reviews for: listing #30926 - Venice Beach, California House rental

Lovely Craftsman House/Office, with Large Sunny Deck
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $195 /nt
    $1,350 - $1,350 /wk
    $4,800 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

getaway

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Just completed a three month stay at the Studio. What a great find - even though its on a busy street when you enter the property it is very private and the studio is very inviting and cozy. The music venue is an added attraction. I read another review that mentioned the noise and honestly I could barely hear the music and it didn't bother me. I'm looking forward to staying again on my next visit to the LA area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you , Pamela for the honesty in your review. Yes, one guest stated the music venue shared the same wall and it does not. Hope to see you on your next visit to your grandson, Enjoy, Thank you, Helen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot, bring ear plugs

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We stayed here based on the reviews. The unit was beautiful, had brand new appliances, a comfortable bed and sofa and a great TV. The walk-in shower was awesome too. The toilet seat was broken when we got there, but no big deal. We raised the issue with Jeb and did not hear back from him during our stay.

We had a serious problem with the bar/club next door. We did not expect this problem based on the reviews here because some reviews specifically mentioned that the noise was not an issue, but it was for us. Be prepared to deal with live music, people outside your window talking, smoking, yelling until 12-1am. Even weekday nights. Eventually we got so tired we just adjusted our sleeping hours, and still had a great stay. I do not know how anyone could have a sleeping baby in this place as per the review below.

The kitchen was excellent if you are into cooking your own meals and there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away. YUM.

The parking in the area was always a fun obstacle to overcome, but it's a good excuse to walk around the neighborhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great vacation stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Two friends and I stayed here while on vacation in LA. It's in a good location and very comfortably furnished. Everything was beautiful and clean. The kitchen especially is great - we ended up doing a lot of cooking there. It's definitely within walking distance to the beach and there's also plenty of parking around there. There's a nice patio area to hang out and, as other reviews have mentioned, the owners also operate a music venue. That said, I could barely hear anything from my room at night and it definitely did not disturb my sleep. It's probably not for someone looking for absolute peace and quiet since it is just off the street, but it didn't bother us.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST VACATION RENTAL IN LA .. trust me.

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

I have rented sooo many different rentals over the past few years in LA.. and holy smokes! This one was by far the best! Felt like home right away, it def. is "lux" :) and TRUST ME. even if u have a light sleep.. you wont hear a single noise from outside. If you love great music, amazingly nice people and great food - what are you waiting for! This place is YOUR place :) And Jeb, the owner is the nicest guy ever. You wont only have a great vacation in LA, you'll sleep amazingly well, you can grab food right next door at the WitzEnd live club AND listen to amazing music each and every night. :) and come on... who doesnt love great food.. AND music? ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Place

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Lux for three nights and it was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. We had our one-year-old son with us and the place was spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable and provided us with everything we were looking for. Jeb and Helen are lovely. The restaurant/club next door hosts some awesome talent that we were able to walk over and enjoy. When returning to our room, we couldn't hear a peep. The baby was even able to sleep. We loved this place - short walk to beach and a stones throw from all you need.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

thanks to the witzend

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

we really enjoyed our stay,the owner jeb is a very nice guy (thanks to helen too),who helped us out with some music equipment.the pianos are beautiful in both apprtments and the possibility to see so many talented artists in the club at night is amazing.the appartments are perfectly equipped and have a great charme.
thanks for the great time we had,jeb!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

needed maintenance

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We rented this lovely place because of the reviews especially. We found minor problems right away and called the manager....door knob, faucet handle, plugged sink, which were eventually fixed. The website had listed a dell computer available which was not available, and a grill which Jeb brought down from the main house. A fuse went out one night the first time we used the microwave. We used the bikes when we were there and repaired one with new tubes. Obviously this studio is located right next to the night club.(Share the same wall) so if you have any sleep issues, get ready for music until one or two am along side with customers talking, smoking, yelling, laughing, outside your window. The appliances are top of the line and the studio has a good feel but I would not rent it again because of the maintenance issues both with the web site and the building itself.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

A beautiful, spacious studio apartment, with the comforts of home, and the luxuries of a hotel. From the bigger than big king bed, to the quality linens and towels, fresh flowers, modern appliances, even a piano. We found ourselves cooking all of our meals, the kitchen was too enticing. And with Wholefoods and a supermarket in walking distance, fresh ingredients were always available. When we could peel ourselves from the marshmallow couch we made use of the complimentary bikes, or enjoyed some amazing live music next door at Witzend (free entry for residences a nice plus). And to top off the amazing stay, Jeb and Helen were excellent neighbours and lovely people. We will be sure to return, and recommend this property to everyone. 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the vibe of the place!

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

I've been renting through VRBO now for more than 10 years and had never been before as impressed as I am with this particular property. First, the remodeled interior was well planned out and has everything you could ever need during your stay...new appliances, lots of room, a piano! Clean as all get out. Next, it's situated in a cute compound connected by a garden to a house, a cottage and a fantastic restaurant/bar/music lounge. Jeb, you're one talented dude! On top of that, there's an Italian restaurant across the street serving up delicious high quality cuisine...no need to fight traffic to get there...merely walk across the street! It's also close enough to Abbot Kinney that the walk will do you good. The one drawback is the parking...but with how most everything is close by, who needs to burn more fossil fuels? Oh, 10-15 minutes from LAX sealed the deal for me. I shall return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Belen, Thank you for the great review, we hope to have you stay with us again, nice to meet you and so happy you enjoyed the total experience, Thanks again, Jeb & Helen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best vacation ever!

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

We loved staying here! The owner was wonderful and accommodating! The house was clean and charming. The outdoor pergola was the best place to hang out. I would come back any time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review