reviews for: listing #31135 - Honolulu, Hawaii House rental

Beautiful Ocean and Mountain Views Relax or Have a Wedding
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $520 - $700 /nt
    $3,640 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

What a paradise... Better than the photos!!

Review submitted: November 24, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

We just came back from this trip. Stayed there for 5 nights, wishing we could have stayed longer...
The view from the living room and the garden, is breathtaking!! The reason I am rating "Accuracy of Photos" as 3 star, is because the actual house and the view is SO MUCH BETTER than the photos!! When I arrived, I was really amazed. So was my family. They could not stop screaming how nice it is...

The owner, Edgar, is REALLY friendly and helpfull. He has a place right nexr door and helps any needs.

The location is such a wealthy estate area. Very quiet, safe, peacefull, not touristy. You can get a real hawaiian experience. Great beaches nearby. It is a little far (although it takes only 20 min so not so bad) to go to all the Waikiki & AlaMoana shopping, so if you want those every day, it may not be the place. (but we drove down there many times, driving there is still so nice because you get such great views on the way (marina, mountains, the sky), I did not mind driving there and enjoyed it every time)

We would love to come back. They are planning to build a swimming pool in the backyard. Looked like it can happen soon!(as of Nov/2006)

Thank you Edgar!

Helpful votes: 24 / 27

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

Our family from Manitoba, Canada spent a memorable 10 days in Edgar's home in April 2014. Our family consisted of infants, teenagers, young married couples and grandparents.
We enjoyed the pool and hot tub daily and access to beaches was minutes away. We were able to relax like one would in your own home. Edgar was always willing to answer any questions and we enjoyed learning about everyday life in Hawaii from him. The property was clean and Edgar was in the process of doing some maintenance like painting etc. We enjoyed our stay and felt very safe there which was important with our infant grandchildren. We hope to go back someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Mahalo for your kind words, it was such a pleasure having your family stay with us. You are truly blessed by surrounding yourselves with so much love. I would love to have you back again and will make time to take you surfing in Waikiki...I promise! Take care and stay warm up there! Warm Aloha, Edgar

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

KoKo Head/Hawaii Kai

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

such a warm, welcome home this is.
my 8 friends and I stayed, recently, for my 50th birthday. the house is open and inviting. not too formal. pool, hot tub and loads of entertaining areas. no view of a neighboring house (though, that makes you feel a bit like giggling into the wee hours is ok).
the location was PERFECT for everything! Costco, and other markets, to stock up. Hanauma Bay is practically walking distance. Kailua is so close, then continue your drive up windward side to North Beach. and, of course, Waikiki is just a short drive. heck, you can take the bus!
Edgar is on the property and can offer any help you need. we borrowed boogie boards etc. he even decorated for my birthday :-)
if you're dog friendly, Hana will come over for a swim when supervision is available. such a sweet girl.
we kept all the doors open and insects were a minimum.
I would/will rent this property again.
thanks you Edgar & Lynn :-)
-rs*

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

True Aloha Spirit in a Luxurious But Comfy Setting

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We rented this property for my family to stay at during the week of our wedding. Knowing that we would be busy with wedding things, and that my family would need a bit of help navigating the ways of the island, I am beyond thrilled we chose this property. Not only was it stocked to the brim with things to do, but the owner (Edgar) is so kind, so helpful, and so full of aloha that he made my wedding experience that much more stress free. I informed him ahead of time that the members of my family that would be staying there would very much enjoy his company and encouraged him to become a part of the experience.

My family LOVED him, and the property was so warm and cheerful that it truly felt like the home pitstop for everyone as we were running around doing errands. I have stayed in many homes on the island, and highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a true island experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Wow, what a Wedding! The best ever, in fact I tell everyone that we had a "One of A Kind" party! The Tiki Torches, dance floor and decorations were outstanding. Not to mention that your family felt a lot like my family. Hope to keep in touch with you ALL! Love and Aloha, Edgar

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We stayed at this house last summer for a week. We really enjoyed it! The home was clean and comfortable. Our teenage boys enjoyed the pool. A big plus was that it was very quiet, with a lovely garden to stroll in. It is close to a lot of attractions such as Sea World, you do need a car, but it is worth the drive. The owners were very helpful, if we needed something they were easy to contact. The listing photos did not match the house; the house is much nicer. We enjoyed our holiday so much, we will be staying at the house for 10 day in a couple of weeks. I would recommend this property!
J & T

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Nui, for the kind words, we loved your family and look forward to seeing you again. The boys are getting so big, cant wait until this July to see them again! Golf with the crew this time "For Sure". Warm Aloha, Edgar

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Fabulous Stay!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

