reviews for: listing #30859 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Romantic, Fun, Awesome Home Theater PS3 More!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cobbly Nob
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $140 /nt
    $980 - $980 /wk

sort by:

Tranquil setting

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

My hubby and I were in desparate need of a little R&R. The Aerial Chalet was the perfect choice for a relaxing weekend! The cabin is located on what I would call the quiet side of Gatlinburg. You are about 10-15 minutes outside of downtown Gatlinburg, which was great for us. The Cobbly Nob community, where the cabin is situated, was very peaceful. Although some cabins are within view from the deck, etc, you are not right on top of each other like some other communties we have rented in. In fact, we only passed two other cars the entire weekend, so we definitely had the solitude we were looking for. The cabin looked exactly like the photos and everything was very clean. The only minor "flaw" we could find were the towels: Very small and flimsly. But hey, if that is our only complaint, I rate it an excellent getaway!

The owner was so easy to work with and quickly responded to all inquiries. The cabin provided everything we needed. Although we did not cook while we stayed, the kitchen provisions looked more than adequate to prepare all meals and firewood was provided for the beautiful fireplace. Look forward to staying again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what the Dr ordered....

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

Great cabin! Brought my family here for my wife's 40th birthday. We fell in love with this place and will be back in the near future. It is about a 10minute drive into gatlinburg and all the sites. Water was nice and fresh. Bring a bag of ice, newspaper for the fire and a few extra towels. Also I tried to get the wifi running with no luck, but I was ok with that or I would have worked on the iPad lol. Overall we had a fantastic stay and loved the cabin. There is another cabin right next door so it takes away from the remoteness a little but for the value you really can't beat it! The cabin is up quite a steep bank so bring your SUV or truck and take a big breath before you hit the hill lol. Bed is very comfortable and the cabin was very clean and well maintained! Thank you for letting us rent your wonderful home. We hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just What We Needed

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

When we started looking for an ideal location to get away from it all and kick back, we found the perfect spot when we found Aerial. Just as described and pictures were very spot on! But there was more than pictures could tell or words can describe.Due to health issues we were not able to use the hot tub or the jacuzzi but was clean and well maintained. Cooked one night and had everything that we needed. The bed was comfortable and everything was so clean. It is evident from the first time you see the lot and cabin and step in the front door that this place is very well maintained. Rental office staff was very nice and helpful and even 1 night on the way home we decided to stop at the Cobbly Nob deli and got a chef salad that would feed 2-3 people and so very fresh. The owner was quick to return our inquiry about his property and left several ways to contact them if we needed something. Gatlinburg was just a few minutes away but we went out on the deck and you could not hear nothing but nature and see the smokies in the distance. We saw several wild turkey and groundhogs while going in and out. Also saw a deer out back the morning we were to getting ready to leave. I cannot wait to go back again hopefully really soon. I have told all my friends and family about this wonderful place for peace and rest and feel right at home. Thanks to the owners for allowing us the opportunity to enjoy their cabin and get the much needed get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and very clean cabin

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Aerial cabin. It's about 20 minutes outside of town. The cabin is really nice, quiet, and everything was clean. The cabin really has all that you need such as jacuzzi, washer/dryer, coffee maker, etc. We really enjoyed that it was relatively close to all the activities that we wanted with little hassle but its a great place to stay if you just want to enjoy hanging out at the cabin. We went white water rafting on the upper Pigeon river which is about 45 minutes to an hour away and there are coupons for one person to raft free at the rental office with proof of your stay. I highly recommend renting this cabin and would definitely stay here again if back in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

My family of 4 stayed last week and had a wonderful time. My teenage son loved the game system and the hot tub. My teenage daughter loved the jacuzzi and the hot tub, and the bathroom off the theater room/bedroom. The kids even thought the futon bed was very comfy. My husband loved the TV channels and the WiFi. I loved the cleanliness, the upper deck, the hot tub and the porch swing. I really can't complain because we just had a wonderful time. The cabin was just like the pictures, it was clean, no problems with any bugs. Saw some beautiful cardinals on the lower deck in the mornings. Some trees need topped out to better the view, but it's not good to do that to trees. Thank you SO much for renting to us. The rental office was very kind and helpful, as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great clean cabin!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in this cabin. It was clean and comfortable. It was further from Gatlinburg than I thought but it was quiet and beautiful. We would stay there again. The owner was nice and responded quickly with reservation information! Thank you we had a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect!!!!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

