reviews for: listing #31070 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

Gorgeous newly-renovated Apt- Empire State Bldg, Macy's Area
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $325 /nt

sort by:

Amazing location

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

We had a great stay. This apartment is in a great location just off of 5th avenue. We were walking distance from pretty much everything.
The rooms were clean. The kitchen was extremely useful. They provided extra linens, towels, an iron, utensils, plates, glasses, etc.
Most importantly, both Mary and Barbara were easy to communicate with and helpful each step of the way.

Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location and extremely helpful owner

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 26, 2013

The first thing that impressed me is how friendly and helpful Mary is over email and the phone. The apartment is situated in a superb location, is well maintained and has all the basic things. Everything else is close by, requiring no more than a 5 minute walk.

We were happy with the living space as it didn't restrict our toddler like a hotel room would have. Having access to two bedroom also meant that we had the ability to maintain our daughter's sleeping arrangements just like at home - she loved having a queen bed to herself!

I have already recommended Mary's apartments to at least two people since returning from NYC last week. Our family will definitely come back to stay here.

Thanks Mary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent emplacement

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Condo de deux chambres très bien situé (à 2 minutes à pied de l'Empire State Building). Vous pouvez marcher facilement en 15 minutes à Time Square. Près d'un métro, tout est accessible. Condo deux chambres très propre avec une cuisinette complète. Nous avons trouvé un stationnement sur la 34ième rue au coin Lexington pour 28$ par jour ce qui est accessible pour New York. Je recommande ce condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Greatplace to stay

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Just back from staying in this apartment for 10 days.
The apartment is close to everything 2 minutes to the Empire state and 5 minutes to Macys and we walked to most places from here including East village and upper east side and for the days when we were tired the subway was a couple of blocks away.
Loads of room, beds were comfy, full kitchen was great.
Everything was clean and fresh and well maintained.

I would recommed staying here and ive already given the details to friends in Ireland and when i'm back in New Year i would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great apartment great location

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This apartment was a great base for our stay in NY. Travelling with a young baby it was fantastic to have the extra space that a hotel room doesn't provide, especially our own kitchen. The apartment was basic but nicely furnished, very clean and well maintained and easily accessible. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Overall it was excellent value for money.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fantastic Place to Stay

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

Mary & Barbara were wonderful to work with. The apartment is large and nicely furnished. My husband and I have rented apartments in New York City for the last 4 or 5 years. They have all been adequate. This apartment was exceptional. The space made it easy to share late night refreshments with our friends who shared the second room, and it provided a great kitchen space for preparing breakfast. Its location to MSG/Penn Station and the subway was ideal. We will use this rental again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Place to Stay

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

Mary & Barbara were wonderful to work with. The apartment is large and nicely furnished. My husband and I have rented apartments in New York City for the last 4 or 5 years. They have all been adequate. This apartment was exceptional. The space made it easy to share a light night refreshments with our friends who shared the second room, and it provided a great kitchen space for preparing breakfast. Its location to MSG/Penn Station and the subway was ideal. We will use this rental again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Clean & comfortable

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2010

We were quite hesitant in booking accomodation on line - but the owner quickly put our minds at ease. The rental was very affordable compared to others that we looked at.
This apartment is clean, comfortable and in a great position. There are many wonderful eateries close by and a hand deli/convience store a few doors down.
I would thoroughly recommed this apartment to anyone and would definitely stay here again should we be so lucky to return to New York.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New York Rental Property #31070

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

My 2 girlfriends and I, all first time visitors to New York, booked rental property #31070 because of its online description of the facilities and location in New York. The location was perfect, and the apartment worked perfectly for us. The only difference from the photos online to the actual apartment was the size of the kitchen - very small. However, as we didn't eat in, this was not an issue for us. However, the apartment was extremely clean and well set up, had a large living area with big flat screen tv, a good size bathroom, hairdryer etc and 2 good bedrooms + free wifi. If you wanted to wash, there is a laundromat directly across the road. Plenty of information regarding New York, restaurants, delis, transport etc were provided by the owner and was very handy for us. From payment of rental, collection of keys, late checkout to fit in with air travel - everything worked fabulously. The apartment is on the first floor of a secure building requiring key access. There are a couple of flights of stairs, or alternatively a small lift is available. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this apartment to anyone and will stay there if I'm ever fortunate to visit New York again (and I better be!).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our NYC Vaction

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

We had a wonderful time in NYC! This was our first visit to NYC and our first time renting an apartment versus staying in a hotel. The owners were extremely nice - husband met us at the apartment and gave us the keys. They had brochures and information about the city in the apartment. The apartment was very clean.

This apartment was close to everything - the subway, within walking distance to Times Square, Herald Square, shopping! We felt safe walking around during the day and at night. There was a parking garage right across the street from the apartment.

