reviews for: listing #30873 - Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania House rental

Lakefront Chalet Near Camelback,Outdoor Hot Tub, Peddle Boat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pocono Country Place
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful and Beautiful

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

Loved this house, had a great time. The house was clean and well equipped. So much to do in the area, went to the zoo, casino, and Camelback water park. Desaki Restaurant was fantastic. Swimming pool right in the community was clean and well kept, got a nice tan using it. The owners are great will definitely go again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A MOMENT AWAY FROM IT ALL......

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

Just a few Winter days was all it took to realize the beauty of this home. Spacious, romantic, relaxing. Can't wait to kick back here again.

Warming up the home takes a while especially if its really cold out, but once everything is on, the place is nice and toasty!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

What a fantastic experience overall- Rebekah was incredibly helpful and kind and the chalet itself was beautiful and in wonderful condition when we arrived! We loved the easy directions for everything from the hot tub to the boats and can't wait to stay again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Christmas Vacation!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We spent Christmas week in this lake house and had a wonderfully relaxing vacation! The house is very cozy, and we felt like we were in our own little world. It's a great getaway, conveniently located, and we plan to try to visit again soon!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Winter Retreat

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

We stayed in for a snowy winter weekend and had the best time! Played in the snow and warmed up next to the fire. We are already planning our next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxation at it's Best

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We recently stayed in the Lakefront Chalet for three nights this January for an adults only getaway. The accommodations were very inviting and we felt right at home. With three nicely sized bedrooms, each couple had plenty of privacy. The hot tub provided us with a great spot to relax while we enjoyed the great view of the lake. All of the surrounding activities one could desire in the Poconos were all within a short distance from the house. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Coloumbus day weekend in the Poconos

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My family of 4 went to the lakehouse with another family of 4 and we had a great time. There was plenty of room for all. The kitchen was well stocked and even had pizza pans for our homemade pizza. The outside was great for the kids. Between finding salamanders to small garden snakes, the kids had a BLAST! The girls were out in the peddleboat and the boys out in the row boat all weekend. We did not catch any fish, but that did not stop the kids from trying non-stop. The hot tub ran great and all enjoyed it. Local restaurants were very good and we advise you stop by Smokin Vittles on Rt. 196 for some great BBQ. The only compalint if any - would be that the outside glass needs a serious powerwashing - as it was very dirty. All in all, it was a great weekend and hopefully we will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Rebekah,
The house was great oh it was so beautiful and relaxing there I almost didn't want to leave we left everything very clean and washed all the bedding we will def rent the house again sometime in the future
Thank you so much again
May God bless you Always!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Do not recommend this house

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We were very unhappy with the overal shape of the house. Old furniture, in bad shape and it was not clean when we got there. The owner did send someone out who did a great job. The walls were all scuffed and just overall very old. Screens did open right etc.

I would not recommend this to stay at unless you are looking for very very basic house.

The back yard was very nice and they offered a canoe, paddle boat and kayuk which were great and made our trip better.

Owners response: We appreciate the heads up on our furniture which unfortunately did take a tremendous amount of abuse this past summer. We are happy to say that the living room couches have been replaced, the pull out sofa in the loft is now a double size futon and the trundle beds that were in the downstairs bedrooms have been change to queen size beds. The screen door has been adjusted and WD-40 was used to help them slide better. The walls will be scrubbed although they do take the most abuse and will never be perfect. We are sorry you did not enjoy the home more although we are happy to be able to address the issues you reported as unsatisfactory and trust that they will not be found so in the future.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Some good but mostly bad

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

There are a couple things about this place. First off, I loved having a kayak to paddle around on the lake. I might even buy one now I loved it so much. I also loved using the hot tub out underneath the stars at night watching the meteor showers. There were plenty of old school vcr tapes of old movies that my kids enjoyed and there were lots of board games to keep us entertained which came in handy the first couple days because it rained a lot. But there are many things I did not like about this rental and they outweighed the positives.
First off, I was excited to get here and take my kids out on the boats that are available. Unfortunately the row boat has a 225 pound limit. I am in very fit condition (i run marathons) and so are my kids. That being said, i could not take either of my kids out in the boat because we weighed more than the maximum. Who has a canoe for one person? One of the main reasons we purchased this rental was for the use of the boats, and to not be able to use that for my family was very disappointing and slightly misleading in the advertising.

