reviews for: listing #31003 - Alligator Point, Florida House rental

Gulf of Mexico Beach Home - Pair-a-dice
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tallahassee/Panacea
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

This is a great house to take a family vacation. We have 4 kids (oldest 10 youngest 3) and they all loved it. We fished right off the beach everyday and caught Black Tip Reef Sharks, Stingrays, Redfish, SeaTrout and several other fish. We also saw a SeaTurtle and Dolphins swimming. A great area to look for sea sheals. This is a quite location for a family who loves to spend time together. If you are looking for a theme park or some place to drop the kids this is not the place. The house is in great shape and has awesome views. The owner of the house is fanastic to work with. Responds to emails or questions extremely fast and we received our deposit back within 5 days of checking out. The people who live in the houses that are around the house are extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this location for anyone with family or a couple who is looking for a quite relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review adequately describes our house and its location on Alligator Point--- a great naturalistic acquatic setting for family and friends.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Great Place - As Advertised

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

This place is great. A very peaceful and secluded part of the world. This is a true beach house and very spacious. The owners really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your time at Alligator Point. There is a huge notebook there with things to do in the area along with menus from the local restaurants including their own personal dining reviews. I'd recommend this place.

Owners response: Guests like these are an owner;s reward

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We are in love with this house on Alligator Point.

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We'd often gone to Southern Florida for our February vacation but wanted to try something different. This part of Florida isn't called the Forgotten Coast for nothing: it is relatively undeveloped and, especially in February, beautifully quiet and relaxing. And then this house! The house itself is lovely and it's location at almost the end of Alligator Point was spectacular. If 6 people walked by in a day, that was a lot. We relaxed and watched the world and the birds go by. Also, Panacea nearby was an unexpectedly good place for great seafood. We went to the great seafood "dive" in town (Posey's) and loved their grilled grouper sandwich. We also went to the pricier Anthony's (I think it was) at the bridge into town and had another great meal. In addition, we bought fish and crab cakes in town at a fish store. Both were superb. We just had a great time and look forward to going back for a month next time. Beauty and relaxation to the max!

Owners response: We hope you will have the opportunity to stay a month next winter. The area is a good place to slow down and enjoy what nature has to offer. There are several dives with good, fresh seafood that have their on fisherman, but don't be surprised if after resting for a few days, you will be like these guest and enjoy cooking by the sea with hopes of dauphins swimming and a sunset to remember.

We look forward to hearing from you again!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best beach vacation ever!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

The house was everything it appeared to be from the pictures and more. Beautifully decorated, well stocked kitchen, and views of the beach that could not be matched anywhere. Owners were easy to work with and even called us on our first day to check if we needed anything. The beach itself is truly the most beautiful beach we have ever visited. We felt like we were on our own private beach! As a family we enjoyed all the beautiful shelling and sea life we saw each day. This was a vacation that we will never forget and we look forward to visiting again.

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our home and we look forward to you visiting us again as we continue to strive for guests satisfaction. Vacations are a time for memories and we hope they will be always be good ones on a little strip of land in the Gulf of Mexico.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful View

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Hello Kathy,
your house is beautiful, the view great.
Best regards and happy Easter
Renate from Germany

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable stay at a Quiet Beach

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Kathy,
I wanted to take the time to say thank you for letting us use your home. It was lovely and we really enjoyed looking at all the pictures you had up throughout the bedroom. The beach was so quiet and we met some of your neighbors. They all seem to be very nice ppl. There is a board to the left side of the back staircase on the deck that was loose and had we had a hammer we would have nailed it back down for you. Just want to say thank you again. We so enjoyed our stay in your home on Alligator Point.
Best Regards,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

slice of paradise

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

The beach house had the most beautiful view of the Gulf. From sun up to sun down, there was always something to do. The house was well equipped, maintained and felt just like being home. I look forward to returning this summer.

Owners response: Our goal is for our home to be your home on the gulf with hopes of returning soon to a place like no other.....

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a special beach...peacful and unique

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Dear Kathy



We’re now back home in London after a wonderful few weeks in Florida. We went out with high expectations - and they were exceeded!