This home was everything the listing says and more. Edgar and Lynne were beyond hospitable and could not do enough for us to make our stay wonderful. The home was clean, we wanted for nothing, we were not inconveininced at all. Everything we needed was already there! This was our first trip to Hawaii and after the long flight we thought it would be our last, but after staying with Edgar we can't wait to go back!
Edgar was extremely knowledgable about the area and told us about all of the great local spots to check out. We would absolutely 110% recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in Honolulu!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for the kind words, your family, friends and the girls softball team were a fantastic experience for us as well. I really enjoyed taking Kahuna down to "Baby Makapuu" and getting him on a surfboard. Looking forward to your next visit...Aloooooohaaaaaa edgar

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

They say there is no place like home........unless you are staying with Edgar and Lynn!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

Our family is very particular when it comes to holiday accommodations and we also look for homes that give us our privacy so I won't deny I was a little leery having rented a home where the owners live on the property. Upon meeting Edgar on our arrival any concerns we had were immediately gone and then when we met Lynn well we knew this was going to be our home away from home when visiting Oahu. For our family it has everything from the location to the truly spectacular views and everything else in between........we are grateful to Edgar and Lynn for making this to date our best vacation and look forward to another great vacation with them in 2011

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tina, thank you for your kind words! We loved having you stay with us and I can't wait to get back out there with you all in the Kayak and this year let's try some long board surfing or Stand Up Paddle borards! Hope to see you in Feb. or Mar. again. Love to all, Edgar and Lynn

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Pikake Hale - Kailua

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

We were impressed before we even arrived. The caretaker of this home agreed to accept Fed Ex pkgs, including my wedding dress, and had it hanging in the Master closet when we arrived! The home, itself, was absolutely perfect for our group of 9, as we were there to be married. Parking was a little tight for 2 cars, however, we managed beautifully! The kitchen was equipped with all we needed to bake our 5-layer wedding cakes! Plenty of room for us to have privacy, and yet enough space to gather comfortably in the kitchen! Also, to our surprise, plenty of snorkle gear, and boogie boards for everyone! The ocean was only steps away, and we very comfortable allowing the kids (20 yrs old) to roam freely to and from the beach - very family oriented neighborhood. Couldn't be happier. Kalani & Tami

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 14, 2009   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

We the Hames family and the Withee family truly enjoyed our stay at 42 Hanapee place. We had a wonderful time and Edgar was always there to help us. We enjoyed the house, the grounds, the pool and jacuzi. We want to extend our appreciation to Edgar and Lynn for extending there home to us. We will return.
Nancy Hames

Owners response: Aloha, I only wish we could have spent more time together! And look forward to your return.
God Bless,
Edgar

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

Aloha Edgar! Thank you for an absolutely wonderful 2 weeks on the beautiful island of Oahu! We so enjoyed staying at your house! It is such a beautiful home and its location is perfect! Looking across the bay at Diamond Head and the mountains, sitting outside and seeing rainbows almost every day, and being able to jump on H-1 to get to Waikiki or to see Keith and Annie in 15 minutes, or to go in the other direction and get to the beach at Waimanalo or Bellows in 20 minutes! We had such a great time. It has taken us this long to get back into the swing of “real life”! It would be so nice to be able to get to Hawaii more often! Maybe some day we’ll be able to come for a month at a time. Your house is great! It was so good (and so unusual for all six of us) to be comfortable enough to leave the house wide open the entire time we were there! We never closed the sliders, never locked the doors! The pool, the hot tub, the gardens – both inside and out! – are just beautiful! We had everything we needed to make our vacation both relaxing and fun! Also, thank you for allowing us to have a barbecue for Keith and Annie and their friends. It was so nice to have someplace to call home, where we could feel comfortable entertaining! We were delighted that you accepted our invitation to join us for that! It was great to spend some time with you. Although you lived on the property we hardly ever crossed paths. We were all so busy!!!! Thank you for your nice phone message about the condition of the house. We tried to leave it as clean as it was when we arrived. We washed all the sheets, but didn’t remake the beds since you didn’t have anyone coming in for a couple of weeks. We thought it would be better if the beds were made up fresh just before they arrived. I hope that was okay! Sorry for all the bottles, but we hope you were able to turn them in for your church as you had said. We will definitely contact you again when we are coming to visit Keith! Mahalo!! Aloha Nui Loa! Judy and Craig

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

My family had 7 wonderful days at Edgars and Lynns house. In all we had 11 members. The house fix our needs rerfectly, it was roomy and comforable. We cannot as enough about Edgar and Lynn, they are gracios hosts Thank you for making your trip a special and memorable one. We have gained two new family members - Uncle E and Aunt Lynn. Mike, Kathy, GiGi, Heather, Ashey,Aaron(Eric) Andy,Natalie, Roody, Mike, Cicely.

Owners response: Mike, Thanks for the kind words, You are "THE MAN", I hope to see you all very soon. Catch me on FB!
Aloha!