We would stay here again if we ever get to NYC again - we had a great time!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal location!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

We stayed in this apartment last week (August 2009) for 5 days, a group of friends from other sides of the world meeting in NYC for a wedding. This apartment was ideal! It is clean, spacious, comfy, lovely clean bathroom, big fridge for all those cooling drinks, air-con to save us from the humidity and for the ladies hair straigteners, hair curling tongs AND a hairdryer (brilliant!). The apartment was ideal for chilling and catching up with friends, a 25 min walk to Central Park, a 3 minute walk to Empire State, about 50 seconds from a 24 hour deli/market which does yummy bagels and it's New York! It was just the best base for seeing the city and we had wonderful contact before and after with the owners. 110% recommend this place and I will be recommending it to friends and family for many years to come! Oh, and it had an elevator, good call :)
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superb!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

We had an absolutely fabulous stay in this wonderful apartment right in the heart of NYC. What a way to start the day, strolling out of the apartment and seeing the Empire State building on the corner. Wow!! Its location is PERFECT. Not far from all the tourist attractions and within walking distance of Union Square and Soho. We loved it, The aprtment was clean, cosy and cute, the owners friendly and helpful, the building and area completely safe and secure, a lovely little neighbourhood with some great wine bars and eating places and all in all a perfect home to explore Manhattan. When we get a chance to go back we will definitely look it up again. Wonderful!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great apartment in the heart of New York

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

This was a perfect base for our week in New York. It was very close to subway access, 5th Avenue (1 minute), Empire State and Penn Street Station (15 mins with cases). We were met as soon as we arrived and the owners answered all of our queries. The apartment was clean and spacious. The kitchen is compact but has everything that you might need. We would definitely recommend this apartment for families and friends and we would use it again.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying in this 2 bdrs apartment. The minute we walked in we felt at home. Mary, the owner, did a great job decorating the place. We were 6 people and a baby, but we still felt very comfortable as the apartment is pretty large. The place is ideally situated, 2 blocks away from the Empire State Building, with easy access to transport and plenty of shops and restaurants on your doorstep.
We will certainly keep this home in mind should we ever come again. And we probably will - we love NYC. Thanks again,
Nathalie and Antoine
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

NYC apartment

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

Great experience from first contact through email. Miri is very helpful and responds quickly. The apartment is ideal for exploring all of NYC. Central location close to transport, literally 2 blocks from the Empire state. Good size bedrooms. the apartment was nice and clean.

We highly recomend this place.
Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

City break appartment

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

Our party of 4 adults found this gem of an appartment in a great location a good base for our visit. It was clean, well maintained and secure. Everything worked such as the coffee machine. There was an iron, hair dryer and even hair straighteners. The lift was small and really only suitable for three people at a time but there aren't too many stairs. The location is amazing the view from the end of the street is just like the pics, Empire State one way and Flatiron the other. We found good places to eat such as Hillstones and Les Halles on the door step and a great roof top bar on 5th Ave where they give you dressing gowns to wear with beautiful views. Macy's is within walking district.The apartment is a great base for both up town or downtown. Didn't use the public transport much so can't really comment. There was someone to meet us who was very friendly and helpful and there is useful information in the flat. We will be coming again and recommending our friends. It is so much nicer than staying in an hotel.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice apartment

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

The apartment is confortable; perfect for two couples. It's in a good location, in a walking distance from a lot of points of interest (Union Square, Times Square etc.). And we enjoyed the restaurants nearby, specially for dinner when we were tired and didn't want to go far. We recommend the Persian rest. on the ground floor of the building... Good value for money.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A New York Gem

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

2 couples from Canada came and stayed in December 2009 for a week. We were all pleasantly surprised at how clean the condo was (spotless actually) and how much it had to offer. The location is fantastic and allows you to walk many places...you are only a few blocks from many attractions. The condo had towels, extra linens, a hairdryer, dishes, cutlery, glasses etc. More than expected. And the building has an elevator...it's small but it is so helpful when you have luggage or are coming back from a long day of sightseeing.
Miri and Barbara were efficient and pleasant to deal with and all transactions were straight forward. The deposit was refunded within a few days of leaving and the whole process was extremely smooth.
If you're looking for a cozy, clean, central place to stay I can recommend this one without a doubt. I hope to come back and stay again in the future.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice apartament, good price

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

The apartment is very nice, and is good situated. It have all you need. An excellent choice if you want spending a few days in New York.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great place to stay for a weekend in nyc!

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Honestly, when me and my friends got there, we were kinda scared because of the outside appearance. But when she opened the door to the apartment, we were very satisfied and the apartment looked just like it does in the pictures. Its very clean, and up to date. Barbara was very nice and very helpful. It was an amazing price and perfect for a girls get away weekend. It was within walking distance from times square, 5th avenue, central city park, and those areas. I would definitely stay here again! we had such a blast! thank you for letting us stay here!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jilly k

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

The apartment was excellant , clean and tidy , a good size and the position for a stay in New York was perfect , you could walk to the Empire State Building in minutes, and it was stunning.
Shops nearby , able to walk into 5th Avenue and Starbucks very close.
There was enough space to be very comfortable in the apartment and both Barbara and Miri were really helpful. we would all stay again and fell able to reccomend this to friends.
Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very great apartment!!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

I spent 2 weeks in Feb-March 2010.
The apartment is ideally situated (next to several metro lines).
Inside you have all the commodities: hair dryer, towels, bed linens, wifi, plug convertor for Europe...
And it has a very NY style!
I had an amazing time inside! Thanks!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highly recommended

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

Convenient location, the advertised pictures of the apartment on the website are accurate and representative. No defects or issues found in the apartment. Outstanding support received both by e-mail and on site.
Comfortable, hassle-free stay for a family of five. Would for sure repeat the experience!
Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb Visit

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Great place and great location. Great for families and awesome place to explore NYC.
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review