Nothing prepared us for the amazing Alligator Point! We’ve visited may beautiful beaches around the world, but yours is really special – so peaceful and unique. We swam every day (the water’s warm compared with the English Channel) and saw so many birds and even dolphins. We adored your house, so perfect for our family, and really didn’t want to leave at the end of the week.



All in all a week to remember, so thank-you so much for everything – and hopefully we’ll be back again one day.



Very best wishes



John, Fiona, Lily, Joseph, Patrick and Jack.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

fabulous, Fabulous, FABULOUS!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This rental was exactly what we were looking for. We have 3 boys, ages 9, 13, and 17 ... everyone found good stuff to do - or nothing at all! It is 20 minutes to the next gallon of milk, but we liked that. The My Way fish guy in Panacea was fantastic, always with a fresh catch recommendation. We toured Wakulla State Park, Bald Point State Park, fished from the shore (marginal success, but I'm sure that was our fault), walked the white sand beaches with no one else around, and took a day trip to Apalachicola (Papa Joe's Oyster Shack!) and St. George Island State Park. The house is very beautiful and spacious. The kitchen is well equipped and very functional, but not all brand new (mine at home isn't either!). The furniture all very comfortable. Bikes and kayaks would have been fun to have. We would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a great desciption of what a typical week can be at Alligator Point. Alligator Point is the bith place of many fishing stories. The week can be whatever you want it to be without the commercialism that has engulfed Florida.....which is why it is called "The Forgotton Coast" I describe it as the Forest Gump experience watching shrimp boats from our windows in May, or any time if you are at the Apalachicola water front. Wakulla State Park has been descibed by former guests, that they felt they were part of a movie, which is why many movies have been filmed at the national historical park. The area has plenty for anyone to experience if you are willing to drive twenty to fourty minutes, but I promise, there will be little to no wait and no traffic....maybe a traffic light or two, and it is a great area for biking if you would like to bring yours along.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Glorious Week

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Kathy,
Many thanks for a glorious week on Alligator Point! Your home there is just beautiful!
Peace,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most Relaxing Week

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Kathy, thanks for sending our deposit back so quickly. More importantly thanks for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. It was one of the most relaxing weeks we have had in a long while. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Beach, Quite Place

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

Kathy,
Oh my the car. Well the tow truck did come and we got in about 11:40. He was helpful and didn't charge us. So the next day Dan tried to start it again and it started and we got it repaired in Eastpoint. The people had the part ( Dan called them and got it set up) and did it while we were at lunch at " The Hut". It was a nice lunch place. I am amazed at how friendly the people were. We had a great time. The weather was not cooperative, but oh well. The beach was still beautiful. The house was great and the island is quiet. And we video taped the dolphins to show our girls. Thank you so much. We hope to rent from you again in the future.
Thanks again,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just one thing more..

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

As you know Kathy, Christine and I have stayed with you many times. I just wanted to mention that for anyone who likes to cook it's a home from home. We love to buy fresh seafood at My Way in Panacea and get busy in the splendid kitchen. You've just not lived until you've broiled the local grouper with garlic, butter and a little white wine....mmmm! We love to walk and have traversed every yard of the beaches from Bald Point to the very tip of Alligator Point. Peace and solitude...just dolphins and seabirds for company. By the way, happy birthday and we'll keep in touch.
Francis (Joe)&Christine Mullins

Owners response: Dear Christine and Joe,

Thank you for your kind words about the Point and giving us the grouper recipe that sounds so delectable and easy. And for those of you who do not want to cook, we suggest the fried flounder at Poseys Steam Room and Angleo's Tropical Market for steamed shrimp. We just had lunch at Shells in Tallahassee. The oysters had been delivered only a couple of hours before we ate them. They were so fresh, salty, and tasty we did not need a cracker and we had to drink a glass of water which was above our limit. Alligator Point, Franklin County is not known for chefs. The seafood is fried, fried, and more fried, but many of our guest come here just to eat fresh seafood you can not find anywhere else and they even take an ice chest home with them full of what these waters have to offer. Apalachicola is our county seat which has a couple of fine resturants with several great cooks and the Gibson Inn works hard at keeping a superb chef for fine dining. We have to add that we love the family business at East Point's Captain Snook's, it is on the water on HWY 98. If you do not want to cook, and are willing to drive and explore the area, you will find the food memorable. We hope you will find our kitchen complete if you choose to stay at home and cook in our kitchen along with our charcoal grill just waiting for you near the sea .

