reviews for: listing #30872 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Don't Miss This! Barrier Dunes - One Level Seaside Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Barrier Dunes
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $180 /nt
    $999 - $1,399 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2014

Very nice place! Well maintained! Very clean. Screened in back porch overlooks pond with huge fountain that was very relaxing in the evenings/nights. Short walk to beach on paved street part of the way and on boardwalk other part of walk. We enjoyed also walking through the really nice and well maintained gated community. Short drive to Cone Heads(rest/bar) and 2 other conv. stores. Perfect size cottage for 4 of us and small dog. Thanks for a very affordable and really nice vacation! Sunsets on beach were awesome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pay your money take your chances

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

While the cottage is cute with better than average furniture we had two different major maintenance problems (a/c and refrigerator), and while this could have just been bad luck I doubt it. After getting up with the owner she was quite unpleasant. Won't be back.

Owners response: After retiring for the night on June 13, we answered the guest's “emergency” telephone call 11:28 PM reporting air conditioner and icemaker problems. Since we were unable to resolve the issues by phone, and unable to dispatch repairmen to the remote end of the cape at midnight, we advised the guest to use the ceiling fans, and we arranged for repairmen to arrive at the cottage before 9:00 AM the following morning. The guest nevertheless entered the locked attic to attempt A/C repairs without our authorization or knowledge. The A/C service company had recently installed new equipment, and they were familiar with the cottage, so they were able to resolve the problem quickly. The guest left the cottage and was unavailable for the appliance repairman, and since we do not allow service personnel to enter the cottage in the absence of the guest or without the guest’s approval, an addition trip was required. A/C cooling and ice were both restored that same day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

A girls week at the beach with my daughter and two granddaughters. The second year we have spent a week here and we found everything in very good condition. Cool weather but sunny days on the beach. The perfect early spring getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful experience

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We just wanted to drop you a short note to tell you how much we enjoyed our week at Barrier Dunes. Although none of us had anything to do with the lovely weather, we had a most relaxing week in great part because of your beautiful Blue Crab Cottage. We found everything in perfect order with attention paid to every detail. While our week in Florida was picture perfect, we returned home to Wisconsin and snow! We wonder why, when winter keeps her grip on us into April, we still live here! Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing quick getaway

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

The cottage was more than I ever expected. We had three adults, two children and a small dog in our trip. All the possible things found in any home were available. CLEAN and maintained very well. Will definately go back and stay the Blue Crab Cottage. Beach was awesome and not crowded. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very fun place!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

We had a great stay for our honeymoon at the Blue Crab Cottage! It was a fun neighborhood right next to the beach and close enough to surrounding activities that we could do something new each day! The cottage was very well stocked and was very cozy. The internet was a little irritating at times but it's also way out in the bay so we understood the problems! Port St. Joe, which is near by, was a very cute little town with some great shopping and restaurants. Mexico Beach is also not far away and was a fun place to explore! We also spent some time at the state park where we saw all sorts of wildlife. We even saw dolphins off the beach by the cottage! We had a great time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cape San Blas girls get away

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

The cottage was very nice and roomy with all the amenities of home. It was clean, well maintained and exactly as described. Enjoyed the screened porch at night. The owner was very gracious when I called to let them know I had arrived. Great eating places nearby such as Coneheads for burgers and ice cream, Triple Tails for seafood and a short ride to Apalachicola to great restaurants plus an even shorter ride to Port St. Joe to the Dockside Grill and other great places to eat. There was a state park nearby and also a lighthouse to explore. There was access to a pool and tennis courts. The area was very dog friendly, close to the beach and everyone was so nice. The beach was not crowded which was a plus (it was bike week in Panama City) and the entire area was very clean and well kept. My pups stayed busy exploring the area and really enjoyed playing in the sand and making new friends. Hope to make this a yearly retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Idyllic week

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My daughter and I had a wonderful time staying in this cottage. It had ready access to the beach and the pools. Beach supplies were on-site. Kitchen and laundry were fully functional. Directions provided by owner were exceptional. My daughter already wants to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Cottage at Cape San Blas

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

This is our second year to enjoy the tranquil serenity of the Blue Crab Cottage. The amenities make the cottage feel like home. The cottage is perfectly appointed with lovely, casual decorations that invite you to rest and relax. It is close enough to the beach and pool yet in its own private, quiet world. The porches are welcome respite from the heat of the day. The beds are comfortable. Working with Maureen is such a pleasure. She wants her renters to enjoy the cottage thoroughly. And we have again this year. We have so much fun kayaking, snorkling, and hiking the State Park minutes from our front door. We look forward to our return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so appreciate our repeat guests and want our cottage to be your "Home away from Home".

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

The Blue Crab Cottage was absolutely charming! My family stayed from July 4 - July 9 and it was an absolute wonderful get away. It was well maintained, beautifully decorated and had all amenities that was needed. We definitely will stay again! Thanks for opening your cottage for our stay. We will highly recommend it to our friends!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review