I am a travel agent and thought I would try something new .... instead of staying at a hotel .. my family stayed in this cottage. I would recommend this property to any clients. Everything was great. Very comfortable and clean. It looked exactly like the pictures (which is not always the case). Quite easy to find, the management does a good job. We came after hours and keys with map was waiting for us in a drop box. My kids loved the large screen TV. They brought there PS3 games and extra remotes along with us. My husband and I enjoyed the hot tub while the kids were playing games. Everything worked fine .. no problems at all. I will use this property again next time we visit the area. Thanks for a great spring break.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Good deal for the price

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

If you are looking for something better than a hotel... but the bed was very uncomfortable, there was no Playstation or balls for the football game. There was something sticky all over the kitchen floor, the hotwater tank isn't big enough to fill the bathtub, the driveway is tricky you should have all wheel drive. The views were good and it was a large space, but do not follow a mapquest, get a good map and don't try to find it in the dark. We wouldn't book here again though.

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and our guests experience.

We have added a 6" memory foam mattress topper to make the bed more comfortable.

Unfortunately, the Playstation was stolen just prior to your stay and has been replaced. We added additional balls for the foozball table and addressed your cleaning concerns with our rental company.

The waterheater has been checked and a element replaced.

All wheel drive should not be required unless it is snowing. The roads are paved and well maintained. They are salted and plowed when it snows. Every effort is made to keep the roads passable.

A map with directions to our cabin are included with the key packet provided by our rental company.

Again, thank you for choosing Aerial, sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Our stay at Aerial was actually pretty amazing. You are always skeptical when you read things online but the cabin was well maintained and the pictures are very accurate. As a country girl I enjoyed the solitude that this cabin and the mountains offered and even my city boyfriend had enough conveniences like the cable, Wi-Fi, the recliner and the big screen that he couldn't complain either.

We were a little underwhelmed by the view but because there was no one at the neighboring cabin, we were able to walk over to stare at the mountains and take some great photos.

Aerial was like a home away from home. Everything is there for you and then some. Just far enough away from Gatlinburg to offer the peacefulness that you look for in a romantic vacation getaway but close enough that a quick ten minute trip will get you to the heart of things. Two thumbs up for this visit! Thanks a bunch for the reservation too because it was a last minute idea. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Aerial is all that

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Chalet Aerial is high on the mountain with breathtaking views all around. We found it to be exactly as described, simply beautiful. The 60" TV and PS3 were great for my son and daughter to play with after a day hiking. The Cobbly Nob General Store has some of the best deals for Breakfast less than a mile away(try the Biscuits and Gravy). The Bent creek Golf Course was great and right there at bottom of the mountain. The owners were some of the nicest people-my son forgot his cell phone and they mailed it back. I would highly recommend this rental.Thanks again Doug for making this a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

This cabin was everything I was looking for as a vacation getaway for my family. It was absolutely a home away from home and everything about it was fantastic!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

WOW! Is our first impression of this cabin. It does share the driveway with another cabin, but we still felt secluded. Never heard the other neighbors come and go. Doug was wonderful to work with. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and I had asked if he could get a basket or something for us when we arrived. He had it waiting on the table for us. My 13 year old son LOVED the PS3 in the downstairs room. We enjoyed watching the Iron Bowl on the 60 inch TV. The internet connection was fantastic. The cabin was very clean and inviting. The only complaint that my husband had was that the sun would shine in his face in the mornings. Could maybe use some thicker curtains or mini blinds. The king size bed was very comfortable. My son said that the futon in the tv room was more comfortable than his bed at home. It is a little bit of a ride to get into Gatlinburg, but not that big of a deal. We actually spent Thanksgiving day in the cabin just relaxing and got out that night to attend a show. Then we did the same thing on Friday. It was so nice to just relax and enjoy God's amazing beauty all around us!

I would recommend this to friends and family. Although the bedroom and tv room is downstairs, so if you have trouble going up and down stairs it could be a little difficult.

On the way in to the cabin on Saturday the 20th we passed a really nice restuarant called Carver's Applehouse Restaurant. The food was really good and the staff was friendly.