We hope all of you will find the Point one of the true places in Florida you can still sleep by the ocean,escape developement, walk the beaches, read, (what Joe has written), rest, and recharge your batteries. People keep coming back and they have traveled the world, they have shopped in every store man has created and they come from countries you would not imagine just to enjoy what nature has to offer at Alligator Point.

By the way,the Alligators are at Wakulla Springs National Historical Park.We think the park is a must for all. And to our surprise, we saw a black bear at Bald Point. The area has so much to offer but commerical entertainment.

Joe and Christine, Henry and I apprecate your long time support in our Florida rentals that we work hard at so you can enjoy. Thank you .
Kathy and Henry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Vacation:Shells, Dolphins,Good Food

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Dear Kathy,

Sorry I haven’t written sooner, but we’ve been really busy. Unfortunately vacations usually create more work. LOL

Paxton and I had a WONDERFUL time. Your home was great and had everything we needed. We watched the dolphins each morning while we had our coffee and the star gazing at night is indescribable. We often felt that we had the entire beach to ourselves. We collected enough shells to supply a small gift shop and visited Bald Point Park and Wakulla Springs. We also enjoyed our visit to the Oasis Tikibar. I must also confess our dinner at Angelo’s was exceptional, being from Cajun Country we often find the food lacking when we travel. Angelo’s food is a good as any we get here at home.

To sum it all up. It was pretty much a perfect vacation. Excellent accommodations in a quiet, peaceful and relaxing environment. It was just what we needed.

Thanks for opening your home to us.

Best Regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the house, the Point and Gulf!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Hi Mrs. Romersa,

Just wanted to let you know how much my family and I and our friends enjoyed your house. We have been back for a few weeks but have been getting the kids ready for the new school year. We LOVED your house and Alligator Point. It was absolutely perfect for us! We found tons of shells and sand dollars and my son caught several fish. Also loved seeing the dolphins and we could not believe how close they would come to where we were in the water. Anyway, we look forward to returning next year and just wanted to say thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Most Beautiful Place

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Good Morning Kathy,



Thank you for having a wonderful house at what my wife says “Is the Most Beautiful Place on Earth”. We had a wonderful time on our vacation and we met some very nice people while we were there. The house is GREAT as always and you are always fantastic to work with. We received the check for the deposit yesterday and THANK YOU for getting that back to us so quickly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AWESOME

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Kathy!! I can't tell you how much we are loving your house! It is absolutely perfect. Your pictures online were great but still couldn't capture how wonderful it is. Ten minutes after arriving, my 12 year old said, "Mom! You are AWESOME! This is the best house yet!" So thanks for helping me get some points with my daughter. :) I posted some pictures on facebook the other day and have gotten 9 requests for the link for your house! I keep telling Scott we need to decide if we want to come back next year before it is booked up non-stop! :)

My youngest turned 10 on Tuesday and we celebrated here; I love that she'll have such great memories of her first double-digit birthday!

