reviews for: listing #30788 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

"A River Runs Thru It" 7 Br Executive Lodge
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $795 /nt
    $3,000 - $6,000 /wk

sort by:

Great Place

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We have rented this home for the past 4 years. We have made many wonderful memories with our 5 grandsons and the other family that join us with their grandchildren. The home is lovely with all the right amenities. The caretakers our wonderful and the owners our very accommodating. Looking forward to next year.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

We had a family reunion with folks from Alaska, Oklahoma, Texas and Kansas... and of course California, and had a truly wonderful time. The house far exceeded our expectations, very clean and well equipped. Plenty of things to keep everyone happy, tons of books and movies, and every piece of WII equipment you could imagine!! Close to the lake too! The yard was beautiful, hot tub amazing and the creek out back kept the kids fishing for crawdads all afternoon!! We will definitely come back again...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So relaxing!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our family has vacationed in South Lake Tahoe for over thirty years. As our family has grown, we have needed larger and larger homes. This home is perfect in many ways, but especially for large family reunions. Not only does it sleep over 20, but there is so much room to enjoy each other in both the house and the yard. The river really does run through it and can be enjoyed from the large yard as well as the covered wrap around porch. The two separate living areas make it perfect for different groups to be watching movies, tv, playing games, or just visiting. The closest beach is in walking distance and is beautiful and very private compared to the larger beaches. This is one of my favorite homes ever!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding Experience for a Memorable Weekend

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We had a gathering of family and friends. RRTI was the best place ever. Everyone loved it and they all want to book it and come back again. We found the place and got many compliments from our friends. All the positive previous comments are true. It is spacious and comfortable inside and out. People gathered in the large kitchen and family room or out on the spacious porches or in the grassy backyard at the picnic benches next to the little stream/river. You can walk in the meadow next door. There was plenty of parking and privacy. The kitchen was well-stocked with all sorts of utensils and servers, pots, pans, trays, plates, etc. We made a dinner for 30+ one night and lacked for nothing. There were extra card table chairs and extra tables available. Stuff for kids. Video game room. There are plenty of comfortable molded Adirondack chairs for the porch or yard. Everything was in tip top shape. Mary was a pleasure to work with. We housed 14-15 adults (no kids, no bunk beds) and could have put in a few more easily. The bedrooms were ALL large and comfortable; no one got the short straw. Four bathrooms were ample for all. Big screen TV, WiFi, hot tub, washer/dryer - we couldn't use all they had. You should not miss this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We are definitely coming back!

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2013

My wife and I, along with 3 other couple and their kids, spent the week here and we absolutely loved it! The house...the property...the location...it was all perfect. We are definitely making this an annual trip and we will definitely be staying at this location again. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

EXCELLENT HOME!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

My husband, friends and I all had an amazing weekend at this home. The pictures don't do it justice. The house is amazing, spacious and very well kept. The location is breathtaking. Mary is an absolute delight to work with. She is fast at responded to emails and is very kind. This house is no only good for couples and friends, but I can imagine it would be wonderful for family reunions, family vacations and so much more! Thank you for the WONDERFUL place to stay Mary and company and I look forward to renting again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WE WILL BE RETURNING TO THIS BIT OF PARADISE

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

"A River Runs Through It" exceeded my expectations. It was everything advertised and more. We filled the house but also had a sense of privacy as the bedrooms are not all in one area. The little boys had fun catching crawdads in the creek and then tossing them back and them doing it again the next day. It is close to several beaches which we enjoyed with our boat.

The kitchen was wonderful and had everything we wanted and space to store the food we brought. Our meals were served buffet style in the dining room and then taken outdoors to enjoy the beautiful weather and wooded yard. There was plenty of room with the extra tables and chairs provided.

What a wonderful place to celebrate our 50th Anniversary / Family Reunion. I look forward to staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

50th Anniversary

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

What a fantastic 50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration we had. The best description of this house is simply---"WOW". Everything you could possible want. Very spacious. We were only 14, but not once did we "bump into" each other. I definitely would return with my family. I would certainly recommend "A River Runs Through It" to anyone seeking relaxation, serenity, and a great place to enjoy the company of family and/or friends. Exceeded all expectations.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Group Retreat

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Our Bible Study group really enjoyed this place. There were adequate rooms for both the couples and singles and big rooms for our large gatherings. No wait for the bathrooms as there are 4 of them, with 3 or 4 people sharing each one. The location is good at the end of the street. The kitchen was impressive with granite countertops and modern appliances. We'll recommend the house to our friends and family. Our group might come back next year to this memorable place where we held our first annual retreat. This house was a blessing to us. To all, peace and joy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

awesome rental!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

This property has all the amenities you need to feel perfectly at home. The kitchen is stocked with high quality pots, pans, utensils, etc. and all of the bedrooms are very comfortable. The kids loved the Wii and the large snow play area in the yard. The owner is very accommodating and ethical. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best vacation rental we've been lucky enough the visit

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

I just returned from a weekend trip to Tahoe with a large group of couples and friends. We had been returning to the same rental in the Tahoe Keys every year for the past 7 years but decided it was time for an upgrade. Mainly more private rooms and full bathrooms. When I found this 7BR+ (and it really is plus as there is a bonus room with a queen futon and a bonus living room area downstairs where a couple extras could stay) and saw that it had 4 full bathrooms I was sold.

Aside from the very attractive and useful layout the property is absoutely beautiful. Seemingly newly remodeled (kitchens and bathrooms in particular), well maintained and tastefully decorated. Not one of those mountain cabins that has cheesy "mountain theme" stuff cluttered everywhere just for the sake of it. A very pleasant home to visit.

