reviews for: listing #30802 - Boyne Falls, Michigan Cottage rental

Cozy Cottage on Thumb Lake, Boyne Falls, MI
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Louise
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,375 - $1,775 /wk

sort by:

Slice of heaven

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful cozy cottage last week and loved every second. The cottage is nestled in a wooded spot right on Thumb Lake and has all amenities you might need. We were lucky to enjoy 3 gorgeous September days on the lake and taking day trips to Petosky and through the Tunnel of Trees up to Cross Village. The owners couldn't have been more gracious. We hope to return next September for a longer stay. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a great week!

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We currently live near Indianapolis but are originally from Ontario. We have been swimming in many lakes in our lifetime, including north of Superior, but have never found a better lake for swimming than this one. Crystal clear water, sandy bottom, great diving raft – wonderful sandy beach. Loved watching the sunsets from the dock every evening. The cottage is extremely private – lots of room for parking vehicles and mooring our boat at the shore. We took two day trips during our week – one to Mackinac Island (1 hour away) and one to Sleeping Bear Dunes Lakeshore (less than 2 hours away). Both trips were great, but the rest of the week we spent just relaxing at the cottage and enjoying the wonderful water. We had two teenagers with us, who can sometimes be difficult to keep entertained, but they both loved our week up there – we’ve already reserved another week for next summer. We had lots of questions before our trip and Jim patiently answered every one of them – thanks Jim!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We rent the "Cozy Cottage" only a few weeks each summer. It is gratifying to know that renters see the simple magic that is "up-north" and exemplified in our area. We have a question: Do you "get" up-north? The meaning is not "do you go up-north?". Rather, do you understand up-north? If you prefer a breeze through the trees, crystal clear lakes, warm sunshine and cool evenings where it can be light until 10pm...and that's all it takes to make you happy, then you "get" up-north.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thumb Lake Cottage Reveiw

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

This cottage really has that "up north" feeling! Very comfortable, yet doesn't feel like a house! Lake is really clean, cottage has nice beach, and the county park is walking distance, and it has nice sandy bottom. Lake isn't real busy, so your not hearing jet skis all day either.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A beautiful setting and a lovely cottage

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Lake Louise. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. Though small, the layout provided us with plenty of room for a relaxing vacation. I especially liked the way we could easily eat either outside on the terrace off the kitchen or inside at the kitchen table. There is a fireplace, though we did not use it. The lake is very clean and the swimming for my children was excellent. We enjoyed roasting hot dogs and marshmallows on the beach. The cottage is easy driving distance to Mackinaw and Traverse city. A nice location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

July 4th 2010

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We loved this place! Very private, roomy, nice boat house to watch the sunsets, great beach that was very clean, crystal clear water (bring swim fins and masks), nice dock, great swim platform that was clean and comfortable, nice hook to keep boat safe, and very very private. House was well stocked with creature comforts. Bedroom is far enough away from the other sleeping quarters so that the old folks could sleep while the teens played. James and Lisa are great to work with and very responsive. The lake was almost empty everyday. A skier's paradise! Go there!!! Scott Landis 7-19-10

p.s. The kayak and fishing boat are in great shape and all the equipment is there as promised.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review