The weather has been perfect and we are having a wonderful time. It will be hard to leave on Saturday!
Again, thank you so much for providing such a gorgeous, affordable home for us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Laid Back Lifestyle with Dolphins & No McDonlads

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Kathy,

I wanted to drop you a line and let you know how much our family appreciated the opportunity we recently had, to stay at your beach home at Alligator Point. I cannot begin to express how much we enjoyed our week at Alligator point. Your home was so very much in tuned to the laid back lifestyle that the Vaughn family enjoys on vacation. We were blessed on Wednesday morning with a visit from a pod of dolphins, they became know as “our friends”. They returned that evening and again the next morning, their visits most certainly topped off an already outstanding week! Our kids had no idea that a family could actually survive 45 miles from a Wal-mart and McDonalds. The Area around Panacea was beautiful and full of interesting little towns and burghs, (liked Sopchoppy!) We definitely look forward to returning to our new found hideaway on Alligator Point! I have attached a picture of the Vaughn family visiting the Blue Parrot restaurant on St. George Island. Again, thank you so much for opening up your beautiful home to us.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

The house was perfect, the beach was beautiful, and the neighbors were all very friendly. We saw tons of stingrays and dolphins every day, along with several different kinds of crabs, starfish, small fish, birds, and more. There were literally hundreds of shells all along the beach and in the water. You could walk for miles along perfect unspoiled beach; it was amazing and a very relaxing week. We're already planning our return next summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Alligator Point has a lot to offer for lovers of nature.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Not a tourist trap

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Kathy, Again wanted to say how much we enjoyed your house. We had such a relaxing wonderful time. It was so nice not to have the typical tourist trap and be able to enjoy the quiet and peace of the beach...even saw some dolphins feeding an bonus. We have several people that we know wanting information and are going to look into weeks there. They are like us, want the solitude. Thanks again for helping me make my birthday memorable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach and Fishing was Great!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We had a wonderful time seeing everyone again. The fishing was great as well as the beach. I included a picture of me and my boys after we caught a 40 lb King just a few miles off-shore.



Thanks again Kathy for opening up your home to my family. There are memories that we have made there that our boys will never forget and hopefully cherish their entire lives.


Thanks again and look forward to next year if not sooner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Naturalists Paradise

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Alligator Point is a beautiful, secluded place with tons of wildlife to observe. We saw many different kinds of wildlife in and out of the water including birds, dolphin, stingray, three kinds of crabs, starfish, and sand dollars. Fisherman were catching shark from the shore. The secluded beach was peaceful and great for swimming and shelling. The house has everything you need to enjoy the week. It was clean and nicely decorated. The owner was pleasant and timely in all communications and was prompt with return of the deposit. I would definitely stay again. Thanks for sharing your little piece of paradise with us Kathy, we had a great week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Alligator Point is a special place for special people. Our Dolphin Lover is a speical person who drove from Indiana to the Point with five children. Glad to know their time was memorable and we hope we will hear from them when they plan their next family vacation .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a ball...loved the small towns

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We had a ball! The house and location were everything we expected. We loved the uncrowded beach and the small towns. We’re already talking about next year’s vacation! Thanks again for helping us to have the vacation we were hoping for with our family.



Judy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Location on Alligator Point

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Wonderful location on Alligator Point. Filled our days with collecting shells and soaking up the sun on this unspoiled and remote beach getaway. House is immaculate and has everything you could need and more. Would return to this spot again and again! Can't say enough positive things. Thanks for sharing your special place with us."

Again, just a little more detail for possible renters.

You''l hear from me again...
J. Anderson

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An awesome, beautful stay

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

It was absolutely awesome. The house was absolutey beautiful. I could not have asked for a better place to stay and enjoy myself. My son was like a child in a candy store. He had never seen the ocean and we ad an absolute blast. Found over 100 sand dollars. Beautiful shells and great seafood. Went to the places you recommended and were absolutely thrilled with Wakulla Springs and the places you recommended to eat in town. Made the trip to Appalachicola and ate there.

I would actually like to go ahead and make the reservation again for the last week of February next year if possible. I promised my son absolutely that we would come back again. Is that possible.

I will get on the website from home and be happy to put a wonderful review on there for you.

Thank you so much for trusting us with your paradise.