Second of all, I knew it going in, but not having bed sheets available, toilet paper and towels for people staying at a rental is just cheap. I didn't realize it until we packed the car with all this extra stuff that I shouldn't have to bring on a vacation, but needless to say, it was a huge inconvenience. I have been vacationing for over 20 years and staying at house rentals, and never in my life have I ever seen anything like not having towels, toilet paper and sheets. You could use the bed sheets available at the rental, but then you have to wash them and dry them (again, never have heard of this before) or you would be charged. We had to leave very early the morning we left so we were forced to bring our own sheets.

Finally, every single part of the house has some sort of instruction written out. There is a note over the sink, every light switch, the phone, the remote. Its like the owners think you are a teenager watching the house while they are out of town for the weekend. It was just a little over the top for me. Add that to the 46 rules listed out and other checklists for the house before leaving and instead of a vacation, you have chores.

If you are looking for a vacation rental in the area, keep looking to a place that is way more reasonably priced and way more accomodating of the people staying there. The owners did help out with the hot tub that didn't work the first 2 days.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

The house is very good, located with a beatiful Lake View. The house & the community has ample ameneties to keep kids and family happy. We cancelled most of our plan and pretty much stayed at the house and enjoyed the boating, hot tub and the grill. Would strongly recommend for anyone who want to get away from busy NY life and spend a week at this quite place.

Not to mention, the owners are great and maintain the property very well.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice house great view

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

We rented this house for Christmas weekend. It was a beautiful house with a great lake view. However, it was only 3 bedroom with the following : master bedroom had a king size bed, and two other bedrooms had 4 twin beds. We were hoping there would be more beds to fit 8 people. The other place you could sleep was a sofa bed but it was super uncomfortable and it was located in the middle of the room so nobody wanted to sleep there.
We were also a bit annoyed with 100 rules. Before we left we had to wash all the sheets which took 2 hours to wash and dry. I think it's ridiculous and it should not be our job to do it with how much we paid for the house. Also the housekeeper came in and was extremely rude to us as we were waiting for the sheets to dry she yelled at us for staying past checkout and said she won't clean the house. She was very unproffesional.The owner apologized to us saying that she was as problem in the past but I dont know why they still keep her around.

Overall the house was nice and clean but hot tub is much smaller than the one int he picture even though it did fit 8 of us.

Owners response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our home and would like to address some of your concerns:

If guests want to accommodate four couples to have the comfort and privacy of their own rooms, then a four bedroom is a better choice. This home is as advertised, a 3 bedroom home. The upstairs loft does have a sleeper sofa for additional sleeping, however pull out couches are not ever as comfortable as a regular bed. In the two rooms with the twin beds, they can be kept separate or they can be placed together to make a king. We advertise this and we have sheet sets to accommodate both arrangements.

Our guidelines that are in the paperwork are clear and for the purpose of keeping the home in good shape and insuring that each incoming guest will find the home in good order. The home is in a community which has rules for the guests safety as well as the safety and consideration of the other residents in the community. In our experience, we cannot rely on all guests having the same discretion as too what proper use of another’s home may entail, therefore we do have to be very specific at times. This is also a private house, not a hotel. Therefore there are going to be more check out procedures required of guest, as outlined in the rental paperwork.

We do make it very clear to all of our guests, both verbally and in the rental paperwork, that we can provide bed linens at no additional fee although you are required to leave them washed and neatly folded upon your departure. We always stress that if you are not inclined to do so, then guests are welcome to bring their own linens.

Our housekeeper has been with us for over five years and she takes her job of properly preparing our home for the next guest very seriously and requires sufficient time to do so. We do our best to accommodate guests who request a later check out, at no extra charge. When the home is not vacated at the correct check out time and not left in the proper manner when she arrives, that can be upsetting to our cleaning service. Especially during the busiest holiday week of the year when they have a very tight schedule to maintain. Had you been ready to vacate immediately when she arrived with all discussed and agreed upon check out items completed, there would have been no cause for anybody being upset.