Thank you Doug for renting us your cabin. It was fantastic and we will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice, Private Cabin!!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

My girlfriends and I enjoyed a weekend stay here. It was very private cabin! We enjoyed the big deck out back, the theater room, and the pool just down over the hill. It was almost like having your own pool, it was so secluded. It has steps to the downstairs so wouldn't recommend it to the elderly. Overall, great place, very homey, quiet, up on the mountain, away from it all!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

We stayed in this property in July 2010. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised because the pictures on the website didn't do this lovely cabin justice. It was much larger than we expected and more space than we really needed for the two of us but that was just fine. It is definitely big enough for us to take our kids with us next time. We enjoyed being away from Gatlinburg and didn't mind the drive in...though the cabin was so great and the surroundings so peaceful we just hung out there for a whole day. Its was great to be so close to the pool area too.

I would highly recommend this cabin. Working with the property owner was so easy and he was very accommodating and eager to provide with great info and suggestions for our trip. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

disappointed

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

House was quaint, but shared a driveway with the neighboring chalet. If you are looking for a quiet place to be alone and get away w/out being close to anyone else. This is not it. The ac thermostat was broken/off about 10 degrees resulting in the downstairs being comfortable and the upstairs being too hot to sit and enjoy the view. The hot tub was broken as well. Water was freezing cold and would not heat up. I mentioned this to the property management company and then emailed the owner as well. No one offered an apology, compensation, or even responded to my concerns. This was one romantic weekend that wasn't so romantic.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s stay.

Built in 2000, Aerial a modern 1700 sq ft home with 2 ½ baths and central heat and air. There is a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The living room features a massive stone wood burning fireplace, Comcast cable TV with high speed wireless Internet connectivity. Downstairs there is a 60” Home Theater System with Sony Surround Sound and Sony Playstation 3 and queen futon. There is a separate Jacuzzi room. The master suite features a king sized Bed. The hot tub is on lower deck with a “quaint” porch swing to relax and enjoy the views.

Our home does share a drive with another house but the houses are staggered well separated on large lots for privacy. The adjoining cabin is rarely occupied. Our cabin is secluded by most city standards and it is very quiet with beautiful views of the mountains.

The ac thermostat has been replaced with a new digital unit that works quite well.

The hot tub had been cleaned and filled with fresh water earlier in the day. The cold water tripped the circuit breaker so the tub was not heating. Unfortunately the hot tub technician was not allowed access to the tub. It could have been fixed in five minutes. Later we had him replace the heating unit and breaker to make sure the problem doesn’t happen in the future.

Priced below a cheap hotel room, and well below comps, we feel that our home is a real value and most people love it and leave raving reviews.

We live in an imperfect world. Unfortunately mechanical things fail occasionally. We try to do our best to address our guest's needs as quickly as possible. Thank you for viewing our listing and enjoy your stay!

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Aerial Cabin

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

The cabin was beautiful! The view was amazing! It was a pretty good drive into Gatlinburg, but it was well worth the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Cabin with Awesome Views

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We had a wonderful 5 night stay with our 2 children. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The views were lovely. There were plenty of towels for bathing and hot tub use which was very nice. Doug was wonderful to work with and when there was a problem with the a/c, he addressed it right away. We loved hiking in the national park with the kids and enjoyed some dinners out and the aquarium. Nighttime stargazing was excellent as well. It's nice to be away from the crowds of Gatlinburg. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Cabin with Awesome Views

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We had a wonderful 5 night stay with our 2 children. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The views were lovely. There were plenty of towels for bathing and hot tub use which was very nice. Doug was wonderful to work with and when there was a problem with the a/c, he addressed it right away. We loved hiking in the national park with the kids and enjoyed some dinners out and the aquarium. Nighttime stargazing was excellent as well. It's nice to be away from the crowds of Gatlinburg. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Cabin with Awesome Views

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We had a wonderful 5 night stay with our 2 children. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The views were lovely. There were plenty of towels for bathing and hot tub use which was very nice. Doug was wonderful to work with and when there was a problem with the a/c, he addressed it right away. We loved hiking in the national park with the kids and enjoyed some dinners out and the aquarium. Nighttime stargazing was excellent as well. It's nice to be away from the crowds of Gatlinburg. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review