Pam

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relax

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We stayed there in March 2009. Kids of 12 and 9 loved it. Miles of perfect beach. Quiet. No noise at all other than the sound of the surf. We walked for miles on the beach. Shelling and just enjoying the location. The town of Panacea has good fresh seafood, everything from local fish to crawdads from near by. We wanted a quiet week, it was perfect. So perfect we care coming back for 2 more weeks! Kathy, the owner is a pleasure to talk to. We drove all the way from Canada and have no reservations about doing it again! If you want a place away from it all, yet only 20 min from town with everything you would need for your stay. This is it! Everyone we met on the beach (not many as it so quiet) we polite, kind and helpful with any questions you may have. Also everyone we met in town were nice.
Best place to get away , relax, enjoy the surf, sun and local color!!!

Don't even consider it if your looking for a "party" time, its just not that kind of place. Sit back, get a tan, go for a swim or a walk. No rush at all, just do at the pace you want.

House is very nice, and the view is spectacular!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great week

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 27, 2006

My wife grew up on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. My promise to her was to get her back there this year. Unfortunately, her hometown is not what it used to be. We found this property and contacted the owners for more information. Kathy told us that this is not a tourist area, but, is an area where you can get away and enjoy the beach, fresh seafood and each other, without being subject to big noisy crowds. She was right. We enjoyed our private time on the beach and the house was wonderful. We plan to return in the future. Thank you, Kathy, for your honesty.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time out of your busy scheule to write of your experience while vacationing at our home and the area. It is comments like yours that will help other potetial guests plan their vacation to an unknown spot like Alligator Point.

Alligator Point is certainly not for everyone but those who love it, think there is no place like it ---- a place where they can truly rest and enjoy their surroundings.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation spot

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

The views from this home are spectacular! Our family just returned (July, 2009) and rated this vacation as one of the best ever. Step down from the deck, and you are immediately on the white sand beach with what seems to be your own private ocean to swim in and explore. The house is tastefully decorated in a beach theme, and the owners were very easy to work with. Enjoyed hiking in the nearby State Park and loved the Coastal Restaurant in Panacea. A highly recommended vacation spot!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: If you are looking for a quiet spot on the water, I don't know if you could find a better spot surrounded by parks, sugar white sand, wildlife and seafood resturants.

Our goal is for all of our guests to get the most out of their vacation and return year after year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Family Getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

It was a perfect family get away........
The house is perfect,very comfortable and right on the ocean with plenty of room for everyone.
Quiet area, a very relaxing environment, and the most beautiful sunsets.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Quiet & Remote

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

Very nice place to get away from it all. View of the Gulf from the master bdrm is awesome! Great way to wake up every morning. View of the bay across the street out the back of the house is also a nice feature.

We had 3 adults and 4 kids and there was plenty of room. Beach was very quiet. If you're looking to get away from the world and stay domestic, this is the place to go. Side note - make a good grocery list because it's a good drive to go back.

For food, Angelo's Seafood is about 5-10 miles away on 98 going east and the food was unbelievable - I recommend the stuffed snapper or stuffed shrimp. Both were excellent....enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Alligator Point paradise

Review submitted: April 1, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We stayed in this house right on the beach in March and it was fabulous!! The house itself is beautiful, spacious and comfortable with a gorgeous master bedroom/sitting room that affords panoramic views of the gulf. We absolutely loved the Alligator Point area...one place in our 6 years of going to various parts of Florida that we would definitely revisit. Our kids, 10 & 8, were in heaven. At low tide there is a huge tide pool that they visited daily to find all sorts of treasure. We did a lot of walking the beach. We spent a day at Bald Point State Park which is beautiful, great for walking or sitting on the beach. This area is not for everyone, not a lot of restaurants or shopping, but it was perfect for us nature lovers. St. Mark's is close by and a very wild and natural area with a pretty lighthouse. We fully appreciated the untouched beauty of the entire area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Quiet and relaxing

Review submitted: January 11, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Nice beach house. You could hear the waves from the living room & master bedroom when the windows were open. Very quiet beach. Nearest grocery was 26 miles away but we liked that. It was peaceful and very relaxing. Not your typical, over commercialized area with cheesy tourist shops & restaurants galore. We really enjoyed the solitude.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: The full line grocery is in Crawfordville 26 miles away but there is a small grocery store in Panacea along with a great fresh fish market

Helpful votes: 24 / 25

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review