Edgar & Lynn

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

My family of 12 spent 7 days at this location and it was a wonderful and relaxing experience for all of us, ages 9 to 63. The hosts were awsome and the house is a home away from home. I would recommend this location to anyone and I would return in a heart beat. Thank you so very much

Owners response: Yvonn, Mahalo for your 'kokua' and you and your family are welcome with open arms anytime you come to Oahu. God Bless, Edgar and Lynn

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

Words cannot describe the fantastic time had by all 12 of us during our stay at your house. We had various ages and 3 generations and each and everyone of us had a wonderful time. The house was more than perfect for all of us. We ate our morning and evening meals there and checked out the local attractions during the day, enjoyed luaus, Pearl Harbor, parasailing,snorkelling, boogie boarding,swimming, relaxing, etc. Thank you Edgar and Lynn for your gracious visits and answering all our questions and most of all allowing us to stay at your house - it was magnificent and we are recommending it to everyone we visit with about our trip. Maholo - Ward & Vonnie

Owners response: Aloha! Thank you for your kind words, it was all our pleasure, believe me. I enjoyed your vacation as much as you did. Next time you will have to make time for me to take the kids Kayaking, I guarantee they will LOVE it! See you in Montana! Edgar and Lynn

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Plenty of Room & Very Helpful Caretaker/Owner

Review submitted: November 15, 2008   Date of arrival: October 31, 2008

We rented this house for 12 days and wish we were still there! The house is clean & wonderful with 2 large indoor eating areas plus several outdoor eating areas and sitting areas. With 6 adults and 2 children, there was plenty of room for kids to play and grown-ups to talk. Kids could easily go to bed with adults still up and talking about. We loved waking up and sitting outside the living room overlooking the gardens and Diamond Head. There is a private lookout which offers a quiet space to read and spectacular view.

Edgar (the caretaker/owner) has become a true friend. He was wonderful; very helpful in planning the time we were there and offered suggestions on what to do, where to eat and how to make the most of our short time in Hawaii.

The house has a very open floor plan with lots of glass doors and windows. The pool/hot tub/back patio area is lined with plantings.

The location was perfect for us - minutes from the grocery store, restaurants and beaches and only about 20-30 minutes to the downtown area.

I would recommend this house to just about anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Review submitted: April 9, 2008   Date of arrival: April 9, 2008

Edgar, thank you so much for a wonderful visit. Recently (March /08)we joined our daughter, son-in-law and two teenage grandaughters for 9 wonderful days at your lovely home. Had a great time - you are a superb host - very knowledgable and helpful. Wish you all the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2008   Date of arrival: April 3, 2008

Spending 8 days in beautiful Hawaii Kai at this perfect location was a truly wonderful experience for my entire group. We had a family wedding on the island and Edgar's home became the favorite spot for all the visitors as we had lovely views, comfortable surroundings and great amenities. Edgar and Lynn were superb hosts. The spacious home and the incredible gardens and scenery make one believe this is paradise! I would recommend this spacious home to anyone with a big group who wants to be comfortable and feel at home in a neighborhood, away from the hustle of Waikiki.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2008   Date of arrival: February 17, 2008

What a blast Edgar & Lynn. As you know, this was
my second stay at your home but this time I could
enjoy it with my entire family. Thank you for all
you did to make the stay a very special and
memorable one for all of us. The home is fantastic,
the area unbelievable and the activities are
unbeatable, but your personality and generous
spirit is the magic that makes it all work. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2007   Date of arrival: July 21, 2007

We loved our 9 nights at your wonderful house. We have 7 kids so we needed plenty of space to spread out and plenty of things for them to do while hanging out. We found both at your wonderful home. The kids loved the pool and did lots of exploring up the hills around the house. Edgar, you were a wealth of knowledge and we appreciated everything you did for us. We'd come back in a heartbeat.

Mahalo from North Carolina from the Seymore gang

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2007   Date of arrival: July 7, 2007

"We entirely enjoyed our stay. It was perfect for us in everyway and we took
advantage of early morning coffee watching the sun rise over Diamond Head
and Maunalau Bay, to afternoon swims in the pool and spa, to grilling steaks
on the "Barbie" and in the evenings crashing in front of the TV with a movie
from blockbuster. The home is roomy and comfortable, with the tropical
breezes blowing through from the pool to the lanai. Edgar is a gracious host
and made sure we took advantage of all the amenities, in the home, in the
neighborhood and in the area. We snorkeled in Hanauma Bay, scuba dived in
Maunalua Bay, kayaked off the "wall", surfed along Waikiki beach, watched
the sunset along Waialua Bay over dinner and just hung around the many local
beaches along the windward coast, including the beach from the movie "From
Here to Eternity". Edgar is a wealth of knowledge on local places, people,
customs and heritage. If you want to vacation with tourist frenzied crowds,
get a hotel in Honolulu. But if you want to really experience Oahu and the
Hawaiian lifestyle, stay here. This is truly paradise.

Owners response: Tom, We thoroughly enjoyed your staying with us and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Edgar and Lynn

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review