/requests that you may have. The house also has a good collection of books, games, movies, tv's in every room, x-box in the kid's room and is close to local grocery stores, publix, walgreens etc that you may need. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. Overall a very relaxing stay. I would definitely recommend the beach home for families looking to get away for a while.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Getaway

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

I found this home amazing. It's walking distance to the beach and provided pool time in a privately fenced yard. The home was quiet and provided all the amenities for a quiet relaxing getaway. The home is well decorated and just beachy enough to give you the feel of being by the water. Would return in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Friendly Home

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We have two little boys, one 2 1/2 years and the other is 9 months old. They thoroughly enjoyed the pool! The location of this house was great. It was nice to be just a couple of minute walk to the beach and not have to pack/plan for an entire "beach day", but rather just to get up and go!

The bungalow style is great with kids and the bedrooms in the home were also a nice location - all off the main living area, which made monitoring little ones easy during nap and bed time!

Our only complaints were 1) we missed our 52" tv and had to adjust to a smaller one for our week away! 2) no "child" fence around the pool (which was no big deal for the first half of the week while our 2 year old was somewhat shy of the water... the second half of the week we had to stop him from jumping in with his clothes on!).

This home was very clean, great location, and provided everything we needed.

We stay in New Smyrna Beach every year and thoroughly enjoy the quiet area, clean beach, close proximity to Daytona shopping, and great restaurants. Our favourites being The Garlic, Manny's Pizza and Mi Mexico. Definate "must try's" in our books!

Another great vacation. Looking forward to next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Repeat visitor - Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

This is a beautiful beach home - we have stayed here 3 times and have had great experiences each time. The house has always been clean and very comfortable. The private pool is always relaxing and the beach is only a couple minute walk. The house includes bikes and there is a nice bike trail at the end of the street.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review