The hot tub is as pictured and per the manufacturer, is described as a 6 seat hot tub.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Chalet for New Years and we had a wonderful time. The house was very clean and cozy and the lake views were beautiful. We are looking forward to going back in the summer now!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good times on the lake + so peaceful.

Review submitted: September 20, 2008   Date of arrival: September 7, 2008

We stayed in this house in September for about a week. It was 4 adults and 2 kids. We have a 3 y.o. toddler and an infant baby. The house was very clean when we arrived, nice deck where we had every meal except breakfast. It was cold in the mornings and we had cozy breakfasts in the house with a gas fireplace on.
The house had lots of toys for my toddler. He enjoyed it so much. Also had tons of videos for the rainy day. It rained one day during the whole stay. The property is close to Wal-Mart and RiteAid pharmacy, which I had to use when my infant developed eye infection and our pediatrician called the pharmacy.
The kitchen was fully equipped. We used gas grill on the deck but it was dirty. Looked like nobody cleaned it after themselves. My dad scrubbed it for awhile and it was good again. The ignition on the grill didn't work, so we had to use matches to start it.

We did lots of boating on the lake, especially the paddle boat and kayak. It was nice for owners to provide vests for small children as well, so our son could enjoy boating with us. There were a LOT of fish in the lake, my dad fished till he was blue in the face right off the dock.
One of the negatives was that there were some damp sheets in the dryer that we didn't discover till few days later when we were ready to do the laundry. I assume the cleaning services or manager didn't check it and it started to smell.
The day-beds and the fold-out couch were not very comfortable and were creaky.

But overall it was very nice, we enjoyed it so much, it was very peaceful. We encountered some deer a few times. That was a highlight for our kid. We also used a hot tub two times, it was great!

Dealing with Rebekah was pleasant. Looks like her business is very organized. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 18, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My family had a terrific vacation thanks to the comfort, spaciousness and lakeside convenience of this great house. The perfect cure for a stressful world.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Everything was wonderful!! We really enjoyed our stay, and had a blast!! We will back. The house was clean, everything was easy accessable. The hosts were more than accomidating, and much appreciated!!! Thank you so much Donavans!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Had an amazing time, once again, as a repeat customer at the Lakefront Chalet :) Celebrated my birthday with close friends, and knew I wanted to stay at this house. Keith and Rebekah are great hosts, very helpful, and the house is fantastic! Looking forward to spending more time here in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My wife and I as well as three other couples stayed in this wonderful home for the weekend. Although it was rainy on the first night me and my brave friend went fishing off the dock in the back yard and still had some luck. As the weekend progressed we continued to catch bass, pickerel, catfich sunnies and perch. On Saturday my wife and I went for a peddle around the lake. That night we all went in the hot tub and relaxed. The community is very quiet, clean and everyone seemed really nice. We are trying to do it again next spring. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend of fishing and fun look no further.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

we had a blast for the weekend it was three couples we had a wonderful time the house had to be the best house on the lake we are already planing for next year thats how good it was the boat,paddle boat,ect. thanks again guys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

I absolutely LOVED this chalet!! Stayed for a weekend with friends and was thrilled to find that this is by far the best house on the lake. Great dock, kayak, row boats, hot tub, full kitchen with all utensils and the weather was gorgeous. I would HIGHLY recommend for a group of friends or for a romantic getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 19, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

I had 5 adults in my party. Everyone had a great time. The house was inviting, made all of us feel at home. Loved the hot tub outdoors and being on the lake. There was plenty to do with it being situated minutes from Ski mtn, shopping, etc..
Thank you for the opportunity to stay in the Poconos

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

If you are looking for a cute place close to Camelback this is it! The house is in a quiet neighborhood with spectacular views and is only about 10 minutes from the ski lodge. It was warm and cozy and the hot tub was amazing after a day of skiing. I'd recommend it to anyone. Have fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 29, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The house was very nice. We enjoyed the view and the layout very much.

The hot tub and fire place are great, especially on cold winter nights.

There are plenty of local attractions for all times of the year.