The house feels so spacious and allows a large group to all hang out together in the expansive downstairs great room and open kitchen and dining room or to separate into individual comfortable private bedrooms, etc throughout the house.

The property is at the end of the street so in addition to the wonderful views of the river and meadow you also feel like you are in your own little world (while still being in the middle of everything) and have privacy from neighbors. And the parking! There is so much off street parking which is such a bonus for visiting Tahoe in the winter.

I only hate to give such a glowing review only because I selfishly want to keep this gem secret for myself and my friends. If word gets out what an amazing property, in an amazing location, and an amazing bank for your buck price, I am afraid it will get booked solid through the winter and we won't be able to squeeze in. We are in love with this property and can't wait to come back next year and for many years to come for our annual Tahoe trip.

And last, but certainly not least, Mary, the owner was such a pleasure to deal with. So prompt, helpful, and friendly with her emails. And very quick to send back our security deposit after we checked out (received it within a couple days!). Thanks again Mary. We had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Gem in South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Our ski group of adults and elementary-aged kids loved this house! We've been coming to Lake Tahoe for several years and have rented a number of properties on the north shore of the lake. This was our first venture to the south shore. This house is one of the best we've seen -- no hyperbole! Very well appointed, well maintained with a great location. We loved the wrap-around porch and the lovely view of the meadow from the living room. Plenty of parking and a nice back yard where we had a rousing game of football in the snow! Mary is very easy to work with and responds promptly to email and phone. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We just returned from an outstanding 4 night stay at "A river Runs Through It". There were 16 of us in Tahoe for my niece's wedding and this house was perfect. The location is secluded from the other homes in the area but still close to everything.There was a large grass area for the kids to run around and throw around a football Everything we needed was there including an extra refrigerator, washer and dryer and a great hot tub.
We had the opportunity to meet Mary and she was wonderful to work with....The property Managers were also fabulous.
We have stayed in a lot of vacation rentals and this was one of the best! I think one of my favorite things is the way it was set up, the kids played Wii while the adults had their own space, they also loved the bunk room upstairs with its own bathroom. It was so clean and neat and well maintained, the decor was modern and tasteful and it had no personal clutter like some rentals do, we felt like we were at our own luxury home and not someone elses.....
We can't wait to schedule another time to go.......The McDonald Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't Ask for More

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

This home is the perfect venue for a relaxing getaway. It provides both the ability to be together as a group or enjoy some alone time. There's a great kitchen with plenty of dishes and silverware, as well as nice, large pots, pans, baking ware, and big serving platters and bowls. The extra refrigerator/freezer was very useful. Outdoor cooking was a breeze on the gas BBQ with all tools provided. We enjoyed the wrap-around porch overlooking the lawn, river and meadow. Wonderful bird watching and one evening some bears crossed the lawn to drink from the river. Nice bathrooms with abundant thick towels. Comfortable beds and plenty of cozy sitting areas. Very private feeling since the house is at the end of the street, yet only minutes to the clubs. We enjoyed walking to the lake each day.The caretakers were friendly and responsive. This is a clean, well appointed, well maintained home that I would recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Perfect!

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Our group of 16 (8 adults + 8 young children; 2-8 yo) had the pleasure of staying at 'A River Runs Through It' over Memorial Day weekend, this year. From the well-appointed gourmet granite kitchen, ample seating (dinner table/bar stools, family & living room sectional sofas), comfortable beds, functional floor plan, large lawn, trout stream, and huge lot at the end of a private street, our expectations were far exceeded and we couldn't have been more thrilled with the wonderful accommodations there. Even with 8 children, we never felt cramped or lacking for space/privacy. For a group of our size, this spacious home could not have been more perfect. In addition, the lovely neighborhood location so close to everything made getting around town and to the lake, very convenient. Our 3-night stay flew by and we all wished that we had booked for longer. Thank-you to Mary, the owner, for her prompt and thorough communication during the process and afterwards. We will definitely plan to return to 'A River Runs Through It' again, and would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful, clean, and comfortable vacation home to our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A River Runs Through It

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

If ever a place was as advertised this is it.
We stayed over Christmas and had five generations in the home.
We will do it again and know that the home will be welcoming, warm, and cozy, with "things" to do for all ages.

Kryder family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything we wanted - and more!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

The house was perfect for a large family gathering. It is at the end of the road, so there is no passing traffic and the parking is more than adequate for eight cars. We had between 16 and 18 people at the house between the ages of two months and 80 years for the entire week but we never felt crowded. The home is spacious, well appointed, well maintained and in the perfect setting. We enjoyed Trout Creek, the beach, a hike to Vikingsholm, floating the Truckee, parasailing, snorkeling and even a little gambling. The house is everything that the owners say and more!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Place in Tahoe

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This place is magnificent. It was more than we anticipated. We had a great time with family . The place was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed going to Pope Beach, river rafting at Tahoe City, concert at Harvey's and of course just lounging in the house playing the WII. What a blast. We would recommend this place to anyone that has a large family. The children loved the river.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous, perfect, and great for large groups!

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2008

This review is WAY overdue, but my family rented out this place Dec 2008 to enjoy the snowboarding and it was fantastic! More rooms than we needed, and we had 15 adults and had plenty of room to spread out. The hot tub was perfect after a day of snowboarding and the kitchen was fully equipped and very "gourmet" and we were able to eat at home most nights. The location is very convenient to groceries and the ski resorts and casinos. We had a huge snowstorm while we were there and the homeowners were very good about getting us the help we needed to plow/shovel/snowblow our way out of there. Would definitely stay again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review