Would definitely come back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 22, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Great place to stay! Clean and comfortable, quiet. We were there as a family to be with our daughter as she married in Saylorsburg, Pa over Labor Day weekend 2007. We only wish we had more time to relax and really enjoy our stay there.

Possible improvements: the sofa bed in the loft was reported to be very uncomfortable for sleeping on, we felt rushed trying to get all the bedding washed and dried prior to checkout.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

My husband and I were celebrating his birthday with a weekend getaway. We had a wonderful, relaxing time at the Lakefront Chalet. It was clean and comfortable and the view, especially from the upstairs loft, was great. We will definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 29, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We had a great stay at the Lakefront Chalet in January. The home was clean, the lake was beautiful and we even got to see deer in our front yard. With children ranging in ages from 2, 4, 6, 10, 37, 38, 39 and 50yrs I can say we all found fun and relaxation both in the home and out. The location was great for access to nearby snow resort activities. We can't wait to come again in the summer time and try out the kayak!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 9, 2007   Date of arrival: January 9, 2007

Thank you for your assistance and hospitality during our stay at the Lakefront Chalet. The house was impeccable and comfortable, and the location was ideal for a weekend getaway. My guests and I enjoyed all of the many amenities, including the hot tub, the boats, and the grill, and we found the view to be breathtaking. Any time we decide to leave the big city for serenity, we will definitely be contacting you again in the future! In fact, I’m already planning my next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Thank you for your assistance and hospitality
during our stay at the Lakefront Chalet. The house
was impeccable and comfortable, and the location
was ideal for a weekend getaway. My guests and I
enjoyed all of the many amenities, including the hot
tub, the boats, and the grill, and we found the view
to be breathtaking. Any time we decide to leave the
big city for serenity, we will definitely be contacting
you again in the future! In fact, I’m already planning
my next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 30, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

This is the second year we have stayed at the Chalet during Thanksgiving week and is was once again wonderful and relaxing! We must plan to come in the summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 28, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

My wife and I enjoy our stay. The house is wonderful and very comfortable. I would recommend this home to everyone. The view was great and at night you can see the moon shine off of the lake. It was a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

The moment we walked into the house, i knew we made the right decision to rent this house. We had a great time enjoying the lake and boats. The view from the big windows all over the house was amazing. We will definitely go there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 31, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

The stay at your chalet was very nice and relaxing. The evenings on the lake, as well as the cookouts on the deck, is what a vacation is all about. The area in which the chalet is in, also provides a lot of extras to do, no matter what the age is. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

our stay was with my daughter and son-in-law and 3 granddaughters. The girls loved the geese and deer the house was wonderfully nice and clean. we had a marvelous time. my husband just stayed in the house and enjoyed the view of the lake while we went out and enjoyed ourselves. he said it was the most relaxing vacation he ever had. we stayed with danelle mathis (our daughter). we seriously come back if vacationing in this area again....thanks again for a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

It was a great week! We stayed June 30, 2006 to July 7th 2006. The kids loved the toys, and the wild life. The adults loved the relaxation. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The house is kind of in the middle of the places we went to. Must see events is the Claws and Paws wildlife and the House of Candles. Thanks Keith and Rebecca for a wonderful vacation.

Only thing I needed was a cookie sheet, other than that kind of felt like home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 25, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

My family and I stayed the week of June 16-22, 2006 and we had a wonderful and relaxing time. This home is very cozy and warm and clean. Everything you need is provided and it is in a lovely setting. The kids especially like the kayaking and fishing and paddleboat. And we all had a great laugh when my husband fell in the lake trying to exit the kayak!!!
Thanks to Keith and Rebakah for helping us have such a great time!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed here the first week of May and we had a wonderful time. The house was fully furnished and the decor was tasteful. We will be coming back here in the fall.
My husband thought the lake was fully furnished too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

This is a beautiful house with a beautiful lake only steps away. Myself and 6 other guys stayed here for a weekend fishing trip and had a great time. The fishing was good with numerous Pike being caught as well as Bass, catfish and Perch. The house is well equipped with all the amenities you may need. I would strongly recommend this house to anyone.
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review